The view from Corcovado provides a thrilling panorama of Rio de Janeiro and is a great way for visitors to orientate themselves in the sprawling seaside metropolis. Spectacular in every direction the northern views offer the Maracana, the large ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 930 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous day blessed with good weather and clear views. Well looked after by multi-lingual guides. Lunch was an experience not to be missed. Tiring but well worth it!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is one of the best tours we have been on. Daniel was great and really helps you experience life in Rio de Janeiro. Santa Marta Favela is a wonderful highlight and a must if coming to Rio!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were given great advice on arrival, to separate the Plataforma Show to the next day, and this was arranged accordingly by Grayline. The tour to Sugar Loaf and Corcovado were terrific. The show next day was also good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a fantastic full day tour of the city using our feet and a range of different types of public transport. There were just four of us two couples. Our guide Gabriella was outstanding. She was knowledgeable, genuinely enthusiastic and went out of her way to not only talk to us about life in Rio but to give us some genuine experience e.g. by taking us into small local cafes we could never have discovered.
You need to be prepared to make an effort walking in the tropical heat but well worth it.
A great day!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Hanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was by far the best tour I did in Rio. Actually it was probably the best tour I've ever done in my life. The guide, Daniel, had a great personality and was really considerate of everyone wanting to take photos - he took great shots for everyone. But also kept everyone moving and motivated to keep walking in the heat. We got to see the best of Rio on this tour and I'm so glad I went to see the favela and learn more about the people who live there. Just beautiful.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Nicketta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was great. The guide gave us time to look around and take in the experience.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Arie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The full day tour was composed of two independent half-day tours and lunch at a restaurant. Each of these three components deserve a five star rating. Money and time well spent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Karina S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was great. Everything was timely as expected. First we visited the Sugar Loaf Mountain. The views were amazing! We experience a minor delay as one in the group was left behind on our way back. We were able to try some Caipirina but it was very expensive there compared to other places were my husband had some. From here we were off to a buffet lunch and after lunch it was off to the Christ Redeemer. The morning weather was great but by the time we arrived to the top of the mountain, it was very cloudy and the views were not as great. The train ride up the mountain was kind of interesting. This tour is definitely a must while in Rio. I liked the coordination and the fact that everything was taken care of.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

william.r.vickers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We did the Rio Combo Tour with one other couple and our excellent Guide Gaby. It was a terrific day with a well paced itinerary that allowed plenty of time at key sites including the Santa Marta Favela. Gaby was the ideal guide : relaxed, charming, informative and a sense of humour . We used trains, buses, the old tram car from Santa Teresa , and lots of walking about 12 kms in all so people need to be prepared for exercise !

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Jani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. Very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Raymond D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great half day, great guide and worth taking this tour.

Doing what: Half Day Rio de Janeiro Sightseeing Tour

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome tour Daniel and Marco were the best. The ability to interact with the locals in the Santa Marta Favela was very cool. I felt safe and comfortable. When in Rio do not walk around with your cell phone visible i.e. take your picture and put away use common sense and be aware of your surrounding. We were not able to do Corcovado Mountain that day due to very low clouds but Daniel gave us the money cost for the ticket to go on another day while we were in town the next day - early morning was perfect.

Daniel I hope you found your cell phone tracked down the taxi driver.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

YEN PING Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

enjoy my trip and will be back soon.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Violeta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You cannot go to Rio and miss this excursion! Wonderful sight seeing, good tour and a day we won't forget!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Trevarin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A nice day tour of Rio. Tour guide was knowledgeable and kept us comfortable the whole time. Would advise walking shoes as particular sections can uneven. Would highly recommend for a break from the beach.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Mrs Fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day tour was as expected....the lunch was at a local buffet.

The evening samba show and the restaurant were both exceptional!

