Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 822 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. Very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sheena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our morning pick up was on time and very friendly welcome. Our guide Manuela was absolutely awesome the entire time. She spoke English, Portuguese and Italian seamlessly. She was knowledgeable about the sites and also the best with maneuvering lines and sites. Manuela provided us with a great experience touring both Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf giving great advice on the best vantage point for pictures, great views and enjoying the attractions. Rio was beautiful and I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get the important sites in without spending the entire day in long lines and boring tours.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

YEN PING Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

enjoy my trip and will be back soon.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Violeta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You cannot go to Rio and miss this excursion! Wonderful sight seeing, good tour and a day we won't forget!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour consists of three parts with three different guides. It begins with a ride through the city and we will take us to the Sugar Loaf mountain. The cable cars up is exciting and thrilling. The view at the top is fantastic. Our guide pointed out various places in the city. After the tour we had lunch in a restaurant. we thought it was a tourist trap, but the food was very good and you could eat as much as anything. Then downloaded a new guide us and took us to Corovado. it was very busy and crowded when we would ride the train to the top. But it was worth it, the Christ statue and the view is magical. After we came down, we changed our guide and it was time for dinner before the samba show. unfortunately, it's dinner at the same place as the lunch. Samba show is good, but unfortunately, the room are very bad and the staff was quite unpleasant. staff wanted to photograph us all the time and then sell pretty bad photos. The dancers and musicians were very talented and there were many fabulous clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is might be a good way two see these two beautiful attractions in one long day and without waiting in line too long to go on the lifts and train.
We were also driven through parts of the old town, stopped at the main cathedral 20 minutes and brief stops at the Sambadrome and the Macarana stadium for pictures.
This tour includes lunch. We were taken to Norte Grill the Centro location. It was almost chaotic in there-at least 3 additional tour buses were there plus the local patrons. This is buffet style. We stood in long lines to select the food which was OK but nothing outstanding. The various types of meat, except for the sausages, were tough and not the best quality. We were not told that the desserts weren't included. We knew about the drinks being extra and they were promptly delivered to our table which was one long row accommodating a least 30 people per row and very little space between seats. This restaurant was not a good experience and not appropriate for the cost of this tour. We stayed there over two hours. People were impatience and were told that we were making time and waiting because our appointment at Christ the Redeemer was a 4pm. This company needs to consider using another restaurant and making this tour shorter. Everything that we did could have been done in less than 10 hours. Their tour guides were fine and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

DIANE F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The experience was amazing. Remember there are 2 lifts that are needed to be taken to get to the top. Indeed the first list is express, however the second lift is not express - you still need to wait a long time in order to get to top I needed to negotiate our way to express line on second lift. The experience is still amazing especially at sunset.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Michael United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The wait time on the train to Corcovado mountain is pretty long otherwise an excellent day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ross

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Although we did enjoy this tour and our morning tour guide Yedi we did feel that it could be done much better. To start it isn't really a ten hour tour...over 90 minutes was spent picking up guests from their various hotel locations where we would often sit for 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the guests. Perhaps a central location that the guests would all make their way to would be more efficient. At the end of the day dropping guests to their hotels is not as time consuming as there would be no waiting.

We had a great morning guide...afternoon guy not so much but the pre-recording of the various sites we drove past was faulty and filled with static in the morning. We were told to leave the audio device on the seats whenever we disembarked to see an attraction and would have preferred the type of live audio system where our guide would give a running commentary...on and off the bus.

Off the bus we found the process to be very disjointed and perhaps that is because we are used to tours led by guides with some kind of visual paddle or symbol to keep the group together. We did also feel that we were not jumping the cue in front of the general public and noted that several other groups Amigo Tours for one had priority over us. This led to our being behind schedule by a considerable amount of time making us wonder what, perhaps, was skipped in the afternoon.

The two main attractions of Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer were well worth it and compensated for some of the tours deficiencies. The lunch was outstanding and the selection of meats they kept bringing and bringing was incredible. This would not be a good day to be a vegetarian!

