With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Golden Circle Day trip from Reykjavik was awesome! The group was small enough so that you felt as though it was a private tour. Booking and pick up was super efficient. We were able to really take our time and enjoy every stop throughout our day. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. I would highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik including Kerid

Mick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Definitely book all your trips before you go. It'll save you a lot of money compared to booking there.
Also, book to see the Northern Lights for your first available night. It gives you the most opportunity to see them because each unsuccessful trip out will lead to the offer of a further trip during your visit. We managed to see them at the very end of our tour and it was very much worth the cost of the trip. If we hadn't gone on our first night, however, we'd have missed out because every other night of our 4 night stay was snowed off.
We went whale watching and really, this was the only negative of our trip apart from the cost of everything. As we left the harbour, the girl on the microphone announce that it was highly unlikely we'd see any whales as whale season was around summer. If you're travelling during winter, bear this in mind. You might see an occasional porpoise or dolphin and these count as views. We didn't see anything at all and were given a ticket for a free trip any time in the next two years.
The Golden Circle Tour is an absolute must. Geysers, volcanoes, tectonic plates and waterfalls make this a must-do trip. If you aren't the best on your feet though, remember that if you walk down a few hundred steps to get to better view points, you will also need to walk back up the steps to get back to the bus.
Now the not-so-good bit: The cost compared with UK is very high. We me and wife took 500 in IKr for a four day trip. We also took 600 sterling for just-in-case. Well, the just-in-case came on the third day! Obviously, the advice I've given above about booking trips in advance wasn't given to us so we paid more for our trips and if we'd pre-booked it would all have been paid on the debit card but including trips and food we really did spend a lot of money. First night meal was a 14 pizza and a pint of lager each... 3,800 Ikr around 27 We called in an Irish bar and I had a pint of Guinness... 1,500 IKr 10
Don't let the cost put you off though. It is worth going for the many unique sights you'll see and memories you'll have for ever.
Oh, finally, take plenty of layers. Thick coats, hats and gloves and decent walking shoes are a must.

Doing what: Airport Express Shared Arrival Transfer from Keflavik to Reykjavik

jacqueline m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day trip. Worth the money. Awesome experience! I just wish the weather was better.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Dennell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an Amazing Experience! This is the best deal for the price! You cant beat it! Round trip transport picked us up from our hotel at 1pm and then we went to a bus station and they gave us tickets for our bus ride back, and the tickets to get inside the Blue Lagoon. Its a 45 min. ride to the Lagoon and once you get there you just hand them your ticket inside and they give you a waterproof bracelet. You can buy whatever you want inside the Lagoon with your bracelet. Inside the Lagoon there is a Silica Mud Bar, you can go over, and get a fresh mud mask to wear while relaxing in the Lagoon. There is also a Bar in the Lagoon to buy drinks. They have a place to do water massages but that is an extra cost when you get your wristbands. They have a Sauna that is really hot! I almost couldn't breathe for a second, but it was cool to do that for a little bit. We brought our lunch and ate upstairs in these lounge chairs, took a little break, and then jumped back in the lagoon. We stayed till 6pm. We took the 6:30pm bus back home to our hotel. It was a very relaxing day and we luckily had great weather so we got a lot of good pics on the Go Pro and video as well! : Great day trip! I know some people will just go for a couple hours but i DO NOT recommend doing that if you can avoid it. 2 Hours flies by when your there. We stayed from 1-6pm and that was perfect!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Maire-Clare K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent day trip, lot of sights covered with knowlegable and friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Southern Iceland Glaciers, Waterfalls and Beaches Day Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great day trip and worth the full day excursion!

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

Tone P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good day trip, we got to see some great places. The Secret Lagoon was amazing. The guide we had Addy? I think her name was was brilliant, very knowledgeable and funny.

Doing what: Golden Circle and Secret Lagoon Hot Springs Day Trip from Reykjavík

Paula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Lorenzo was fabulous and very informative. Really interesting day trip. The highlight though was the Glacier walk. It was awesome. We took our two 20 something children with us and we all said it was one of our best ever experiences. Well worthy the money and what was a long but memorable day. Thank you Lorenzo for a fab day.

