Iceland is one of the best places in the world to see the elusive Northern Lights. To help you catch a glimpse of this natural display of swirling colors in the sky this winter, we've gathered insider tips and our top guided experiences. See below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 805 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ivy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We got lucky! Clear sky and northern lights were visible for quite long time.
Folks are going in winter, bundle up! It could be freezing since you will be standing there for an hour or so.
Bring a GOOD camera! My iPhone didn't catch much of the beauty I saw with my naked eyes.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Ralph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Totally enjoyed the outing!!! We were lucky enough to see a beautiful display of the northern lights. Would definitely recommend this local vendor.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Nonie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was our favorite northern lights tour. We saw beautiful lights, and on the way home, they started up again much stronger, so they pulled over again for us to get out and enjoy the show. This fulfilled a twenty year dream to see the lights. We really felt that the guide wanted us to get the most our of the trip.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Nonie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our first northern lights experience delivered! We loved the tour and the opportunity to view the northern lights! Wear warm clothing.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Can't think of anything negative about this trip, probably helped by the fact that we were lucky enough to get over an hours worth of the northern lights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

richard b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

we saw the lights as soon as we got off the bus. was a really amazing evening! the guide was really funny and topped off the experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Kara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Awesome experience!

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great value for your money. You are able to rebook the tour as many times as you'd like until you see the lights. We only had to go 2 times on this tour to see the lights. Fascinating!

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We got lucky with the weather and saw the lights! The crew was knowledgeable, pleasant, helpful. A great experience

Doing what: Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

KaPeer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights twice, in both spots we stopped. Our driver turned out to be a great photographer too and his photos were amazing! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

peterlillie1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Christina was our guide on the coach and she was superb with all her stories and tales.
We did get to see the lights so that's one off the bucket list.
Take plenty of photos if you have some good kit, they will great when you put them on your computer, the lens captures the things you don't see.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

maximus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good, pity lights didn't come out to play, but tix still valid for 2 years

Doing what: Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

maximus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good, saw the lights well chuffed

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Tiffany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and super friendly. I'm sure he's seen the northern lights plenty of times but he was just as excited during our viewing. I would definitely recommend this tour to my friend's visiting Reykjavik.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Irina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Make sure you book your tour for early in your visit as due to weather it might be postponed to another date northern lights are weather-dependent.

We had an amazing guide - witty, funny and caring. She told us lovely stories, helped understand Icelandic people and culture and was great at answering questions and providing insight. We saw the Northern Lights and it is an experience hard to describe in words - it is just so stunning one has to see it for yourself. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Bassam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The restaurant experience was superb. The food was excellent and the service along with the staff were exceptional.
The cruise to watch the northern lights was good, but we did not see the lights. The company promised to credit us for another trip.

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Marilyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

You cannt go to Iceland and not go on this tour even though we didnt get to see the lights Im afraid the weather wasnt kind to us its still a must to do.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Judith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were incredibly lucky to see a good spectacle of the lights, so this will always be a good review! The guide was great, the coach comfortable, and the drive fine. There were probably another 10 coaches at the site we were at, but you couldn't tell there were a large amount of people there. Just a shame about the small amount of people who ignored the guides and used torches, flashes etc which blinded you when your eyes were used to the dark. If want a small group then this is not for you, but for us it was fine.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Hajnalka N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The best ever! :

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Heather N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The wintersuits were warm, and we got to see the lights! Our trip was postponed from 10 to midnight due to weather, but it was well worth it because we got a better view of the night sky.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was amazing, we were lucky and saw very active northern lights the night that we decided to go! We had booked it for the next night, but decided to go the night before we booked because the sky was clear and they were predicting strong northern lights. The company is very flexible and they provide warm overalls, which is important out on the water.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We didn't go on this trip till our last night due to weather conditions, we did manage to see the northern lights but they weren't spectacular. Although your ticket is valid for 2 years until you see the lights, we suggest you don't book this trip until you arrive in Iceland as the weather is so unpredictable. But overall this trip was well worth doing.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Sam T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Was able to go two nights since the first night we didn't see them. Very cool experience. They take you to different spots to get better views of them and are the tour guide is very informative. Would highly recommend downloading northern lights app to take pictures and check the northern lights forecast to see if its a good night to see them.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

ann_will

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a great experience, we were really lucky to see the Northern Lights on our first night. If i was to do it again, I'd probably pick a smaller tour as we were in a party of 5 coach loads. Would've been nicer to do a more intimate tour. The tour guides were lovely, really helpful and knowledgeable although we could've done without all the spiel on the bus!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message