At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 731 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

PHILIP M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day and the tour guides were great

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day tour and you were able to see a lot in a short period of time. I did feel a bit rushed when you go to the top of Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. I wished I had a little more time to experience that. This was something I spoke with other tourists about and they experienced the same thing with other tours. One other turn off was that in the audio recording Grayline was constantly doing shameless plugs for other tours. I get it they are in it to make money but they did not have to mention it 5 or 6 times.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very informative and fun trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour! If you try to do this whole tour without a guide, you won't be bypassing the lines to get in and you won't get the points of interest pointed out from the coach throughout the trip.
I suggest you take a hard copy of your voucher. Because of the Olympic's street closings, we weren't picked up at our hotel but had to go to a pickup point. The tour guide said she didn't have us on her list but when I showed her our voucher, said that it wouldn't be a problem. We booked via Viator, not directly through Gray Line so maybe that was the problem? The views were breathtaking from both the mountain and Sugar Loaf. We personally liked Sugar Loaf best because it was very high but not so high you couldn't see things well. We got lucky with clear weather.
We were off-season which I also strongly recommend as the crowds weren't bad and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. The lunch was pretty good. They told us not to take the meat as we went through the buffet, as it would be served to us. Don't listen to that, the meat they served was very tough beef. The buffet had several kinds of chicken and fish that were much better.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had to do this tour twice! Imagine yourself in front of one of the modern world wonder!! It and #39;s huge, amazing and beautiful!!! Even for me that I and #39;m not a religious person. The trip is more than worthy!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

RICHARD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Very impressed with how your guys successfully navigated the Olympics. Knowledgable guide who made it a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

kmoodygraves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour and the food was very good as well. I would recommend this package to anyone interested.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Peter L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. We were delayed by a protest in the morning, but the tour guide handled it in stride. We visited the Metropolitan Cathedral morning, Sugarloaf Mountain morning, and Christ the Redeemer afternoon. One thing that tour buyers should keep in mind is that the tour company will split this tour between morning and afternoon sessions, so the people you tour with in the morning may not be the same as the people you tour with in the afternoon. Tourist nationalities and languages are mixed, but our tour guides switched between the languages fairly well. I suspect that we could have seen both Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer easily on our own as lines were short on that particular day a Tuesday, but we had just arrived and were still dealing with jetlag, so it was easier to let the company handle the arrangements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

the tour was excellent, but did not like the tour guide as
he kept pestering me to take picutures rather than letting
me enjoy the view.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent full day tour. Weather did not cooperate windy and some rain but it did not keep us from doing the entire tour. Lunch was a buffet style Brazilian place think Texas de Brazil for those form the US. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Angie

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I appreciated the convenience of organized transportation and ticketing for this tour, especially as I was traveling with a child, but this could have been a lot more efficient. We had too much time sitting on the bus, partly due to traffic but also due to an add-on city tour. Also, tickets weren't prepurchased, as one might have expected, and we almost had to wait an hour to go on the train to the Christ Statue. Last, the lunch included in the tour was a buffet in a low-end restaurant--this should be in the activity description for those who are not fans of buffets. The main attractions of the visit are spectacular, of course, and the tour guides were quite personable and knowledgable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jake S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Go by yourself to spend more time. The lunch is bad.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Kasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Incredible guide, a must do if you are wanting to see the best of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely guide, amazing lunch and of course amazing views!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anne-Solène B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing guide (!!!), amazing tour; very well organized. Helpful, full of knowledge and super nice staff! Such a great day!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

CORDARIUS M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was such a great experience! We got to see several incredible sites and had a great lunch. The convenience of having the travel, tickets, and all other logistics planned for us was also appealing. Though it took up our entire day, it was worth the sacrifice to get so much good sightseeing and eating in through one booking.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ben D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good quick and easy way to see the key sights of the city for sure.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gregory B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was actually two tours ... a morning tour to Sugar Loaf and an afternoon tour to Corcovado separated by a buffet lunch. We had a good tour guide on the morning trip and it went very well. She was knowledgeable and very cordial. The lunch was nothing extraordinary at a Brazilian steakhouse near Ipanema Beach with average to low quality of meat. Then, we switched busses and joined another tour to Corcovado. The tour guide for this part Ben? was not as interesting and didn't generally point out the sights as we passed them nor offer to take our picture. Unfortunately, the weather was not so great up on the mountain that afternoon as the cloud level had descended making it difficult to even see the statue. We would have preferred to skip the lunch and potentially reverse the tours so we could have had a better experience at Corcovado.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Joseph M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The activities in this tour were excellent and it was great to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel but there was a lot of waiting around on the tour. For us personally, there was too much time set aside for lunch and at both Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. The restaurant for lunch had fabulous food.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Daniel Antonio R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The sugar loaf and Christ Redeemer are definitely 'must sees' whilst in RIo. However, the trip was rather impersonal. The guides felt harassed or just uninterested. It felt like they were doing it for the sake of doing it. They weren't very receptive to questions. They generally just left me alone

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Charles M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Apparently this tour isn't one long tour, but rather two separate tours packaged together. This meant that we spent time in the middle picking up people at hotels for the second half of the tour and ended up circling back around on the same roads as the first part of the tour. Even much of the audio was a repeat. I recommend taking a cab to each of these destinations and just buying a ticket once you arrive. Both attractions are straightforward and you will get to spend more time at each attraction, rather than being rallied up early to meet up with a group.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message