From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 841 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AshtonRJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Only one word for this one, Excellent! My fist trip in Iceland and it did not disappoint. The guide was fantastic and views, exhilarating. Highly recommend! Got great pics too which is always a bonus.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

sarahkevphillip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The was a brilliant couple of hours, our guides Alex and Leif were brilliant and very patient! Especially as I has never driven a Quad Bike before and was about 10 minutes behind the rest of the group with Leif! Our 14 year old and 9 year old loved every minute of it. Thank you to Alex and Leif for an experience we won't forget.

Doing what: 1 Hour 'Mountain Safari' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

sarahkevphillip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The was a brilliant couple of hours, our guides Alex and Leif were brilliant and very patient! Especially as I has never driven a Quad Bike before and was about 10 minutes behind the rest of the group with Leif! Our 14 year old and 9 year old loved every minute of it. Thank you to Alex and Leif for an experience we won't forget.

Doing what: 1 Hour 'Mountain Safari' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was amazing, we were lucky and saw very active northern lights the night that we decided to go! We had booked it for the next night, but decided to go the night before we booked because the sky was clear and they were predicting strong northern lights. The company is very flexible and they provide warm overalls, which is important out on the water.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Heather N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The wintersuits were warm, and we got to see the lights! Our trip was postponed from 10 to midnight due to weather, but it was well worth it because we got a better view of the night sky.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

First off, yes, it is stupid expensive - but everything in Iceland is expensive. That being said, this was the best tour of our trip. The views were breathtaking - we had a clear, nothing-but-blue-sky type of day. Tour guides were really great, perfect English, humorous and fun. The experience of actually climbing up the glacier with all the gear was the highlight of the day. But it really was a perfect day.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Cherene J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very fun day but very long. We had terrible weather and a traffic accident so we were a bit delayed arriving to the glacier. The driver and the guide were both excellent and managed to show us a very good time with expert guidance and information about geology. I would recommend bringing waterproof pants, gloves, jacket and boots with lots of layers underneath!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

winnet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My son and I had the experience of a lifetime on this tour! If you want interaction with Icelandic nature, this is for you. I successfully did my first ice-climbing at the old age of 64 ! with first rate instruction from guides Norris and Biggy. I can't use enough superlatives to describe this adventure. Learning about glaciers by experiencing one first hand with knowledgeable guides is not to be missed when you're visiting Iceland.
Wayne Canada

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

DAWNA W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A fun tour even though we only saw 2 glimpses and a hint of green lights as we were starting to head back to the harbor. If you are proud to sea sickness, this isn't the tour for you.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Lu78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Me and my 2 girls deeply loved this experience. The Icelandic horses are among the sweetest animals I ever met, they were very docile and so easy to ride! I adapted very quickly to the Icelandic riding style and loved every second of my ride. My 7 years old and my 10 years old loved it too down to their hearts. The farmers felt true local people as well as the food and their simplicity transmitted a true warmth to my soul which I discovered in that moment was longing for a real escape from a crazy tarmac and bricks world. I didn't mind the stinging cold and rain a bit. My young daughter played for hours with the farmers' dog at was bringing back a tiny stone to her to be thrown over and over again.
The afternoon geysir tour has also been nice and very interesting from a geological point of view.

Doing what: Viking Horse Ride and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

melissaoswald44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Boat trip was great, unfortunately not a lot of Northern Lights action. On our first boat trip there was too much cloud cover so we did not see any Northern Lights. We were given another complimentary ticket to come back as we did not see the Northern Lights. Our second boat trip was safe and good, with a slight glimmer of the Northern Lights. Again, not much action so we have another complimentary ticket should we return again to Iceland. Nothing wrong with the boat trip, you are just relying upon a natural phenomenon. Visited in October 2016.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Joel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Simply amazing, highly recommend.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

ANN W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic afternoon. Great fun with amazing scenery and beautiful views. Thanks to Alex and James. xx

Doing what: 2 Hour 'Twin Peaks' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Iver. Iver. Iver. Ask for Iver! He was the best tour guide ever!!!!!!!! He was so smart, funny, and adventurous. You could tell he really cared about giving us an experience of a lifetime. This tour is a must-do. It is unlike anything else you will do in your life. The views are absolutely breathtaking. You spend about 3 hours on the glacier hiking - dress warm!!!! They also offer rental boots which I highly recommend for an easier hike! Also, bring handwarmers!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

open_it_fast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The ice climbing is definitely one of the highlights of my trip! And the guides were greats: funny and knowledgeable

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Leah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highlight of our holiday! Really enjoyed the hike and the ice climbing. Great place to take pictures!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

astrolamb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What an amazing experience to hike on the glacier, picnic on the glacier and try out ice climbing on the glacier. The guides were very experienced and passionate about their work so they could tell you all sorts of stories and information about the locations and the features of the glacier. The glacier is not flat and rather difficult to walk on so make sure you wear good hiking shoes or rent a pair from them. Definitely a must do!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Danielle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guides were excellent- very prepared,knowledgeable, and engaging! The views and overall experience were incredible - and we loved the ice climbing introduction!! We were the envy of our friends when we got back - ha!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

rmoraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Walking on the glacier was really fun. A bit scary at first but once you get used to the crampons it is really enjoyable. The views are spectacular. The ice climbing was a bit harder than I thought but still manageable and fun. Overall this was a brilliant experience and I highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys a bit of adventure and doing something a bit different.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

CHARLENE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Arctic Adventures and their guides Bigbi, Jonas and Henrik were great! They were very patient and informative and most importantly, very safe. This tour is a definite MUST DO on any trip to Iceland! The country has a vast beautiful landscape, but the view from walking on top of the glacier is unfreakingbelievable!!! Definitely take your SLR because your iphone will be an injustice to its beauty! And the Ice Climbing was tough but a once in a lifetime experience! Def recommend to everyone. If you're reading this, STOP and BOOK IT!
Much 3, Charlene

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

miles102373

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome tour!!! Loved the snowmobiling!!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Iceland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great tour on the quad bikes! This was actually our favorite thing that we did while in Iceland. Alex was an awesome tour guide! So knowledgeable and friendly and really went the extra mile to make our experience great!!! Thanks again.

Doing what: 2 Hour 'Twin Peaks' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Wilmarie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

MUST DO! The most amazing and dangerous thing i've don in my travels! The ice climbing part is just a little wall you'll go up and down just to try out ice climbing... is not like the whole trip is about that. Is mostly Hiking to and from that spot. Still, really amazing. The only thing is I thing the group was too big for only 2 guides. It seams like a bit dangerous. It says no experience necessary, bur you should be at least in a bit of fiscal condition, since you'll be walking and going up and down for about 4hr in the cold. For me it was challenging and i'm in my 20's and in shape.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message