Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Chacara do Ceu Museum

Situated in a sleek, chic modernist house in Santa Teresa, Rio’s bohemian quarter, the Chacara do Ceu Museum houses part of the vast art collection of the late Brazilian industrialist and aesthete, Raymundo Ottoni de Castro Maya. Over the course of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tiffany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friends and I loved this tour! Our tour guide Daniel was very friendly and knowledgeable. Tried the best Pao de Queijo we had in Rio. We especially enjoyed the beautiful views of the city, tram ride, and walking down Escaderia Seleron. Must do this tour while in Rio!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jeremy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great walking tour of Santa Teresa. The trip started with a trolly trip and narration by the guide. It was followed by a good walking tour of the favela. The town is hilly so be prepared for a little exertion. We stopped at a little cafe for the best cheesy-balls in Rio as well as visited a local artist store. There were some great panorama views of sugar loaf and Corcovado Mtn. The tour ended walking down the famous steps. The pace of the tour was casual and our guide was very patient while we took photos. i would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Daniel, our tour guide was outstanding. He was articulate and knowledgeable and presented the tour in a comfortable intimate fashion. It was obvious he knew the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Daniel was my guide and he was amazing! Really gave great commentary. He was so good I stayed on for the second part of the tour to the Santa Marta Favela. This was an amazing experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anderson was our guide, a lovely pleasant person. He was very informative about the places we visited as we were a small group. So he could give his attention to us, better than being in a much larger group We were lucky to go with him on Corpus Christie bank holiday, We got to see the Cathedral pavements decorated in biblical pictures that the community do.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jolantataverner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed it. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Didn't get tram ride though.Easy walking tour

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jenny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was great, our tour guide Daniel was very nice and funny and was able to answer all our questions. We felt well taken care of and it was an interesting tour throughout.
We even prolonged this half day tour and added the Santa Marta Favela tour to the itinerary which was very easy to do. That tour is also highly recommended, we would book with this agency again any day.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sonja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great Tour thanks to our Tour Guide Anderson who really knows how to get around in rio in the most effective way. He also gave his group advice on how to get around in the city by explaining us the metro system and what sights are located at what station, also pointed out what areas to avoid.
Anderson also knew all the key facts about his city, is a very experienced tour guide which made the tour very enjoyable for us. The tour started at 9am in front of the Copacapana palace and brings the group via public transportation to lapa. the tour continued to Santa Theresa. For us the famous tile stair were the highlights of the tour. Thank you Anderson for a great discovery tour through parts of Rio de Janeiro!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

anthony y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We when on a small group tour 2 couples and the guide around Santa Teresa and Rio de Janeiro's downtown by foot. The guide, Yvan from the tour company, a native from Santa Teresa. Has been more than great! Ask for him to get the most out of your trip!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Ojas V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great walking tour through the downtown, using the subway, and the interesting bohemian neighborhood of Santa Teresa. Make sure you have Brazilian Reals, and be prepared to walk a few miles in the lively streets of Rio.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Herlena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was outstanding nd the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

G V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was quite good. The guide was very knowledgeable and we went round the city. It is worth taking the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this tour, the pace, and the scenery. Our guide could speak English very well and was interesting. It was just my husband and I so we could hear all that was said and stop and take our time at the different sights. I would recommend this tour if you have time. There is a lot of walking so be sure to wear good comfortable shoes, the pavement is uneven and there a lot of ups and downs. I would not wear flip flops.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Meredith G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was led by Daniel, who was fantastic! Only one other person was on the tour with me, so it was basically like a private tour. You can tell how much Daniel loves his home town and how excited he is to share his experience in this unique city. His English is flawless and the tour was really relaxed yet informative. I'm glad I was able to experience Santa Teresa with a true local!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Latasha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice walking tour! Daniel was very friendly and informative! I really enjoyed taking the subway and getting to see another side of Brazilian life and culture!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

ADRINE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Santa Teresa is must see especially if the tram start working end of this year as it's under renovating. But the famous Selaron steps was the high light with its history.
I must mention our tour guid Daniel who had good knowledge and friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent private tour. It was just two of us. The guide was very friendly, spoke good English and was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Margaret D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour with a great tour guide. I very much enjoyed the tour. It was a mixed walking, subway, and bus tour and a very good way to see more of Rio than you usually would. The murals on the tour were very interesting and the walk down the tiled steps, Selaron's Staircase, was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was a very good, personalized tour. Ivan was our guide and he was superb.. We enjoyed talking the subway, buses, etc. to get a feel for the real Rio. The only drawback was that the area was tron up to redo the tram tracks. Good shopping and a nice area.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

NJ G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

By far the best tour I booked on Viator. Very knowledgable and easy going local guide called Alex and only four if us in the tour. We saw lots that we would not have seen if we hadn't been on this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

JESUS L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a unique tour that we enjoyed a lot. The local guide Ivan was knew what he was doing and gave us a very interesting tour. The fact that it was a small group made it an even better experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alex was a great tour guide answering all the questions we could throw at him. We knew the tram was still not working and won't be for the foreseeable future. So, no surprise there. We walked a LOT and thoroughly enjoyed the entire time, remembering to apply sunscreen a couple of hours into it. There were only 4 of us on this tour and that made it even nicer although a lot of places were not open - perhaps because it was a Sunday or too early in the day for them to open. It was just how it was described - Centro, Lapa and Santa Teresa - a super value. As well, we learned to use the Metro - quite helpful. We realized that half day tours are enough for us, leaving some beach time to enjoy that day also..

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Eliot C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My tour was really amazing! The small group was really small. Just me and the tour guide, Danny, who was also amazing. Would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

scot s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent. Daniel was our guide. Very knowledgeable and say going tour. Casual conversational style, not rehearsed. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message