From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 766 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was amazing scenery and so much to see and do.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

pat.mcgivney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great day seeing the country but get ready for a bumpy ride while crossing rivers and lava fields!

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

DESMOND W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really worth doing. Although pace was quite quick given the very wet and windy conditions, the terrain was quite flat although rocky and steep/slippery in some places. Overall I would highly recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Callie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! Completely worth the cost of the trip. Just breathtaking inside the volcano.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Yazeed Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. A rare opportunity which shouldn't be missed!

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Tom L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing journey into the magma chamber. One of a kind experience and should not be missed.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

barbara.l.baldwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. The boat was nice. It is important to bring a camera with a zoom lens. You won't get pictures off your iPhone. We bought one just for this trip and got amazing pictures of Puffins. It is not Puffin season right now...but they will be back in May-August.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The absolute highlight of our stopover in Iceland! The little islands where the puffins were was not far from the mainland, so we were able to get there quickly and see the little guys. And we didn't see one or two - oh no! There were DOZENS of these cuties! We had a guide on the boat who told us about the area, and about the puffins - he was excellent. LOVED this tour and would do it again!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This attraction is essential for any tour of Iceland. In a country not known for its warmth - interpersonal or climatic - the staff of the tour enhanced the powerful experience. The 2 mile walk to the volcano was paced to make all participants comfortable and the charming guide kept it interesting. And the trip into the volcano is all once could ask for a tourist attraction.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Jacqueline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was my first time on a horse and I didn't have to be afraid cause the horse had done it hundreds of times. He resonded to me very well, and made my experience a fun one. He was a good choice for me.
The staff were helpful and gave you tips along the way.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

Sydney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this trip. It was a wonderful hike through beautiful landscape to the ideal hot springs. Theses springs are as natural as their surroundings. This is a good option for anyone who wants to get themselves out into some Icelandic scenery.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

Sydney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a BLAST! Pick-up was very easy and the drive to the glacier was through fantastic scenery. The guides professional yet fun and made the ice climbing, and caves very enjoyable. Be prepared for a chill but nothing too uncomfortable. They provide you with only the necessary gear for walking and climbing on the glacier so be sure to have your warm cloths necessary with you.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Yenting Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The view from glacier is awesome. This should be in everyone's bucketlist. Our tour guide are nice and professional. I really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great hike then down into the lava chamber. All our guides where great as well as all the people running the base camp. Really liked your lamb meat soup!

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

dataylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day trip with many, many stops. Lots to see from glacier mountain, to jagged coastline to volcano cave walk. The driver was very informative as he gave many an interesting story, historical, mythical, as well as geographical.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome experience! Our entire family had a blast. A bus picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the dock. The crew was friendly and professional. We all caught fish cod, ling, wolf fish.
On the way back, the crew cooked the fish and we ate a delicious meal! They also supplied foul weather jackets and all the fishing gear and bait. A bus took us back to the hotel as well.

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, the colours inside the volcano are amazing, very good guide and the soup at the end of the tour was very tasty

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

mnrsconnolly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The staff at the horse-riding tour were fantastic. The scenery was breathtaking. The Blue Lagoon was relaxing and beautiful. The bus was on time to take us back to hotel.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

kh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fabulous off the beaten path tour this was! Bouncing along in a huge 4X4 truck - and I do mean bouncing - was a lot of fun. Driving into the interior landscape was very beautiful and rugged. Our hike to higher vantage points was a good opportunity to stretch our legs and eat wild blueberries picked along the path. The side trip into the canyon was amazing. Our driver/guide was friendly and enthusiastic, providing history, anecdotes and pronunciation lessons along the way. Don't miss this trip!

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anita F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a beautiful day on the water on our first day. Those puffins just to see them in flight was a hoot.
A great little cruise and puffins to boot. Well worth it. We lucked out as they were leaving in droves just days later, having hatched and grown their young.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, great crew. The fishing was easy and the catch delicious!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

R. James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour - my husband and I loved it, but BE ON TIME. The pick up instructions were a little vague and we missed our pick up by 1 minute they won't wait. Fortunately they had extra room in a later tour usually they are all booked solid. Be ready 30 minutes prior to your tour start time e.g. for an 8 am tour be in your hotel lobby by 7:30 at the latest.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

leslie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience for the bragging rights

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Terrence Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour group did a professional job. We were fortunate to see several humpbacks and several minke whales. The puffins had pretty much cleared out for the season, but we did see some. If you want puffins, go earlier in the summer

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message