Iceland is one of the best places in the world to see the elusive Northern Lights. To help you catch a glimpse of this natural display of swirling colors in the sky this winter, we've gathered insider tips and our top guided experiences. See below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 726 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was awesome! We were lucky enough to see the lights!!! Make sure you atleast try!!!!! Holy moly was it cold and windy though, however the tour offers you hot chocolate and yummy biscuits. Our tour guide was awesome! It was his first night and he was very informative. Many people wanted to sleep, he sensed that and went easy.

Doing what: Aurora Borealis Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Luke M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was incredibly well organised. We were unlucky to begin with in that the weather was bad for three nights on the trot, but it wasn't an issue at all rescheduling the tour for another night. I'd advise booking a tour like this towards the beginning of your time in Iceland in case of this.
However, when the clouds disappeared we were led by bus to the best parts of the island to see the lights and provided with a lot of information about what to expect. I'd definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Must go with this company! The staff are SO friendly. We didn and #39;t see the Northern Lights but rebooked straight afterwards with ease, then saw them. Such a helpful company.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Sophie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Must see! Your ticket doesn and #39;t run out until they think you have seen the northern lights in full force. Preferable to go on your first night so you have more chance of seeing them during your trip. They are too incredible to miss!!!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Dipankar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Driver/guide made every attempt to show us the norther lights from various points and what a show it was! Very relaxed with plenty of time to observe this outstanding natural phenomenon despite the cold weather.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Asma K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Didn't see the lights on our first night out, but they tried very hard went to 3 locations so were able to got the following night and were very fortunate to see them :. Very good tour guides, helped with camera setting, gave background info and some other tidbits. Stayed for a good 2.5 hours at first location and moved to second to try and capitalize once lights began to dim. Apart from the cold and dimming which meant we retired to the coach was excellent, definitely recommend as worth your money as they try very hard to enable you to see the lights if possible. Hotel pick-up was also a bonus.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Robin G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

While we were unlucky not to see the Lights I will still give this tour five stars. The driver was a pleasure and did his very best to find a gap in the clouds, even at the cost of a very late return. The Super Jeep was an amazing vehicle and we off-roaded through the mountains on snow and ice, over rocks, which was fair compensation for missing the real show. Maybe next time..?

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour by Super Jeep from Reykjavik

Lynda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Yes, it was cold. Our guide used available technology and ongoing tips from other guides to find us an ideal spot to await the Aurora Borealis. It was worth the wait! Truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Since our cameras weren't able to do justice to the moment, our guide also volunteered to take our group picture and send it along note: it was 12/30- we're still awaiting the photo please don't forget us!.
The Super Jeep was comfortable and warm. Members of our party needing assistance had a boost up from portable stairs. Nothing was left to chance.
Thanks for the opportunity to experience a dream.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour by Super Jeep from Reykjavik

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very organized, they pick you up from hotel, then change over to a large comfortable bus. You drive out of city to a dark area and wait for the light show. Unfortunately did not get to see but it was not the tour operator fault. You are at the mercy of the weather and solar activity.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Sydney H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