Doing what: South Iceland Tour from Reykjavik: Waterfalls, Volcanoes and Glaciers

Gregory J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip in our case was handled by the company Mercury Grail and it's owner Andres Ivanovic.
He arrived at our hotel early and was upbeat and pleasant. Even though the listing says 4x4 Jeep it was an awd Subaru. That was perfectly fine and Andres was a competent driver. One thing that you will discover when visiting Iceland during the winter months is that the weather is extremely changeable and road conditions will vary. Maybe it was because we were of similar age to Andres that we made a connection or it could have been that we were genuinely interested in the country and what we were seeing. He was able to answer our questions and also added his own commentary. The Icelandic horses were also of interest to us and the other party in the car and he made sure to stop at a small roadside group to take photos and get some time to pet them. There was never any question that our enjoyment was paramount to him. He also would accommodate and bathroom or food stops that the group needed. He also contacted us preceding the trip to suggest the best time to depart for the day. Andres is typical of the type of person you meet in Iceland and I highly recommend him as a guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to the Golden Circle and Hot spring Geyser by 4X4 Jeep from Reykjavik

Jon Wright

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant day trip, the scenery of Iceland is just incredible and this trip definitely invites you to see some of their wonders - the geysers and Gulfoss made the visit so worthwhile. We had awful weather - snow, rain, blizzards, insane wind - but that is part and parcel of where you are! The guide was excellent and provided good commentary and could not fault the bus driver who had to deal with everything the weather had to throw at us!

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

kel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good day trip to see the outskirts of Reykjavik city.
Highlights: Golden Waterfalls, Viking Horse Park, Geysir, Pingveilir National Park, quick view of the Tectonic Plates

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our flight arrived in Reykjavik at 4:00 AM and we knew we wouldn't be able to check in to our hotel until the afternoon, so we decided to book a tour. They didn't pick up from our hotel as it was outside the downtown area so we had to make our way to the BSI Bus Terminal. It was no problem as the city bus stopped there regularly. Eventually, we were picked up and transported to a central meeting area where the guests for the various tours assigned to specific buses and guides. Finally, we were on our way. Our guide, Svein sorry about the spelling was an Icelandic native and extremely informative. He was proud of his country and happy to share tips, stories and tales from his vast experiences. The weather was cold and rainy, but that was a mere inconvenience for Svein. He would stand in the rain and answer questions and provide full details for all of the sights we were seeing. Many companies offer the Golden Circle day trip, and from our research it appears they all visit the same areas. We chose this company because of the reviews and we were happy we did. This was an excellent tour and because we covered so much ground, a great overview of the area. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

Terence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent and informative day trip out with pick up and drop off at hotel. Covers some amazing natural sights with enough time for a good look around each one. Is a must on any visit to Iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was easily the highlight of my entire week in Iceland. Worth every single penny/Króna. Even if you don't watch the show, this is 100 worth doing.

Some context: It's a mostly all-day trip if you go in the winter time. Get on the bus at 10am, finish the tour at 5 or 6pm, get stuck in windy/snowy conditions, back at the hotel at 9 or 10pm. Honestly, though, it's still worth the trip but keep that in mind and bring extra water and snacks to avoid spending too much at rest stops, and also bring a warm wind-proof coat. You'll stop at 3 locations, maybe a 4th with a cool view unrelated to the show if the group is making good time. Definitely try to go on a clear and rain-less day so you can actually see the sights.

Our experience was a great one, and 90 of that was from the host / tour guide. We happened to get one who: 1 is an extra on the show, for reals 2 Does viking battle re-enactments and makes his own viking clothing which he wears on the tour 3 Is super funny and has literally an entire day's worth of entertaining stories to tell, which is what will be the highlight. Seriously, that tour guide deserves a promotion and a 6-figure salary.
One of the sights you stop at, if you have the tour guide we did, will pose with you in his cool outfit and pretend to stab you with his sword in a photo. Very cool and fun.

