With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was easily the highlight of my entire week in Iceland. Worth every single penny/Króna. Even if you don't watch the show, this is 100 worth doing.

Some context: It's a mostly all-day trip if you go in the winter time. Get on the bus at 10am, finish the tour at 5 or 6pm, get stuck in windy/snowy conditions, back at the hotel at 9 or 10pm. Honestly, though, it's still worth the trip but keep that in mind and bring extra water and snacks to avoid spending too much at rest stops, and also bring a warm wind-proof coat. You'll stop at 3 locations, maybe a 4th with a cool view unrelated to the show if the group is making good time. Definitely try to go on a clear and rain-less day so you can actually see the sights.

Our experience was a great one, and 90 of that was from the host / tour guide. We happened to get one who: 1 is an extra on the show, for reals 2 Does viking battle re-enactments and makes his own viking clothing which he wears on the tour 3 Is super funny and has literally an entire day's worth of entertaining stories to tell, which is what will be the highlight. Seriously, that tour guide deserves a promotion and a 6-figure salary.
One of the sights you stop at, if you have the tour guide we did, will pose with you in his cool outfit and pretend to stab you with his sword in a photo. Very cool and fun.

Bottom line, you should do this tour if: You want to see the beautiful countryside of Iceland but don't want to bother driving to the sights yourself, love Game of Thrones even if you don't you'll still have fun, and enjoy hearing many interesting stories. 1000 worth your time and money. Do it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

smythe2710

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this trip, it is a shorter version of the Golden Circle day trip, if you only like to stay at each stop for 20 - 30 minutes, then this tour is for you. The whole tour is 6 hours and you will get a good insight of the country. The guide Gerda, was very knowledgeable and told us some interesting facts about the places we would visit, Iceland as a country and the Icelandic people in general. We visited the Tectonic Plates in Thingvellir National Park, the Geysirs, a volcanic crater and Gullfoss Waterfall, which is amazing. I would recommend this trip as I learnt a lot thanks to Gerda about Iceland and my overall opinion is that it is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Afternoon Tour by Minibus

Trevor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best day trips I have ever been on , a Must if you travel to Iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

HANH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was Gerda and we couldn't have been happier. She is such a warm, fun, and knowledgeable tour guide that it made our grand circle day trip even more memorable! You can't best quality tours! Because we were on a smaller group Mercedes sprinter like bus, we made several stops along the way, even stops that were unplanned. She was always thinking of her guests and whether they were enjoying themselves and comforting in the ride. Always going the extra mile and giving great recommendations even outside of the tour! She knows so much about iceland and her stories are so captivating, not to mention her voice is just so sweet and humbled. This is probably the first tour I saw my husband stay awake during the entire time!!!

Now onto the tour, the grand golden circle tour was a lot of fun!!! We got picked up at our hotel on time. The ride was real comfortable and new! They are working on getting wifi equipped. We visited the golden circle which basically includes the following stops: thingvellir national park where you can walk through the fissure caused by the separation of the American/Eurasian tectonic plates, hot spring geysers stokkur and old man sleeping geysir, and the breathtaking gullfoss waterfalls. Make sure you wear at least a waterproof liner on the outside you can get very wet and being so cold outside that won't be fun at all! This tour also included a visit to the kerid volcanic crater as well as a farm with delicious homemade goods! All of these attractions were beautiful and pretty easy to walk through. Gerda was nice enough to drop us off in one location and then meet us down the slopes so that we didn't have to walk all the way back up. She's so good to us!!! Also for any tours in any country pls tip your guides if you had a great time!!!! While they don't expect it, it's only common courtesy to do so!

I'm not sure when you book a tour, if the requests goes out to several tour companies or just one. But I guess you could call viator to confirm. Gerda is with Iceland Intro and she is amazing.

