From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 810 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CHARLENE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Arctic Adventures and their guides Bigbi, Jonas and Henrik were great! They were very patient and informative and most importantly, very safe. This tour is a definite MUST DO on any trip to Iceland! The country has a vast beautiful landscape, but the view from walking on top of the glacier is unfreakingbelievable!!! Definitely take your SLR because your iphone will be an injustice to its beauty! And the Ice Climbing was tough but a once in a lifetime experience! Def recommend to everyone. If you're reading this, STOP and BOOK IT!
Much 3, Charlene

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

miles102373

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome tour!!! Loved the snowmobiling!!!!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Iceland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great tour on the quad bikes! This was actually our favorite thing that we did while in Iceland. Alex was an awesome tour guide! So knowledgeable and friendly and really went the extra mile to make our experience great!!! Thanks again.

Doing what: 2 Hour 'Twin Peaks' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Wilmarie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

MUST DO! The most amazing and dangerous thing i've don in my travels! The ice climbing part is just a little wall you'll go up and down just to try out ice climbing... is not like the whole trip is about that. Is mostly Hiking to and from that spot. Still, really amazing. The only thing is I thing the group was too big for only 2 guides. It seams like a bit dangerous. It says no experience necessary, bur you should be at least in a bit of fiscal condition, since you'll be walking and going up and down for about 4hr in the cold. For me it was challenging and i'm in my 20's and in shape.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

LOVED THIS. I love riding horses so riding the Icelandic ones was a great experience

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Killian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Didn't get to see the lights but you can keep trying if that happens lifetime guarantee!. The first night was too choppy so they organised a bus to go into the countryside instead. They provided us with cosy overalls on the boat and gave us plenty information on both the bus and the boat actually. As the night wore on, they gave us a free hot drink - I don't think this was ordinarily included, it was just quite rough and cold so they were being nice. Even though I didn't get to see the lights, they tried their best and I had a great time.
The harbour isn't perfectly dark but they go out a fair distance and it's an experience unto itself.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Simply amazing, only an hour, but we saw hundreds of puffins. Bring binoculars and a telephoto lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing amazing is there word we used all day our guides ARMAN and GABRIELLE were fantastic we were quoted £1080 for the 4x from a dif tour, it only cost £695 worth every penny so professional felt safe all day , there knowledge is vast all mixed In with great humour all we can say is THANK YOU !!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

jackiejennings123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic day! The Gulfoss waterfall was spectacular. The snowmobiling was scary but exhilarating - being in the wilderness on top of the second largest glacier was absolutely breathtaking. The snowy scenery was just beautiful. The guides were so hardworking, knowledgeable, safety conscious, fun and friendly. The visit to The National Park and to the geysirs was excellent. A very long day. Wrap up very warm and take brave tablets - it is sooo worth it!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Julie.murphy29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was really good. The horses were lovely and gentle so my 8 yr old and I who are complete beginners had no trouble at all riding them. Even though it was an express tour of the Golden Circle we still got to see lots. Darren our guide was funny and informative. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Justin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

the horseback riding was the highlight of my time in Iceland! the farm and ride were amazing, as well as the soup/bread for lunch. the rest of the day was spent touring the golden circle and it is magnificent. highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

christina j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved that we were able to ice climb and the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A GREAT experience!! This was a small boat and a small group which made the experience fantastic. The captain was awesome. We caught plenty of fish and ate it right on the boat. Would absolutely go again!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

Ali United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worked out perfectly. We saw the show from the boat bingo. September is a very good time of the year to see the dancing Northern Lights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Sherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

By far the best part of the trip. A must do if visiting iceland

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

WEI LIN REBECCA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was really good. It gave a totally different experience in Iceland. Relaxing in Blue Lagoon without any time limits was awesome, especially after my muscles ache from the horse riding, which was lovely and picturesque by the way. I was a complete newbie at horse-riding, but I found myself staying on my horses. The guides are also distributed evenly to ensure that everyone is safe. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic, Very Special and just Magical, we loved this tour and would recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

anastasia36

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an amazing experience! I was so nervous about doing this but the walk to the volcano was pretty easy and the descent was not at all scary! I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth every cent. The guides where very patient with me as I walked slower than the rest of the group. I chose a pick up and return to hotel tour Descent into Thrihnukagigur Volcano and Hike which I booked via Viator prior to leaving my home country. The tour only operates 15th May to 30th September and is an all day adventure. I was picked up from my Reykjavik hotel at 9.30am and transported to the bus depot where you are connected with another bus to take you to base camp. Once at base camp you are fitted out if you wish with rain coat and pants .It is then off to the volcano about a 40min level but sometimes rocky hike. There is a defined trail to follow a guide will be in front as well as a guide at the back of the pack. On route the lead guide that I had was pointing out things of interest like the fault in the earths crust that you actually walk across via a bridge and can see. Upon arrival at the hut you are offered soup tea coffee etc after which you are outfitted with helmet and safety harness and off up the hill to the entrance of the volcano. Once at the top a window cleaners cage awaits you. You are hooked up and lowered inside the volcano. Hold your breath and be ready to be surprised but remember to take those photos. After being lowered to the bottom and you exit the cage you are instructed where you can and cannot go. There is a path of sorts marked with red top painted sticks seems to be how things are marked and guided through Iceland one side goes 30 metres to the bottom and one goes 80 metres to the bottom but both go in a circuit and you end back where you started. You are given about an hour to explore alone. Be warned very very rocky and only your headlamp and internal lighting to guide you. After marvelling at the fact that you are inside a volcano and nothing like Jules Verne Journey to the Centre of the Earth and observing all the colours and majestic of it all it is time to ascend the volcano. So strapped up again and this time up yo

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

matthew.mee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide Indy was very knowledgeable and courteous. 3 out of four of us in my group had never been on an ATV and he made sure we were comfortable before we set off. I would definitely book this again on a future visit.

Doing what: 1 Hour 'Mountain Safari' ATV Quad Adventure from Reykjavik

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Most wonderful unique experience. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Rob V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely amazing! Easy for beginners! The tour guides were great, friendly and a lot of fun! I highly recommend going. You can pack a lunch or buy some food/drink at a gas station/rest stop on the way. I suggest packing a sandwich and some snacks. You can bring a full backpack, but pack light. Also, do not wear baggy pants to avoid cutting them.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

cmkacher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We saw a truly spectacular display of northern lights on a clear night in the bay of Reykjavik. The warm jumpsuits were great to have as we watched from the top deck of the boat. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great explanation of the science behind what we were experiencing. Great tour!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Miss H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is the correct use of the word 'AWESOME'. Amazing trip and worth every Krona. Great guides and felt super safe with our Mountain Rescue guide who worked the Elevator that takes you down. Ragga was a great guide too. Loved the walk in and out to the Three Peaks. AND the ladies in Basecamp make a magnificent soup. As they say - just DO IT

Doing what: Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message