The Rhine River is Germany's longest river and premier wine growing region, packed with romantic fortress ruins, lush vineyards and medieval castles perched high above the gorge. The romantic Middle Rhine between Koblenz and Bingen is a UNESCO ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 697 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day of touring took the double tour of Heidelberg castle and Rhine valley what a way to spend a day seeing the castle ruins and taking a boat ride up the majestic Rhine river, great memories !

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and the tour of the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

suem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour our guide Michael was very informative and made the day a lot of fun.
The meal was nice and the restaurant which had an included wine tasting was very quirky.
The Rhine cruise which lasted 1 hour 20 minutes was very relaxing.
There were so many photos to take of all the castles and the time went very quickly.
I would definately recommend this tour. The local provider ETS did a great job.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Aj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing day of relaxation. During our trip 30/06, it was cloudy, the water was calm and the intermittent commentary about the surroundings really made it worth taking the cruise. The staff spoke english well and the rates were pretty okay both on the deck and in the restaurant below. It was not crowded at all, and the cruise ship itself was a 3 decker. Definitely recommended for people who are looking for a day off of their busy european tour to calm down and recharge.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

Virgina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend! My favorite tour in Europe. We did the full day tour as it left earlier than the half day, and made arrangements to end the tour before the bus ride back to Frankfurt so that we could catch a train to Cologne. The tour guide was fantastic! The bus ride to the start was fun and full of great facts about Germany. We really enjoyed the gondola ride and the lunch and wine tasting before catching our beautiful boat to curise the Rhine River. On the boat ride, we saw castle after caste. It was stunning! This tour is the ONE tour that I would absolutely repeat again anytime, just for the relaxing beauty. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

kjellerson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful!! Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Had a great time!!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Indrajit D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was fantastic. of course nice weather contributed to this trip to make it more enjoyable. the tour guide was nice person as well

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

kevin c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent... the food was good too!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Rene K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Need better parking guidance/direction!!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great time spent on the Rhine. I wasn't overly fussed on the dinner and the bit where they try and get you to buy wine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Ryan O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Much fun. Bus a little used looking but every thing else was great. Our guide, Micheal, made it a very enjoyable trip. Lunch was superb, and the restaurant fun to explore. The cruise was a bit short but very relaxing

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Amanda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Heidelberg was amazing but extremely rushed. The guide had great knowledge of the city and castle and #39;s history but there was hardly any time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Richard R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Boat trip was great. Guide was good, personable and funny. However, the bus ride was longer than the boat trip and not enjoyable at all. The bus was filthy and the overhead compartments banged the entire trip. The individual who checked us in at the starting point was sullen and borderline rude. The restaurant was mediocre. Tour group was forced to sit together whether they wanted to or not as the restaurant refused to use any of the other empty tables. Room for the wine tasting was awesome. Overall, average tour. I would have preferred a lot longer time on the boat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Nicole M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Tour guide and driver were great, however we expected much more for the price we paid based upon the write up.
There was wasted travel time as it was really two half day tours, not one full day trip. Dinner was lackluster, the wine tasting wasn and #39;t at a winery and they only gave you thimbles worth.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Angela R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The booking was easy. The tour bus was very old and dirty. Losts of rattling and noise as we traveled from loose compartments. The windows were too dirty/cloudy to obtain any pictures. The timing of the tour was misleading. We only has a hour on the river. REALLY thought we'd be on the river for much longer. The boat was nice and the views were spectacular! Dinner in Assman was disappointing. I left hungry. The small serving was tasty but not enough. The Icewine was delicious. The wine sampling was way too small the talk was informative and entertaining. Over all- I would book another tour that spent more time on the river and would hope for a better dinner experience.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Sondra C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour is almost all bus, not what I was expecting. We were on the bus for over an hour with the pit stop to drop passengers off at the airport, immediately a bad start to the trip.
The bus itself was not in great shape either. The bus drove along side the entire stretch of river we were going to be on, so we saw all the stuff we were going to see 2x, not necessarily bad but kinda ruins the experience. We barely made it to the traditional steamer which was actually just a ferry boat. Service on the boat was good, unfortunately it was literally a 15KM boat ride that lasted maybe 35 minutes. We sat on a bus for over 2 hours to spend 30 minutes on a boat. The dinner was vegetarian or chicken, for 12.50 Euro EXTRA you could get the Schnitzel with the white asparagus. That's entire meal should cost that much in Germany, definitely not a bargain considering dinner is supposed to be included. The choices are too limited IMO, very disappointing. The restaurant was ridiculous, full of crap in an effort to be different. I didn't go to Germany and spend the money for a tour to be in some god awfully decorated restaurant, traditional would go a long way here. Wine tasting was after dinner why not before so you know what you like and can order appropriately but honestly felt like more of a pitch to buy some wine than tasting. It was informative though. If I had to do it over, I would park my car along the river and hop on one of the ferries going up the river and then back down, and eat dinner where I wanted to.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Tianhao L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It's even a travel company run the tour. As it's a very poor car and no air conditioning in the car. Don't take this tour. Not worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joon S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Been on this tour a couple of times whenever guests come in to visit. Didn't expect such a disappointing experience this time around. The tour was booked for the convenience of visiting guests, so it was extremely disappointing to find impatient and condescending staff - from the guy at registration, to the tour guide, and finally to the restaurant staff at our lunch spot. Perhaps it was a bad day. But, my goodness, that attitude creates such an unpleasant and uncomfortable environment for the tourists. Beyond all that, the Rhine Valley is gorgeous! Always a place to visit and thank goodness there are so many different ways to go and explore it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

craigshannon2624

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything went well on this trip. Maybe could have used a little less humor and a lot more information.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Douglas M New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day out. The weather was a bit overcast but it was still a lovely day. The tour guide was excellent. The included lunch was very good but the drinks are a bit pricey. We then went on the cruise part of the trip and it was very scenic with the castles, vineyards and towns. It was also interesting seeing all the other ships on the Rhine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

brianh United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip, our tour guide was wonderful. The only thing we wish the actual river cruise was longer, it only lasted about an hour and a half.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Sheila H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very lovely day- George was very informative- He enjoys his job and it shows!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Howard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really nice cruise plus wine tastings. Our guide was very fun and had a warm sense of humor. The boat can be a bit chilly and windy so have a jacket available.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message