At first it seemed like the night was going to be a bust however the second location saved the night. We didn't get the vibrant colors like in the photos however I heard a few people mention they did from a tour a few nights before, it was still an obvious show. If you want photos be sure to download the app.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Stacey S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Though the lights did not grace us with their presence, I still enjoyed the boat tour. It was tough to hear our guide based on my location on the top deck, but I enjoyed the history and brief tour of Reykjavik's couastline that he described. The crew also helped set up DSLR cameras to be prepared for the lights, though the mentioned it's better to have a tripod to keep the camera steady, and boats are never quite steady. Would do again over the chaotic bus tours.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Joel P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We eventually managed to see the northern lights at 1.30am after scowering the countryside on the bus. stayed at the first location far too long but they did strive for us to see the lights, and satisfied with the eventual results! Locations they choses still had too much light pollution though.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Asma K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really good northern lights tour, lucky to see them sue to activish and clear skies. Good smooth sail on both. Unfortunately not able to see whales/dolphins - but company did offer another trip free of charge was our last day so couldn't capitalise. Very good tour guides/speakers. Entertainment was a bit novel on northern lights tour, and speaker system not so great on whale watching tour. Definitely worth the money though.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Northern Lights Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Vonnie United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Due to several nights of this tour being cancelled, it was utter chaos when the tour finally ran on the 30th December. I was travelling with Grayline but they ran out of buses so we did not travel in a Grayline coach and there was no wifi. The pickups from my hotel with so many companies running this tour was crazy mad! I think they said Grayline alone had 40 coaches out that night.
I do not feel that we travelled that far out of Reykjavík in order to see the lights so I do think the tour is very overpriced for what is included. The guide was very good however at explaining how to get a good photo of the lights. She also kept the passengers entertained so no issues with the guide whatsoever.
You just need to manage your expectations of what you think you are going to see. We saw the lights however we only saw white. However fancy cameras could see all the different colours.
Please google northern lights with the naked eye versus the camera lens and you will read about how the human eye cannot process the lights like a camera lens can. Don't get me wrong, sometimes you will be able to see the colours but not always. Some of the people that night got amazing photos and were so impressed with what they saw, I just wish I had realised beforehand and brought my fancy camera with me. So that is my fault! I had just made the decision to savour the experience rather than seeing everything through a camera lens as I have done on previous trips. I do think though that the tour is very overpriced for what is included.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Jane B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The guides certainly tried their best to find a good spot to see the lights - we were dropped back at our hotel at about 1.30 in the end. No joy with the lights but another chance for free on our next visit - be aware that you may be part of a very large convoy on this trip.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Douglas F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We did see the lights but the boat was really packed. In fact they sent two boats out and I think both were packed. This may have been because the weather had been bad before this night and so many who had their cruises cancelled days before us included were all out this night Dec 30. We did see the lights, but they just looked like long pale white clouds to me. I may have been in the minority though. The captain and many passengers said they saw the green of the lights. I didn't see green except afterwards in photos of long exposure. Perhaps I'm somewhat colorblind, but I was expecting color in the northern lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Brian K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Nice tour guide. Note: you need a professional camera to take the picture. If you use a regular camera or smartphone the Northern lights picture will not come out properly due to the lighting/darkness. No flash can be used. It's a beautiful site when the lights appear.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

mynnDAWG

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

we didnt get the chance to catch the aurora from our trips tried twice and 3 other times were canceled due to bad weather / cloudy : the staff was good and informative

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Morten F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Chasing Northern Lights is bingo most nights, and unfortunately we didn't get to see any. The tour was ok, but traveling on a big bus to empty parking lots and road sides was maybe not the best option to find the Northern Lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was good. but be forewarned, if there are no northern lights to be seen it is a total waste of money. We did not see any northern lights the night we went out, just cold, cold, cold and totally boring. I can only imagine what it would have been like to see the dazzling lights.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour by Super Jeep from Reykjavik

brad b

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

dropped us off at night Grey LIne , NOT at the hotel.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

brian n

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

good guide but did not see the lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Maria A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Disappointed that the lights did not provide a better display. We did see the lights on another day

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Marianne C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Never went ahead due to low activity cannot comment

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Northern Lights Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Richard A United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

it rained the first 2 days we were in Reykjavik so the tour was postponed twice. On the third day is was overcast but no rain so the tour company decided to run the tour. We left at 9 PM and started hunting for the Northern Lights. Unfortunately, it was heavily overcast and although we kept hunting until 2AM, we only saw clouds. Since it had been raining in Reykjavik for almost 2 weeks, it should have been apparent that there was almost no chance of seeing the Northern Light that night.
Also, this tour uses a full size tour bus and everywhere we went hunting, another 22 full size buses from many tour companies went with us. This is not a small group tour which I would recommend you take.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message