All in all a good tour that could be significantly better with some small improvements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ole1108

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Though we could skip the line with our pre-purchased tickets, we could not skip the line to go up on the second gondola. We had no idea the line would be so long and the signs pointing out where to go were not clear. We did not feel like standing in line for what would probably have been 90 minutes to go the rest of the way. Disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Ian C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

OK if you Like sitting on a coach for 1hour 20mins awaiting other persons to join you, then it's ok! We were the First Aboard and were Expecting the Reverse unloading, so we Bailed out And took a Taxi! Expensive but we Think well worth it!
Apart fro a Visit toA Catholic Church which Facade is Probably 1 of the Ugliest we have ever seen which has 4 Exremely Beautiful Stained Glass Windows!
We would Not Recomend This Tour! Viator Really need to look and Greatly Improve the Overall Experience for the People!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

karishma_992

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT do this tour. It is with the Gray Line company. We did this tour from our cruise ship because it was cheaper than doing the official shore excursion from Norwegian Sun. But I will NEVER do a Gray Line tour again. They picked us up at 8.15am from the ship and then we spent an hour and half just driving around in circles picking up people from other hotels. So the 'official' tour didn't even start till about 10.30am. The bus was NOT AIR-CONDITIONED and it was so hot and stuffy, it was almost 40 degrees celsius in Rio that day! When we told this to the guide she wasn't even apologetic or understanding. And if you're an English speaking tour member like my family was, forget about actually getting a guided tour. The guide basically favoured all the spanish and portuguese people on the bus. We barely understood her. The 'city tour' was essentially an auto-taped pre-recorded radio thing with an earphone and there was so much interference and haptic feedback that you couldn't really hear anything anyways. We were really looking forward to Sugar Loaf but we barely got 15mins up at the mountain before we ushered back down. We spent most of our time on a hot stuffy bus with an un-helpful, useless guide. You're better off just getting private or taxi transport straight to Sugar Loaf. Don't put yourself through the misery that we did. It ruined our whole experience and I will never forgive Gray Line for that.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

carolynnemarks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

My hotel was offering the same trip for 60 dollars cheaper. I must have spent 2 hours waiting on the bus for hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.-not a very efficient way to spend time. The tour guide to corcovada hardly gave us any information at all.
I thought booking through tripadvisor would mean value-not so.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Raymond H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It rained all day. Too much time was taken up with hotel pick up

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Luciano R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing experience all around! Skip the Line ticket was great, they had massive queues when we got there, but because of this special ticket we went straight up, no queue, great customer service, we were very impressed! It was a sunny day in Rio and the views from the mountains were just mind-blowing, what a city! We had an awesome time, we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour which also includes a short tour around Rio - Tour Guide knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Kind of a long day but worth it. You avoid all the traffic and hassles of Rio. At all the sights we had ample time to look around and explore.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Shannon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience! A definite must see.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

dickcraig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fine and the guide knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Chandra G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable. The tour was very enjoyable even though the weather was not that great.

Doing what: Half Day Tour: Sugar Loaf, Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon from Rio de Janeiro

cambo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Your was well run and the guides knew a lot of information about the city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

danitogo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip, all the tour guides were great. The restaurant were they take us, was amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I was disappointed in the tour. In the end, I felt I would have been better off just taking a taxing on my own to Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer rather than taking this tour. I don't think the tour guides added much and the other stops / audio guide did not justify taking this tour recognizing the challenges of constantly having to wait for others who trailed behind the group and did not meet up at the agreed assigned times as well as the additional time spent going to numerous hotels to pick-up/drop-off individuals.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing all the 'must see' sites. We really enjoyed our two different guides, Maria Fatima in the morning and Yeda in the afternoon. We had a variety of people of different languages and had a commentary with a headpiece. The guides were very good English speakers when we had questions and I loved asking questions!!!
Our lunch was at a steakhouse that was fabulous. The salads were wonderful and I could fill up on them and then came the meats! So many meats to choose from. So delicious!! I believe it was called Carretao Classic Grill! Food you will recognize!
My only grips are not with Viator. The number of people they put on the cable cars up to Sugar Loaf Mountain are ridiculous. No pictures going up, not so bad going down.
This is not a good tour if you're looking for a way to see the city. It does drive through but the only way to see the city is walking but I need some direction!
So, Viator, get a city tour for the little gems that shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message