The Blue Lagoon is a unique wonder of Iceland, a result of all that volcanic activity the small island is so famous for. In the middle of the weird and wonderful, flat black lava fields of the Svartsengi National Park, the huge, outdoor lagoon is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 526 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy L. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip in a very nice bus. Instructions were clear and everyone was very helpful. Spent 2 hours in the Blue Lagoon!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Jan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I think you have to participate the sightseeing if this is your first trip to Iceland. The Blue Lagoon was just wonderful even if you cant see your feet when looking down into the water.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

Corina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You cannot visit Iceland and not make a stop at the Blue Lagoon. Before going into the swimming pool area, take 15 minutes to wander about and take photos of the landscape, with turquoise water pools in the black lava field. Swimming in the lagoon for a couple of hours is a unique experience. You can also do it if you have a long layover between flights. It is not far from the airport and buses are running regularly.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

cbowens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Blue Lagoon was really fun and interesting.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Lauren F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is very well organized and the staff is very friendly! The Blue Lagoon was wonderful - a must see!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

xenia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unique experience! No complaints with Blue Lagoon Spa apart from the fact that Iceland is very very expensive.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Blue Lagoon is all you and #39;ve heard and more. Relaxing and fun! We upgraded to Premium so we could have a bathrobe, towel and slippers. It was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Barbara E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

So much more than a ride to and from the Blue Lagoon, which in itself was a highlight on our trip to Iceland. Touristy but we arrived early so it didn and #39;t feel crowded. Guide was personable, entertaining and knowledgeable about the people, history, culture and politics of Iceland and the world.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Joyce T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an easy way to visit the Blue Lagoon. We were picked up at our hotel in a small van, then transferred to a big bus at the bus station. We were able to stay as long as we wanted at the Blue Lagoon, enjoying the warm water, facial scrubs and silica masks. There is a snack bar with plenty of options for a small meal. Our only complaint was on the return to the city. The large bus did not transfer us to a small van. Instead, the driver dropped us in the middle of the city, and gave us general directions on how to walk back to our hotel. It was a long walk up the hill, without any knowledge of the city. We were able to do it, but many others might have had problems with it. Not what we were promised by the tour.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Joanne I

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Transport picks you up from hotel, then meet at the bus premises and go from there. Service was good, Blue Lagoon underwhelming,

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Sylvia L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

viator screwed up my hotel pickup for this excursion. I waited outside my hotel 60 minutes before my 10 a.m. departure time from Reykjavik and no bus came. There was another family waiting for a different time at the same time. When it was 5 minuters before departure time, one of the adults ran 2 blocks down to the city bus depot, found a bus waiting there where the driver told them there would be no other pickups and that was the only bus. We all ran down to the bus depot. In my case I had to drag my luggage too since I was leaving for the airport directly from Blue Lagoon. Once at the depot at the east end of the city where travelers transfer to excursion buses I was informed that I had missed the 10 a.m. bus and would have to wait for the 11 a.m. bus. I missed an hour but still had time about 90 minutes at Blue Lagoon. I went on another operated tour booked through Viator the day before that went smoothly so I was familiar with them and would say they screwed up that day's pickups. Perhaps the fact that Aug 1 is a national holiday and long weekend contributed to the problem.

The spa itself is okay but relatively pricey with a lot of upselling in entry packages and gift shop items. There are neighbourhood hot pools in Reykjavik that can be explored for much less cost but I had a very short stay in town. The access bracelets given to all guests can come off easily so make sure it is secured. There is a charge for lost bracelets and you better remember your locker number and be able to describe your contents! I saw one girl dealing with this. Once finished in the water, there didn't seem to be any way to relock the locker, so no in and out privileges. Maybe this is different with the upgraded entry fees.

On the plus side, they provide shower gel and conditioner, hair dryers, plus plastic bags to store your wet swimwear. The luggage storage service takes credit card. Bring your own towel and flipflops.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Jason C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

We figured out the day before the tour we couldn't go on it. We were leaving from the airport after the tour, and had previously been told we could get a bus from the Blue Lagoon to the airport. We were also told the tour would be five hours including the Blue Lagoon. Both of those statements were incorrect. While we could theoretically go to the airport, we would not be allowed to take our luggage on the bus, so that kills that idea. Also the timing didn't work out to get to the airport.

