The view from Corcovado provides a thrilling panorama of Rio de Janeiro and is a great way for visitors to orientate themselves in the sprawling seaside metropolis. Spectacular in every direction the northern views offer the Maracana, the large ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 893 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this excursion to Corcovado very much. Our guide, Kiko, was ready for us as we arrived to the pickup point 10 minutes early bonus points! and provided us an enjoyable, descriptive trip to the mountain. We had plenty of time to see the statue before the clouds and the crowds rolled in. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Rio.

Doing what: Corcovado with Christ Statue plus Other 6 Different Attractions - One of the 7 Modern Wonders of the World

charles l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an Excellent Tour!! A great way to see the City of Rio!! I strongly suggest the 7AM tour - as it gets to Cristo at 8AM for opening. Within 1 hour, it was very busy and hard to take pictures. Bring cash, as the shops at the top have internet issues. The shop at the bottom is overpriced. We had Katia Kathy as our Guide. She was an incredible delight!! Definitely takes pride in her job. And was always available to assist in picture-taking. Knowledge about the drive up/back to Cristo, and available for questions.

Doing what: Corcovado with Christ Statue plus Other 6 Different Attractions - One of the 7 Modern Wonders of the World

Rose G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately it was cloudy that afternoon. I would recommend this tour be taken in the morning before the clouds roll in. The statue is very impressive, and imposong. No views because of the clouds.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, extremely knowledgeable tour leader.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

CHRIS B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing.The tour guide was very knowledgable and made it easy for English speaking people and Portuguese speaking people it was lots of fun and an amazing and unforgetable experience

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

dsotunde7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It has always been my Dream to See see the Christ Redeemer Statue and this Half Day Tour of this Iconic structure was Very Enjoyable.
Credit is has to given to Fantastic Tour Guide Fatima who was brilliant was Presentation while we were on the tour bus was exceptional.
Thank you very Much Fatima.
I hope in the not to distant future to go through this Tour again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing all the 'must see' sites. We really enjoyed our two different guides, Maria Fatima in the morning and Yeda in the afternoon. We had a variety of people of different languages and had a commentary with a headpiece. The guides were very good English speakers when we had questions and I loved asking questions!!!
Our lunch was at a steakhouse that was fabulous. The salads were wonderful and I could fill up on them and then came the meats! So many meats to choose from. So delicious!! I believe it was called Carretao Classic Grill! Food you will recognize!
My only grips are not with Viator. The number of people they put on the cable cars up to Sugar Loaf Mountain are ridiculous. No pictures going up, not so bad going down.
This is not a good tour if you're looking for a way to see the city. It does drive through but the only way to see the city is walking but I need some direction!
So, Viator, get a city tour for the little gems that shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jocilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything was great, lunch was outstanding, the guides were fabulous. We really enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Women guide in the morning was exceptional. She had time for everyone aand was was multi lingual.tour good lunch include was exceptional. Afternoon tourwas good but guide not as interested,

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

duffeyg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Comfortable bus alas, we got to the top after sundown.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Stuart W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

most enjoyable day tour, the guide was charming and her knowledge and spoken English excellent, however, mass confusion initially as I was booked with others for a full day tour and it transpired that our tour was in fact two tours made into one, the tour guide did not know this and it took time to sort out the problem, lack of liaison and efficiency, I am not impressed by this bad organising !

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We got looked after very well. A very interesting day and a diverse look at Rio. Gabby was a friendly, informative guide. Well worthwhile tour to take. Recommended

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Rakesh H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

1. poor experience. no explanation on tour. guide was of limited help. referred me to the audio tour provided.
2. lunch/ food was great.
3. cursory visit/ explanation at Cathedral and arts district.
4. pick up and drop off points were not convenient. bus did not drop me off at same pickup point. I had to take a taxi for upto 1 hr and 40 mins back to hotel.
way overpriced. disappointed in tour. expected better from a viator tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gerard C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Basically just a bus ride to base of Corcovado Mt. Guide didn't add any insight as usually get with Viator guides.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Manar A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Felt a little rushed throughout, but at least we were able to see everything we needed to.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Liane U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The Christ statue visit was wonderful despite the bad weather. We were just shocked to be told by the tour guide that our tour was over immediately afterwards that there were no Other 6 Attractions for us to participate in, so we were dropped at our hotel! Something is wrong with the organisation as we were also only picked 30 min after the nominated time.

Doing what: Corcovado with Christ Statue plus Other 6 Different Attractions - One of the 7 Modern Wonders of the World

Danny N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

For 75 you are basically provided transportation in the form of a bus to the cog train. You aren't picked up at your hotel but a nearby hotel. You're given 30-45 minutes to snap photos of the monument and then take the cog train back down. Depending on group size you'll have to wait a bit to board the bus again as lines for the cog train may be awhile.

You are much better off doing this on your own as cog train tickets are only 17-21 USD and you're essentially paying the rest to ride a bus when you can easily take a uber or taxi for much less. We were a group of 6 and essentially paid 300 for a bus ride which excluding the cost of the cog train tickets.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

PHILIP M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day and the tour guides were great

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day tour and you were able to see a lot in a short period of time. I did feel a bit rushed when you go to the top of Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. I wished I had a little more time to experience that. This was something I spoke with other tourists about and they experienced the same thing with other tours. One other turn off was that in the audio recording Grayline was constantly doing shameless plugs for other tours. I get it they are in it to make money but they did not have to mention it 5 or 6 times.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very informative and fun trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour! If you try to do this whole tour without a guide, you won't be bypassing the lines to get in and you won't get the points of interest pointed out from the coach throughout the trip.
I suggest you take a hard copy of your voucher. Because of the Olympic's street closings, we weren't picked up at our hotel but had to go to a pickup point. The tour guide said she didn't have us on her list but when I showed her our voucher, said that it wouldn't be a problem. We booked via Viator, not directly through Gray Line so maybe that was the problem? The views were breathtaking from both the mountain and Sugar Loaf. We personally liked Sugar Loaf best because it was very high but not so high you couldn't see things well. We got lucky with clear weather.
We were off-season which I also strongly recommend as the crowds weren't bad and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. The lunch was pretty good. They told us not to take the meat as we went through the buffet, as it would be served to us. Don't listen to that, the meat they served was very tough beef. The buffet had several kinds of chicken and fish that were much better.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had to do this tour twice! Imagine yourself in front of one of the modern world wonder!! It and #39;s huge, amazing and beautiful!!! Even for me that I and #39;m not a religious person. The trip is more than worthy!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message