When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour to go on! A not so often explored side of Thingvellier park with fantastic views and actual filming locations seen in the show. Our guide was an extra from the show and he was very funny and great to your with. One of my fave day tours in Iceland so far!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Stacey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun tour! I wouldn't call it a brewery tour per say, but neither does the title. Once we arrived, there was a 12oz beer for everyone, and the drinks just kept coming. We learned a lot about the history of alcohol in Iceland, which is very entertaining. Very social event, and I absolutely recommend for the solo traveler or group. Be prepared to make friends! And drink a lot of beer! Shot of Brennevin to end the night is a great idea as well.

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Bardia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour with an amazing guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Maria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The fireworks were epic! Never in my life have I seen anything like this. After the bonfire and before the fireworks they took us to the bus depo for coffee, hot chocolate, and donuts. There was live entertainment. Clean port-a-potties were also available. An added bonus: the northern lights were visible! Unlikely in the city, but it shows you anything is possible.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Iver. Iver. Iver. Ask for Iver! He was the best tour guide ever!!!!!!!! He was so smart, funny, and adventurous. You could tell he really cared about giving us an experience of a lifetime. This tour is a must-do. It is unlike anything else you will do in your life. The views are absolutely breathtaking. You spend about 3 hours on the glacier hiking - dress warm!!!! They also offer rental boots which I highly recommend for an easier hike! Also, bring handwarmers!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Adelle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was incredible and completely work the cost. Our tour guide Dee Dee was so friendly, knowledgable, helpful, warm and funny, she made the day really special. As a lover of food, this tour was just my thing and it didn't disappoint. A 4 course meal at lunchtime at a family-run farm, followed by sampling and a tour at a tomato farm and then afternoon tea at a traditional museum kept my tummy full. In between the food, we were able to see some of the sights around the Golden Circle including the Golden waterfall and Gieyser and take in the incredible scenery along the trip. I would take this trip all over again.

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

mynnDAWG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

this is a must tour for everyone visiting Reykjavik! doesnt matter you are a fan of GOT or not myself only watched 1st episode from season one, the locations covered under this package was BREATHTAKING!!! this was one of the highlights of our trip to Iceland!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

dellabeaver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great time at the Bon Fire and Fireworks tour. The only thing I did not like was having to go to the bus depot for coffee, hot cocoa and bathroom trips but it was only a slight inconvenience. The tour guide and the driver did their best to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and the location to view the Fireworks at midnight was absolutely fantastic. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Ian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing experience. when we first set off i had so much fun on the rib that i was thinking it wouldn't even matter that much if we didn't see any whales even though it would have been disappointing. however, the guide was excellent and knew where to look. we ended up seeing humpbacks as well as harbour porpoises which was amazing. the guide's own excitement at seeing the porpoises was tangible which made it even nicer as you could really feel their passion for the job as well as them being knowledgeable and passing that info onto us without it being an overload or interrupting the watching side of the experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Reykjavik RIB Whale Watching Cruise

Andreja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Cave exploring was a great experience, but the snorkeling in Silfra... beyond words.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was awesome!!! He was an extra on the show and was really into the show. It was great to hear all the stories!!! Thanks for all the memories!!!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour but would advise anyone taking it in the winter to make sure they have waterproof jackets and trousers as the weather was extreme. The locations we were taken to were amazing and we saw beautiful waterfalls and scenery. I travelled with my daughter who is a big Game of Thrones fan a she thought the locations were fantastic, especially the area between the tectonic plates. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Amy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Seeing the sun rise while reaching the Summit was an experience I will never forget! We raised a glass of bubbly after we landed, too! Thanks for an amazing morning! Outstanding.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Gretchen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Iceland wins NYE for all time! We were picked up by a mini coach and dropped off a few minutes later at the Gray Line headquarters to check in and then load a large motorcoach. We had a fantastic guide and who gave us the itinerary as we made our way to a large community bonfire. Dress WARM! My toes were freezing at times and I had on silk liners, 2 pairs of wool socks, and snow boots! The bonfire had hundreds of people, a fun band, and there was a big fireworks display. The Northern Lights also made an appearance for 10 minutes! We were then taken to the Gray Line bus depot where they set up a party with some donut like things, coffee, hot chocolate and water. They mentioned it was the first year they were doing this. There were 750 of us just standing around listening to just okay music. There were portable restrooms clean and stocked! to use during this stopover. It's necessary, but a little boring so just prepare! Then the fun happens! We were taken to a top point in the city for an hour where you get out, enjoy a glass of sparkling wine, and just take in hundred and hundreds of fireworks displays going on at the same time all over the city for as far as the eye can see! There is NOTHING like this anywhere I've been and it's surreal. Iceland doesn't do one big fireworks display. Everyone usually just buys fireworks from the local rescue squads as a way of supporting them and then after a nationally televised broadcast, everyone goes back outside and enjoys fireworks. I HIGHLY recommend everyone going to Iceland during New Years Eve and checking this out! Bucket list item for sure!

