With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary Lou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful day trip! The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The waterfalls were beautiful and you were able to hike up close to them. Especially enjoyed the black-sand beach of Reynisfjara since the Puffins were still there, the tide low enough so you could go into the caves, and the rock stacks along the beach absolutely amazing. But the highlight for me was the glacier hike. This is a definite must to see before they disappear! I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: South Iceland Tour from Reykjavik: Waterfalls, Volcanoes and Glaciers

dataylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day trip with many, many stops. Lots to see from glacier mountain, to jagged coastline to volcano cave walk. The driver was very informative as he gave many an interesting story, historical, mythical, as well as geographical.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

THEODOROS M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The most outstanding trip of our life!!!The landascapes were beyond expectation, our tour guide made the trip even more interesting, waterfalls, geysir and volcanic land is something NOBODY should miss if in Reykjavik!!!The ABSOLUTE must day trip!!!Well done!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Juliette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had an AMAZING time on this trip. One warning: on the second part of the ride, despite none of us being experienced riders, we went cantering and even galloping. It was super fun, but definitely not for the faint of heart! An awesome day trip for adventurous travelers and horse lovers. Plus, the farm is family run.

Doing what: Horseback Riding Day Tour at Laxnes Farm from Reykjavik

marsha z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved every minute of our tour! The transportation, guide, and timing were perfect. I have already told our AAA travel agent about the wonderful trip in hopes that she will recommend this day trip to others. Five stars! Marsha

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sapna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Blue Lagoon is an incredible experience, and a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon! This was our favorite part of our four-day trip to Reykjavik. This tour allows flexibility to take any return bus home, which is great because you may decide to spend more time in the water, and there is a nice restaurant with excellent cocktails.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Dana Pflug P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour as promised. Our guide, Trond, hit all the right notes. He was well informed, a good teacher and knew just when to let us soak up the scenery - which was breathtaking. Nice, small group. A perfect day trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent day trip with a very informative guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Diane United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip! Our tour guide, Oliver, was great! I enjoyed the cave more than I would have expected. Snorkeling was fun too but for all the preparation it takes, it didn't seem like we were in the water all that long. And it was my first time doing that kind of snorkeling so I was a little uncomfortable with all the gear/equipment and worrying about leaks and such. But it worked out quite well. It makes me want to pursue scuba diving! The water was so beautiful. I love being able to say I've been between the North American and Eurasian plates!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day trip Andre and #39;s A wa and #39;s a great guide and very knowledgeable. The waterfall is spectacular and the hot spring very relaxing. Great value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jessieg723

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome day trip! A must when in Reykjavik!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing day trip to the west part of Iceland.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

ishtiakfaruk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning day trip. Great off road vehicle with amazing scenery of the south coast of Iceland. 2 great hikes with spectacular landscape of Thorsmork and the waterfall of course

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

Constantine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This day trip made the entire Iceland experience worth it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

marylally202

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day trip. The glacier was phenomenal. Mary

Doing what: Southern Iceland Glaciers, Waterfalls and Beaches Day Tour

KEVIN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

wonderful day trip, loots to see and frequent stops for photos etc.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent half day trip, just about the right amount of time to see some beautiful scenery and sights. The tour guide was very informative. Gulfloss was amazing but wrap up warm when visiting as the cold wind is cutting.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Tatty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A brilliant day trip taking in The Volcanic Crater, Gullfoss Waterfall, Strokkur and Pingvellir National Park all stunningly beautiful! Our driver Ragnar had the perfect balance between being informative and interesting while at the same time respecting that sometimes words are not needed, what more could you ask?! I loved it!

Doing what: Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik

BrianH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Most informative day trip due to a very knowledgeable guide who presented the facts with humour and passion for his country. Very fortunate with the weather and key sites scenically impressive and a great cross section of what Iceland has to offer.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

JOHAN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day trip and and an excellent opportunity to see some amazing countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jennifer a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best day trips we have been on. The guide was superb with the right blend of facts and fiction about each location visited without going over the top.Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A quick, but excellent half-day trip. All the sights were able to be covered, with quick stops at each, during this short-of-daylight time of year. Well worth taking this tour if you are in Reykjavik in December!

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was exceptionally well informed and made this day trip so enjoyable i'd do it again on another visit!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent day trip.
Very well organised. Tour guide was very friendly and informative with excellent English.
A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Golden Circle Half Day Tour

Daniela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day trip. Arman was well informed and shared his knowledge with us. He also had great patience with us older folks attempting to ice climb.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message