From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 825 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ANN W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic afternoon. Great fun with amazing scenery and beautiful views. Thanks to Alex and James. xx

Doing what: 2 Hour 'Twin Peaks' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Iver. Iver. Iver. Ask for Iver! He was the best tour guide ever!!!!!!!! He was so smart, funny, and adventurous. You could tell he really cared about giving us an experience of a lifetime. This tour is a must-do. It is unlike anything else you will do in your life. The views are absolutely breathtaking. You spend about 3 hours on the glacier hiking - dress warm!!!! They also offer rental boots which I highly recommend for an easier hike! Also, bring handwarmers!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

open_it_fast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The ice climbing is definitely one of the highlights of my trip! And the guides were greats: funny and knowledgeable

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Leah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highlight of our holiday! Really enjoyed the hike and the ice climbing. Great place to take pictures!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

astrolamb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What an amazing experience to hike on the glacier, picnic on the glacier and try out ice climbing on the glacier. The guides were very experienced and passionate about their work so they could tell you all sorts of stories and information about the locations and the features of the glacier. The glacier is not flat and rather difficult to walk on so make sure you wear good hiking shoes or rent a pair from them. Definitely a must do!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Danielle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guides were excellent- very prepared,knowledgeable, and engaging! The views and overall experience were incredible - and we loved the ice climbing introduction!! We were the envy of our friends when we got back - ha!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

rmoraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Walking on the glacier was really fun. A bit scary at first but once you get used to the crampons it is really enjoyable. The views are spectacular. The ice climbing was a bit harder than I thought but still manageable and fun. Overall this was a brilliant experience and I highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys a bit of adventure and doing something a bit different.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

CHARLENE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Arctic Adventures and their guides Bigbi, Jonas and Henrik were great! They were very patient and informative and most importantly, very safe. This tour is a definite MUST DO on any trip to Iceland! The country has a vast beautiful landscape, but the view from walking on top of the glacier is unfreakingbelievable!!! Definitely take your SLR because your iphone will be an injustice to its beauty! And the Ice Climbing was tough but a once in a lifetime experience! Def recommend to everyone. If you're reading this, STOP and BOOK IT!
Much 3, Charlene

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

miles102373

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome tour!!! Loved the snowmobiling!!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Iceland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great tour on the quad bikes! This was actually our favorite thing that we did while in Iceland. Alex was an awesome tour guide! So knowledgeable and friendly and really went the extra mile to make our experience great!!! Thanks again.

Doing what: 2 Hour 'Twin Peaks' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Wilmarie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

MUST DO! The most amazing and dangerous thing i've don in my travels! The ice climbing part is just a little wall you'll go up and down just to try out ice climbing... is not like the whole trip is about that. Is mostly Hiking to and from that spot. Still, really amazing. The only thing is I thing the group was too big for only 2 guides. It seams like a bit dangerous. It says no experience necessary, bur you should be at least in a bit of fiscal condition, since you'll be walking and going up and down for about 4hr in the cold. For me it was challenging and i'm in my 20's and in shape.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

LOVED THIS. I love riding horses so riding the Icelandic ones was a great experience

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Killian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Didn't get to see the lights but you can keep trying if that happens lifetime guarantee!. The first night was too choppy so they organised a bus to go into the countryside instead. They provided us with cosy overalls on the boat and gave us plenty information on both the bus and the boat actually. As the night wore on, they gave us a free hot drink - I don't think this was ordinarily included, it was just quite rough and cold so they were being nice. Even though I didn't get to see the lights, they tried their best and I had a great time.
The harbour isn't perfectly dark but they go out a fair distance and it's an experience unto itself.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Simply amazing, only an hour, but we saw hundreds of puffins. Bring binoculars and a telephoto lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing amazing is there word we used all day our guides ARMAN and GABRIELLE were fantastic we were quoted £1080 for the 4x from a dif tour, it only cost £695 worth every penny so professional felt safe all day , there knowledge is vast all mixed In with great humour all we can say is THANK YOU !!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

jackiejennings123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic day! The Gulfoss waterfall was spectacular. The snowmobiling was scary but exhilarating - being in the wilderness on top of the second largest glacier was absolutely breathtaking. The snowy scenery was just beautiful. The guides were so hardworking, knowledgeable, safety conscious, fun and friendly. The visit to The National Park and to the geysirs was excellent. A very long day. Wrap up very warm and take brave tablets - it is sooo worth it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Julie.murphy29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was really good. The horses were lovely and gentle so my 8 yr old and I who are complete beginners had no trouble at all riding them. Even though it was an express tour of the Golden Circle we still got to see lots. Darren our guide was funny and informative. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Justin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

the horseback riding was the highlight of my time in Iceland! the farm and ride were amazing, as well as the soup/bread for lunch. the rest of the day was spent touring the golden circle and it is magnificent. highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

christina j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved that we were able to ice climb and the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A GREAT experience!! This was a small boat and a small group which made the experience fantastic. The captain was awesome. We caught plenty of fish and ate it right on the boat. Would absolutely go again!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Ali United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worked out perfectly. We saw the show from the boat bingo. September is a very good time of the year to see the dancing Northern Lights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Sherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

By far the best part of the trip. A must do if visiting iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message