It was a long day, but more wonderful than I expected.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

drkarl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Remarkable views of Rio. Great experience to be at the Cristo Redentor statue. Sugar Loaf was amazing. The lunch and dinner was at the same place. The Samba show was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour consists of three parts with three different guides. It begins with a ride through the city and we will take us to the Sugar Loaf mountain. The cable cars up is exciting and thrilling. The view at the top is fantastic. Our guide pointed out various places in the city. After the tour we had lunch in a restaurant. we thought it was a tourist trap, but the food was very good and you could eat as much as anything. Then downloaded a new guide us and took us to Corovado. it was very busy and crowded when we would ride the train to the top. But it was worth it, the Christ statue and the view is magical. After we came down, we changed our guide and it was time for dinner before the samba show. unfortunately, it's dinner at the same place as the lunch. Samba show is good, but unfortunately, the room are very bad and the staff was quite unpleasant. staff wanted to photograph us all the time and then sell pretty bad photos. The dancers and musicians were very talented and there were many fabulous clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is might be a good way two see these two beautiful attractions in one long day and without waiting in line too long to go on the lifts and train.
We were also driven through parts of the old town, stopped at the main cathedral 20 minutes and brief stops at the Sambadrome and the Macarana stadium for pictures.
This tour includes lunch. We were taken to Norte Grill the Centro location. It was almost chaotic in there-at least 3 additional tour buses were there plus the local patrons. This is buffet style. We stood in long lines to select the food which was OK but nothing outstanding. The various types of meat, except for the sausages, were tough and not the best quality. We were not told that the desserts weren't included. We knew about the drinks being extra and they were promptly delivered to our table which was one long row accommodating a least 30 people per row and very little space between seats. This restaurant was not a good experience and not appropriate for the cost of this tour. We stayed there over two hours. People were impatience and were told that we were making time and waiting because our appointment at Christ the Redeemer was a 4pm. This company needs to consider using another restaurant and making this tour shorter. Everything that we did could have been done in less than 10 hours. Their tour guides were fine and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Michael United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The wait time on the train to Corcovado mountain is pretty long otherwise an excellent day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Bill S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour our guide made sure that our wait in line was short. It was a beautiful day and the scenes from the top of the mountain were outstanding. Our guide continued to provide valuable information from the time we got in the bus until our departure. Great trip!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This a pretty intense all-day tour. You'll be on a couple of different buses, the cable cars on Sugarloaf and tram up to Corcovado. The super crowded lunch buffet was a bit frustrating but the selection of food comprehensive. There is a lot going on at all times so pay attention to your guide who may disappear from time to time, also to fellow tour people who may be paying better attention. Remember your bus as there will be many other similar ones. Communication from the guides was lax and they were out of sight due to the huge crowds. I THINK THEY SHOULD CARRY DISTINCT FLAGS TO HELP PEOPLE KEEP TRACK OF THEM. All in all a FANTASTIC tour bundle!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ross

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Although we did enjoy this tour and our morning tour guide Yedi we did feel that it could be done much better. To start it isn't really a ten hour tour...over 90 minutes was spent picking up guests from their various hotel locations where we would often sit for 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the guests. Perhaps a central location that the guests would all make their way to would be more efficient. At the end of the day dropping guests to their hotels is not as time consuming as there would be no waiting.

We had a great morning guide...afternoon guy not so much but the pre-recording of the various sites we drove past was faulty and filled with static in the morning. We were told to leave the audio device on the seats whenever we disembarked to see an attraction and would have preferred the type of live audio system where our guide would give a running commentary...on and off the bus.

Off the bus we found the process to be very disjointed and perhaps that is because we are used to tours led by guides with some kind of visual paddle or symbol to keep the group together. We did also feel that we were not jumping the cue in front of the general public and noted that several other groups Amigo Tours for one had priority over us. This led to our being behind schedule by a considerable amount of time making us wonder what, perhaps, was skipped in the afternoon.

The two main attractions of Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer were well worth it and compensated for some of the tours deficiencies. The lunch was outstanding and the selection of meats they kept bringing and bringing was incredible. This would not be a good day to be a vegetarian!

All in all a good tour that could be significantly better with some small improvements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Abby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful tour that really gave a great overview of the city - from the tourist magnet of Christ the Redeemer to the slice-of-life visit to the Santa Marta Favela. Our guide was great as well! Just remember to wear comfortable shoes because there's a lot of walking, but its all worth it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message