Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jaime S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Being the only group at the statue was great. Marcos was an amazing guide!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

PHILIP M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day and the tour guides were great

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Marlon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Staff was great and accommodating. Paulo was our guide and he was very informative. He made sure that everyone had a good time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day tour and you were able to see a lot in a short period of time. I did feel a bit rushed when you go to the top of Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. I wished I had a little more time to experience that. This was something I spoke with other tourists about and they experienced the same thing with other tours. One other turn off was that in the audio recording Grayline was constantly doing shameless plugs for other tours. I get it they are in it to make money but they did not have to mention it 5 or 6 times.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very informative and fun trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Julie X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's worth it, as the process of securing a ticket and going up the mountain yourself can be cumbersome during the Olympics, you had to buy in advance. The guide was fun, knowledgeable and brought us to a helipad prior to see a different view. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Patrica was great! She was extremely knowledgeable about all facts relating to not only Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf but Rio and Brazil as a whole. If you find the native language a bit challenging at first no issues on this tour. Would recommend and would go again next time in Rio.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour! If you try to do this whole tour without a guide, you won't be bypassing the lines to get in and you won't get the points of interest pointed out from the coach throughout the trip.
I suggest you take a hard copy of your voucher. Because of the Olympic's street closings, we weren't picked up at our hotel but had to go to a pickup point. The tour guide said she didn't have us on her list but when I showed her our voucher, said that it wouldn't be a problem. We booked via Viator, not directly through Gray Line so maybe that was the problem? The views were breathtaking from both the mountain and Sugar Loaf. We personally liked Sugar Loaf best because it was very high but not so high you couldn't see things well. We got lucky with clear weather.
We were off-season which I also strongly recommend as the crowds weren't bad and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. The lunch was pretty good. They told us not to take the meat as we went through the buffet, as it would be served to us. Don't listen to that, the meat they served was very tough beef. The buffet had several kinds of chicken and fish that were much better.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Kim Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was a very rainy and foggy morning, our tour guide, Solomon, was great! He gave us plenty of time as a group, and to wander around on our own. We even got to see monkeys playing in the trees near the visitor center. A MUST SEE experience. Once in a life-time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Choi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on this tour in the morning of the Rio Olympics Opening Ceremonies so Christ the Redeemer Statue was already packed by the time we got there. Our guide, Paolo was excellent and provided excellent information. Unfortunately, the Olympic torch was scheduled to travel to Sugar loaf mountain so most of the areas were off limits. It was still an excellent tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Get Salman as your guide. He took care of us especially meet our group needs. He was very knowledgeable on best photo spots to shops.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Lajos O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful and professional tour. Salamon was very friendly and funny.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Salomon was amazing. He even recommended restaurants to visit during our stay. The tour itself was great. Getting there early and beating the crowds was priceless!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

lindenjim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great experience and Solomon was very informative and helpful

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Darin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The scenes were breathtaking. We definitely made it before the crowd. Our tour guide, Patricia was wonderful. She even introduced us to a great Brazilian restaurant at the end of our trip and took us inside. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Ancherien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although it rained on the day our tour guide Paulo was great! Excellent tour to attend

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had to do this tour twice! Imagine yourself in front of one of the modern world wonder!! It and #39;s huge, amazing and beautiful!!! Even for me that I and #39;m not a religious person. The trip is more than worthy!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

kmoodygraves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour and the food was very good as well. I would recommend this package to anyone interested.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Martyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

brilliant experience, friendly guide who spoke good English. being at the statue so early is amazing

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

M l

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good experience and wonderful guide beautiful scenery

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Peter L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. We were delayed by a protest in the morning, but the tour guide handled it in stride. We visited the Metropolitan Cathedral morning, Sugarloaf Mountain morning, and Christ the Redeemer afternoon. One thing that tour buyers should keep in mind is that the tour company will split this tour between morning and afternoon sessions, so the people you tour with in the morning may not be the same as the people you tour with in the afternoon. Tourist nationalities and languages are mixed, but our tour guides switched between the languages fairly well. I suspect that we could have seen both Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer easily on our own as lines were short on that particular day a Tuesday, but we had just arrived and were still dealing with jetlag, so it was easier to let the company handle the arrangements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Melissa T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The attractions and sightseeing was great.

However, my guide was pushy on to get us to do seperate excursions that he would get 10 for if we did it. He was very unorganized as was the van driver when picking the group up. Would not recommend this company. But obviously go on this tour with someone else.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message