Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Tijuca National Park

A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pia P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Chloe A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Tour was overated, hour hike was a ten minute walk to a picnic area, you are basically paying to drive up and drive back down. Just get a taxi, much cheaper and you will have time to explore!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sheny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide David was amazing. He is very knowledgeable about the Rain Forest and was able to answer just about every question. This tour is great for amazing pictures of the city. During our tour we were able to learn about the Rain Forest, got amazing panoramic pictures of the city, were able to see a beautiful water fall, encountered numerous monkeys and other animals. I would definitely recommend this tour to nature lovers and those that want amazing pictures.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Sally T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

so its really not a rain forest, but seeds from a real rainforest deep into the country. it felt rain forest like because of how misty and foggy it was. the tour guide was helpful and sweet, dominique, and made us feel very welcome. We had one view, the chinese view, but it was too foggy to have a view that day. we also so a toucan, and a few monkeys that day.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is also a tour not to miss. We may not have seen any wild life, however it was a lovely sunny day to have a drive around Rio tropical area, feeling the wind in your hair!
Our guide His name was something like Honoratas....sorry if that's not right. was informative and helpful.Whether getting out of the jeep or stepping off large stone steps during our small hike around Tijuca. The first restroom i used could have been better, take your own wet wipes! A most enjoyable day though.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was good on the tour...
They pick up us 20 minutes late from the hotel... We did not have any information... So i had to call a Brazilian number... So my mobile phone bill was incredible hight

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Karsten S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting tour with a lot of nature and experienced and friendly guides ! Worth the money !

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Carsten W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Schöne Tour, sehenswert.
Hatten eigentlich einen deutschen Guide gebucht, aber Linda hat das auch sehr gut hingekriegt.
Schöne Grüße an Linda.

Best regards to Linda.
From Antonio and familie.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

ardmore32 United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide spoke English well. We were disappointed that the scenic view stop--called the Chinese View locally, was not available because the road was closed due to a bicycle event. The tour operator did not know about this ahead of time. To try and make up for it, the guide brought us to Sao Conrado beach for Acai smoothies which we paid for ourselves. If this viewpoint is not available, there are no high point scenic views on this tour. There is one average, but pleasant waterfall. It is mostly a pleasant, cooler, and quiet moment away from the din of the city, and it is interesting to drive through the city in the open air jeep.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

delalando

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The jeep tour of the Tijuca rainforest was enjoyable but more affordable if arranged locally. Stops at the impressive Chinese viewpoint and Taunay Falls were complemented by two short hikes thru the forest. However, little wildlife was seen one capuchin monkey, a few coatis and birds. The open top of the jeep was appreciated for viewing. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, even arranging a following tour to a favela on the fly.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Augusta A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabio our tour guide made the day fun!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Augusta A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabio our tour guide made the day fun!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Aside from the pick up being an hour late, the tour was very good. There was a nice mix of guided exploration and independent exploration. Tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. He made an effort to engage with all members of the tour group.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

rebecca g

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Amazing views. Helpful guide. Really enjoyable day overall.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Trudy USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

If you enjoy hiking and nature this is the tour to take. We did not see any wild animala because it was to hot and they don't come out when it's hot. The water falls are amazing and our tour guide Milena was funny, knowledgeable and spoke several languages

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jenny B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Jeep ride was really nice to do in the Rio de Janeiro heat, also the scenes we visited were nice. The Eco hike was only a stroll through the forest though which took us about 10 minutes, that's it. Would have loved to see a little more of the jungle all in all and maybe some more animals we saw monkeys but the guide didn't point out or talk about any other animals, but it was ok and our guide was very nice, funny and spoke good English. Can recommend it.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

David B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I was disappointed by the Rain Forest Jeep Tour. The ride on the back of the Jeep was enjoyable, allowing for some fresh air and safe photo opportunities in Rio. However, the guide did not have a microphone, so we had much trouble hearing his explanations when touring the city. The jeep ride into the rainforest did not allow for much fauna to be seen - we barely got a glimpse of one monkey, no toucans or other exotic birds seen. The Chinese vista was the highlight of this tour, which is basically a nice view of Rio de Janeiro from the Tijuca rainforest. The jeep rides on roads - no off-road tour, which was a disappointment. The guide did not wait for the group when doing the rainforest walk, and appeared to be trying to finish his tour ASAP in order to enjoy the rest of his day on his own. One of the elderly tourists complained, and he did not slow down despite this. The tour ended with a jeep drive which went through a favela, and then we were dropped off in the middle of the road, near our hotel, with cameras etc. on us we were extra cautious in Rio NOT to display valuables and bring big cameras if not on excursions, so were very disappointed not to be dropped at the door of our hotel -- high risk for mugging with this type of drop-off. I definitely would NOT re-book this tour with the jeep company, but would seek an alternative company to visit the Tijuca rainforest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great fun! The Tijuca forest is an amazing place with some wonderful views and scenes. We saw several wild animals in the dense jungle and our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow what a highlight of our trip, we loved every second of it. Ian was an amazing tour guide, very knowledgeable and his English was excellent.
Would recommend in a heart beat

Ian even sang Happy Birthday to my partner

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Nicole A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was very interesting, we learned a lot from our guide. However, it was very hot and the jeep is not air conditioned. The sites were beautiful. I did feel bored at times though. I needed something a little more stimulating. There was a lot of driving and it made me tired in between sites.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Ann P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I was expecting a more informative guide especially since we were on the jeep most of the time. When we first started he spoke a bit but for most of the ride we were just looking around. The tour guide did talk about some things in the forest like certain tress and a little of Rio's history but it seemed to me he wasn't very interested.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience! Renata knows a lot about the history of Rio and its surroundings. the forest is gorgeous and full of surprises. It is a fun and fantastic tour. We learned a lot about the Tijuca Forest. The views are majestic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tijuca National Park Photography Tour

jroths

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Stunning Rain Forrest not all that far from downtown Rio. Our guide, Jane, was delightful and knowledgeable about forest, and all else about Rio. Her English, learning during a year in Miami, was great. We couldn't have asked for a better companion for this tour. Beside the wonderful scenery, the waterfalls, etc., we also came upon a family of coatis. This was fun to see.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A very pleasant trip out of Rio ,excellent guide and good company, the short walk in the forest most enjoyable

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Elle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Really cool trip! Plenty of time spent at each place, and each place is absolutely beautiful, the tour guide was great and spoke at least 4 languages! Wear decent shoes as i wore flip flops like a wolly and got bitten by a giant ant! Highly recommend not the ant thing

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message