With hundreds of tourists taking to the route each day, Iceland’s Golden Circle route isn’t the place to get off-the-beaten-track, but there’s a reason why is so popular. The 300 km tourist road loops around some of south Iceland’s most spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent tour of the Golden Circle. We went on the evening tour, and it was superb, well worth getting into our hotel a bit late. Our guide was very informative and sweet and took us to an additional stop not normally on the tour. The bus was big and comfortable with lots of leg room and great windows so you could watch the scenery between stops. Our stop for soup/dinner was wonderful and the soup was deliscious.

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

Yazeed Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful experience visiting the golden circle and a few other surprises along the way. Great tour guide helped make the trip more memorable.

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with an equally excellent and very informative guide.

We had a great time exploring the wonders of Iceland's geological features. Enjoying the beauty of the Gulfoss waterfall, coming face to face with actual tectonic plates, watching water boiling from underground and witnessing an erupting geysir almost convinces you that Iceland a giant theme park for earth science enthusiasts. Even if you're not into earth science, this excursion will prove to be one of the BEST field trips that you'll ever take. Iceland is one of the most beautiful countries that I've ever visited and the Golden Circle tour reinforces my belief.

I highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Rizkiakbar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When you are in Iceland, at least you take this Golden Circle tour. You will see the familiar geyser, the incredible Gullfoss, and the breathtaking Pingveliir National Park. And if you and your tour group were nice and on time, the guide will give you a bonus to have stops in Faxi waterfall which is not included in the tour. The guide was fun and making a lot of jokes which makes your adventure much more enjoyable. Highly recommend. And I have to say that the Viator arrange an amazing tour. I stay for a week in Iceland, and I took Golden Circle Tour, Jokulsarlon Tour, Landmannalaugar Tour, Snaefellness Tour, Whale Watching Tour and Blue Lagoon Tour. All of them was SUPERB!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Ashley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!! We got to see so many beautiful sights along the Golden Circle of Iceland and our tour guide, Kristina, was amazing. Because our hotel wasn't close to Grey Line's main bus terminal, we got picked up at hour hotel by a shuttle bus and brought to the main terminal. From there we drove about 40 minutes to a beautiful lookout that showed us a gorgeous lake and walked around for about 15 minutes to take pictures. Then the bus took us to the site of Iceland's original parliament about 30 minutes on the bus, now a UNESCO heritage location. Kristina took us on a walk around the area and told us the history of the region and of Iceland's different regions. From there, we drove to Gullfloss about an hour drive, the largest waterfall in Europe. We had about 75 minutes to walk around the waterfall, get lunch and check out their gift shop. The pictures we got of the warterfall are amazing! Then we took a short drive to see a collection of geysers, and had about 50 minutes there to look at the geysers and also to get a snack and look at the gift shop. Our next stop was about a 25 minute drive to a beautiful church overlooking fields and streams, and then we drove another 25 minutes to an Icelandic horse farm. That was so much fun! The horses were so cute and the farm had a little bar where we got some Icelandic beers and had a snack. It was about an hour drive from the horse farm back to Reykjavik. Although it was a long time on the bus, we got to see gorgeous locations and Kristina kept the bus rides entertaining with lots of stories about Icelandic history and culture. I definitely recommend this trip, its a great price for all that you get so see!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

aybike.aker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The itinerary is simply great! It is a must-do in Reykjavik! This tour (Golden Circle plus Fontana Geothermal Bath) is better than an only Golden Circle tours. Our guide and #39;s English was poor but still we enjoyed every second of the tour related to the unique Icelandic nature a lot!!

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Adam L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do! Stop looking around and choose this one for the golden circle expeiance. The snowmobiling on the glacier was amazing. Thor our giude and driver was great. Best tour of the week in Iceland. The monster truck was fine and more comfortable then the buses we took.

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Kristine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the Golden Circle Tour! It included many of the must-see sights in Iceland. We also liked that we were given time to hike/explore on our own at most sites. The tour guide was excellent as well.... funny and chock full of information!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

DAVID C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is 8 hours long and didn't get back until 7:00pm the gullfoss or golden falls is absolutely spectacular. The fissure between the two tectonic plates that divide Iceland was incredible. We saw everything that is important to see that is just outside of Reykjavik.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

JOSEPH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such a wonderful and magical tour! The Fontana spa was stunning, and I and #39;m so glad I chose to do the golden circle with this spa! You don and #39;t want to miss this hidden little gem, tucked away amongst the mountains beside a huge lake that you can totally jump in as well!! perfect day tour!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Deborah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I greatly enjoyed the Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Baths Tour. The tour guide was awesome and she gave us as much local info as she could fit in while driving the bus at the same time! She was a very interesting person. The falls, the geysirs, the sights everywhere were awesome. We were given ample time to explore on our own and time stood still at the Fontana Baths where I soaked with a small handful of other tour goers. Very peaceful and beautiful. Lunch at the spa was also very good.

