Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 833 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous day blessed with good weather and clear views. Well looked after by multi-lingual guides. Lunch was an experience not to be missed. Tiring but well worth it!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were given great advice on arrival, to separate the Plataforma Show to the next day, and this was arranged accordingly by Grayline. The tour to Sugar Loaf and Corcovado were terrific. The show next day was also good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Arie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The full day tour was composed of two independent half-day tours and lunch at a restaurant. Each of these three components deserve a five star rating. Money and time well spent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The experience went exactly as advertised. We went to the express window, and were escorted behind the lines to be first in line for the next car. I was amazed at the treatment we received. I will not hesitate to use this service in the future when available. And by the way, the view from the top of Sugar Loaf down on Rio and surrounding area in amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Karina S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was great. Everything was timely as expected. First we visited the Sugar Loaf Mountain. The views were amazing! We experience a minor delay as one in the group was left behind on our way back. We were able to try some Caipirina but it was very expensive there compared to other places were my husband had some. From here we were off to a buffet lunch and after lunch it was off to the Christ Redeemer. The morning weather was great but by the time we arrived to the top of the mountain, it was very cloudy and the views were not as great. The train ride up the mountain was kind of interesting. This tour is definitely a must while in Rio. I liked the coordination and the fact that everything was taken care of.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. Very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sheena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our morning pick up was on time and very friendly welcome. Our guide Manuela was absolutely awesome the entire time. She spoke English, Portuguese and Italian seamlessly. She was knowledgeable about the sites and also the best with maneuvering lines and sites. Manuela provided us with a great experience touring both Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf giving great advice on the best vantage point for pictures, great views and enjoying the attractions. Rio was beautiful and I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get the important sites in without spending the entire day in long lines and boring tours.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

YEN PING Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

enjoy my trip and will be back soon.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Violeta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You cannot go to Rio and miss this excursion! Wonderful sight seeing, good tour and a day we won't forget!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mark V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour takes care of seeing two of the world's greatest sites in one day. The tour guide's English wasn't the best but he spoke enough to keep us in order and on time. He was friendly and knew quite a bit about each site.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Mrs Fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day tour was as expected....the lunch was at a local buffet.

The evening samba show and the restaurant were both exceptional!

It was a long day, but more wonderful than I expected.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

drkarl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Remarkable views of Rio. Great experience to be at the Cristo Redentor statue. Sugar Loaf was amazing. The lunch and dinner was at the same place. The Samba show was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour consists of three parts with three different guides. It begins with a ride through the city and we will take us to the Sugar Loaf mountain. The cable cars up is exciting and thrilling. The view at the top is fantastic. Our guide pointed out various places in the city. After the tour we had lunch in a restaurant. we thought it was a tourist trap, but the food was very good and you could eat as much as anything. Then downloaded a new guide us and took us to Corovado. it was very busy and crowded when we would ride the train to the top. But it was worth it, the Christ statue and the view is magical. After we came down, we changed our guide and it was time for dinner before the samba show. unfortunately, it's dinner at the same place as the lunch. Samba show is good, but unfortunately, the room are very bad and the staff was quite unpleasant. staff wanted to photograph us all the time and then sell pretty bad photos. The dancers and musicians were very talented and there were many fabulous clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is might be a good way two see these two beautiful attractions in one long day and without waiting in line too long to go on the lifts and train.
We were also driven through parts of the old town, stopped at the main cathedral 20 minutes and brief stops at the Sambadrome and the Macarana stadium for pictures.
This tour includes lunch. We were taken to Norte Grill the Centro location. It was almost chaotic in there-at least 3 additional tour buses were there plus the local patrons. This is buffet style. We stood in long lines to select the food which was OK but nothing outstanding. The various types of meat, except for the sausages, were tough and not the best quality. We were not told that the desserts weren't included. We knew about the drinks being extra and they were promptly delivered to our table which was one long row accommodating a least 30 people per row and very little space between seats. This restaurant was not a good experience and not appropriate for the cost of this tour. We stayed there over two hours. People were impatience and were told that we were making time and waiting because our appointment at Christ the Redeemer was a 4pm. This company needs to consider using another restaurant and making this tour shorter. Everything that we did could have been done in less than 10 hours. Their tour guides were fine and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

DIANE F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The experience was amazing. Remember there are 2 lifts that are needed to be taken to get to the top. Indeed the first list is express, however the second lift is not express - you still need to wait a long time in order to get to top I needed to negotiate our way to express line on second lift. The experience is still amazing especially at sunset.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Michael United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The wait time on the train to Corcovado mountain is pretty long otherwise an excellent day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This a pretty intense all-day tour. You'll be on a couple of different buses, the cable cars on Sugarloaf and tram up to Corcovado. The super crowded lunch buffet was a bit frustrating but the selection of food comprehensive. There is a lot going on at all times so pay attention to your guide who may disappear from time to time, also to fellow tour people who may be paying better attention. Remember your bus as there will be many other similar ones. Communication from the guides was lax and they were out of sight due to the huge crowds. I THINK THEY SHOULD CARRY DISTINCT FLAGS TO HELP PEOPLE KEEP TRACK OF THEM. All in all a FANTASTIC tour bundle!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ross

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Although we did enjoy this tour and our morning tour guide Yedi we did feel that it could be done much better. To start it isn't really a ten hour tour...over 90 minutes was spent picking up guests from their various hotel locations where we would often sit for 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the guests. Perhaps a central location that the guests would all make their way to would be more efficient. At the end of the day dropping guests to their hotels is not as time consuming as there would be no waiting.

