Iceland’s unique landscape of glaciers, steamy hot springs and towering volcanic peaks could have been lifted from the pages of a fantasy novel. There are few places in the world with such a mesmerizing variety of scenery, and whether you choose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

faenza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helicopter tour was the highlight of our trip. We did the volcano tour and landed near a volcano that we were able to climb for pictures. The views were great and the pilot was very nice. This country is so beautiful and it's a unique way to see it.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Reykjanes Peninsula and Volcanic Landscapes

PHILIP V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly professional reliable pilots who enjoy their daily job! My first helicopter flight - couldn't be better - worth every penny !

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Nuala M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If I could give this tour 10 stars I would!! it is such an amazing experience and its how everyone visiting Reykjavik should see it. Our pilot Solveig not sure if that's the correct spelling but she was amazing, so informative and professional, and great fun to be around! such a lovely girl. Our experience was made even better when she popped open a bottle of champagne for us as we were celebrating my boyfriends 30th. If your planning a trip to Reykjavik, do not leave without taking this tour!! 3 To the girls in the office and our amazing pilot, Thanks!!

Nuala and Seamus

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

barbara.l.baldwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to see Iceland. We had the best time! Our pilot was wonderful and full of good information. We can't wait to go back and take another helicopter tour. I would definitely suggest it to anyone. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We all agreed that the helicopter trip was the best part of our whole trip. Thanks

Doing what: Helicopter Flight from Reykjavik: Thingvellir National Park and Thórisjökull Glacier

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see Reykjavik! Asbjorn was a great pilot and helped us enjoy the ride! It was fun to land on top of one of the fjords and see the city from a different viewpoint. Would definitely love to do it again and see different parts of Iceland from up high!.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mountain summit helicopter tour was amazing. Our pilot, Guðjon, was really great. The views were breathtaking and the mountain summit landing was awesome. Guðjon took lots of pictures of us with the helicopter and on the summit. He was very informative and fun. Highly recommend this to everyone traveling to Reykjavik. Great experience.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Beverly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely fantastic a lovely friendly pilot even when we turned up late ! landing on the dormant volcano and the flight over Reykjavik was the highlight of our trip wish I caught his name

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

bdefazzio USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The helicopter tour was the highlight of the trip! The view over the city was phenomenal, and the pilot landed and gave us plenty of time to walk around and take pictures. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

Frank C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a very smooth ride piloted by a very professional aviator. The views of the Reykjavik area stunning. The highlight was stopping on the summit and walking in the very thick moss - a unique experience

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

iamone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First time in a heli. Was a little nervous ahead of time but the flight was very smooth and the pilot confidence inspiring. We went on the geothermal tour. After a beautiful take off from the city airport we flew over the harbor and inland. Our one stop was by some gurgling, bubbling mud pots and small hot spring feed streams. After our stop we also flew over some interesting volcanic features such as craters, old lava flows, and a lava river bed. The tour is a bit pricey but was definitely one of the more interesting things I did while in Reykjavik.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow! Just wow! As if seeing Iceland's spectacular scenery wasn't enough, I've now done it from above in a helicopter flown by a pilot who just happened to have been flying when the aerial photography for films like Walter Mitty and Prometheus was done! And he was such a nice friendly man: happy to chat about whatever we asked him. We got to fly over a massive geothermal power plant (much more interesting than it sounds) and land beside a steaming, bubbling, boiling geothermal pool and dip our fingers in a pleasantly warm stream. And the moment when the pilot used the helicopter to generate clouds of steam from the pool was just sensational. Oh, and just as a bonus, because the weather was so good, he landed on a volcano! Top that!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely incredible tour - Iceland is a country that must be seen from the air! The tour included some of the most spectacular scenery I've ever seen, and included a stop at a hot spring high up in the mountains. Wonderful experience. The pilot was so professional - he made flying the helicopter look easy! Can highly recommend this to anyone that wants to see the real beauty of this magnificent country.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing staff and great experience. Was my first time in a helicopter and I'm hooked. Trip followed the pipeline to the geothermal plant and beyond. Pilot was friendly, informative and made the trip the highlight of my visit. Highly recommend this company and this trip.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Our pilot, Jon, was really friendly and knowledgable. It was our first time in a helicopter which was great fun but the geo thermals were amazing!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The weather was perfect. I wrote my name in the ice on top of a volcano. The pilot and I cannot remember his name unfortunately knew everything about the area and was very informative. The helicopter ride alone is phenomenal and luckily being so tall I was in the front. This was outstanding. Worth every penny. I am saving so that my next trip to Iceland will include the geothermal helicopter tour. This was brilliant. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Glenn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing helicopter flight to top of mountain near Reykavik. We saw a beautiful sunrise and took lots of photographs. Our pilot also took lots of excellent photos of both my husband and I. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was our first helicopter flight and the experience was fantastic. Due to bad weather our flight was delayed by a day but the staff and pilot pulled out all the stops to get the flight re-arranged for the earliest opportunity. The scenery from the flight was amazing and would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Flight: Geothermal Landscapes

K E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fantastic driver/guide. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and country. Topped off what was already a fantastic week. We were the only ones on the helicopter. So great to be a private helicopter ride. If your looking to go on a helicopter definitely go with this company.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Dustin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely stunning views of the Reykjavik area and nearby mountains, even in cloudy/rainy conditions. The pilot was very friendly and was a great tour guide along the way. Unforgettable part of the trip without a doubt. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Natalia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour has been upgraded from Mt Esja Summit tour to the Geothermal Activity tour. I was contacted by the company in due time. The tour was absolutely amazing!!! It was my first time on a helicopter and, after the first quick introduction, off we went! The chance to see the amazing landscapes and nature of Iceland from the air was one of a kind experience. We have landed on a field where the guide has shown us different types of sources and where you could literally see hot steam shooting out of the ground. The guide has given us a lot of background informations about the geological structure of Iceland and the way the geothermal activity is used to produce energy. I would definitely do the tour again and would recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Cherie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the highlight of the trip. Was a great time we had on the helicopter tour. I took my 16 and 6 year old on this tour, they loved it! The views were breath taking. If you go to Reykjavik go on this tour.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Ian M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The flight and tour were excellent, the pilot was very knowledgeable, and as you can only fly when the weather is good your pretty much guaranteed good views. The only disappointing thing was that we did not fly to Mt Esja although the weather was suitable and no explanation was given for the change of Mt. Also when questioned the pilot said that single engine helicopters did not fly over the sea and we would have had to, to get to the top of Mt Esja. Why advertise this if the helicopter can't go over the sea in the first place

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Bethan J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

After being rescheduled 3 times we finally did our tour on our last day in Reykjavik. It was short but still highly enjoyable - our pilot was friendly and knowledgable and being on the summit without the hike as fun :)

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Sue B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Whilst the trip was re-arranged and they had tried but couldn't contact us, we arrived at the correct time to find out it had been postponed to 2 hours later; however they very kindly gave us a voucher for complimentary use of the spa in the hotel at the airport, to save us walking back into town. We were also promised a complimentary upgrade to the champagne trip. It sounds really ungrateful to say we didn't get the champagne - which really didn't bother us, but don’t offer something if you can't deliver it! I would also question if we went to Mt Esja - the blurb states a 40 min helicopter flight from Reykjavik, which we certainly didn’t get! I think because the flight was delayed by 2 hours there wasn't the day light to complete the trip we paid for; but there was no explanation! So we didn’t get what we paid for. All that being said the flight was great, the pilot very knowledgeable and very kind as I was very nervous. I would recommend the trip - but I think they need to be a little better at communication!

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message