With beer drinking prohibited in Iceland until 1989 and the long winter nights keeping everyone indoors, it’s no wonder than Icelandics have embraced their newfound freedom with a wave of modern bars and nightclubs. You’ll never be short of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Anna the tour guide was amazing! Hilarious, witty and friendly. I am from Boston where beer is a daily drink. Us Bostonians know beer well. And the beer at Olgerdin did not disappoint. All of the beers were light and crisp. No wonder one of them continuously wins beer competitions. Do this tour!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

andrew l United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Not so much a brewery tour as it is a beer tasting while learning about the history of Icelandic beer. Our guide was hilarious! Lots of beer, and finish with a shot of Brennivin.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Breanna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We got a lively history of alcohol in Iceland while trying several different types of beers and liquor. At the end we took a tour of the brewery.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

George C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant. Silva I think the guide should be on the stage. This is not a tour but a brilliant evening having the history of the brewery explained whilst being plied with beer. Its more like a lovely evening down the local making new mates. A must do.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Maude_galarneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great brewery tour! While tasting different beers, we got a great presentation of Iceland and #39;s history/relationship with alcohol. Our guide was very entertaining and made the visit more than fun. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great beer tour. Heavy emphasis on the BEER portion and less so on the TOUR portion.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Jessica M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

BEST brewery tour we have ever been on. More about drinking than actual touring! :

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide who I remember as being named HAPPY, not at all stingy with the beers, recommend for those who want to do something outside the mainstream while in Iceland.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sylvia was awesome! She was excellent at not only entertaining us, but educating us as well.

YOU will be given AMPLE SAMPLES, and there is a very good chance you will leave with a buzz. Best to eat before or immedately after the tour.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sven did an excellent and entertaining job of explaining the history of Iceland's relationship with beer. And he also shed light on other aspects of the Icelandic liquor culture. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

jscaccounts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quite simply the best brewery tour you will ever go on!
Most brewery tours you their is a talk and a few samples at the end and a walk through a gift shop, this is nothing like that. You get given loads of beer and Sylvia was highly entertaining!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very funny and interesting

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Annebettiol_ca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Not your typical brewery tour.
Our guide Sylvia was very animated and very knowledgable.You would not be disappointed if she is your guide !!!!!
This a tour worth taking .
You get to find out about the history of Iceland pertaining to prohibition .
You try many different types of beer too!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Stefani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was hesitant on booking this tour, and let me tell you I am SO glad we did it!! This tour was unlike any other brewery tour, our guide was absolutely hilarious and interacted with everyone. She made learning history while tasting beer so much fun. It was our first day in Iceland, it was a great way to spend our first night and start our trip. When the tour was over we all ended up being dropped off in downtown to continue the drinking with our new friends. Very fun, very worth it - I highly recommend.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Katie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour! So much beer and many laughs. Fantastic time!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

richard l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely superb. Completely different to any other brewery tour I have ever been on. The organisation and transportation was fabulous. The tour itself was made to be as good as it was due to one main element and that was our guide/host Sylvia. That woman was absolutely amazing and an incredible asset to the brewery. She was informative, hilarious, her English was better than a lot of ours. she was completely out there in her delivery style and kept us entertained and riveted to our seats for over an hour. She knew her stuff and how to perform. The amount of confidence she exuded was something I have never experienced before, anywhere. if there is any way of passing this feedback on to her as well, I would greatly appreciate it.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant!!! We always try to squeeze in a Brewery Tour when we're in another country. For beer lovers they're fun and informative. However this was hands down the best brewery tour we've been on. Our tour guide was so much fun and interacted with everyone. She told us lot's of fun stories about Iceland's history with alcohol and she was quite comfortable with our increasing level of drunkenness. And you do get a bit drunk as they certainly don't hold back with the booze!! The tour provides a pick up and drop off service. As we had made some new friends/fellow beer lovers on the tour we all asked to be dropped of in down town Reykjavik to continue the party. Just one tip - don't make our mistake and book it the night before an early flight. You will have some regrets!!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Mathew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best brewery tour we have ever taken. Their unique perspective and approach was outstanding! We would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A fun evening with the most entertaining host! Made some good friends and enjoyed fab beers!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

ERIKA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazingly hilarious. Learned tons about history and beer while tasting it all. Honestly, it's like showing up at your best friend's bar, laughing a lot and getting constant free refills. Best experience of trip so far. Can't recommend it enough. The beer was insanely tasty.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Guy W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best beer tour... ever!!!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Katie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a blast, and well worth the money! We are used to American microbrewery tours, which are often a stroll around the facilities while they talk science at you and then they give you a flight of tiny pours. If you want to talk brewery science, malt, or hops, this is not the tour for that. They started us off with a full beer, and dove into the historical relationship of Icelanders with alcohol. Our guide Sophia was a hoot! There was no shortage of beer:We probably tried about 5-6 different beers, and each can/bottle of beer after the first was split between 1-3 people. They did take you around the facility at the end, but I think the total was about 15 minutes on the tour and our guide pretty much summed up beer-making in two sentences. Highly recommend if you're looking for a semi-structured beer-filled night!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

keakiat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fun, Interesting and informative. Sylvia, our guide at the brewery, was hilarious! Also, plenty of free beer tasting.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of my favorite parts of the trip, it was a ton of fun and the guides were hilarious. Definitely wouldn't pass this up.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

victorialai11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience and this is not the ordinary brewery tour that you experienced before! Worth to have unlimited amount of tasting of beer with this amount of money! You will know the funny alcohol history of Iceland deliver by friendly, interesting and energetic staff!!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message