We had a great morning guide...afternoon guy not so much but the pre-recording of the various sites we drove past was faulty and filled with static in the morning. We were told to leave the audio device on the seats whenever we disembarked to see an attraction and would have preferred the type of live audio system where our guide would give a running commentary...on and off the bus.

Off the bus we found the process to be very disjointed and perhaps that is because we are used to tours led by guides with some kind of visual paddle or symbol to keep the group together. We did also feel that we were not jumping the cue in front of the general public and noted that several other groups Amigo Tours for one had priority over us. This led to our being behind schedule by a considerable amount of time making us wonder what, perhaps, was skipped in the afternoon.

The two main attractions of Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer were well worth it and compensated for some of the tours deficiencies. The lunch was outstanding and the selection of meats they kept bringing and bringing was incredible. This would not be a good day to be a vegetarian!

All in all a good tour that could be significantly better with some small improvements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ole1108

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Though we could skip the line with our pre-purchased tickets, we could not skip the line to go up on the second gondola. We had no idea the line would be so long and the signs pointing out where to go were not clear. We did not feel like standing in line for what would probably have been 90 minutes to go the rest of the way. Disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Ian C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

OK if you Like sitting on a coach for 1hour 20mins awaiting other persons to join you, then it's ok! We were the First Aboard and were Expecting the Reverse unloading, so we Bailed out And took a Taxi! Expensive but we Think well worth it!
Apart fro a Visit toA Catholic Church which Facade is Probably 1 of the Ugliest we have ever seen which has 4 Exremely Beautiful Stained Glass Windows!
We would Not Recomend This Tour! Viator Really need to look and Greatly Improve the Overall Experience for the People!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

karishma_992

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT do this tour. It is with the Gray Line company. We did this tour from our cruise ship because it was cheaper than doing the official shore excursion from Norwegian Sun. But I will NEVER do a Gray Line tour again. They picked us up at 8.15am from the ship and then we spent an hour and half just driving around in circles picking up people from other hotels. So the 'official' tour didn't even start till about 10.30am. The bus was NOT AIR-CONDITIONED and it was so hot and stuffy, it was almost 40 degrees celsius in Rio that day! When we told this to the guide she wasn't even apologetic or understanding. And if you're an English speaking tour member like my family was, forget about actually getting a guided tour. The guide basically favoured all the spanish and portuguese people on the bus. We barely understood her. The 'city tour' was essentially an auto-taped pre-recorded radio thing with an earphone and there was so much interference and haptic feedback that you couldn't really hear anything anyways. We were really looking forward to Sugar Loaf but we barely got 15mins up at the mountain before we ushered back down. We spent most of our time on a hot stuffy bus with an un-helpful, useless guide. You're better off just getting private or taxi transport straight to Sugar Loaf. Don't put yourself through the misery that we did. It ruined our whole experience and I will never forgive Gray Line for that.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Brian M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The magnificence of Rio is well worth seeing from the air and we were looking forward to the flight but this was a disappointment from the beginning to end. We would certainly recommend using another helicopter provider because the choppers used by the flying company do not have intercom facilities or headphones so that the pilot cannot communicate with the passengers. This meant that we had to rely on our eyes and because there is so much to see, I missed half the flight around Christ, the Redeemer. Moreover, the flight was scheduled for 11 minutes but we landed after 8 minutes and 30 seconds my wife filmed the entire flight on her iPhone, missing almost a quarter of the scheduled flight. This can be considered to be almost a rip-off by the chopper company. We complained to the person who picked us up at the hotel but he shrugged his shoulders and suggested that we should complain to Viator. We insisted that he should complain to the helicopter company before leaving the airstrip because by the time Viator made a decision we would be back in the UK and it was highly unlikely that they would compensate us by flying us back to Rio for another 11 minute fight. As we informed the person who took us to the airstrip, we did not have a chance of a second bite of the cherry so whatever compensation we receive was of little comfort for not doing a proper helicopter flight around Rio. The guy did not complain to the helicopter company and instead just kept walking towards the massive coach that brought us to the airstrip in order to take us back to our hotel. This flight was going to be one of the highlights of our trip around Brazil but instead it turned out to be our biggest disappointment.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

carolynnemarks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

My hotel was offering the same trip for 60 dollars cheaper. I must have spent 2 hours waiting on the bus for hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.-not a very efficient way to spend time. The tour guide to corcovada hardly gave us any information at all.
I thought booking through tripadvisor would mean value-not so.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Raymond H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It rained all day. Too much time was taken up with hotel pick up

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message