Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome tour Daniel and Marco were the best. The ability to interact with the locals in the Santa Marta Favela was very cool. I felt safe and comfortable. When in Rio do not walk around with your cell phone visible i.e. take your picture and put away use common sense and be aware of your surrounding. We were not able to do Corcovado Mountain that day due to very low clouds but Daniel gave us the money cost for the ticket to go on another day while we were in town the next day - early morning was perfect.

Daniel I hope you found your cell phone tracked down the taxi driver.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Trevarin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A nice day tour of Rio. Tour guide was knowledgeable and kept us comfortable the whole time. Would advise walking shoes as particular sections can uneven. Would highly recommend for a break from the beach.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

MARIA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

we started from the top and went down seeing the every day life in the biggest favela in rio, good and helpful guide, interesting tour, we were only three people in a very nice private car, it was like a private tour, very value for money, picked up and dropped off at the pier. Strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

Abby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful tour that really gave a great overview of the city - from the tourist magnet of Christ the Redeemer to the slice-of-life visit to the Santa Marta Favela. Our guide was great as well! Just remember to wear comfortable shoes because there's a lot of walking, but its all worth it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Brandi S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

This tour could be condensed into an afternoon. i and #39;m limited to the amount of characters I can type, but save your time and visit the Santa Teresa stairs on your own. The afternoon was interesting with a visit to the Santa Marta favela and Christ the Redeemer. Guide was ok, but not very informative.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful time on this walking tour. It was raining but we journeyed on and was happy to experience Rio on foot. In the afternoon, the other two clients went on their way so it was like a private tour. It was great to experience the favela and we felt quite safe the entire time

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved this tour! We drove up to Christ the Redeemer and the views were amazing. We got a local bus to Santa Teresa and walked around then took the local tram down into the town, where we then went to visit the Lapa arches and the Selarion Staircase. The favela tour was brilliant - I would never have gone there on my own and it was a real eye opener to see how a large proportion of Rio's population lives. Daniel was fun and made the tour interesting - I was the only person who booked that day and he was good company for the day. The only thing I would have changed, if possible, was to take the cog train up to Christ the Redeemer rather than the bus, but this is a minor thing because we still got to see the rainforest. Overall a week-organised and very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Kenny E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Do not leave Rio without doing this tour. Daniel did an excellent job and was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My girlfriend and I traveled to Rio to celebrate her 30th birthday. Turning 30 is a milestone so we wanted to go somewhere epic and it certainly was! This tour is great because it is very comprehensive and gives you a taste of many different aspects of Rio - from Santa Marta Favela to Escardia Selaron to Christ the Redeemer. Our tour guide Daniel was very entertaining and it was interesting to listen to his quips about his city. He also gave us an excellent recommendation for a romantic dinner. We highly recommend this tour to all who travel to Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We got looked after very well. A very interesting day and a diverse look at Rio. Gabby was a friendly, informative guide. Well worthwhile tour to take. Recommended

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

MarkKen

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour certainly was NOT even close to being 4hrs long as advertised. It barely was over an hour long. Yes, it was the highlight of my trip learning about life in the favelas and I really wanted to learn and see more, but it was in and out. What a shame!!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was amazing! Everything went excellent. Cariocas are friendly and open to tourists. I definitely recommend this tour. I and #39;m happy that I did it, it change your mind because isn and #39;t a tour to see the poorest is a tour to share the diversity and the community spirit built out.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

M l

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful experience, it is a must see when in Rio.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Expensive for what it was. Great guide. I am not sure why he hooked up with a friend in the favela who accompanied us for that part of the tour. He didn't say a word couldn't speak English yet we were encouraged to tip him.
Restaurant for lunch could have been better.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Robbert W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We received a great history lesson about the favela .

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Gil M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Driver never arrived to pick us up. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Amardeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First hand look at how the common man lives in Latin America. Very very friendly guide and people!!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

JonDoh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the perfect length of time. Just a few hours and there's so much to see around every corner. You really get a wonderful feeling for what it's like to live there. Raphael and Junior were exceptional tour guides. They answered everyone's questions, spoke several languages, took pictures of us, and were simply the perfect hosts. Well worth your time!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quite and education! The people who live in the favela seem to have created a community that works well for them.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Basma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and awesome guide

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Kylie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I throughly enjoyed this tour, walking the streets, riding on the local bus and tube and even a trolley car. We saw so much more than we expected thanks to our wonderful guide Anderson. He was so informative and patient and we just followed where he led. Anderson is fantastic and so is this day tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Beckybox

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable, interesting and humbling tour. Walking round the favelas is an experience. People are friendly and welcoming. Waited around for the tram, but gave up. Seralon stairs are definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

jflinen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the best trips ever. Carlos our guide was brilliant

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message