When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brittany B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

From the moment we got on the bus we had an Incredible time. A lovely group! Our tour guide, Una, was very friendly, knowledgable and AMAZING! The group I was traveling with had a rental car, but it was so nice to sit back and let someone else do the driving while sharing her knowledge of her country. The lava tube and snorkeling the fissure were once in a lifetime opportunities. I even went back the next day to the fissure to explore the area more. Big thanks to Arctic Adventures for the awesome time!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great experience, loved every minute! Next time we must do a longer tour!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

First off, yes, it is stupid expensive - but everything in Iceland is expensive. That being said, this was the best tour of our trip. The views were breathtaking - we had a clear, nothing-but-blue-sky type of day. Tour guides were really great, perfect English, humorous and fun. The experience of actually climbing up the glacier with all the gear was the highlight of the day. But it really was a perfect day.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

margarete a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great side trip in Iceland. Must see

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Rosalia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My girlfriend and I had a great time!! The guide was great. Very energetic. She was just as excited to see the whales as we were!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was great fun! The guide was dressed in full Nights Watch costume, was funny and kept us all amused on the trips between the locations. He was also an extra on Game of Thrones so he knew a lot about the locations in question, the the scenes that were filmed in them and shared a little on set gossip as well. I would thoroughly recommend this to any Game of Thrones fan!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Judith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great tour. The speakers were very knowledgeable, the beer flowed very well, and for a group of our size we got on very well. So well that after the tasting a load of us went to the pub together for more tasting!

If you want a good history of the alcohol of Iceland, then go on this tour. If you are teetotal, then maybe not as good...

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

MaryKathryn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My friends and I had a great experience on this tour! We took the tour the first night in Reykjavik and it was a great introduction to the country and city. Our tour guide Husky was engaging and knowledgeable, and made us feel so very welcome. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Heather N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The wintersuits were warm, and we got to see the lights! Our trip was postponed from 10 to midnight due to weather, but it was well worth it because we got a better view of the night sky.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was amazing, we were lucky and saw very active northern lights the night that we decided to go! We had booked it for the next night, but decided to go the night before we booked because the sky was clear and they were predicting strong northern lights. The company is very flexible and they provide warm overalls, which is important out on the water.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

AshtonRJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The landscape on this were amazing. Even if you are not a GoT fan, I would still recommend just for the beauty that this tour encompasses. The tour guide was funny, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely amazing tour! We are huge Game of Thrones fans, and this tour is exactly what we were looking for. The guide is fully dressed as a night's watchmen, which adds to the atmosphere. He was so informative and hilarious! He is actually an extra for the show when it is filming in Iceland, so he provides background information on the show and the actors. The tour starts with visiting a horse farm to pet some unique Icelandic Horses don't call them ponies!, which was an unexpected treat. From there the tour goes to locations used for filming the show. It is such a unique experience to see this places in person, after seeing them in the show. The information provided by the guide was amazing, and he even included photos from the scenes.
Would highly recommend this to any GOT's fans, and even if you aren't a fan the sights you see are amazing.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

busybees2k

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great trip saw loads of Dolphins but sadly no whales. Summer is better time apparently for seeing whales.
The thermal suits were a god send.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Stephanie M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Sadly, the snorkeling was cancelled on our day due to high winds. It was the main reason we booked this, the caves were just a bonus. But, like most tours in Iceland, it was frightfully expensive, but the tour guides were really fantastic. They were all very knowledgeable about anything we saw, spoke perfect English, and were always willing to help with a question, or take a picture etc.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Lovely views of the mountains and Reykjavik, but unfortunately we saw no whales at all. The guide however was very knowledgeable and also said that we are entitled to a free trip as we did not see any whales, which I shall be using next time I return to Iceland.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Philip H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

It was a very safe and informative tour. There was a bit of a mix up at the hotel when we were being picked up, but thank goodness I insisted and the operator discovered my name on the pick-up list, so all was well.

We managed to see some Northern Lights activity, I'm pleased to say. This company deployed three boats on the evening we went out, so it really is very popular. My only regret is that it is so expensive, so for a family of four these few evening hours were a really major holiday expense.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Pari G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Waste of time, very expensive and didn't see any Wale

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour to go on! A not so often explored side of Thingvellier park with fantastic views and actual filming locations seen in the show. Our guide was an extra from the show and he was very funny and great to your with. One of my fave day tours in Iceland so far!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Stacey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun tour! I wouldn't call it a brewery tour per say, but neither does the title. Once we arrived, there was a 12oz beer for everyone, and the drinks just kept coming. We learned a lot about the history of alcohol in Iceland, which is very entertaining. Very social event, and I absolutely recommend for the solo traveler or group. Be prepared to make friends! And drink a lot of beer! Shot of Brennevin to end the night is a great idea as well.

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Bardia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour with an amazing guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Maria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The fireworks were epic! Never in my life have I seen anything like this. After the bonfire and before the fireworks they took us to the bus depo for coffee, hot chocolate, and donuts. There was live entertainment. Clean port-a-potties were also available. An added bonus: the northern lights were visible! Unlikely in the city, but it shows you anything is possible.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Iver. Iver. Iver. Ask for Iver! He was the best tour guide ever!!!!!!!! He was so smart, funny, and adventurous. You could tell he really cared about giving us an experience of a lifetime. This tour is a must-do. It is unlike anything else you will do in your life. The views are absolutely breathtaking. You spend about 3 hours on the glacier hiking - dress warm!!!! They also offer rental boots which I highly recommend for an easier hike! Also, bring handwarmers!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Adelle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was incredible and completely work the cost. Our tour guide Dee Dee was so friendly, knowledgable, helpful, warm and funny, she made the day really special. As a lover of food, this tour was just my thing and it didn't disappoint. A 4 course meal at lunchtime at a family-run farm, followed by sampling and a tour at a tomato farm and then afternoon tea at a traditional museum kept my tummy full. In between the food, we were able to see some of the sights around the Golden Circle including the Golden waterfall and Gieyser and take in the incredible scenery along the trip. I would take this trip all over again.

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message