At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 764 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous day blessed with good weather and clear views. Well looked after by multi-lingual guides. Lunch was an experience not to be missed. Tiring but well worth it!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were given great advice on arrival, to separate the Plataforma Show to the next day, and this was arranged accordingly by Grayline. The tour to Sugar Loaf and Corcovado were terrific. The show next day was also good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Arie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The full day tour was composed of two independent half-day tours and lunch at a restaurant. Each of these three components deserve a five star rating. Money and time well spent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. Very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

YEN PING Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

enjoy my trip and will be back soon.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Violeta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You cannot go to Rio and miss this excursion! Wonderful sight seeing, good tour and a day we won't forget!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mrs Fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day tour was as expected....the lunch was at a local buffet.

The evening samba show and the restaurant were both exceptional!

It was a long day, but more wonderful than I expected.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

drkarl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Remarkable views of Rio. Great experience to be at the Cristo Redentor statue. Sugar Loaf was amazing. The lunch and dinner was at the same place. The Samba show was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour consists of three parts with three different guides. It begins with a ride through the city and we will take us to the Sugar Loaf mountain. The cable cars up is exciting and thrilling. The view at the top is fantastic. Our guide pointed out various places in the city. After the tour we had lunch in a restaurant. we thought it was a tourist trap, but the food was very good and you could eat as much as anything. Then downloaded a new guide us and took us to Corovado. it was very busy and crowded when we would ride the train to the top. But it was worth it, the Christ statue and the view is magical. After we came down, we changed our guide and it was time for dinner before the samba show. unfortunately, it's dinner at the same place as the lunch. Samba show is good, but unfortunately, the room are very bad and the staff was quite unpleasant. staff wanted to photograph us all the time and then sell pretty bad photos. The dancers and musicians were very talented and there were many fabulous clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is might be a good way two see these two beautiful attractions in one long day and without waiting in line too long to go on the lifts and train.
We were also driven through parts of the old town, stopped at the main cathedral 20 minutes and brief stops at the Sambadrome and the Macarana stadium for pictures.
This tour includes lunch. We were taken to Norte Grill the Centro location. It was almost chaotic in there-at least 3 additional tour buses were there plus the local patrons. This is buffet style. We stood in long lines to select the food which was OK but nothing outstanding. The various types of meat, except for the sausages, were tough and not the best quality. We were not told that the desserts weren't included. We knew about the drinks being extra and they were promptly delivered to our table which was one long row accommodating a least 30 people per row and very little space between seats. This restaurant was not a good experience and not appropriate for the cost of this tour. We stayed there over two hours. People were impatience and were told that we were making time and waiting because our appointment at Christ the Redeemer was a 4pm. This company needs to consider using another restaurant and making this tour shorter. Everything that we did could have been done in less than 10 hours. Their tour guides were fine and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Michael United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The wait time on the train to Corcovado mountain is pretty long otherwise an excellent day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This a pretty intense all-day tour. You'll be on a couple of different buses, the cable cars on Sugarloaf and tram up to Corcovado. The super crowded lunch buffet was a bit frustrating but the selection of food comprehensive. There is a lot going on at all times so pay attention to your guide who may disappear from time to time, also to fellow tour people who may be paying better attention. Remember your bus as there will be many other similar ones. Communication from the guides was lax and they were out of sight due to the huge crowds. I THINK THEY SHOULD CARRY DISTINCT FLAGS TO HELP PEOPLE KEEP TRACK OF THEM. All in all a FANTASTIC tour bundle!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ross

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Although we did enjoy this tour and our morning tour guide Yedi we did feel that it could be done much better. To start it isn't really a ten hour tour...over 90 minutes was spent picking up guests from their various hotel locations where we would often sit for 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the guests. Perhaps a central location that the guests would all make their way to would be more efficient. At the end of the day dropping guests to their hotels is not as time consuming as there would be no waiting.

We had a great morning guide...afternoon guy not so much but the pre-recording of the various sites we drove past was faulty and filled with static in the morning. We were told to leave the audio device on the seats whenever we disembarked to see an attraction and would have preferred the type of live audio system where our guide would give a running commentary...on and off the bus.

Off the bus we found the process to be very disjointed and perhaps that is because we are used to tours led by guides with some kind of visual paddle or symbol to keep the group together. We did also feel that we were not jumping the cue in front of the general public and noted that several other groups Amigo Tours for one had priority over us. This led to our being behind schedule by a considerable amount of time making us wonder what, perhaps, was skipped in the afternoon.

The two main attractions of Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer were well worth it and compensated for some of the tours deficiencies. The lunch was outstanding and the selection of meats they kept bringing and bringing was incredible. This would not be a good day to be a vegetarian!

All in all a good tour that could be significantly better with some small improvements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ian C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

OK if you Like sitting on a coach for 1hour 20mins awaiting other persons to join you, then it's ok! We were the First Aboard and were Expecting the Reverse unloading, so we Bailed out And took a Taxi! Expensive but we Think well worth it!
Apart fro a Visit toA Catholic Church which Facade is Probably 1 of the Ugliest we have ever seen which has 4 Exremely Beautiful Stained Glass Windows!
We would Not Recomend This Tour! Viator Really need to look and Greatly Improve the Overall Experience for the People!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

karishma_992

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT do this tour. It is with the Gray Line company. We did this tour from our cruise ship because it was cheaper than doing the official shore excursion from Norwegian Sun. But I will NEVER do a Gray Line tour again. They picked us up at 8.15am from the ship and then we spent an hour and half just driving around in circles picking up people from other hotels. So the 'official' tour didn't even start till about 10.30am. The bus was NOT AIR-CONDITIONED and it was so hot and stuffy, it was almost 40 degrees celsius in Rio that day! When we told this to the guide she wasn't even apologetic or understanding. And if you're an English speaking tour member like my family was, forget about actually getting a guided tour. The guide basically favoured all the spanish and portuguese people on the bus. We barely understood her. The 'city tour' was essentially an auto-taped pre-recorded radio thing with an earphone and there was so much interference and haptic feedback that you couldn't really hear anything anyways. We were really looking forward to Sugar Loaf but we barely got 15mins up at the mountain before we ushered back down. We spent most of our time on a hot stuffy bus with an un-helpful, useless guide. You're better off just getting private or taxi transport straight to Sugar Loaf. Don't put yourself through the misery that we did. It ruined our whole experience and I will never forgive Gray Line for that.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

carolynnemarks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

My hotel was offering the same trip for 60 dollars cheaper. I must have spent 2 hours waiting on the bus for hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.-not a very efficient way to spend time. The tour guide to corcovada hardly gave us any information at all.
I thought booking through tripadvisor would mean value-not so.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Raymond H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It rained all day. Too much time was taken up with hotel pick up

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour which also includes a short tour around Rio - Tour Guide knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Kind of a long day but worth it. You avoid all the traffic and hassles of Rio. At all the sights we had ample time to look around and explore.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Shannon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience! A definite must see.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

dickcraig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fine and the guide knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

cambo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Your was well run and the guides knew a lot of information about the city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

danitogo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip, all the tour guides were great. The restaurant were they take us, was amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I was disappointed in the tour. In the end, I felt I would have been better off just taking a taxing on my own to Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer rather than taking this tour. I don't think the tour guides added much and the other stops / audio guide did not justify taking this tour recognizing the challenges of constantly having to wait for others who trailed behind the group and did not meet up at the agreed assigned times as well as the additional time spent going to numerous hotels to pick-up/drop-off individuals.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message