From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 727 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, great crew. The fishing was easy and the catch delicious!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

R. James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour - my husband and I loved it, but BE ON TIME. The pick up instructions were a little vague and we missed our pick up by 1 minute they won't wait. Fortunately they had extra room in a later tour usually they are all booked solid. Be ready 30 minutes prior to your tour start time e.g. for an 8 am tour be in your hotel lobby by 7:30 at the latest.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

leslie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience for the bragging rights

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Terrence Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour group did a professional job. We were fortunate to see several humpbacks and several minke whales. The puffins had pretty much cleared out for the season, but we did see some. If you want puffins, go earlier in the summer

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Annie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip all the way around- The tour guide was excellent knowledgeable, friendly, and eager to please. The sights were well planned for comfort and excitement, even on a cold and rainy day. Snowmobiling on a glacier was definitely a bucket list MUST! Iceland is expensive, but well worth it.
My only suggestion is to update your booking site so that my situation could be avoided. I booked on a Sunday for a Tuesday excursion. I never received a confirmation. Emails are answered within 24-48 hours and there was no telephone number to call. I finally reached an operator at 8:00am on Tuesday morning who told me that I was not confirmed but she would attempt to help me out- There was a cancellation and we were grateful to have been able to participate. Thanks for an exciting adventure!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Lauren F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely amazing tour!! The staff was incredible, very friendly and helpful. It was very well organized and lots of fun. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting beautiful Iceland!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

shawna_lb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The crew on the boat were great! The cooking of the fish was great!! Good times! Only down side was the people we were on the boat with were annoying, but the company can't do anything about that! Good thing it's a big boat :

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Eva L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's long drive along the amazing coastline of west island. Beautiful landscape and the cave explore to 35 meters under ground is very different experience.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

Cindee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The volcano was fabulous, but the 2 mile hike could have been not a near run for someone a bit over 5 ft 3 in tall. Our guide was about 6 ft 4 in, and was way ahead of me, and I am a good walker. I was out of breath trying to keep up! No time to look up, trying to not trip on rocks at a near run.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Stephanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Golden Circle tour was great and something that you should definitely do, but the highlight of our Viator trip was our visit to the Laxnes Horse Farm. Pori and Heida the owners were wonderful and took care of us like we were family. The Icelandic horses were very well-behaved and a joy to ride. My group had people that ranged from experienced riders to people who had never ridden before and we all felt comfortable with the horse choices that were made for us. Besides getting to ride the most adorable horses in the world, we were also treated to a ride through the beautiful Icelandic countryside. I would absolutely recommend this trip in whatever tour combination you are considering. I am definitely coming back to Laxnes on my next trip to Iceland!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Bonnie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The only thing that would have been better would have been to actually go on the island with them.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Melanie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic! Super fun! The guides were great. We caught lots of fish, and it was cooked up right on board. Best fish I've ever eaten!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was awesome! My daughter and I both caught a ton of fish, and so did everyone else. The crew grilled pounds of fish and some potatoes and made a delicious dinner for everyone. It was a great time, and the crew was very friendly.

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

These two tours were good--we saw dolphins on the whale watching tour no whales though and tons of puffins right out in front of the city.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Valerie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was at the end of puffin season and we were still lucky enough to see a few! Crew was great and provided interesting facts. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Walker D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was thinking that it was going to be a tourist trap, but it wasn't. We caught a lot of fish, had awesome guides and ate well. Definitely worth your time and dollars.

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

usha_chaudhary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience and well organized. The hike was great. Descending down the volcano was surreal. Once inside, it was beautiful and a bit creepy. The soup afterwards was great. Overall, a great experience and I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

usha_chaudhary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were first timers and had a lot of fun. The staff at the farm were extremely experienced and helpful. The horses were were pretty cool and some were a bit feisty. The trotting was a bit rough on the rear end but despite that, the whole experience was pretty amazing. Loved it.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

dannytsen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a fantastic trip. Great view.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guides were good! They were nice and safety oriented. It was a very special opportunity to climb a glacier and have a couple tries at ice climbing.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

rstalmack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The experience of descending into a dormant volcano is absolutely unique and breathtaking. The young guides were very friendly and knowledgable. Everyone involved worked to make it a pleasant experience. Do not pass up this opportunity to get inside the real Iceland.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

silvermix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a cheap, short trip that gave us the chance to see a LOT of puffins up close. The boat ride was pretty good, even though the water was kinda choppy so be careful if you get seasick, and we were able to get really close to the island were all the puffin had their nests.
We also had binoculars in the boat that we could use to see them up close.
If you are thinking about taking pictures, I would recommend a camera with a very good zoom since the puffins are kinda small and wide angle lenses don't really capture the details.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were happy to find that there were available tickets the night before the tour in the morning. It was a very pleasant tour, with a knowledgeable guide and a lot of puffins! Great value!

We couldn't find the dock information when we booked the tickets through Viator, so we had to ask around to find out where to go. It's operated by Special Tours, right out of the main old harbour area where all the other boat tours are. Look for the giant blow-up puffin outside the Special Tours hut.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Phenomenal trip. Villy, our tour guide was very good. He took us on hiking tours and driving routes rarely seen by others. This tour was well worth the time and money spent.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely recommend this trip. The crew was great, we caught alot of fish and they prepared the fish on the BBQ along with roasted potatoes and beverages when we were done.

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message