Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We got looked after very well. A very interesting day and a diverse look at Rio. Gabby was a friendly, informative guide. Well worthwhile tour to take. Recommended

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

MarkKen

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour certainly was NOT even close to being 4hrs long as advertised. It barely was over an hour long. Yes, it was the highlight of my trip learning about life in the favelas and I really wanted to learn and see more, but it was in and out. What a shame!!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

jtorres_md

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was amazing! Everything went excellent. Cariocas are friendly and open to tourists. I definitely recommend this tour. I and #39;m happy that I did it, it change your mind because isn and #39;t a tour to see the poorest is a tour to share the diversity and the community spirit built out.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

M l

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful experience, it is a must see when in Rio.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Expensive for what it was. Great guide. I am not sure why he hooked up with a friend in the favela who accompanied us for that part of the tour. He didn't say a word couldn't speak English yet we were encouraged to tip him.
Restaurant for lunch could have been better.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Robbert W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We received a great history lesson about the favela .

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Gil M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Driver never arrived to pick us up. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Amardeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First hand look at how the common man lives in Latin America. Very very friendly guide and people!!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

JonDoh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the perfect length of time. Just a few hours and there's so much to see around every corner. You really get a wonderful feeling for what it's like to live there. Raphael and Junior were exceptional tour guides. They answered everyone's questions, spoke several languages, took pictures of us, and were simply the perfect hosts. Well worth your time!

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quite and education! The people who live in the favela seem to have created a community that works well for them.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Basma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and awesome guide

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Kylie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I throughly enjoyed this tour, walking the streets, riding on the local bus and tube and even a trolley car. We saw so much more than we expected thanks to our wonderful guide Anderson. He was so informative and patient and we just followed where he led. Anderson is fantastic and so is this day tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Beckybox

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable, interesting and humbling tour. Walking round the favelas is an experience. People are friendly and welcoming. Waited around for the tram, but gave up. Seralon stairs are definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

jflinen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the best trips ever. Carlos our guide was brilliant

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

eris.rogers

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

AIsha J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour allows for amazing vistas of Rio and it's a great look into the favela and the ingenuity of the people living there. Best time to go- Sunday morning- because that's the only day when there's a market in the favela. We were able to walk through a large markets and shop a bit.

Only negative- my tour voucher said 8AM pick up. At 8:30 I asked the hotel to call the tour I don't speak Portruguese and I was told the tour was actually 9:10AM start. I'm not sure why the voucher was incorrect, but I'd rather have slept in that extra hour!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Nathan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel is one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Super funny, knowledgable, and popular amongst everyone. Gee we had fun this trip! Such a great vibe, and because there were so many different elements to it - by the end you are completely satisfied. A truly magical day and a massive highlight of our time in Rio. Thank you Daniel for such a great experience!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Shari Greene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

vERY INFORMATIVE. vERY KNOWLEGDABLE GUIDE.MISSED OUT ON THE CAPERIAQ SHOW .. THE PERFORMERS WERE A NO SHOW.TOO BAD WAS HOPING TO SEE IT.. THE TOUR WAS GOOD EVEN WITHOUT THE SHOW

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Trudy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pedro has to be the best tour guide in Rio. We had a very interactive, informative and overall fun tour. Pedro who grew up and still lives in the Rocinha Favela took us everywhere in the Favela which included having lunch at a local stand. You can not visit Rio and not give yourself the opportunity to learn the truth about life in the Favela....the most beautiful, self sustained and extremely united community that I have ever seen

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel ! highly recommend him, we had a blast walking around and listening to a very knowledgable young man. very energetic, easy to talk to and caring for all of us in the walking tour. We met awesome people :

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

annette v

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour and guide. SAME TOUR, booked through the hotel instead of your company
was HALF the price! Upsetting!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Humberto M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Nice day in the Favela

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

Jeannie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We were really looking forward to the Favela tour and were thriller when we realized that we were the only ones going that morning. Our guide and driver were very personable. We were disappointed that the actual tour was just one hour and 10 minutes, the guide did not live in the favela and we did not see very much of it.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message