Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Gulfoss Waterfall

Gullfoss is a massive waterfall on the river Hvita which originates in the glacial lake Langjokull. Gullfoss means 'golden falls' because the glacial sediment in the water turns the falls golden in the sunlight. The water falls 105 feet (32 meters) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeffrey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved everything about the tour. Tour guide was very entertaining and informative. Bus seats were more comfortable than the airline seats. Also, free WiFi on the bus. It's a shame that everything is so expensive in Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Terence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent and informative day trip out with pick up and drop off at hotel. Covers some amazing natural sights with enough time for a good look around each one. Is a must on any visit to Iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

teresa.sutkowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Want to go back in summer.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Karen N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Fab trip but could have done with 10 minutes less at falls as the darkness was coming in fast as we got to the geysirs so not the best shots

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

kedove

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very organized tour. Amazing views of the waterfall and geysers. It was a bit difficult to enjoy the first 2 hours of the tour as it was still dark outside but that will vary based on the time of year you visit Iceland. Also, its very important to have on waterproof boots with tread as some of the walkways are very slippery and it can be very cold.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Graeme H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The organisation of this trip was first class. From the hotel pick-up to drop-off.The Blue Lagoon was gorgeous and the other visits were good. The gentleman who gave us some information about Iceland was very good. Why only 4 stars and not 5? The bus has a breakdown so we lost 1hr of Lagoon time! ;(

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Enrique T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Geysir and the waterfall were great but too much time at each place. An all day trip that could have ended by noon and given more time to do something else.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Musata M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The tour was ok as we thankfully got to the 3 destinations safely and got to see them despite the terrible weather.

However, our guide was just so bland that this was the most uninteresting tour I've taken in my life! First of all, he could barely speak English and therefore didn't explain much on either Icelandic history, culture or the actual places we visited. The way he talked, so monotonous, as though here was the last place he wanted to be, made everything rather boring, which defeats the whole purpose of having a guided tour in the first place. We might as well have rented a car and done the golden circle ourselves!

For your information, the tour was with Gray Line, on the 4th December 2016, 10.30 am departure, bus number 6.

Don't get me wrong, I had done the golden circle before, years ago, with a great guide and that added so much more to the experience of hearing from a local and being guided through the experience!
This one lacked that completely.
Please do better in the future because the prices you charge are very high to say the least.

Thanks,
M

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Marian S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

We were failed to be picked up from the hotel, as you did not give our hotel name to the provider. When we were picked up we went on a different golden circle tour to the one we booked. We wanted to see the geothermal plant, instead went to Fontana and were taken to see horses that we could not see as it was night time. I will not book with your agency again Burt directly book with the provider.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Julie.murphy29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was really good. The horses were lovely and gentle so my 8 yr old and I who are complete beginners had no trouble at all riding them. Even though it was an express tour of the Golden Circle we still got to see lots. Darren our guide was funny and informative. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

dimple.bhandia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent combo. Sufficient time to get a flavour of the Blue LAgoon and the golden circle tour was outstanding.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Veronica A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was one Wesome tour. Loved all of the information received on the Golden Half Circle portion of the tour. Amazing photos opportunities. The Blue Lagoon was awesome. The next time I go back, I will spend almost the entire day there.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Trevor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best day trips I have ever been on , a Must if you travel to Iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

CHRISTINA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well organized tour. Weather was terrible on that day but that didn't spoil the enjoyment at all. Tour host was very informative and gave great commentary throughout the day. Would recommend doing this tour the waterfall at gullfoss is beautiful !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

smendez66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first tour and our favorite! Although it rained nearly the entire time we were on this tour, our guide made this experience a win for all of us. Jakob was our guide, and he was both knowledgeable and entertaining! It was nearly an all day tour, and the sites were amazing. We stopped for lunch and made plenty of bathroom stops. I would recommend this tour to anyone and hope you experience less rain than we did while we were there.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Linan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good service, I had gone on another bus from a sister company but Viator was able to accommodate me when I got the terminal.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Picked up on time, nice bus equipped with wifi, covered the major sites.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Iceland is doing an excellent job with tourism. You are picked up promptly at the hotel and taken to the bus. If your first van driver is grumpy, don't worry. He is only for a short trip. The scenery is amazing, like nothing else we have seen. Our favorite part was learning about how the thermal water is used to power the country and how innovative the Icelandic people are. There are plenty of stops and opportunities for food, snacks and drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Janet N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. The guide was very knowledgable and the driver was also very good.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent , many interesting things to see and feel . Excellent guide . Raw nature , excellent lamb soup at the Falls .

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Loretta W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent trip and well worth the money. Christina and Valdoosh apologies for the spelling or mis-pronunciation of the name were excellent as a guide and coach driver. We were only in Reykjavik for 3 nights and we wanted to fit in as much as we could and this trip covered a lot of ground, the coach was really comfortable and we went through some stunning scenery on the way to the first stop. I would certainly recommend it and the tour company.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Killian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Blue Lagoon isn't a natural hot springs, and it's quite busy, but otherwise it's quite lovely there are plenty natural hot springs in the country.
I'd recommend bringing your own towel as they charge rental otherwise. I'd also recommend flip flops as naturally it's FREEZING underfoot outside the water. The snow-covered mountains are a romantic backdrop for the outdoor lagoon. They provide mud for mud masks, plus a fun waterfall to mix it up a bit personally only so much relaxing I can do in a pool of warm water.
If you don't mind paying through the nose, the café is fine, but otherwise bring your own food. You'll be hungry after that hardcore relaxation

The Golden Circle is breath-taking and I'd quite like to go back and see it at my own pace. We didn't have quite enough time at any of the stops still enough to get an idea of them, take pictures.. but.. exploration!! Gulfoss waterfall, the geysers... it truly is the land of fire and ice. Thingvellir National park never gets old, we went back the next day. You just get to drive through it on this trip it gives a taster if nothing else.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Zulimar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Get ready for the blue lagoon to blow your mind because it's mesmerizing and SO RELAXING. It was our second time there during our trip and we were ready to go back for a third because it's the best way to start your day off. Nothing compares to it. Make sure to upgrade so you get a towel, complimentary drink, and an algea mask. It's only 1500 kronas so it's not too bad. Only thing is that you don't have a lot of time to truly enjoy the trip. I'd recommend to go to the blue lagoon on a separate day to take full advantage of it.

As for the rest, incredibly beautiful. If going in November/December, make sure to bring gloves and PROPER shoes to the Gulfoss. The entire thing was covered in ice and it was painstaking watching people walking to this waterfall in sneakers or boots. Again, were the proper shoes!

The tour guide was beyond amazing- very engaging, funny, and easy to understand. Great trip, highly recommend it!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message