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour. You see all the classic Circle stops, with a bonus of Icelandic food. We stopped at a dairy farm for lunch, a picturesque greenhouse with amazing tomatoes, and a property with turf houses and scrumptious desserts. Our guide Simon was entertaining and informative. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Maria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was amazing and the time spent watching the display was well worth it. A not to be missed experience

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Ian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide! Fun time....Being in a lava tube was a great experience, wear waterproof clothing and old boots as the lava rocks chew up shoes. Snorkeling was a very cool experience make sure to have a base layer on, and the only thing that got cold on me was hands. Other than that i was actually quite warm. Take a camera if you have a water proof one. The colors are much better through film then the eyes.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very Professional, and what an amazing experience, we landed on the mountain and had spectacular views. The pilot vast very friendly and professional, the ride was extremely smooth. Both me and my wife recommend it highly.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Stacey S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Though the lights did not grace us with their presence, I still enjoyed the boat tour. It was tough to hear our guide based on my location on the top deck, but I enjoyed the history and brief tour of Reykjavik's couastline that he described. The crew also helped set up DSLR cameras to be prepared for the lights, though the mentioned it's better to have a tripod to keep the camera steady, and boats are never quite steady. Would do again over the chaotic bus tours.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Helen S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Was a great way to experience a more traditional new year. Lovely bonfire. Going to higher ground meant that you got a really good view over Reykjavik as the fireworks went off.
Staff on our bus were great, lovely complimentary glass or 2 of new year bubbles.
Stop at the main Grayline bus depot was the one thing we felt the trip didn't need. Big queues and no hot chocolate as it had all gone. Would still recommend this trip though.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Simone H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fun tour, but unfortunately we didn't see any whales. It wasn't whale watching season though, so we were hoping for a hail mary!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour from Gray Line.
Well coordinated hotel pickup and dropoff.
8pm bonfire was a fantastic experience.
From 9:45pm, we were taken back to Gray Line's office to a garage/warehouse style party to wait until 11pm, which was not that great. There were only portable toilets for the 6 buses. Coffee, hot chocolate and doughnuts were offered but ran out after the first 3 buses. Live music was good.

A guide takes each bus to a different vantage point overlooking Reykjavik for fireworks, prior to hotel drop offs from around 12:30am.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

ann o

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was a present for my adult children who are huge GoT fans. Both loved it and commented on how good the guide was, knowledgeable about Iceland and GoT. Both thoroughly enjoyed the day and saw a lot of Iceland.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Asma K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really good northern lights tour, lucky to see them sue to activish and clear skies. Good smooth sail on both. Unfortunately not able to see whales/dolphins - but company did offer another trip free of charge was our last day so couldn't capitalise. Very good tour guides/speakers. Entertainment was a bit novel on northern lights tour, and speaker system not so great on whale watching tour. Definitely worth the money though.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Northern Lights Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Douglas F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We did see the lights but the boat was really packed. In fact they sent two boats out and I think both were packed. This may have been because the weather had been bad before this night and so many who had their cruises cancelled days before us included were all out this night Dec 30. We did see the lights, but they just looked like long pale white clouds to me. I may have been in the minority though. The captain and many passengers said they saw the green of the lights. I didn't see green except afterwards in photos of long exposure. Perhaps I'm somewhat colorblind, but I was expecting color in the northern lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message