The other major problem was time--the tour says five hours, and one of those hours is horseback riding. I assumed that meant the five hour tour included a 1 hour ride, 3 hour Lagoon visit, and maybe an hour or so of travel. Nope. The horseback ride is an hour, but the other four hours of the visit are all travel on a bus--you end at the Blue Lagoon at the end of the fifth hour. Had I known that I wouldn't have booked it, because it didn't work with our flight--we literally would have gotten to the Lagoon and gotten on a bus to the airport within fifteen minutes.

I called the tour company the day before and spoke with them for a good fifteen minutes. I was very upset, I really wanted to see the Lagoon. It was separately completely booked, so we ended up not getting to see the Lagoon at all. I have never seen a tour so inadequately described.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

Matt K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was concerned the Blue Lagoon would be an overcrowded tourist trap but to our delight my wife and I loved it. A truly unique experience that was the perfect start to an amazing day of incredible sights.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Linda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were able to see minke whales and dophins and it was a beautiful day. The blue lagoon was really fun, too.

Doing what: Whale Watching and Blue Lagoon

Karen A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a GREAT day and fantastic taste of Iceland. The Blue Lagoon is a must-see and wonderful way to start or end the day. Very informative and personable tour guide for the Golden Circle tour. Spectacular scenery. Loved it!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really liked the Blue Lagoon - leaving the locker room - frigid until I hit the water - well organized including the locker rook setup.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend using Viator for your trip to the Blue Lagoon Spa. All-in-one price for transportation and admission. Upgrade optional at Blue Lagoon if you want more than the basic ticket. Bus was right on time, wifi on the bus, and excellent communication with company. Blue Lagoon is a must for first time visitors to Iceland. Go early in morning to beat the crowds.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Terry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Blue Lagoon was amazing! Do book ahead! We wanted an earlier time but booked just a day or 2 ahead so our choices were limited and We had to go late. BUT it worked out fine since it stays light very late in summer and it was a perfect relaxing end to day!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

brianna.reyes001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This your was fantastic! I had a long day of traveling the day prior and the relaxing feel and smell of the Blue Lagoon was so invigorating. The afternoon was a good balance of guided and free time and the sights were incredible. It really showcased the breathtaking beauty of Iceland.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Allison W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a neat place! The transportation was comfortable and timely. They really have the blue lagoon down to a science, and everything ran very smoothly. A must-do in Iceland!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

heatheroc3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful blue hot springs with silica that is good for the skin. The Gray Line buses ran on time, were clean and offered free wifi. The facilities at Blue Lagoon were nice too. We spent about 3 hours here and found it very relaxing.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

jeremycourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this place - but we did visit on a warm sunny day! Took about an hour to get there from the centre of Reykjavik but the bus was clean and comfortable. No need to specify return time as there are busses every hour.
Very organised reception at Blue Lagoon and clean changing rooms. The water was a gorgeous temperature.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Sapna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Blue Lagoon is an incredible experience, and a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon! This was our favorite part of our four-day trip to Reykjavik. This tour allows flexibility to take any return bus home, which is great because you may decide to spend more time in the water, and there is a nice restaurant with excellent cocktails.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very relaxing day. The Blue Lagoon did not disappoint! A must do for every trip to Iceland. One note - put LOTS AND LOTS of the provided conditioner in your hair prior to entering the Blue Lagoon and LEAVE IT IN. The minerals in the water are very drying to hair. Also, be prepared to remove all jewelry as the minerals can turn the metal black!! Enjoy and relax.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see in Iceland! We really enjoyed the scenic drive out to Blue Lagoon and the inviting water. Also, the bath house was nicely equipped with showers, lockers, hair dryers, and changing rooms. We would definitely go back on our next Iceland adventure.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message