Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1072 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Marcos was the best tour guide! Amazing tour! Beautiful scenery! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

America G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth.Every.Penny.
Great Tour Guide provided 'extra' tours outside of Christ and Sugar Loaf
Although we were the first ones to be picked up @ 6:30 AM !, pickup of other tourists in other areas was quick.
Viator provided accurate and specific email for pickup.
Marcos is an energetic and thorough guide. Plus, he takes great pictures and knows exactly where to 'pose' the groups
First group at the statue on the day we booked. We had the place to ourselves for 40-50 minutes. Imagine that! 13 people under Viator's care having Corcovado to themselves.
The weather was spectacular.
Viator provided a ride back into the city free of charge.
Definitely a highlight of our trip. Would use them again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Kasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Incredible guide, a must do if you are wanting to see the best of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ANTE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paolo is an awesome guide and we really enjoyed our tour with him. He is very knowledgable and gives you lots of time to explore and take photos as well as shop and try local foods at the shops at sugarloaf. A++ for this tour. We travel often and have done many tours, this one was one of the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Henry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Jonathan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Marcelo, a Rio native, is knowlegeable and entertaining and provides a thorough custom tour. Wish we'd had another day to tour with him and his skilled driver/assistant.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely guide, amazing lunch and of course amazing views!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

CORDARIUS M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was such a great experience! We got to see several incredible sites and had a great lunch. The convenience of having the travel, tickets, and all other logistics planned for us was also appealing. Though it took up our entire day, it was worth the sacrifice to get so much good sightseeing and eating in through one booking.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jeff H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This trip was very good. Our guide was very informative, telling us all about his city Rio and then when we got to the Christ Redeemer Statue. What a great view and we were so glad to see it early before everyone else got there.

The only disappointment was that the ticket office was having trouble at the Sugar Loaf Tour so we didn't get to see this during the day we had it booked we went on our own later. The tour gave us a refund for that part of the tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

theisen

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was nice getting in early before the crowds. The actual tour part was okay, nothing special. Real value was beating the crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Daniel Antonio R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The sugar loaf and Christ Redeemer are definitely 'must sees' whilst in RIo. However, the trip was rather impersonal. The guides felt harassed or just uninterested. It felt like they were doing it for the sake of doing it. They weren't very receptive to questions. They generally just left me alone

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

James W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We booked both early entrance Christ Redeemer with optional Sugarloaf tour. Everything was going fine until we got to Sugarloaf where it was postponed due to either not cc machine not working or the tour guide and #39;s credit card not working. Now they keep changing p/u times for the postponement day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Charles M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Apparently this tour isn't one long tour, but rather two separate tours packaged together. This meant that we spent time in the middle picking up people at hotels for the second half of the tour and ended up circling back around on the same roads as the first part of the tour. Even much of the audio was a repeat. I recommend taking a cab to each of these destinations and just buying a ticket once you arrive. Both attractions are straightforward and you will get to spend more time at each attraction, rather than being rallied up early to meet up with a group.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ana Valeria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Joe was a great guide. Prompt pick up time at the hotel, they gave us a tour of Maracaná, Sambodromo, Praia de Ipanema, etc. We speak spanish and requested the tour in this language. Everything as expected. The Christ and its views are amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Derek D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joe is the best great tour thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Brigitte P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour.. we enjoyed every second!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jabari W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the cost. The Samba show was terrific, way beyond my expectations. Our tour guides Fatima and Camille were great. The only setback was having lunch and dinner at the same Brazilian steakhouse...another place would be ideal. Other than that, enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Kay.ganley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marcelo was an excellent guide. Unfortunately it rained all day so we on,y caught the train to Christ redeemer which was fun, we couldn't see anything once up there because of the thick cloud and rain. He showed us other places to make up for not seeing the Sugar Loaf and said he would take us to it the following day but we told him not to worry. He took us to a great Brazillian restaurant buffet style very nice. His English was very good I would recommend him again. Kay and Mike from New Zealand. Review rating 5 star.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message