Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 768 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Incredible guide, a must do if you are wanting to see the best of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Henry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely guide, amazing lunch and of course amazing views!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

CORDARIUS M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was such a great experience! We got to see several incredible sites and had a great lunch. The convenience of having the travel, tickets, and all other logistics planned for us was also appealing. Though it took up our entire day, it was worth the sacrifice to get so much good sightseeing and eating in through one booking.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Shilpa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Due to how tour is advertised. You don and #39;t go to any of the beaches, you just drive past them. Tour guide was good.

Doing what: Half Day Tour: Sugar Loaf, Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon Beaches

Note from Viator: 

We have received the following response from the tour operator regarding your review:

It's not allowed to stop at the beaches. What we do is slowly driving along the beaches of Leblon Ipanema and Copacabana. Anyway we will adapt the description of the tour.

Daniel Antonio R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The sugar loaf and Christ Redeemer are definitely 'must sees' whilst in RIo. However, the trip was rather impersonal. The guides felt harassed or just uninterested. It felt like they were doing it for the sake of doing it. They weren't very receptive to questions. They generally just left me alone

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Charles M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Apparently this tour isn't one long tour, but rather two separate tours packaged together. This meant that we spent time in the middle picking up people at hotels for the second half of the tour and ended up circling back around on the same roads as the first part of the tour. Even much of the audio was a repeat. I recommend taking a cab to each of these destinations and just buying a ticket once you arrive. Both attractions are straightforward and you will get to spend more time at each attraction, rather than being rallied up early to meet up with a group.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn't know what to expect, so glad we went. The Views are amazing,
Luis was our guide and Ricardo was his cameraman who did a DVD of the tour. optional to buy.
Luis was very helpful by taking a couple of photo shots of us, so we didn't have to take selfies all the time. Its definitely a place to go.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Brigitte P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour.. we enjoyed every second!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jabari W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the cost. The Samba show was terrific, way beyond my expectations. Our tour guides Fatima and Camille were great. The only setback was having lunch and dinner at the same Brazilian steakhouse...another place would be ideal. Other than that, enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

c2u4ze2im

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I just returned from Rio where I took the 1/2 day English tour of Sugarloaf and beaches with Alexander from C2 Rio company. I booked this tour via Tripadvisor/Viator and not directly with C2 Rio. All I can say is the tour was great! Alexander picked me up at my hotel lobby and immediately started the tour off with a brief synopsis of Brasilian history, and then took us to all the beaches and Sugarloaf. The tour consisted of me and two other travelers - so quite private. Also, originally, I booked the tour on a Thursday for which the weather was horrid, and Alexander contacted me prior to the trip to ask if we could swap tour dates till Saturday when the weather was gorgeous. I thought this personal attention was excellent to ensure that my views would not be obstructed at the top of Sugarloaf. When we arrived at Sugarloaf, the queue for regular tickets was nearly 80 minutes long - however, with Alexander's assistance, we by-passed the queue, and were on the gondola to the top in a mere 10 minutes!!! All in all, C2 Rio provided excellent service and I would definitely recommend the company for any private tour in Rio.

Doing what: Half Day Tour: Sugar Loaf, Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon Beaches

Angelica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love the view and the background information of the Christ the Redeemer and the mountain. Informative and efficient tour.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Beckybox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable trip. Worth doing for the views.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Sampath K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was nice.
The guide was good and knowledgeable.
The service was prompt and punctual

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

carcallasg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend , enjoy our trip, only disappointment is when we got to Christ redeemer was cloudy.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Marisol P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience was amazing. One day to visit some places if you go to Rio...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Angela D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was informative and amazing!! Food was good!! The only drawback was that at end of our tour they didn and #39;t drop us off at our hotel doorstep where they picked us up at! They ended up dropping us off about three blocks from our hotel. It was already dark but luckily I was with my husband!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jan M Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, well organized tour in a nice bus. Definitely worth booking as a complete one day package with typical local lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Madison G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We went on a clear day and found some monkeys! The only issue i would have is that I wish we could've stayed for a bit longer, it felt very rushed.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

frqtflyr

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Rather disappointing. For one, the company policy is to switch guides halfway through the tour. Which makes tipping awkward. And the second guide, while nice enough, was quite repetitive, We spent 5 hours of the 9 hour tour in traffic sure, there's lots of construction in Rio with the upcoming Olympics, but... The time would have been better spent getting out and walking around interesting neighborhoods like Lapa and Santa Teresa. In fact, the description was misleading. Sounded like we'd see more of the historical districts -- and not just from the bus. Then there's the inevitable shilling the guides permit and even encourage. A real disappointment, other than the beautiful city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message