Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Gulfoss Waterfall

Gullfoss is a massive waterfall on the river Hvita which originates in the glacial lake Langjokull. Gullfoss means 'golden falls' because the glacial sediment in the water turns the falls golden in the sunlight. The water falls 105 feet (32 meters) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ivy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We went with a minibus. The scenic views were stunning. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. He gave us a lot of insides of Iceland's history, agriculture and industry. It was a fun-filled day!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

graesch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An amazing day with an excellent guide- DeDe. she was full of wonderful facts to share with the tour- we saw the site of Iceland's first parliament, the Gulfoss Waterfall AMAZING! and the geysers- plus stopped off to see Icelandic horses looked like beautiful ponies. Take this tour- you will love it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a split trip, you have to return to the coach station at Reykjavik after visiting the blue lagoon to change coaches for the golden circle tour. This limits your time at the blue lagoon, we only had about 45 minutes in the water, but for us this was ok, if you want to be there longer do a separate trip. Our golden circle guide was amazing, he was very informative and funny, scenery was breathtaking, another must trip when visiting Iceland.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

lee anne z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was my favorite thing I did on my Iceland trip.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

sufhears

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

beautiful scenery...saw all the major attractions. Pleasant driver/guide. Well organized.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Gareth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took this tour on Monday January 30th 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an extremely good, friendly and knowledgable Grayline tour guide who showed a real passion for the history and culture of Iceland. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Leisha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Good value, 6 hour tour. As it did not get light until 10am , an 11am start meant whole tour in daylight! February

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

mahern_1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a wonderful day. It was a big day, but well worth it.The Blue Lagoon was amazing. The beautiful warm water and face masks that left your skin feeling beautiful. What was lovely for us, was the experience of swimming in the lagoon while it snowed. The remainder of the tour to the geysers and National Park was excellent. Our guide was excellent and the scenery magnificent. It was cold and snowing, but for this time of the year it was part of the wonderful experience. We were so glad that we went to Iceland.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Kaye Thordz Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour. It allows you to see the wonders of Iceland in a short amount of time and hussel free. Just wear the right clothing/shoes and you're good to go!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We only had two days in Iceland so this was a great way to fit a lot into one day. The blue lagoon is an amazing experience and our guide for the afternoon Golden Circle Tour was excellent. If you only have a short time in Reyjavik this is an excellent trip to do.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Julio L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great all around.... thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the major sites in one outing

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Irina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A must see tour!
An excellent guide, enough time to see and explore all areas and absolutely stunning views. Totally recommend!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour took us to three different locations. The first was the location of a tectonic plate, the second was the Gulfoss Waterfall and the third were the Geysir and hotsprings. All of the views at these places were amazing. The Tour Guide knew what he was talking about and pointed out different sights while we were travelling between locations.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Felicia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Darren, our tour guide was absolutely fantastic. He was knowledgeable, funny, and entertaining! Blue Lagoon and the Golden Circle are a must when visiting Iceland!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Angela H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must-do tour if you're visiting Reykavik. I would highly recommend the day tour, rather than a half day. ours was perfectly placed to enjoy and explore around the x 3 stops on the tour. I spoke to others who had chosen a half day tour but they felt it was very rushed and had wanted to spend more time at the stops to fully appreciate them. The 3 stops are all totally amazing. This experience is unique and will stay with me for a very very long time.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Carolina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing experience. We went to all of the three places as expected. Bjarni (Day) is an excellent tour guide. We learned so much about Iceland by listening to his narration.
Just a minor setback, though, is that we wished to have more time lunching and exploring the Gullfoss.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A fabulous well-run tour of some of the most amazing sights around Reykjavik. The Gulfoss waterfall, Strokkur and Geysir hot springs, and Thingvellir parliament site were beautiful - even in the cold rainy weather on the day we went, and our guide whose name I've sadly forgotten, but who told us that her name meant 'Warrior Woman'! was hilarious and knowledgeable about everything we saw. She also pointed out things of interest along the way while we drove between sites, and had a wealth of funny and entertaining stories about Icelandic tradition, culture and history. The tour is well-paced, with plenty of time at each attraction, and there are gift shops, restaurants and toilets at each stop. Definitey the ideal way to visit some of the must-see sights of Iceland, on a comfortable coach with friendly staff.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Karen R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour in the winter is a little difficult due to the cold! It limited the time to spend at each site. However, the sights are worth it, and the tour guide pointed out things along the route, and gave us stories and background. The Blue Lagoon is a bucket list item and not to be missed!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Kamryz United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour may be 'Half Day' but it is full of geological wonders and introduces you the side of Iceland which is a Nature's Wonder. The guide was very knowledgeable and we returned more informed and amazed by the beautiful and wonderful country. The tour pick up was bang on time and we started off on time too. the bus was very comfortable and allowed excellent views through the large windows. The driver was an expert in driving on slippery and icy roads.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Brian H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Excellent, despite bad weather. Well guided.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jodie M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this trip. So glad we didn't book the full day as this was plenty of time. Pick up was 10.30am and arrived back in Reykjavik about 5.30pm. Only thing I'd change is where we got dropped off on the return to Reykjavik wasn't the same place we got picked up from so we had a 10/15 minute walk back to our apartment in the rain. Trip overall excellent, would recommend.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jesse W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour!!! Our guide was awesome about sharing information at each stop and during the ride. I felt I had plenty of time at each stop to see what I wanted to see. The bus had wifi, which worked very well, and the place we stopped for lunch was great too!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! My wife and I and our two children ages 10 and 11 really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely fantastic day out, the guide was so informative. Well worth the money, highly recommended

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message