In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fleming USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We had a perfect weather day and our guide,bus driver, and food were very good. You see many castles and other sites during the river portion of the tour. Other stops were very nice and did not feel rushed. Our tour group developed a camaraderie that made the trip a great experience. We maintained conversations throughout the tour with people from other countries.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CowboyE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Rhine River Wine country. Lunch was in a delightful little restaurant near the river and was simple but very good. The wine tasting was disappointing, but the rest of the trip was outstanding and highly recommended. My wife and I had a problem after we had left for our hotel she left some very important papers behind, but the wonderful people in the tour office retrieved them and waited for us to return, which saved our vacation. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour, easy to find starting point.Comfortable A/C coach bus . George our guide was a very humorous man. He took us uphill in the bus and suggested a payable open cable car ride to the village below . What a view ! vine yards , village , river and castles. excellent lunch at an authentic village restaurant followed by wine tasting. ice Wine deserves special mention. The cruise was comfortable in an A/C boat with complete restaurant and open air areas.Lot of medieval castles along both banks. some scenic views including the pretty girl waiting rock.Back on time the evening free for ourselves . We even won a small bottle of brandy for knowing a little about German history

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

chris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Rhine river tour was amazing. Our guide had many fun facts about Germany as well. Expect to pay extra for other things, dinner upgrades or the skii lift view.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Deidre W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised tour. We missed the connection to the ferry and they barged our bus across the river so we could board on the next stop. Our host was entertaining and informative. The scenery amazing. The dinner was pleasant though the price for tap water excessive and the wine tasting in the true sense - small sips interesting. We took our 8 and 11 year old and the half day tour was just long enough to keep their interest and the super large ice cream and e-readers at the hotel kept them engaged while we learnt more about the local wines. So, don't be put off by the front office meeting point which, while central, is less than salubrious. The operators are obviously professionals.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CHRIS B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The whole day was interesting, the cruise was beautiful thanks to fabulous weather. The meal was simple and nice.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Troy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The cruise was very nice with great views. It helps if you have access Google maps and Wiki so that you can look up all the sights and read about the history. They should not advertise that there is wine tasting. It barely qualifies. Four plastic shot glasses half full, no refills. The dinner was just ok at best, in an overcrowded restaurant sitting elbow to elbow.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Xochitl S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Guide was great and I appreciated the effort to jam both events into one day, but both things could easily take up the better part of a day. Also there should be an option to pay less if you do not drink, which I do not.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Steven D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It was an 11-hour day but unfortunately 6 hours of that was spent on an old, poorly-equiped bus. The trip to Heidelberg wasn't too bad - 1.5 hours but the the on-bus toilet was not operational. The tour guide Adrian was poorly presented scruffy old clothes, hair and not even an identifying badge. It seemed he and the bus driver Alex had their own deals going to avoid parking the bus in designated areas so we had to wait for pickup at two different spots in Heidelberg.
The real problems began when we left Heidelberg. We diverted to pickup two more customers in Heidelberg, with the bus going down side-streets and getting stuck, having to reverse etc. We lost about 45 minutes. Then we were told by the guide the bus would take us back to the office in Frankfurt to drop off some customers and pickup others for the boat ride. It seemed the company just strung together two tours at their convenience not ours. We got off the bus in Frankfurt after a further 1.5 hours no bathroom break again! and got straight back on for the transfer for Kaub. This took a further 2 hours, all the while the guide telling us there was a possibility we might miss the last boat departure scheduled at 5pm. Thankfully they held the boat for 20 minutes so we got on. The boat cruise was good but light was fading fast. At the restaurant we were served a choice of a quarter chicken and fries or vegetables and fries - very poor. We moved to another room for a quick wine tasting that consisted of 5 plastic thimbles each with a splash of wine. It was embarrassing. We then got back in the bus for our return to Frankfurt that was then diverted to the cargo area of the airport to drop-off the two customers who had a car transfer back to Heidelberg. We have taken many Viator trips around the world - and never had such a terrible experience. A very bad way to end our stay in Germany and a waste of money.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

nancjohn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything stayed on schedule and the tour guide was fantastic! The beauty of the area and the river was awesome! Absolutely would do this tour again!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Marie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day! Scenery amazing! Michel, our tour guide, was great and very funny.
Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Do this! Sit at the front of the boat. Enjoy an awesome lunch and wine tasting later at the same restaurant. The best of the best of tour guides. I forgot his name but he and #39;s an older German gentleman and full of knowledge, has worked there for at least 12 years.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Rosalie R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I had always wanted to see the castles on the Rhine and this was a lovely way to do it. The cruise was very smooth, relaxing and we saw lots of castles. The short chairlift ride was worthwhile. The stops off the boat were a bit rushed and the lunchstop was interesting but the lunch was not a particularly German one-a bit plain. Our guide was friendly and interesting and we did make it past the infamous Lorelei Rock in one piece, so overall it was a very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Petra P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We took a half-day trip and everything went smoothly, the timetables, dinner etc. The guide was very funny and the driver got us to the boat in time despite the traffic and construction work on our way.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chris R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very scenic, tour guide George very knowledgeable and informative with a good dose of humour thrown in. A great day and I'll certainly recommend.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

dieterbarbara4

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip and tour guide.
You could not not get better ! His tour was told with the euthiusiam as if we were his first.
Dieter

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

PHILIP M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

George was an excellent tour guide and lots of fun. Anton was a very safe and reliable driver. I had expected more time on the boat, but enjoyed the different things and stories George had to share.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

kerstin c

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What an amazing trip. The tour guide was very informative and spoke perfect english. If you like wine and castles beautiful scenery that is not found anywhere else! I highly recommend this trip!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Ken W W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Adrian did a nice job as our tour director. I just wish that his voice would have been stronger and clearer.
A half thimble of wine is NOT a wine tasting. Please provide an ample sample of wine and let the wines sell themselves. The dinner was OK. The restaurant was great. The food was average.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Osnah B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The people with us made it great and we enjoyed.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message