Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. Very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome tour Daniel and Marco were the best. The ability to interact with the locals in the Santa Marta Favela was very cool. I felt safe and comfortable. When in Rio do not walk around with your cell phone visible i.e. take your picture and put away use common sense and be aware of your surrounding. We were not able to do Corcovado Mountain that day due to very low clouds but Daniel gave us the money cost for the ticket to go on another day while we were in town the next day - early morning was perfect.

Daniel I hope you found your cell phone tracked down the taxi driver.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

YEN PING Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

enjoy my trip and will be back soon.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jack M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Our tour guide, Patricia Cannabrava, was perhaps the friendliest and most responsive tour guide we've ever had. We were one of the first buses to reach the top of Corcovado, and really enjoyed visiting the iconic site before the crowds become too terrible. Worth your time if you're in Rio.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour consists of three parts with three different guides. It begins with a ride through the city and we will take us to the Sugar Loaf mountain. The cable cars up is exciting and thrilling. The view at the top is fantastic. Our guide pointed out various places in the city. After the tour we had lunch in a restaurant. we thought it was a tourist trap, but the food was very good and you could eat as much as anything. Then downloaded a new guide us and took us to Corovado. it was very busy and crowded when we would ride the train to the top. But it was worth it, the Christ statue and the view is magical. After we came down, we changed our guide and it was time for dinner before the samba show. unfortunately, it's dinner at the same place as the lunch. Samba show is good, but unfortunately, the room are very bad and the staff was quite unpleasant. staff wanted to photograph us all the time and then sell pretty bad photos. The dancers and musicians were very talented and there were many fabulous clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is might be a good way two see these two beautiful attractions in one long day and without waiting in line too long to go on the lifts and train.
We were also driven through parts of the old town, stopped at the main cathedral 20 minutes and brief stops at the Sambadrome and the Macarana stadium for pictures.
This tour includes lunch. We were taken to Norte Grill the Centro location. It was almost chaotic in there-at least 3 additional tour buses were there plus the local patrons. This is buffet style. We stood in long lines to select the food which was OK but nothing outstanding. The various types of meat, except for the sausages, were tough and not the best quality. We were not told that the desserts weren't included. We knew about the drinks being extra and they were promptly delivered to our table which was one long row accommodating a least 30 people per row and very little space between seats. This restaurant was not a good experience and not appropriate for the cost of this tour. We stayed there over two hours. People were impatience and were told that we were making time and waiting because our appointment at Christ the Redeemer was a 4pm. This company needs to consider using another restaurant and making this tour shorter. Everything that we did could have been done in less than 10 hours. Their tour guides were fine and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ross

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Although we did enjoy this tour and our morning tour guide Yedi we did feel that it could be done much better. To start it isn't really a ten hour tour...over 90 minutes was spent picking up guests from their various hotel locations where we would often sit for 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the guests. Perhaps a central location that the guests would all make their way to would be more efficient. At the end of the day dropping guests to their hotels is not as time consuming as there would be no waiting.

We had a great morning guide...afternoon guy not so much but the pre-recording of the various sites we drove past was faulty and filled with static in the morning. We were told to leave the audio device on the seats whenever we disembarked to see an attraction and would have preferred the type of live audio system where our guide would give a running commentary...on and off the bus.

Off the bus we found the process to be very disjointed and perhaps that is because we are used to tours led by guides with some kind of visual paddle or symbol to keep the group together. We did also feel that we were not jumping the cue in front of the general public and noted that several other groups Amigo Tours for one had priority over us. This led to our being behind schedule by a considerable amount of time making us wonder what, perhaps, was skipped in the afternoon.

The two main attractions of Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer were well worth it and compensated for some of the tours deficiencies. The lunch was outstanding and the selection of meats they kept bringing and bringing was incredible. This would not be a good day to be a vegetarian!

All in all a good tour that could be significantly better with some small improvements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mahdevan P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The pick up on this tour was long.We went around to Copacabana Beach area 3 times.As a result we got the Christ the Redeemer later than the so called Beat theQueues our guide Elaine did not explain very much to us. One of the tourists further delayed us by being in the wrong waiting area.All due to poor communication from the guide.
As a result our tour of SugarLoaf was shortened.Elaine was now in a hurry to get down again.After queuing in the heat and sun at Sugar Loaf we were given 20 minutes to get lunch and take in the view. this tour was definitely not worth the fees charged .

