When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1060 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wilmarie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

MUST DO! The most amazing and dangerous thing i've don in my travels! The ice climbing part is just a little wall you'll go up and down just to try out ice climbing... is not like the whole trip is about that. Is mostly Hiking to and from that spot. Still, really amazing. The only thing is I thing the group was too big for only 2 guides. It seams like a bit dangerous. It says no experience necessary, bur you should be at least in a bit of fiscal condition, since you'll be walking and going up and down for about 4hr in the cold. For me it was challenging and i'm in my 20's and in shape.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

To rough to many sea sick people no one cared as long as they got paid if a. Whale bumped into the boat you would not see it due to white water we did see a seagull eating the recycled breakfasts would never go on this boat again and I am a sea fisherman a total con
There had been no. Whale sightings in weeks

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

PHILIP V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly professional reliable pilots who enjoy their daily job! My first helicopter flight - couldn't be better - worth every penny !

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

cheollila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Only wished the time in the water would have been longer, such amazing sights!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

jackiejennings123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing experience which we would highly recommend without hesitation. Staff were welcoming and hospitable. The pilot was informative. I took 3 teenagers with me and would not hesitate to do this again!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver, Petra, went out of her way to take pictures of my husband and I so that we had some pictures together. Our guide, Swan, was and extra in a GOT episode and he had lots of fun facts about the different locations and places along the way. A must do tour for any GOT fan.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was Silvia, we had a great time she is awesome. Not your typical brew tour like in the states but in my opinion was better. Spent more time learning history of alcohol in Iceland and drinking generously sized samples of most if not all there beers instead of walking around the facility.

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing amazing is there word we used all day our guides ARMAN and GABRIELLE were fantastic we were quoted £1080 for the 4x from a dif tour, it only cost £695 worth every penny so professional felt safe all day , there knowledge is vast all mixed In with great humour all we can say is THANK YOU !!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Dark, wet, cramped, Great guide, good companionship and fun.

Doing what: Lava Caving at Leidarendi with Transport from Reykjavik

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Saw no whales but good day out.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Simply amazing, only an hour, but we saw hundreds of puffins. Bring binoculars and a telephoto lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent , our guide was a quick witted intellect , The beer tasting was the emphasis , making the tour properly short . Do it !

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

karenj_66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Oh dear god.......lol......this is not your normal brewery tour expect to get drunk. We had a guy called Happy he was fantastic highly recommend ......the history of Iceland drinking problems is great and this was better than just walking around a brewery for an hour.

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Michelle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic. The locations were beautiful and the tour guide was both friendly and very witty! They were very considerate of all passengers, ensuring every one was accounted for and able to do any hiking elements before relocating the coach. I would highly recommend this tour, even if you do not watch the programme because the stops are incredibly beautiful and worth seeing on their own! Without a doubt, this is the tour to go on!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this tour. I had originally thought it would be the same as a Golden Circle tour but it wasn't. The landscape is amazing and it was nice to go to places where there weren't a bunch of other buses. Went with a non Thrones watcher and she enjoyed it as well.
Guide was great unfortunately I don't remember his name
Only complaint was that the group was quite largewe were told that the group we were on was especially large but everyone was great getting back to bus when they were supposed to.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Killian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Didn't get to see the lights but you can keep trying if that happens lifetime guarantee!. The first night was too choppy so they organised a bus to go into the countryside instead. They provided us with cosy overalls on the boat and gave us plenty information on both the bus and the boat actually. As the night wore on, they gave us a free hot drink - I don't think this was ordinarily included, it was just quite rough and cold so they were being nice. Even though I didn't get to see the lights, they tried their best and I had a great time.
The harbour isn't perfectly dark but they go out a fair distance and it's an experience unto itself.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Matthew O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Probably the best value for money tour in Iceland ;) Seriously though, you get to see lava caves from a thoysand years ago and the majestic waters of silfra all in one tour...and a few extras along the way if you have a good guide like i had with Saga Lif!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

amy m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best day out ever!!
For caving make sure your clothing is quite protective as there is crawling involved. Dont take a bag in the cave!
The guide was one of the nicest young guys i have met!
Such a cool experience!
Snorkling was mind blowing!! Didnt feel cold in the suit.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was easily the highlight of my entire week in Iceland. Worth every single penny/Króna. Even if you don't watch the show, this is 100 worth doing.

Some context: It's a mostly all-day trip if you go in the winter time. Get on the bus at 10am, finish the tour at 5 or 6pm, get stuck in windy/snowy conditions, back at the hotel at 9 or 10pm. Honestly, though, it's still worth the trip but keep that in mind and bring extra water and snacks to avoid spending too much at rest stops, and also bring a warm wind-proof coat. You'll stop at 3 locations, maybe a 4th with a cool view unrelated to the show if the group is making good time. Definitely try to go on a clear and rain-less day so you can actually see the sights.

Our experience was a great one, and 90 of that was from the host / tour guide. We happened to get one who: 1 is an extra on the show, for reals 2 Does viking battle re-enactments and makes his own viking clothing which he wears on the tour 3 Is super funny and has literally an entire day's worth of entertaining stories to tell, which is what will be the highlight. Seriously, that tour guide deserves a promotion and a 6-figure salary.
One of the sights you stop at, if you have the tour guide we did, will pose with you in his cool outfit and pretend to stab you with his sword in a photo. Very cool and fun.

Bottom line, you should do this tour if: You want to see the beautiful countryside of Iceland but don't want to bother driving to the sights yourself, love Game of Thrones even if you don't you'll still have fun, and enjoy hearing many interesting stories. 1000 worth your time and money. Do it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

cheollila

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It wasn't as mindblowing as I expected and most of the scenarios were quite hard to recognize or identify. But Iceland is all in all a beautiful country and wherever you go the nature and sights are going to be spectacular. This tour is more for the hardcore viewer than the normal viewer. The guide was okay and the tour was okay. And I would recommend it because just seeing the sights and it was a nice way to spend the day.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

jackiejennings123

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A great tour by sea. Coveralls and jacket provided. Large boat which gave passengers the space to spread out. Informative tour which started at 10pm and finished at 12.30am. We saw glimpses of the Northern Lights which was a little disappointing but the tour organisers did try very hard to keep all the guests entertained. We would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Ross R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The Weather was BAD so we had to cut the ice climbing part short. I should have worn waterproof EVERYTHING and probably would have been a bit more comfortable. The glacier itself was neat and the guides were helpful. One of the guides gave me his gloves to wear because mine were wet and my hands were frozen. Didn't seem to bother him one bit. Ifthe weather had cooperated this would have been a 10.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Veronica A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really great being out on the boats. The water was rough that day so the whales didn't want to come out and play.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Claudia S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very prepared with corresponding pictures from filming locations for the series, enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message