Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alden C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great. It was really a good opportunity to see the Cristo Redonetor statue at a time when very few other tourists are there. By the time we left the site, we could see how problematic it would have been if we went at the same time everyone else does. Patrizia was nice.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Guided by Solamon who was very friendly and informative. Was only a small group of us for the early morning tour which was great. It felt more like a private tour. Highly recommend Solomon for a tour guide. Nothing was too much trouble. Driver was very friendly and helpful too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ashleyccontreras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I definitely recommend this tour if you want to be the first ones up to see the Christ! We were picked up from our hotel on time and our tour guide Eliane was very friendly and informative. After we saw the Christ we headed to the Sugar Loaf Mountain with another tour guide Gill. He was very nice and knowledgable. I would most certainly book another tour with Amigo Tours!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ashleyccontreras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I definitely recommend this tour if you want to be the first ones up to see the Christ! We were picked up from our hotel on time and our tour guide Eliane was very friendly and informative. After we saw the Christ we headed to the Sugar Loaf Mountain with another tour guide Gill. He was very nice and knowledgable. I would most certainly book another tour with Amigo Tours!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful time on this walking tour. It was raining but we journeyed on and was happy to experience Rio on foot. In the afternoon, the other two clients went on their way so it was like a private tour. It was great to experience the favela and we felt quite safe the entire time

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sunil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

its really nice to chose this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Ken B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A very worthwhile tour despite the weather not playing fair! Knowledgeable and informative guides Elainie and Gil, a small group and comfortable transportation

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Kind of a long day but worth it. You avoid all the traffic and hassles of Rio. At all the sights we had ample time to look around and explore.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

jackhouston15

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This is definitely a must-see in Rio! The views from Sugar Loaf and Christ Redeemer were absolutely incredible. The only bummer was that the van for the tour was an hour late in picking us up. By the time we got to Christ Redeemer, the crowds were already there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved this tour! We drove up to Christ the Redeemer and the views were amazing. We got a local bus to Santa Teresa and walked around then took the local tram down into the town, where we then went to visit the Lapa arches and the Selarion Staircase. The favela tour was brilliant - I would never have gone there on my own and it was a real eye opener to see how a large proportion of Rio's population lives. Daniel was fun and made the tour interesting - I was the only person who booked that day and he was good company for the day. The only thing I would have changed, if possible, was to take the cog train up to Christ the Redeemer rather than the bus, but this is a minor thing because we still got to see the rainforest. Overall a week-organised and very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Kenny E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Do not leave Rio without doing this tour. Daniel did an excellent job and was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

dickcraig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fine, shame about the cloud cover.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

cambo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Your was well run and the guides knew a lot of information about the city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

danitogo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip, all the tour guides were great. The restaurant were they take us, was amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

deliciadelacruz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour guide arrived late and we waited in the rain for 1.5 hours. Then after we left we had to go back to the meeting spot because they forgot 2 people. The guide repeatedly stated that we were not to blame her but to blame all the people on her list, our travel companions, for being late. When leaving the venue our guide knowingly left a family of 3 behind. On the ride back to the meeting spot she argued with another traveler for about 20 minutes. The whole experience was very frustrating and unpleasant and because of this it was difficult to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. I was very disappointed and felt cheated. Definitely not worth my money. All travelers on this tour should have been refunded their .

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I was disappointed in the tour. In the end, I felt I would have been better off just taking a taxing on my own to Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer rather than taking this tour. I don't think the tour guides added much and the other stops / audio guide did not justify taking this tour recognizing the challenges of constantly having to wait for others who trailed behind the group and did not meet up at the agreed assigned times as well as the additional time spent going to numerous hotels to pick-up/drop-off individuals.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing and a must-see in Rio de janeiro especially when your tour guide is Salomon! He made everything go smoothly and truly a remarkable experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Lorenzo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was really good and exactly the kind of tour that I was looking for. The tour guide Marcelo was on time, was very well prepared to answer to all my questions and really really helpful.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Rose G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately it was cloudy that afternoon. I would recommend this tour be taken in the morning before the clouds roll in. The statue is very impressive, and imposong. No views because of the clouds.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, extremely knowledgeable tour leader.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

CHRIS B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing.The tour guide was very knowledgable and made it easy for English speaking people and Portuguese speaking people it was lots of fun and an amazing and unforgetable experience

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

dsotunde7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It has always been my Dream to See see the Christ Redeemer Statue and this Half Day Tour of this Iconic structure was Very Enjoyable.
Credit is has to given to Fantastic Tour Guide Fatima who was brilliant was Presentation while we were on the tour bus was exceptional.
Thank you very Much Fatima.
I hope in the not to distant future to go through this Tour again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gorgeous view, and it was great to get in before all the other tourists stormed in. Best tour, will definitely book early access tours again in other cities. Our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message