In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Inayara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience, I recommend everyone to this tour, wine tasting was very fun and the tour guide also!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide bus driver was very good. The lunch included not so good.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Vicki G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This cruise will take up your entire day for a 1 1/2 hour cruise and a whopping 20 minutes to spend in Rudesheim! And the wine tasting is a joke. You're given 4 'thimbles', seriously, of 4 different wines.
I had only one day in Frankfurt with my son and we wasted the day on this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

passek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day on the Rhine River Trip. It was beautiful. The tour was well run and the tour guide was excellent. Our only complaint was we were not served authentic German food for lunch. We can have roast chicken anytime. it was disappointing.If you want to experience the Rhine River we would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Tracey B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was a hoot! We had a great time on this tour, the cruise was everything we had hoped it to be and the dinner and wine tasting was a great way to finish the night. Adrian who ran the wine tasting definitely knows his wines and introduced us to a whole new way to appreciate wines. The only negative, was the bus driver - he was a crazy driver, putting us in some very hair raising situations on a number of occasions and worse he was smoking on a few occasions whilst driving - yuck!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Stuart E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

we spent about 1-1/2 hours on the bus. this was OK. The guide was very good. I was pleasantly surprised by the good lunch. The chicken was very good. We got on the boat and sailed about 1-1/2 hours which was alittle short but OK. We had a wine tasting that didn't amount to too much. Overall it was worth the price.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Robert V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A really good trip overall. Our tour guide Adrian had a great sense of humor, which really made the trip fun. The itinerary was good, the sights were good, the transportation arrangements were good, and the wine tasting was good. The food was just ok... nothing to write home about, but the overall experience was awesome. Thankfully, the weather cooperated and it was a fine, sunny fall day which was icing on the cake.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Margaret H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The cruise was wonderful. Beautiful scenery and good information The dinner and wine tasting were disappointing. They crowded us all around one table we had no elbow room at all even though the restaurant was basically empty. The dinner was very basic. The wine tasting part was disappointing. Guide was knowledgeable about the local wines but tasting was very small less than a thimble full of each kind and the presentation was in tiny tiny little plastic disposable pill holders. I would have to say that despite the dinner and wine the cruise part was really really beautiful and the trip is worth taking. Just beware that the cruise is really what you are buying here

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Barb.allen

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I did not realize how much time was on a. Us for this tour. Perhaps my error but not sure that info was on the tour sign up info. Lunch in a very crowded Included a wine tasting that was really not very interesting, had to be done in another very crowded space too much time getting in and out of little spaces. More time on the water or walking around a town would have been better.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Hema D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We took the 8-hour full day Rhine Valley trip, operated by ETS. ETS arranged for us to be picked up in the morning from our hotel for a fee, which was very helpful. For the same fee Euro 10 we were dropped off at our hotel on the return. Once all attendees arrived at the ETS office we were bussed to Ammanhausen, which is the town where the UNESCO Heritage Site along the Rhine begins. We were given lunch at a local restaurant and then boarded the cruise boat. Unfortunately the lunch restaurant was awful - cramped, with a very basic set menu and tasteless food. Wine tasting was offered at an adjoining facility but my husband and I did not participate as we don't drink so I can't comment on that. Our expectation was that the cruise would be 8 hours but, in fact, it was 2. The facilities on the boat were excellent with it arranged as individual tables and guests being able to order snacks and drinks. The view and ride itself were beautiful and relaxing. On the way back we stopped at the town of Rudesheim for souvenir shopping, which was great. One optional activity offered at an additional fee was to ride a lift like a ski lift from the top of a hill in Ammanhausen down to the restaurant location. We did not participate in that. The guide assigned to us for the day was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable, with the ability to relate to every guest. I would have rated this a 4 or even 5 star if the lunch were better and the cruise longer.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Steve A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

First, the tour was not what it was advertised to be. The bus driver was on of the worst drivers ever. Dozing off, all over the rode, nearly crashing into other vehicles. Had to wake up the tour guide to ask if the driver was under the influence. One of the scariest bus rides I have ever been on. The wine tasting was a joke, they gave a size taste of wine. I would never book another tour through them. 1/2 star for the tour guide who was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Fleming USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We had a perfect weather day and our guide,bus driver, and food were very good. You see many castles and other sites during the river portion of the tour. Other stops were very nice and did not feel rushed. Our tour group developed a camaraderie that made the trip a great experience. We maintained conversations throughout the tour with people from other countries.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CowboyE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Rhine River Wine country. Lunch was in a delightful little restaurant near the river and was simple but very good. The wine tasting was disappointing, but the rest of the trip was outstanding and highly recommended. My wife and I had a problem after we had left for our hotel she left some very important papers behind, but the wonderful people in the tour office retrieved them and waited for us to return, which saved our vacation. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour, easy to find starting point.Comfortable A/C coach bus . George our guide was a very humorous man. He took us uphill in the bus and suggested a payable open cable car ride to the village below . What a view ! vine yards , village , river and castles. excellent lunch at an authentic village restaurant followed by wine tasting. ice Wine deserves special mention. The cruise was comfortable in an A/C boat with complete restaurant and open air areas.Lot of medieval castles along both banks. some scenic views including the pretty girl waiting rock.Back on time the evening free for ourselves . We even won a small bottle of brandy for knowing a little about German history

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

chris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Rhine river tour was amazing. Our guide had many fun facts about Germany as well. Expect to pay extra for other things, dinner upgrades or the skii lift view.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Deidre W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised tour. We missed the connection to the ferry and they barged our bus across the river so we could board on the next stop. Our host was entertaining and informative. The scenery amazing. The dinner was pleasant though the price for tap water excessive and the wine tasting in the true sense - small sips interesting. We took our 8 and 11 year old and the half day tour was just long enough to keep their interest and the super large ice cream and e-readers at the hotel kept them engaged while we learnt more about the local wines. So, don't be put off by the front office meeting point which, while central, is less than salubrious. The operators are obviously professionals.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CHRIS B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The whole day was interesting, the cruise was beautiful thanks to fabulous weather. The meal was simple and nice.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

David W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed the trip from start to finish and would highly recommend it, don' t think twice it's alright!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Troy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The cruise was very nice with great views. It helps if you have access Google maps and Wiki so that you can look up all the sights and read about the history. They should not advertise that there is wine tasting. It barely qualifies. Four plastic shot glasses half full, no refills. The dinner was just ok at best, in an overcrowded restaurant sitting elbow to elbow.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message