Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing and a must-see in Rio de janeiro especially when your tour guide is Salomon! He made everything go smoothly and truly a remarkable experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Lorenzo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was really good and exactly the kind of tour that I was looking for. The tour guide Marcelo was on time, was very well prepared to answer to all my questions and really really helpful.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Rose G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately it was cloudy that afternoon. I would recommend this tour be taken in the morning before the clouds roll in. The statue is very impressive, and imposong. No views because of the clouds.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, extremely knowledgeable tour leader.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

CHRIS B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing.The tour guide was very knowledgable and made it easy for English speaking people and Portuguese speaking people it was lots of fun and an amazing and unforgetable experience

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

dsotunde7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It has always been my Dream to See see the Christ Redeemer Statue and this Half Day Tour of this Iconic structure was Very Enjoyable.
Credit is has to given to Fantastic Tour Guide Fatima who was brilliant was Presentation while we were on the tour bus was exceptional.
Thank you very Much Fatima.
I hope in the not to distant future to go through this Tour again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gorgeous view, and it was great to get in before all the other tourists stormed in. Best tour, will definitely book early access tours again in other cities. Our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing all the 'must see' sites. We really enjoyed our two different guides, Maria Fatima in the morning and Yeda in the afternoon. We had a variety of people of different languages and had a commentary with a headpiece. The guides were very good English speakers when we had questions and I loved asking questions!!!
Our lunch was at a steakhouse that was fabulous. The salads were wonderful and I could fill up on them and then came the meats! So many meats to choose from. So delicious!! I believe it was called Carretao Classic Grill! Food you will recognize!
My only grips are not with Viator. The number of people they put on the cable cars up to Sugar Loaf Mountain are ridiculous. No pictures going up, not so bad going down.
This is not a good tour if you're looking for a way to see the city. It does drive through but the only way to see the city is walking but I need some direction!
So, Viator, get a city tour for the little gems that shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jocilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything was great, lunch was outstanding, the guides were fabulous. We really enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Women guide in the morning was exceptional. She had time for everyone aand was was multi lingual.tour good lunch include was exceptional. Afternoon tourwas good but guide not as interested,

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

duffeyg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Comfortable bus alas, we got to the top after sundown.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Stuart W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

most enjoyable day tour, the guide was charming and her knowledge and spoken English excellent, however, mass confusion initially as I was booked with others for a full day tour and it transpired that our tour was in fact two tours made into one, the tour guide did not know this and it took time to sort out the problem, lack of liaison and efficiency, I am not impressed by this bad organising !

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We got looked after very well. A very interesting day and a diverse look at Rio. Gabby was a friendly, informative guide. Well worthwhile tour to take. Recommended

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Rakesh H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

1. poor experience. no explanation on tour. guide was of limited help. referred me to the audio tour provided.
2. lunch/ food was great.
3. cursory visit/ explanation at Cathedral and arts district.
4. pick up and drop off points were not convenient. bus did not drop me off at same pickup point. I had to take a taxi for upto 1 hr and 40 mins back to hotel.
way overpriced. disappointed in tour. expected better from a viator tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gerard C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Basically just a bus ride to base of Corcovado Mt. Guide didn't add any insight as usually get with Viator guides.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Manar A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Felt a little rushed throughout, but at least we were able to see everything we needed to.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Julio C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Definitely worth doing it. The early option to beat the crowds was probably the highlight of the tour. however 2 unpleasant things 1 The start of the tour was delayed for almost an hour due to a confusion with local Management Amigo tours, this affected the 'early' factor of the tour but still better than doing it in the middle of the day 2 Additional confusion when we arrived at the Sugar Loaf Mountain and the tour guide was unable to get the tickets to go up in the cable car. apparently local management again made a mistake with the card and we had to wait almost an hour. Our tour guy Salomon did the best he could to keep us entertained while we waited. Hard to say if these 2 incidents were bad luck, general mismanagement from local agency or the overloaded situation because of the Olympics.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Harald G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Tthe worst tour ever. The tour was very late and disorganised. Guests had not been told where to meet. Spent over 2 hours in the bus looking for other guests before getting there. The guide was grumpy, and blamed passengers for the delay. She went for coffee and left us alone when we got there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Danny N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

For 75 you are basically provided transportation in the form of a bus to the cog train. You aren't picked up at your hotel but a nearby hotel. You're given 30-45 minutes to snap photos of the monument and then take the cog train back down. Depending on group size you'll have to wait a bit to board the bus again as lines for the cog train may be awhile.

You are much better off doing this on your own as cog train tickets are only 17-21 USD and you're essentially paying the rest to ride a bus when you can easily take a uber or taxi for much less. We were a group of 6 and essentially paid 300 for a bus ride which excluding the cost of the cog train tickets.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Edna S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Day 2 in Rio and your tour operator has yet to take us on out booked tour We might be lucky on day 3 we emailed them to tell us the pick up time They didn't and arrived at 6.30am So when we finally got in touch with them to arrange another pick up time for the next day they didn't turn up Tomorrow is day 3 and have promised to take us on our tour We leave day 4

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jaime S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Being the only group at the statue was great. Marcos was an amazing guide!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message