Rio de Janeiro isn’t known as the Cidade Maravilhosa (Marvelous City) for nothing. Beautiful beaches, expansive mountains, the lively Cariocas and the grand Carnaval are only some of the reasons why Rio attracts thousands of tourists from around ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 767 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

That was my best day in Rio !! Was exactly what i was looking for !!! I feeled really safe since the first minute, this two lovely guys were so kind with me, i feeled like were my best friends. The ride in mototaxi at the favela the most exiting thing ever and really safe place. Totally recomended !

Doing what: Biking and Hiking Tour from Copacabana to Two Brothers Hill

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome hike! Be ready to sweat and bring water and a good camera for the view! The tour guide was very friendly and it was nice to know more about the place from a local and also to share stories. The view at the top was well worth the hike before this one I've done it only once. Also other highlights for me was the motorbike ride through the favela and up to the starting point of the hike at the edge of the favela and the mountain. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Biking and Hiking Tour from Copacabana to Two Brothers Hill

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Marcos and Gabriel were the PERFECT tour guides! Their English was impeccable and we had a delightful informative tour and saw monkeys, birds and even interesting insects. Biking through Copacabana and Ipanema was enjoyable as we stopped to take pictures along the way. We felt incredibly safe throughout our journey which we wondered about when booking because this did include taking a motorbike up through a favela and a leisurely walk down through the neighborhood with a stop to enjoy the best acai!. My 14 year-old daughter thought this was the best tour that she has ever taken we've done food tours, futboll tours, museum tours due to the combination of education, physicality, spectacular views and mainly the guides! Do not hesitate to book-this 52 year old could do the hike and so can you!! We were very sad to leave RIo because of the wonderful people we met like Marcos and Gabriel!

Doing what: Biking and Hiking Tour from Copacabana to Two Brothers Hill

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour which also includes a short tour around Rio - Tour Guide knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Kind of a long day but worth it. You avoid all the traffic and hassles of Rio. At all the sights we had ample time to look around and explore.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Shannon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience! A definite must see.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

dickcraig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fine and the guide knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

cambo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Your was well run and the guides knew a lot of information about the city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

danitogo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip, all the tour guides were great. The restaurant were they take us, was amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I was disappointed in the tour. In the end, I felt I would have been better off just taking a taxing on my own to Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer rather than taking this tour. I don't think the tour guides added much and the other stops / audio guide did not justify taking this tour recognizing the challenges of constantly having to wait for others who trailed behind the group and did not meet up at the agreed assigned times as well as the additional time spent going to numerous hotels to pick-up/drop-off individuals.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nancy Muoi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of tour agents were good and nice. Lunch is good. We love that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing all the 'must see' sites. We really enjoyed our two different guides, Maria Fatima in the morning and Yeda in the afternoon. We had a variety of people of different languages and had a commentary with a headpiece. The guides were very good English speakers when we had questions and I loved asking questions!!!
Our lunch was at a steakhouse that was fabulous. The salads were wonderful and I could fill up on them and then came the meats! So many meats to choose from. So delicious!! I believe it was called Carretao Classic Grill! Food you will recognize!
My only grips are not with Viator. The number of people they put on the cable cars up to Sugar Loaf Mountain are ridiculous. No pictures going up, not so bad going down.
This is not a good tour if you're looking for a way to see the city. It does drive through but the only way to see the city is walking but I need some direction!
So, Viator, get a city tour for the little gems that shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jocilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything was great, lunch was outstanding, the guides were fabulous. We really enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Women guide in the morning was exceptional. She had time for everyone aand was was multi lingual.tour good lunch include was exceptional. Afternoon tourwas good but guide not as interested,

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

stuart s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sugar loaf was excellent , we were lucky with the weather as the views were stunning.i would recommend this site as one of the best in Rio.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Stuart W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

most enjoyable day tour, the guide was charming and her knowledge and spoken English excellent, however, mass confusion initially as I was booked with others for a full day tour and it transpired that our tour was in fact two tours made into one, the tour guide did not know this and it took time to sort out the problem, lack of liaison and efficiency, I am not impressed by this bad organising !

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Rakesh H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

1. poor experience. no explanation on tour. guide was of limited help. referred me to the audio tour provided.
2. lunch/ food was great.
3. cursory visit/ explanation at Cathedral and arts district.
4. pick up and drop off points were not convenient. bus did not drop me off at same pickup point. I had to take a taxi for upto 1 hr and 40 mins back to hotel.
way overpriced. disappointed in tour. expected better from a viator tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Manar A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Felt a little rushed throughout, but at least we were able to see everything we needed to.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day tour. Slightly cloudy day but this added to the view at the top. The included lunch, though rushed, was delicious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

PHILIP M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day and the tour guides were great

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

erinleighoconnor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day tour and you were able to see a lot in a short period of time. I did feel a bit rushed when you go to the top of Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. I wished I had a little more time to experience that. This was something I spoke with other tourists about and they experienced the same thing with other tours. One other turn off was that in the audio recording Grayline was constantly doing shameless plugs for other tours. I get it they are in it to make money but they did not have to mention it 5 or 6 times.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very informative and fun trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved hiking as a small group. The guide was lovely, worth doing.

Doing what: Tijuca Rainforest Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour! If you try to do this whole tour without a guide, you won't be bypassing the lines to get in and you won't get the points of interest pointed out from the coach throughout the trip.
I suggest you take a hard copy of your voucher. Because of the Olympic's street closings, we weren't picked up at our hotel but had to go to a pickup point. The tour guide said she didn't have us on her list but when I showed her our voucher, said that it wouldn't be a problem. We booked via Viator, not directly through Gray Line so maybe that was the problem? The views were breathtaking from both the mountain and Sugar Loaf. We personally liked Sugar Loaf best because it was very high but not so high you couldn't see things well. We got lucky with clear weather.
We were off-season which I also strongly recommend as the crowds weren't bad and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. The lunch was pretty good. They told us not to take the meat as we went through the buffet, as it would be served to us. Don't listen to that, the meat they served was very tough beef. The buffet had several kinds of chicken and fish that were much better.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message