Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Skaftafell National Park

Established in 1967, Skaftafell National Park became a part of the enormous Vatnajokull National Park in 2008, but the area, which sprawls across the southern tip of the vast Vatnajokull glacier, still remains one of the most popular corners of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

HANH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour but pls read the details carefully. This tour does NOT include the boat ride during the winter months which has been corrected. We were unaware of this, contacted Viator and their customer did an EXCELLENT job looking this and working with us through it. They have also updated their website since then for clarity. Honesty, I think this mistake came from the tour line itself and not viator.

Now onto the tour! It's a long roughly 14 hour tour to the south side of iceland where we had the opportunity to visit two beautiful waterfall before heading to the east side to the glacier lagoon. One of the two waterfall you actually have an opportunity to walk behind which was awesome! You will get wet so pls wear a waterproof coat or jacket depending on when you go. The glacier lagoon is beautiful but the impact of global warming is saddening. The 30mins boat ride around the lagoon looked awesome but we unfortunately did not get a chance to ride on it. I heard if you're lucky you may see some animals out there! Each location you got to spend about 30mins to an hour depending on timing. I never felt rushed. Plenty of bathroom breaks and you do stop for lunch and dinner. On this trip, the lunch and dinner places were not very impressive, very cafeteria like. I'd suggest packing your own food/snacks. On the way back from the lagoon you do stop at the city of Vik where you'll see the black sand. However it was in the evening so very dark and didn't see much. If anything I would have suggested they cut back on one of the waterfall preferably not the one where you can walk behind it and visit this Vik instead. Have fun guys!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Mrs Kathryn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great day out! I was pleasantly surprised to find that we were making the tour in a small group of 9, travelling in a comfortable mini bus, rather than in a coach party as I had expected. The down side was that I thought I had paid for the tour including the boat trip but was informed by Grayline that it did not-it cost another 75 to buy two boat tickets at the lagoon. Beware-just because the description says the boat trip is not included in April, apparently does not mean that it is included the rest of the year.! The journey was great as our driver/guide Jakob kept us entertained and informed about everything we passed. He even sang us an Icelandic lullaby on the way home. At the lunch stop, buy a sandwich and walk across the road to climb the track closer to the glaciers-you can sit in a cafe anywhere. The lagoon was beautiful and the nearby beach where the icebergs float out to sea was the best part of the trip.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Diane C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was amazing. The glaciers are incredible! It a long way but we felt it was worth the travel time to see something so unique. Take warm clothes as it can get very cold.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

tleensbak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a long day, but worth it as there is gorgeous and stunning nature along the way! The lagoon and icebergs were my favorite.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Val S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although this was a VERY long day, it was totally worth it!! Jokulsarlon Ice Lagoon is truly magical and made the effort to get there worthwhile. The guide was very knowledgeable which helped to pass the time on the journey. Try to sit on the drivers side of the bus to get the most out of the magnificent scenery.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Ronnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The most astonishing place! Tour guide -excellent! I loved every moment! Surprise stops-excellent!!!!! I wish I could put the emotions I felt in words.....mindblowing! A seemless and perfect tour from start to finish! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lyla S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. It was a very long tour but the time flew by. I got to see the beautiful countryside of Iceland which included endless waterfalls, beautiful coastline, volcanoes, glaciers, lava fields, black sand beaches, and wildlife. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Many people are discouraged by the length of this excursion, however, I would do it over and over again if I could. It was a once in a lifetime experience, and I couldnt be happier that I got to experience this excursion.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and was happy to see so much of southern iceland the glacier lagoon.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

ezserrano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and friendly staff. If adventure and/or living something different is your goal, definitely I recommend this trip. From starting the trip to the National Park, the road trip is a breath taking of great views of waterfalls, mountains, horses, farms, etc. When arrive to the National Park and the Lagoon, its just like you are inside of a postcard. An A must see and live!

Doing what: South Coast Day Trip, Glacier Hike in Vatnajokull National Park and Glacier Lagoon Boat Ride from Reykjavik

Rizkiakbar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Be ready to say hello to the lovely ICEBERGS. I have to say that the main thing in this trip is Jokulsarlon, but you will also get the fantastic stops in several location, such as Skogafoss and Seljalandfoss. The guide was fluent and happy to answer all of your questions. The coach also comfortable too, so no worries even you will have a long journey total 14 hrs. After you arrive in Jokulsarlon, you will get boat tour to have a closer look to the floating icebergs and if you're lucky also the lovely seal. The tour will pick up and drop off you to your hotel. Use proper shoes and warm clothes because it's a little bit windy and sometimes you will get light shower in Jokulsarlon.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Elicia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although this is a very long day, 14 hours it's well worth it. The scenery alone is amazing, Jokulsarlon lagoon definately the highlight, however Vik beach was also gorgeous and another highlight for me. Lots of breaks during the day which was good, plenty of opportunities for food and bathroom breaks. Tour guide was informative and funny, lots of great stories about Icelandic history and it's people.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

cbowens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing trip to see the glaciers, geysers and beautiful waterfalls!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Rachael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant day, long drive but really good fun.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This experience was everything and more than we anticipated. Our driver Dori and our guide Brandon were both excellent at their job. They anticipated and took care of our needs before we were aware of our needs. We were in a full bus of people and everyone was accommodated as we ventured into this magnificent landscape. It's a long day but well worth it -- scenes that were awesome!!!! Go for it if you're wondering if it's worth the money!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jonathan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth the long bus trip! It and #39;s a beautiful bus ride so even though most of your time is spent on the bus, it and #39;s entertaining all the way. Tip: the gas station rest stop shops have lower souvenir prices than most of the Reykavik stores. Make sure you go down to the black sand beach at dinner rest stop

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Ilya G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing guide Dee-Dee! Beautiful stops with great commentary.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

taiwanjfk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was well organized, beginning with the pick up and travel to the Lagoon which is a long drive until the drop off. We were very pleased with what we saw and all that was taken in.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Aurelia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The waterfalls, the views along the south coast and the glacial lagoon are extraordinary.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Our guide Dee Dee was superb!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour to see the highlights of the South Coast. A long day, but definitely worth it.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Barbara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gorgeous scenery, enthusiastic and very informative guide, fascinating history and geology. Very long day, but well worth it! We saw a lot, and the pacing was such that the long rides were broken up very nicely.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was wonderful - scenery was absolutely beautiful. If one is worried about how long the bus trip is, don't. Many stops along the way for scenery, photos, snacks, potty, meals and oh so worth seeing jokulsarlon lagoon and beach with large chunks of glacier ice with mountains and glacier in the background. So glad we booked the trip. Our driver and guide were awesome too. We noticed in Iceland drivers are very punctual - be at least 10 minutes earlier than the departure time you are given. Pretty sure you'll love the tour.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

RUCHIKA I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very well organized and left on time. It was a amazing sight to see the lagoon. The only problem was the weather which was windy and drizzling.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message