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ncafik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Forget about early access to Christ the Redeemer !! We arrived at 7:40 am and waited while our guide went to get tickets. After 30 min. he returned to tell us the system was offline. Apparently his credit card could not be processed......which he said had happened before.....and there was no plan B to pay for the tickets. After an hour and 10 minutes, we finally got started....and of course by then, the crowds had gathered and any hope of seeing the statue without the crowd was long gone. Upon our return to get the bus and move on to Sugar Loaf, again...we waited for an extended period of time while the guide tried to contact the bus driver to come for us. In the Rio heat of 35 degrees and no shelter from the sun....the wait was very uncomfortable. A couple on the tour were headed to the airport afterward and were increasingly in jeopardy of making their flight due to the extended delays and chaos of the morning. Finally, the bus came, but instead of dropping us at Sugar Loaf before returning other passengers to their hotel, we had to make the whole hotel drop off route first due to the potential of missed flight....which I get thereby inconveniencing those of us going to Sugar Loaf because of the total disorganization of the tour. The guide did attempt to redeem the tour during our time at Sugar Loaf but we were at the point that excuses for the chaos and explanations why none of it was his fault fell on deaf ears. If this problem had happened before, the company....Amigo Tours...should have been prepared and have alternative payment plans to avoid such an inconvenience to their guests. On a positive note...Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf certainly both delivered on the awesome' factor. Highly recommend seeing these tourist staples....they are awesome !!! Maybe just not with Amigo Tours.....

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were sent an email saying they were going to pick us up at 6:50 but didn't arrive until 7:20. We were the only English speaking tourists but Paulo did a great job in making sure we got the same information as the others. He was very informative of the trip up the mountain. Doing the early access to Christ Redeemer statue was SMART! Got there before the crowds and had a great view. Because we were the only ones that did not choose to do Sugar Loaf there was a car ready to take us back to our hotel. It was a great trip! Loved every second.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Abby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful tour that really gave a great overview of the city - from the tourist magnet of Christ the Redeemer to the slice-of-life visit to the Santa Marta Favela. Our guide was great as well! Just remember to wear comfortable shoes because there's a lot of walking, but its all worth it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Alden C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great. It was really a good opportunity to see the Cristo Redonetor statue at a time when very few other tourists are there. By the time we left the site, we could see how problematic it would have been if we went at the same time everyone else does. Patrizia was nice.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

nikhil p

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good tour. great guide patricia, english speaking and very helpful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great trip and guide was excellent with perfect English - trip duration was good and guide could answer any questions.

But it is not cheap and you pay for the convenience - if you can book a boat trip yourself as it is a lot cheaper.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

carolynnemarks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

My hotel was offering the same trip for 60 dollars cheaper. I must have spent 2 hours waiting on the bus for hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.-not a very efficient way to spend time. The tour guide to corcovada hardly gave us any information at all.
I thought booking through tripadvisor would mean value-not so.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

GLENYS C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The actual trip was well organised and the leader was very pleasant. We paid for a trip that promoted that an early pick up and arrival would ensure that we would beat the crowds and train but this was not correct. We arrived at the same time as the train crowd.
The weather was horrible and we could not see anything which was very disappointing. This is unavoidable but really was a waste of time going on that day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Raymond H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It rained all day. Too much time was taken up with hotel pick up

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Brandi S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

This tour could be condensed into an afternoon. i and #39;m limited to the amount of characters I can type, but save your time and visit the Santa Teresa stairs on your own. The afternoon was interesting with a visit to the Santa Marta favela and Christ the Redeemer. Guide was ok, but not very informative.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Guided by Solamon who was very friendly and informative. Was only a small group of us for the early morning tour which was great. It felt more like a private tour. Highly recommend Solomon for a tour guide. Nothing was too much trouble. Driver was very friendly and helpful too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ashleyccontreras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I definitely recommend this tour if you want to be the first ones up to see the Christ! We were picked up from our hotel on time and our tour guide Eliane was very friendly and informative. After we saw the Christ we headed to the Sugar Loaf Mountain with another tour guide Gill. He was very nice and knowledgable. I would most certainly book another tour with Amigo Tours!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ashleyccontreras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I definitely recommend this tour if you want to be the first ones up to see the Christ! We were picked up from our hotel on time and our tour guide Eliane was very friendly and informative. After we saw the Christ we headed to the Sugar Loaf Mountain with another tour guide Gill. He was very nice and knowledgable. I would most certainly book another tour with Amigo Tours!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful time on this walking tour. It was raining but we journeyed on and was happy to experience Rio on foot. In the afternoon, the other two clients went on their way so it was like a private tour. It was great to experience the favela and we felt quite safe the entire time

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sunil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

its really nice to chose this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Ken B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A very worthwhile tour despite the weather not playing fair! Knowledgeable and informative guides Elainie and Gil, a small group and comfortable transportation

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message