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

Philosophy25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ok, this tour was awesome. Sure it's a lot of driving. So is any day trip where you have to see multiple locations. The guide was fun, the stops were unique, and if you have any enjoyment of this show then you will not regret coming on this tour! A couple of added bonuses thrown in too.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

jmkuhlmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this day trip. I had already seen a lot of the southern coast with friends earlier in the trip. It was nice to have such a knowledgeable tour guide to give insights and information that I didn't get when traveling on my own. It was an incredibly windy day so the group might not have spent as much time at each sight as we normally would but I still feel like I had enough time to explore. The lobster soup was fantastic!

Doing what: Reykjanes Peninsula Day Trip from Reykjavik with Optional Blue Lagoon Drop-Off

Mary Lou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful day trip! The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The waterfalls were beautiful and you were able to hike up close to them. Especially enjoyed the black-sand beach of Reynisfjara since the Puffins were still there, the tide low enough so you could go into the caves, and the rock stacks along the beach absolutely amazing. But the highlight for me was the glacier hike. This is a definite must to see before they disappear! I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: South Iceland Tour from Reykjavik: Waterfalls, Volcanoes and Glaciers

dataylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day trip with many, many stops. Lots to see from glacier mountain, to jagged coastline to volcano cave walk. The driver was very informative as he gave many an interesting story, historical, mythical, as well as geographical.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

THEODOROS M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The most outstanding trip of our life!!!The landascapes were beyond expectation, our tour guide made the trip even more interesting, waterfalls, geysir and volcanic land is something NOBODY should miss if in Reykjavik!!!The ABSOLUTE must day trip!!!Well done!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Juliette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had an AMAZING time on this trip. One warning: on the second part of the ride, despite none of us being experienced riders, we went cantering and even galloping. It was super fun, but definitely not for the faint of heart! An awesome day trip for adventurous travelers and horse lovers. Plus, the farm is family run.

Doing what: Horseback Riding Day Tour at Laxnes Farm from Reykjavik

marsha z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved every minute of our tour! The transportation, guide, and timing were perfect. I have already told our AAA travel agent about the wonderful trip in hopes that she will recommend this day trip to others. Five stars! Marsha

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sapna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Blue Lagoon is an incredible experience, and a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon! This was our favorite part of our four-day trip to Reykjavik. This tour allows flexibility to take any return bus home, which is great because you may decide to spend more time in the water, and there is a nice restaurant with excellent cocktails.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Dana Pflug P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour as promised. Our guide, Trond, hit all the right notes. He was well informed, a good teacher and knew just when to let us soak up the scenery - which was breathtaking. Nice, small group. A perfect day trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent day trip with a very informative guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Diane United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip! Our tour guide, Oliver, was great! I enjoyed the cave more than I would have expected. Snorkeling was fun too but for all the preparation it takes, it didn't seem like we were in the water all that long. And it was my first time doing that kind of snorkeling so I was a little uncomfortable with all the gear/equipment and worrying about leaks and such. But it worked out quite well. It makes me want to pursue scuba diving! The water was so beautiful. I love being able to say I've been between the North American and Eurasian plates!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day trip Andre and #39;s A wa and #39;s a great guide and very knowledgeable. The waterfall is spectacular and the hot spring very relaxing. Great value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jessieg723

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome day trip! A must when in Reykjavik!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip to the west part of Iceland.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning day trip. Great off road vehicle with amazing scenery of the south coast of Iceland. 2 great hikes with spectacular landscape of Thorsmork and the waterfall of course

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

Constantine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This day trip made the entire Iceland experience worth it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

marylally202

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day trip. The glacier was phenomenal. Mary

Doing what: Southern Iceland Glaciers, Waterfalls and Beaches Day Tour

KEVIN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

wonderful day trip, loots to see and frequent stops for photos etc.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent half day trip, just about the right amount of time to see some beautiful scenery and sights. The tour guide was very informative. Gulfloss was amazing but wrap up warm when visiting as the cold wind is cutting.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Tatty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A brilliant day trip taking in The Volcanic Crater, Gullfoss Waterfall, Strokkur and Pingvellir National Park all stunningly beautiful! Our driver Ragnar had the perfect balance between being informative and interesting while at the same time respecting that sometimes words are not needed, what more could you ask?! I loved it!

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message