When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 931 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elke v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Prachtig, echt een ervaring. We hebben 4 walvissen gezien. We deden de toer van 2.5 uur met kinderen van 7 en 10 jaar oud. Hele goede uitleg van de bioloog aan boord. Aanrader

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

silvermix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a cheap, short trip that gave us the chance to see a LOT of puffins up close. The boat ride was pretty good, even though the water was kinda choppy so be careful if you get seasick, and we were able to get really close to the island were all the puffin had their nests.
We also had binoculars in the boat that we could use to see them up close.
If you are thinking about taking pictures, I would recommend a camera with a very good zoom since the puffins are kinda small and wide angle lenses don't really capture the details.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see Reykjavik! Asbjorn was a great pilot and helped us enjoy the ride! It was fun to land on top of one of the fjords and see the city from a different viewpoint. Would definitely love to do it again and see different parts of Iceland from up high!.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were happy to find that there were available tickets the night before the tour in the morning. It was a very pleasant tour, with a knowledgeable guide and a lot of puffins! Great value!

We couldn't find the dock information when we booked the tickets through Viator, so we had to ask around to find out where to go. It's operated by Special Tours, right out of the main old harbour area where all the other boat tours are. Look for the giant blow-up puffin outside the Special Tours hut.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Irene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Without a doubt the most amazing trip I have ever done. Made all the better by the informative commentary by the pilot. Thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Helicopter Flight from Reykjavik: Thingvellir National Park and Thórisjökull Glacier

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Weather was great, Scenery was great. Our boat tour guides were very professional and very conscious of finding whales for the tourists.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The company that Viator use were fantastic. They took us out to sea where we saw numerous Humpbacks one Minke Whale and lots of Puffins and Artic Turns. They showed consideration for the animals but still allowed us great photo opportunities.
The young lady who commentated throughout was very informative, this just enhanced the trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guides were good! They were nice and safety oriented. It was a very special opportunity to climb a glacier and have a couple tries at ice climbing.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was highly energized and made the trip! Wonderful sights with a truly exceptional last stop . Worth every penny!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We all agreed that the helicopter trip was the best part of our whole trip. Thanks

Doing what: Helicopter Flight from Reykjavik: Thingvellir National Park and Thórisjökull Glacier

dannytsen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a fantastic trip. Great view.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. My 13 year old daughter and I both had a blast. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Cynthia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our pilot was wonderful and the company was easy to work with when we had multiple email exchanges. It was great fun!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Valerie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was at the end of puffin season and we were still lucky enough to see a few! Crew was great and provided interesting facts. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great, the Golden Circle sights are awesome. The extra time this tour took meant you actually got to enjoy the sights instead of having a mere twenty minutes at each place like on some tours. And we went to like four other places.

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

These two tours were good--we saw dolphins on the whale watching tour no whales though and tons of puffins right out in front of the city.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Pauline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A-MAZ-ING from the check in to landing and everything in between.,could not be bettered. There were supposed to be 4 people on our tour, but the two other people did not show, so we had our own private tour. Our Pilot was so knowledgeable and landing on top of the mountain was awesome. Our photographs are brilliant and our pilot Pilu was an ambidextrous camera man , which impressed my daughter and I , immensely. A wonderful trip .

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this tour for my boyfriend who is a huge GOT fan, and wasn't expecting much other than to be a supportive girlfriend for 8 hours. There were several moments where we both audibly gasped at the beautiful of the landscape. I teach world geography so I was pleasantly surprised that there was as much geographic information for me enjoy as there was information about the show for my boyfriend. The drive times between locations could be a bit long, but the landscape along the drive was so stunning it didn't really matter. It was truly our favorite day of the 4 we spent in Iceland. A word to the wise - wear hiking boots. The terrain is steep and rocky in several locations, and I saw this mentioned in one other review and was very glad I heeded the advice!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Bonnie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The only thing that would have been better would have been to actually go on the island with them.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

barbara.l.baldwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to see Iceland. We had the best time! Our pilot was wonderful and full of good information. We can't wait to go back and take another helicopter tour. I would definitely suggest it to anyone. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Pamela B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this tour mostly for my husband who is a fan. The locations were awesome and I enjoyed the tour guides stories and knowledge of the season and episode of the scenes the locations were filmed. She was great! I highly recommend if you are a fan or not.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a ton of fun! It's more of a beer tasting with lots of beer than a brewery tour, with some interesting facts about Iceland's history with alcohol.

Doing what: Beer Tasting at Olgerdin Brewery from Reykjavik

Terrence Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour group did a professional job. We were fortunate to see several humpbacks and several minke whales. The puffins had pretty much cleared out for the season, but we did see some. If you want puffins, go earlier in the summer

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Nuala M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If I could give this tour 10 stars I would!! it is such an amazing experience and its how everyone visiting Reykjavik should see it. Our pilot Solveig not sure if that's the correct spelling but she was amazing, so informative and professional, and great fun to be around! such a lovely girl. Our experience was made even better when she popped open a bottle of champagne for us as we were celebrating my boyfriends 30th. If your planning a trip to Reykjavik, do not leave without taking this tour!! 3 To the girls in the office and our amazing pilot, Thanks!!

Nuala and Seamus

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

viacor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour! Our guide Aston was very knowledgeable and funny. The bus took us to gorgeous places that were not packed with tourists unlike most tours and had some breathtaking vistas. This tour requires a good level of fitness if you are going to do the walking off the beaten paths.
My only complaint would be the place where we stopped for lunch: overpriced fried food...no vegetarian or healthy alternative...

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message