The Rhine River is Germany's longest river and premier wine growing region, packed with romantic fortress ruins, lush vineyards and medieval castles perched high above the gorge. The romantic Middle Rhine between Koblenz and Bingen is a UNESCO ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 767 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Inayara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience, I recommend everyone to this tour, wine tasting was very fun and the tour guide also!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide bus driver was very good. The lunch included not so good.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Vicki G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This cruise will take up your entire day for a 1 1/2 hour cruise and a whopping 20 minutes to spend in Rudesheim! And the wine tasting is a joke. You're given 4 'thimbles', seriously, of 4 different wines.
I had only one day in Frankfurt with my son and we wasted the day on this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

sally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The cruise was lovely, well done and the narration was excellent - in English and in German. I was interested to see so many German tourists as well as people from all parts of the world taking this cruise. The hop-On Hop-Off bus tour - the first bus was excellent and the gal that did the narrating was excellent as well as the bus driver, The last bus driver - did not speak English, had a taped narration and was a bit crude since he did not know English. Plus he was late getting there.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Phyllis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful day of cruising past vineyards and castles, and beautiful cities. We were on the paddle boat and it was elegant. We ate a delicious lunch and met some very interesting people. We met people from all over the world. We were safe and saw some terrific views. We could have hopped on and off to another boat and toured in a city, but we would have lost the paddle boat then. It was so much fun. This is a wonderful one-day tour along a beautiful stretch of the Rhine. A must do!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

passek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day on the Rhine River Trip. It was beautiful. The tour was well run and the tour guide was excellent. Our only complaint was we were not served authentic German food for lunch. We can have roast chicken anytime. it was disappointing.If you want to experience the Rhine River we would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Tracey B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was a hoot! We had a great time on this tour, the cruise was everything we had hoped it to be and the dinner and wine tasting was a great way to finish the night. Adrian who ran the wine tasting definitely knows his wines and introduced us to a whole new way to appreciate wines. The only negative, was the bus driver - he was a crazy driver, putting us in some very hair raising situations on a number of occasions and worse he was smoking on a few occasions whilst driving - yuck!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Stuart E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

we spent about 1-1/2 hours on the bus. this was OK. The guide was very good. I was pleasantly surprised by the good lunch. The chicken was very good. We got on the boat and sailed about 1-1/2 hours which was alittle short but OK. We had a wine tasting that didn't amount to too much. Overall it was worth the price.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Robert V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A really good trip overall. Our tour guide Adrian had a great sense of humor, which really made the trip fun. The itinerary was good, the sights were good, the transportation arrangements were good, and the wine tasting was good. The food was just ok... nothing to write home about, but the overall experience was awesome. Thankfully, the weather cooperated and it was a fine, sunny fall day which was icing on the cake.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

jtrenwith

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

A very pretty town - must remember to let the driver know that you want to get off - does not stop unless requested.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Margaret H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The cruise was wonderful. Beautiful scenery and good information The dinner and wine tasting were disappointing. They crowded us all around one table we had no elbow room at all even though the restaurant was basically empty. The dinner was very basic. The wine tasting part was disappointing. Guide was knowledgeable about the local wines but tasting was very small less than a thimble full of each kind and the presentation was in tiny tiny little plastic disposable pill holders. I would have to say that despite the dinner and wine the cruise part was really really beautiful and the trip is worth taking. Just beware that the cruise is really what you are buying here

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Barb.allen

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I did not realize how much time was on a. Us for this tour. Perhaps my error but not sure that info was on the tour sign up info. Lunch in a very crowded Included a wine tasting that was really not very interesting, had to be done in another very crowded space too much time getting in and out of little spaces. More time on the water or walking around a town would have been better.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Hema D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We took the 8-hour full day Rhine Valley trip, operated by ETS. ETS arranged for us to be picked up in the morning from our hotel for a fee, which was very helpful. For the same fee Euro 10 we were dropped off at our hotel on the return. Once all attendees arrived at the ETS office we were bussed to Ammanhausen, which is the town where the UNESCO Heritage Site along the Rhine begins. We were given lunch at a local restaurant and then boarded the cruise boat. Unfortunately the lunch restaurant was awful - cramped, with a very basic set menu and tasteless food. Wine tasting was offered at an adjoining facility but my husband and I did not participate as we don't drink so I can't comment on that. Our expectation was that the cruise would be 8 hours but, in fact, it was 2. The facilities on the boat were excellent with it arranged as individual tables and guests being able to order snacks and drinks. The view and ride itself were beautiful and relaxing. On the way back we stopped at the town of Rudesheim for souvenir shopping, which was great. One optional activity offered at an additional fee was to ride a lift like a ski lift from the top of a hill in Ammanhausen down to the restaurant location. We did not participate in that. The guide assigned to us for the day was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable, with the ability to relate to every guest. I would have rated this a 4 or even 5 star if the lunch were better and the cruise longer.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

cybersun.sjtu

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Not so fun for young guys.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

Daniel H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We arrived at the office to pick up our tickets only to find that the buses were not running. So we lost the most bey for the Hop on bus. You didn't give any indication on your site that the buses didn't run on Sundays. We're disappointed in the cruise which was very boring and we felt pressured to buy things in the dining room setting. Overall very disappointing

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Steve A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

First, the tour was not what it was advertised to be. The bus driver was on of the worst drivers ever. Dozing off, all over the rode, nearly crashing into other vehicles. Had to wake up the tour guide to ask if the driver was under the influence. One of the scariest bus rides I have ever been on. The wine tasting was a joke, they gave a size taste of wine. I would never book another tour through them. 1/2 star for the tour guide who was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Fleming USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We had a perfect weather day and our guide,bus driver, and food were very good. You see many castles and other sites during the river portion of the tour. Other stops were very nice and did not feel rushed. Our tour group developed a camaraderie that made the trip a great experience. We maintained conversations throughout the tour with people from other countries.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CowboyE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Rhine River Wine country. Lunch was in a delightful little restaurant near the river and was simple but very good. The wine tasting was disappointing, but the rest of the trip was outstanding and highly recommended. My wife and I had a problem after we had left for our hotel she left some very important papers behind, but the wonderful people in the tour office retrieved them and waited for us to return, which saved our vacation. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour, easy to find starting point.Comfortable A/C coach bus . George our guide was a very humorous man. He took us uphill in the bus and suggested a payable open cable car ride to the village below . What a view ! vine yards , village , river and castles. excellent lunch at an authentic village restaurant followed by wine tasting. ice Wine deserves special mention. The cruise was comfortable in an A/C boat with complete restaurant and open air areas.Lot of medieval castles along both banks. some scenic views including the pretty girl waiting rock.Back on time the evening free for ourselves . We even won a small bottle of brandy for knowing a little about German history

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Christopher N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was our highlight of our Hop-On-Hop-Off and our stay in Cologne. This river ride is highly recommended and no visitor to Cologne should give this a miss.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the rhine cruise. The weather was perfect and
we had an enjoyable day.
Joan and Mark

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message