With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sapna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Blue Lagoon is an incredible experience, and a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon! This was our favorite part of our four-day trip to Reykjavik. This tour allows flexibility to take any return bus home, which is great because you may decide to spend more time in the water, and there is a nice restaurant with excellent cocktails.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Dana Pflug P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour as promised. Our guide, Trond, hit all the right notes. He was well informed, a good teacher and knew just when to let us soak up the scenery - which was breathtaking. Nice, small group. A perfect day trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent day trip with a very informative guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Diane United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip! Our tour guide, Oliver, was great! I enjoyed the cave more than I would have expected. Snorkeling was fun too but for all the preparation it takes, it didn't seem like we were in the water all that long. And it was my first time doing that kind of snorkeling so I was a little uncomfortable with all the gear/equipment and worrying about leaks and such. But it worked out quite well. It makes me want to pursue scuba diving! The water was so beautiful. I love being able to say I've been between the North American and Eurasian plates!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day trip Andre and #39;s A wa and #39;s a great guide and very knowledgeable. The waterfall is spectacular and the hot spring very relaxing. Great value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jessieg723

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome day trip! A must when in Reykjavik!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip to the west part of Iceland.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning day trip. Great off road vehicle with amazing scenery of the south coast of Iceland. 2 great hikes with spectacular landscape of Thorsmork and the waterfall of course

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

Constantine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This day trip made the entire Iceland experience worth it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

marylally202

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day trip. The glacier was phenomenal. Mary

Doing what: Southern Iceland Day Tour

KEVIN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

wonderful day trip, loots to see and frequent stops for photos etc.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent half day trip, just about the right amount of time to see some beautiful scenery and sights. The tour guide was very informative. Gulfloss was amazing but wrap up warm when visiting as the cold wind is cutting.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Tatty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A brilliant day trip taking in The Volcanic Crater, Gullfoss Waterfall, Strokkur and Pingvellir National Park all stunningly beautiful! Our driver Ragnar had the perfect balance between being informative and interesting while at the same time respecting that sometimes words are not needed, what more could you ask?! I loved it!

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

BrianH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Most informative day trip due to a very knowledgeable guide who presented the facts with humour and passion for his country. Very fortunate with the weather and key sites scenically impressive and a great cross section of what Iceland has to offer.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

JOHAN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day trip and and an excellent opportunity to see some amazing countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jennifer a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best day trips we have been on. The guide was superb with the right blend of facts and fiction about each location visited without going over the top.Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A quick, but excellent half-day trip. All the sights were able to be covered, with quick stops at each, during this short-of-daylight time of year. Well worth taking this tour if you are in Reykjavik in December!

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was exceptionally well informed and made this day trip so enjoyable i'd do it again on another visit!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent day trip.
Very well organised. Tour guide was very friendly and informative with excellent English.
A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Daniela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day trip. Arman was well informed and shared his knowledge with us. He also had great patience with us older folks attempting to ice climb.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Dean F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good full day trip around the golden circle, plenty of time for pictures and sightseeing at all locations.
Capped off with a visit to the secret lagoon for a relaxing drink, in my opinion less crowded and better than the Blue lagoon

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

bandcodea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding tour experience with a knowledgeable, professional, friendly tour guide. We highly recommend the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip for those on a limited visit to Iceland. You'll enjoy the most amazing natural elements of Iceland outside of Reykjavik in one day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sharon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I put my comments for this trip under the Blue Lagoon by mistake. The Golden Circle Classic Day Trip was a great way in which to see some of Iceland. Tour guide was very informative bus driver was very good.

Blue Lagoon comments: It was nice but did nothing for our aches and pains. When first entering the water, the lava was hard on the feet. Everyone who visits Iceland needs to visit the Blue Lagoon one time

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lesia D. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day trip was very interesting. Thank you for including all the sites and explanations en route.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Amberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful day trip! Our guide was funny and personable but not overbearing. You can't beat the sights! The day was planned out very well. I don't think there is much need to stop at the geothermal plant and would've loved more time at the other places instead. The coach bus was well equipped with USB charging in the seat but the wifi didn't work too well, which wasn't that big of a deal since we were stuck to the windows looking at the gorgeous landscape!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message