Petropolis was the mountain getaway for the imperial court, popular in summer when the coast became hot and muggy. Nestled 3,000ft (800m) high in the  Serra dos Órgãos it is a few degrees cooler than at sea level. It’s a kooky place as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great day! I enjoyed seeing more to Brazil. I wish the guide, while lovely and helpful, spoke more English.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Peter L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a good tour. Interested parties should be aware that there is a fairly long drive between Rio and Petropolis. Google Maps will say that it's 1 hour 15 minutes from Copacabana, but there are hotel stops to make to pick up fellow tourists. The countryside was pretty, but it would have been nice to have some dialog over the speakers or headsets to describe what we were looking at along the drive.

The Imperial Museum was truly impressive! It's good to see how the 0.1 lived in the 1800's. My fiancee was particularly taken with the opulence of the solid gold baby cribs.

The Cathedral Sao Pedro was an excellent stop to see the final burial sites of Brazilian royals.

The Crystal Palace is actually more of a community venue for music, not a palace that was ever lived in. Some reviews panned it for not being an actual palace, but it's a reasonable stop on the tour as long as your expectations are in line.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

the tour was fine, it was the tour diretor Tonya I did not like.. Even though
I had requested the tour in English, she spoke mostly in Portuguese as
most of the other people spoke both languages. She would talk 5-10
minutes in Portuguese and then just a few words in English. As a
result I missed seeing one of the tour highlights because she did not
tell me when we were to see it. Also she caused undue stress on me
when on our way back the bus stopped and people started to get off
I did not know why as she spoke in Portuguese. When I asked what
we were doing she just told me to stay on the bus for the time. Turned
out it was the free time about 40 minutes to look around the city, but she
could not be bothered to explain that in English. When I came back to
get the bus, no bus and no around causing me to think the bus had
already left without me. She gave no apologies.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Chloe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour guide she was brilliant, highly recommend.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Jennifer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide we had was truly a delight and well versed in the history of Rio de Janeiro. It was though she made the vacation....Rio at its best!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Edward M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite the low clouds and drizzle we greatly enjoyed our day trip to Petropolis. It was very interesting to see additional history of Brazil in the museum. The town itself was very pleasant to walk around and a great contrast to Rio de Janeiro. Not all of Brazil is on the beach!
Our guide, Marcelo, was flexible, attentive to our needs and presented options so that we could choose what we were most interested in.

Doing what: Private Petropolis Imperial City Tour

Edward M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite the low clouds and drizzle we greatly enjoyed our day trip to Petropolis. It was very interesting to see additional history of Brazil in the museum. The town itself was very pleasant to walk around and a great contrast to Rio de Janeiro. Not all of Brazil is on the beach!
Our guide, Marcelo, was flexible, attentive to our needs and presented options so that we could choose what we were most interested in.

Doing what: Private Petropolis Imperial City Tour

Jabari W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour as it was nice to see a different part of Brazil and learn its history of the Portuguese royal family. Lunch was superb. Disappointing you couldn't take pictures inside the Impetial Museum.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

aldon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

excellent knowledgeable guide speak many language,keeps everyone entertained.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

delalando

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour started off badly but improved.
The bus went to the wrong hotel and was 30 minutes late.
Our English tour was mainly Portuguese/Spanish, but our guide, Chi-chi Gina?, tried to keep us informed. Her English and Spanish were good.
The ride was very rough the springs/shocks must be shot.
One of out party hit his head on the ceiling on one big bump!
Otherwise, the tour itself in Petropolis went well.
The cultural center old casino, imperial palace, cathedral and crystal palace were all noteworthy.
The buffet lunch was good, but a bit rushed.
The chocolate factory was just a visit to a store at least, water was free!.
The women really appreciated the final hour allowed for shopping as prices were quite good.
Again, this tour can be easily arranged locally in Rio more cheaply.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Ralph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Tété was our guide and she was fabulous. Effortless transition from Portuguese, to Spanish to English. This is exhausting work, but Tété brought humour with her knowledge and everything went extremely well.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A long way to go to be left window shopping for two hours in a surprisingly large town.Tour of Imperial Museum interesting but not riveting .Tour guide spoke very little english.Lunch was disappointing. Probably better ways to spend a day of your stay in Rio.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

hartsantos

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This tour was not worth full day trip from 8:10am pick up and 6:30pm drop-off. it wasted one hour to pick other passengers around the city. Emperor Dom Pedro II summer residence was currently a hotel, only good for picture taking from the fence. Museum of Santos Dumont was just a house, had to pay extra to enter. Only the Imperial Museum was worth the tour. The worst part was the guide Ms. T. Though I booked for an English guide, she kept talking in Portuguese and Spanish for nearly half an hour in the bus, then turned to English only for a short summary of what she said before, and we had passed all the places she explained about. After I shouted Do you forget we are here?, she improved. She tried to joke, but nothing funny at all! This was the worst tour I ever had so far.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Bobo828

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We spent two hours driving and waiting in the city to pick up passengers. The tour guide communication need improvement. Too much time speaking in Portuguese and did not provide correct information in English. All the English speaking tourist got confuse the pick up time , lunch time etc. The highlight of the tour was the Palace which was a 5 minutes stop to take pictures far away. Very disappointed tour lost a full day in Rio.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Athens Hootie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Quite a surprise to find a town of over 350,000 people on top of this mountain. Beautiful, although long, trip up the mountain, but our guide, Leo, was excellent. He knew his history and was enthusiastic to share his country's past. He was very attentive to his tourists and made sure they were well cared for. He explained all the different aspects of the museum we visited which made the experience interesting. Well worth the price!!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the tour to Petropolis. TT was the best tour guide ever! she entertained us and gave us a fun history lesson during the tour and made sure we had time to explore on foot while there. We never felt rushed. I would recommend this tour with TT as the tour guide.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Robert G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very nice trip and an excellent day trip from Rio. The guide was great and everything went very smoothly. The tour stopped at a chocolate candy factory/store in Petropolis and the people running that store could serve as an example of how not to run a business. They should skip that place on all future tours and spend that 20 minutes someplace else.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Angela C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Celia was a good tour guide- she was multilingual and made me feel comfortable on the tour. Was very nice about taking pictures for me. Great job!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Donna M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour guide didn't seem to include all languages as well as she should have and this may be due to the large group size. We liked the places of interest and learning about their history. We do feel as though this tour had far too many people to be able to hear the guide in our language.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Rachael G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Could not understand the tour guide's english. Lunch was expensive/not included/not very good.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message