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

cmscoffee United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Golden Circle is a great way to get a quick see and do about southern Iceland and brief history. The bus is very comfortable and our guide was careful not to over talk during the trip. A definite must see and do for first timers to Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a good tour guide who made the tour even more interesting. She had a lot to tell us not only about the places we visited but other interesting information relating to the places, history etc. Most of all she made us laugh with her sense of humour. The Golden Circle tour is a must see.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Elizabeth C.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Golden Circle is a must while in Iceland! It was our first trip of our tour and we saw so many gorgeous sights. The national park was a huge highlight and we also saw this beautiful little church tucked away in the hills that has this neat little hobbit house next to it. There were rolling hills and mountains everywhere you looked. Abba, our tour director, was super knowledgeable, friendly and just an all-around awesome tour guide and we were blown away by the raw beauty of the gorgeous sights that we saw along the way. I cant recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Renee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is absolutely amazing if you are looking to see as much in one day as you can. It takes you out in several hotspots around Iceland. Our tour guide, Gigi, was phenomenal!! We learned so much about Iceland during this 8 hour tour.
You stop along the Golden circle to see the Tectonic plate, Gullfoss and the Geysir. Stopping several times at rest stops for bathroom breaks, refreshments and lunch.
A great tour for the money. Highly receommend this tour with Grey Line!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide was brilliant- shared lots of the history and culture with us. The stops around golden circle were all very worthwhile and never had to travel for more than 1.5 hours with most intervals being 30 mins or less- great if you're not too good on buses. The actual waterfalls, geizer etc.. were just phenomenal.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

melpalachandran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our first booked tour got cancelled due to the weather so we booked the Golden Circle Afternoon Tour which I was so happy about in the end. This meant we could go to the Blue Lagoon in morning and still explore the Golden Circle on our last day - talk about maximise time! Jakub was our tour guide who instantly made us feel welcomed and energised. He was nice and friendly and made everyone feel welcomed and at ease. He started of by explaining where we would go and what time we expected to be stopping. He was really informative throughout the tour and even went round the coach to make sure everyone was having fun and gave them an opportunity to ask questions. He was a brilliant tour guide and you could tell he loved his job! Having a great, knowledgable tour guide really added to our experience!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Christabel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing! This was my 3rd time doing the Golden Circle but first time booking via Viator, have to say the price was very good, the booking went through smoothly, the pick up at the hotel was good, it dropped us to the office where we got our tickets and then took off on the tour! I highly recommend this Golden Circle Tour, and will book others via Viator again, I was very happy overall, have no complaints :

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Golden Circle is a perfect way to see the topography of Iceland. We had an informative guide and perfect weather.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Harriet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Golden Circle tour was incredible. Gulfoss Falls were the most beautiful I have ever seen. The whale watching was not successful. Only saw a few dolphin. Enjoyed the boat ride!

Doing what: Whale Watching and Golden Circle Tour from Reykjavik

Krish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worth it!!! Wish we had more time at the National Park its little time to roam around but we didn't mind because it was pretty windy and wet, the Golden Circle tour is incredible and the Fontana Geothermal Baths is pretty awesome!! The Fontana Geothermal Baths was great way to relax and really enjoy Iceland. Its smaller than Blue Lagoon, less crowded but more the real Icelandic experience. Loved this tour, my mom and brother really really enjoyed it and loved that it had very few people, included a few locals. Definitely recommend this tour! Just wear proper shoes to be able to go close to the Gullfoss Falls - its amazing how close you can get.

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Cherie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

TOURING THE GOLDEN CIRCLEIf you only have time for one tour on your trip to Iceland make it a tour of The Golden Circle. Why this tour? You'll experience three forces of nature in one unforgettable day Gullfoss, geysers and geological rifts. The Golden Circle route in Southern Iceland, covers about 186 miles starting in Reykjavík, before panning into central Iceland and back again taking in en-route the rugged beauty and power of mother nature in all her Icelandic glory.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

bandcodea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding tour experience with a knowledgeable, professional, friendly tour guide. We highly recommend the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip for those on a limited visit to Iceland. You'll enjoy the most amazing natural elements of Iceland outside of Reykjavik in one day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sharon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I put my comments for this trip under the Blue Lagoon by mistake. The Golden Circle Classic Day Trip was a great way in which to see some of Iceland. Tour guide was very informative bus driver was very good.

Blue Lagoon comments: It was nice but did nothing for our aches and pains. When first entering the water, the lava was hard on the feet. Everyone who visits Iceland needs to visit the Blue Lagoon one time

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

MJaySeattle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour of the Golden Circle. We loved out guide, Jacob. He was funny and knowledgable. Would definitely use this tour company again.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message