Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 788 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

PHILIP M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day and the tour guides were great

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day tour and you were able to see a lot in a short period of time. I did feel a bit rushed when you go to the top of Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. I wished I had a little more time to experience that. This was something I spoke with other tourists about and they experienced the same thing with other tours. One other turn off was that in the audio recording Grayline was constantly doing shameless plugs for other tours. I get it they are in it to make money but they did not have to mention it 5 or 6 times.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very informative and fun trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour! If you try to do this whole tour without a guide, you won't be bypassing the lines to get in and you won't get the points of interest pointed out from the coach throughout the trip.
I suggest you take a hard copy of your voucher. Because of the Olympic's street closings, we weren't picked up at our hotel but had to go to a pickup point. The tour guide said she didn't have us on her list but when I showed her our voucher, said that it wouldn't be a problem. We booked via Viator, not directly through Gray Line so maybe that was the problem? The views were breathtaking from both the mountain and Sugar Loaf. We personally liked Sugar Loaf best because it was very high but not so high you couldn't see things well. We got lucky with clear weather.
We were off-season which I also strongly recommend as the crowds weren't bad and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. The lunch was pretty good. They told us not to take the meat as we went through the buffet, as it would be served to us. Don't listen to that, the meat they served was very tough beef. The buffet had several kinds of chicken and fish that were much better.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had to do this tour twice! Imagine yourself in front of one of the modern world wonder!! It and #39;s huge, amazing and beautiful!!! Even for me that I and #39;m not a religious person. The trip is more than worthy!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

RICHARD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Very impressed with how your guys successfully navigated the Olympics. Knowledgable guide who made it a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

kmoodygraves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour and the food was very good as well. I would recommend this package to anyone interested.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

lynn b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Ilda, was awesome! She told us about what we were seeing and what neighborhood/area we were in as we traveled to the sights and gave tips for getting the best views and pictures. We asked for a good restaurant near our hotel as we were getting dropped off, so not only did she get us some great food, she helped get us a discount there as well.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Peter L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. We were delayed by a protest in the morning, but the tour guide handled it in stride. We visited the Metropolitan Cathedral morning, Sugarloaf Mountain morning, and Christ the Redeemer afternoon. One thing that tour buyers should keep in mind is that the tour company will split this tour between morning and afternoon sessions, so the people you tour with in the morning may not be the same as the people you tour with in the afternoon. Tourist nationalities and languages are mixed, but our tour guides switched between the languages fairly well. I suspect that we could have seen both Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer easily on our own as lines were short on that particular day a Tuesday, but we had just arrived and were still dealing with jetlag, so it was easier to let the company handle the arrangements.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

the tour was excellent, but did not like the tour guide as
he kept pestering me to take picutures rather than letting
me enjoy the view.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent full day tour. Weather did not cooperate windy and some rain but it did not keep us from doing the entire tour. Lunch was a buffet style Brazilian place think Texas de Brazil for those form the US. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jake S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Go by yourself to spend more time. The lunch is bad.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Michael G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

not very well organized. Missed our pickup and did not seem very aware of what was to happen on the tour.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Tracy D G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Cannot give a rating for this tour as I did not get to go. I tried for several hours on the evening of August 10, 2016 and never could reach anyone on the phone number listed as a local contact. I contacted the support department via email, but did not get a reply. I ended up booking and paying for a different tour through the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel for the Corcovado and Christ the Redeemer only.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Kasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Incredible guide, a must do if you are wanting to see the best of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Henry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely guide, amazing lunch and of course amazing views!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anne-Solène B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing guide (!!!), amazing tour; very well organized. Helpful, full of knowledge and super nice staff! Such a great day!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Melanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Manuela was the best guide we could and #39;ve asked for! She was so nice and so helpful. She taught us so much about Rio. We will recommend her to all of our friends coming to Rio. She was great and made our tour unforgettable! Thank you so much Manuella

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

CORDARIUS M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was such a great experience! We got to see several incredible sites and had a great lunch. The convenience of having the travel, tickets, and all other logistics planned for us was also appealing. Though it took up our entire day, it was worth the sacrifice to get so much good sightseeing and eating in through one booking.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ben D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good quick and easy way to see the key sights of the city for sure.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message