The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, is a spectacular display of swirling colors which appear at winter in polar regions. They can be elusive, but Iceland has the perfect conditions for viewing this breathtaking natural phenomenon.   ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 640 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Raul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The driver Ronald and tour guide Val were so nice and patiently drove us to several places so we can see the northern lights but the weather didn't permit that night , they offered another night for free but we had to leave the ff night.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

margaret c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Runar was exceptional and really made the trip great

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Dinner was fantastic, the waitstaff at Kopar was amazing.

The Northern Lights were a 5 that night, plus it was only a little bit cold and there was no rain. So, that experience was also fantastic.

I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Maciej Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great. They provide you with an outfit to keep warm. The tour is very depended on weather, obviously, so keep in mind that the lights visibility might not be great if it and #39;s cloudy. They also cancel of weather is bad all together. However we had a good tour guide that shared additional info.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

wendy.taylor25

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Just a MARVEL, a WONDER of nature!! A MUST see in Reykjavik!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Marie S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. We had several sightings of the northern lights. I would recommend this excursion to everyone!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Mjtacz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Service was good as they try to hunt for the northern lights. Unfortunately we weren't able to see one during our trip. But instead of 3 hours tour it went on for 5 hours, staff won't give up you as the tourists will eventually give up because it was really getting late and everyone was tired and sleepy. Will definitely try it again maybe during the peak season of northern lights though.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Juli J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

You take a chance on whether or not the northern lights will be visible. Weather has a great deal to do with it. My expectations were low as I booked this at the beginning of the prime season for viewing the lights. We got lucky, it was a clear night and conditions were just right to view a few green light beams - totally awesome. I would have given 5 stars but the hotel pickup was not organized and our bus was late getting to the boat.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Mrs S P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were lucky enough to view the lights greeen, purple and RED during our Tour and they were simply superb.
The only negative I would mention is that the first of our two stops appeared to be for no reason - it was at a cafe/restaurant and with the amount of light generated, seeing the lights was always going to be difficult. Then we were taken to the 2nd stop, in the middle of nowhere, with no other lights around, and the Northern Lights danced for us. I would recommend that if booking a Tour to see the Northern Lights, you either book a private Tour or ensure you are not making what appeared to be a 'tourist stop' en route.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Jennifer K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We tried to get in touch with the vendor a couple of hours prior to the pickup time at our hotel just to confirm, but didn't hear back from them until the morning after the tour. We did not see the lights and the tour guides were pleasant, but there wasn't a lot of fluff to this journey. If you have a car, better to just drive out to a dark spot on a clear night and wait for them yourself.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Hector V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was picked-up at the hotel entrance in a small shuttle, to transfer to a big motor coach on the bus terminal where over 68 people were picked-up for the tour. Careful, it says on the viator link that you can show your email/ticket confirmation but you actually needed printed out for their evidence. The tour was supposed to be 3 hours, but it took us over 4.5 hours from the time of pick-up to the drop-off time. I was not able to see the lights, the night was not as clear. I though there was to be a specific location where they will take us to see the lights but they moved us on the motor coach to more than 4 areas to try to see the lights. Yes, the tour guides had knowledge of the area, where we were, but there should had been some better communication to inform us immediately what would happen during the course of the tour. I did not have time the next day to try to re-schedule the tour, so I did not see the lights at all.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Andreas Z Austria

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

For the lights:
For the tour management: unsuitable location with very much light pollution, insufficient guide
Dropoff after the tour was the pure chaos

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Cassandra S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Enjoyed the tour overall. We did see some Northern Lights, which was the goal. During the cruise the crew turns off the lights on the top deck to reduce the light pollution and increase the possibility of seeing the lights. Unfortunately I fell walking up the stairs. Dampened my mood/experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Lyla S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour was by far the worst tour in Iceland and I took a lot of tours. No we didn't see the northern lights which was surprisingly not the issue. First off the guides picked us up at 8:30pm, which at first I thought was great, but when the guides told us that the best time to see the northern lights was after 11pm, I was upset. We toured in the bus with 65 people. I was ok with that, but the guide said that we would be meeting up with 3 other busses all with 65 people. The first stop was at a small church so the guides could have a meeting. All 200 of us stayed in the bus for over an hour at this small church waiting for their meeting to be over. Then when they came back, they said we were going to continue on to find the lights. After a 20 minute drive to a small little city mind you the guides even stated you can't see the northern lights that well in a lit up place,we stopped at a restaurant. Yep a restaurant! We waited at this restaurant for about 45 minutes so the guides could have another meeting. Then with no notice we all had to cram into our busses to our next stop. This next stop was the best stop. It was a small geothermal site with no lights. We should have went to this stop first! We spent about 30 minutes there before getting back on the bus to be taken back home. This tour was terrible. You couldn't pay me to go on this tour again. Terribly planned. Pick up should be at 10, instead of wasting everyones time. I would definitely suggest to skip this tour, and go on a more private tour. Better yet, rent a car and go look for yourself. You would probably do just as good as these guides.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Symon I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip - the guides were knowlegble and patient. Especially in helping is set up our cameras in manual mode so we could get some perfect pictures.

We arrived back at the hotel at 2 in the morning not being able to go to sleep still with the memories of an amazing evening!

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

Carolyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The night was perfect. There was only a sliver of the moon showing so it was perfectly dark for viewing stars and showers of green light. The girl narrating from the bridge was very knowledgable about the night sky and the man reciting the poem was delightful! We all were very blessed to be there!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

JESSIE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Saw the lights, tour guide was knowledgeable, fun and informative, what more could you want from a trip to Iceland!!! Amazing best experience of our lives

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour was nothing short of spectacular! We went very late in the season and were not expecting to see any lights. Turns out we saw lights from the beginning to the end of our tour. The stories, poems, and songs were an additional bonus. I highly recommend this your to anyone who goes to Iceland!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

stugraham

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Collected and dropped off from hotel. Amazing spectacle, however if you want photos, the movement of the boat will affect your ability to capture a good picture. Snacks and drinks were available and warm overcoats if needed.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

MC

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

mudra k

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The city lights are too bright for this to be a viable trip most nights - would recommend cus tour for a better experience of northern lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Joe D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

OUTSTANDING! I suggest the 9PM trip as I wanted to leave at midnight but the bus driver kept saying Have Patience!! Freezing my Florida butt off but at 1:10 AM the most incredible light show I have or will have seen!
The colors... green, red, purple made the entire trip worth every penny. THANK YOU Mr. Bus Driver!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Americo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want pics of northern lights - this is it - the best out there - absolutely loved it - don't bother with the others. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Ok, staring with a negative... booked for the Sunday night, waited in the hotel lobby at the correct time and no one showed up...got to 8:15 and someone else at our hotel asked if we knew the trip had been cancelled due to cloud cover! We didn't! I called and it was cancelled!! a day or so later I did notice that our hotel put up a little sign on the desk staying it was cancelled so look out for something similar. HOWEVER, they quickly changed it to the Monday night. This time it went ahead! We had a 20 chance of seeing the lights... mmmm... the guide was very helpful on the bus, it seemed to take ages to get to the spot a farmers field There were about 5 other bus loads of people!! We got out the bus and stood around - sky was clear and the stars were AMAZING! No sign of the lights thought - using our camera we were able to pick up faint signs of the lights - got some good pictures! Just as we were about to leave we actually saw them with the naked eye! Not as bright and amazing as they can be I am sure - I wasn't in tears with amazement! However we did see them! A good tour, let down by the silly cancelling and not letting us know. We were very lucky cus the tour was cancelled the next two nights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message