Bottom line, you should do this tour if: You want to see the beautiful countryside of Iceland but don't want to bother driving to the sights yourself, love Game of Thrones even if you don't you'll still have fun, and enjoy hearing many interesting stories. 1000 worth your time and money. Do it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

smythe2710

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this trip, it is a shorter version of the Golden Circle day trip, if you only like to stay at each stop for 20 - 30 minutes, then this tour is for you. The whole tour is 6 hours and you will get a good insight of the country. The guide Gerda, was very knowledgeable and told us some interesting facts about the places we would visit, Iceland as a country and the Icelandic people in general. We visited the Tectonic Plates in Thingvellir National Park, the Geysirs, a volcanic crater and Gullfoss Waterfall, which is amazing. I would recommend this trip as I learnt a lot thanks to Gerda about Iceland and my overall opinion is that it is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Afternoon Tour from Reykjavik

Trevor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best day trips I have ever been on , a Must if you travel to Iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

HANH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was Gerda and we couldn't have been happier. She is such a warm, fun, and knowledgeable tour guide that it made our grand circle day trip even more memorable! You can't best quality tours! Because we were on a smaller group Mercedes sprinter like bus, we made several stops along the way, even stops that were unplanned. She was always thinking of her guests and whether they were enjoying themselves and comforting in the ride. Always going the extra mile and giving great recommendations even outside of the tour! She knows so much about iceland and her stories are so captivating, not to mention her voice is just so sweet and humbled. This is probably the first tour I saw my husband stay awake during the entire time!!!

Now onto the tour, the grand golden circle tour was a lot of fun!!! We got picked up at our hotel on time. The ride was real comfortable and new! They are working on getting wifi equipped. We visited the golden circle which basically includes the following stops: thingvellir national park where you can walk through the fissure caused by the separation of the American/Eurasian tectonic plates, hot spring geysers stokkur and old man sleeping geysir, and the breathtaking gullfoss waterfalls. Make sure you wear at least a waterproof liner on the outside you can get very wet and being so cold outside that won't be fun at all! This tour also included a visit to the kerid volcanic crater as well as a farm with delicious homemade goods! All of these attractions were beautiful and pretty easy to walk through. Gerda was nice enough to drop us off in one location and then meet us down the slopes so that we didn't have to walk all the way back up. She's so good to us!!! Also for any tours in any country pls tip your guides if you had a great time!!!! While they don't expect it, it's only common courtesy to do so!

I'm not sure when you book a tour, if the requests goes out to several tour companies or just one. But I guess you could call viator to confirm. Gerda is with Iceland Intro and she is amazing.

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

Philosophy25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ok, this tour was awesome. Sure it's a lot of driving. So is any day trip where you have to see multiple locations. The guide was fun, the stops were unique, and if you have any enjoyment of this show then you will not regret coming on this tour! A couple of added bonuses thrown in too.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

jmkuhlmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this day trip. I had already seen a lot of the southern coast with friends earlier in the trip. It was nice to have such a knowledgeable tour guide to give insights and information that I didn't get when traveling on my own. It was an incredibly windy day so the group might not have spent as much time at each sight as we normally would but I still feel like I had enough time to explore. The lobster soup was fantastic!

Doing what: Reykjanes Peninsula Day Trip from Reykjavik with Optional Blue Lagoon Drop-Off

Mary Lou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful day trip! The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The waterfalls were beautiful and you were able to hike up close to them. Especially enjoyed the black-sand beach of Reynisfjara since the Puffins were still there, the tide low enough so you could go into the caves, and the rock stacks along the beach absolutely amazing. But the highlight for me was the glacier hike. This is a definite must to see before they disappear! I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: South Iceland Tour from Reykjavik: Waterfalls, Volcanoes and Glaciers

dataylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day trip with many, many stops. Lots to see from glacier mountain, to jagged coastline to volcano cave walk. The driver was very informative as he gave many an interesting story, historical, mythical, as well as geographical.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

THEODOROS M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The most outstanding trip of our life!!!The landascapes were beyond expectation, our tour guide made the trip even more interesting, waterfalls, geysir and volcanic land is something NOBODY should miss if in Reykjavik!!!The ABSOLUTE must day trip!!!Well done!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Juliette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had an AMAZING time on this trip. One warning: on the second part of the ride, despite none of us being experienced riders, we went cantering and even galloping. It was super fun, but definitely not for the faint of heart! An awesome day trip for adventurous travelers and horse lovers. Plus, the farm is family run.

Doing what: Horseback Riding Day Tour at Laxnes Farm from Reykjavik

marsha z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved every minute of our tour! The transportation, guide, and timing were perfect. I have already told our AAA travel agent about the wonderful trip in hopes that she will recommend this day trip to others. Five stars! Marsha

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message