Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Tijuca National Park

A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

They did not show up

Doing what: Tijuca National Park Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Rose G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After a rocky start because our Jeep did not pick us up, it turned out to be a most enjoyable ride. Gabriel and Maria could not have been more informative and accommodating. We were disappointed in the lack of bird life, but the forest was beautiful.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

davidlake85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fun tour with a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide! He spoke English well, which was a plus for my wife who doesn't speak Portuguese. The guide and driver were always on the lookout for wildlife as we drove through the forest, which helped us to spot animals we probably would have missed otherwise.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Cait P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was great. He had many interesting facts about the forest that I don't think we would have experienced in a traditional tour. This private tour was more like a guided hike through the forest, and it was interesting to hear about the forest as we walked along different paths. It was definitely not something we would have tried alone, and our tour guide was very welcoming and made sure our tour was everything we wanted it to be.

Doing what: Tijuca National Park Customizable Private Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Benjamin C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were picked up in an open-air jeep and had a lovely tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved hiking as a small group. The guide was lovely, worth doing.

Doing what: Tijuca Rainforest Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Kim Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Luigi was a great tour guide!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Tracy D G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were VERY pleased with this tour, as they showed up slightly early and waited 10 minutes while we finished breakfast. The guide and the driver were very friendly and accommodating. We learned a lot of local history and culture as we made our way through the city and into the Tijuca Forest. We will highly recommend this tour for any friends that may be visiting in the future.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

MARK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of Rio wildlife and forest. Taken on the tour on an open top jeep which added to the tour. Recommend!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Barbara R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The rain forest was very large and beautiful. Since it was winter there weren't as many colorful flowers and plants as I would have expected, but overall it was a great tour. We got to walk around, plenty of time for pictures and beautiful views of Rio.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had such a great time on this trip overall. The tour guide and the driver were both kind, courteous and very entertaining to the group. Honestly, this tour is less an half a day. You really only spend 10-15 minutes in each of the 4 stops made on the way. Beautiful but you sort of expect more for a half day tour. Either way, Tijuca is nice quick half way tour that is worth experiencing.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Ronaldo H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was just by myself during the tour. I need to walk going to the mountains because we can't find the driver. It was an adventure but I like my guide since he's very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

sergieq038

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

That was Fun.We enjoyed the jeep tour.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

kmoodygraves

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice walk through Tijuca park. unfortunately there was no wildlife for photos which made the walk somewhat boring. I think the price is too high for what you get out of it. I would not recommend it to anyone else based on my experience. The guide Marcia was outstanding!

Doing what: Tijuca National Park Customizable Private Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Bhimanagouda P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Animated tour guide with personal stories to make for an exciting four hours. Would have enjoyed more hiking but understandable based on the group.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Pia P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Chloe A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Tour was overated, hour hike was a ten minute walk to a picnic area, you are basically paying to drive up and drive back down. Just get a taxi, much cheaper and you will have time to explore!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sheny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide David was amazing. He is very knowledgeable about the Rain Forest and was able to answer just about every question. This tour is great for amazing pictures of the city. During our tour we were able to learn about the Rain Forest, got amazing panoramic pictures of the city, were able to see a beautiful water fall, encountered numerous monkeys and other animals. I would definitely recommend this tour to nature lovers and those that want amazing pictures.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sally T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

so its really not a rain forest, but seeds from a real rainforest deep into the country. it felt rain forest like because of how misty and foggy it was. the tour guide was helpful and sweet, dominique, and made us feel very welcome. We had one view, the chinese view, but it was too foggy to have a view that day. we also so a toucan, and a few monkeys that day.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is also a tour not to miss. We may not have seen any wild life, however it was a lovely sunny day to have a drive around Rio tropical area, feeling the wind in your hair!
Our guide His name was something like Honoratas....sorry if that's not right. was informative and helpful.Whether getting out of the jeep or stepping off large stone steps during our small hike around Tijuca. The first restroom i used could have been better, take your own wet wipes! A most enjoyable day though.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was good on the tour...
They pick up us 20 minutes late from the hotel... We did not have any information... So i had to call a Brazilian number... So my mobile phone bill was incredible hight

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Karsten S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting tour with a lot of nature and experienced and friendly guides ! Worth the money !

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Carsten W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Schöne Tour, sehenswert.
Hatten eigentlich einen deutschen Guide gebucht, aber Linda hat das auch sehr gut hingekriegt.
Schöne Grüße an Linda.

Best regards to Linda.
From Antonio and familie.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

ardmore32 United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide spoke English well. We were disappointed that the scenic view stop--called the Chinese View locally, was not available because the road was closed due to a bicycle event. The tour operator did not know about this ahead of time. To try and make up for it, the guide brought us to Sao Conrado beach for Acai smoothies which we paid for ourselves. If this viewpoint is not available, there are no high point scenic views on this tour. There is one average, but pleasant waterfall. It is mostly a pleasant, cooler, and quiet moment away from the din of the city, and it is interesting to drive through the city in the open air jeep.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

delalando

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The jeep tour of the Tijuca rainforest was enjoyable but more affordable if arranged locally. Stops at the impressive Chinese viewpoint and Taunay Falls were complemented by two short hikes thru the forest. However, little wildlife was seen one capuchin monkey, a few coatis and birds. The open top of the jeep was appreciated for viewing. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, even arranging a following tour to a favela on the fly.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message