The beaches of Rio de Janeiro are the stuff of song and legend, and they certainly live up to their billing. An entire state unto itself rather than a single city, Rio sees nearly three million visitors a year and is Brazil’s biggest tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hanna J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I really enjoyed this trip. We had a lot of fun on the boat drinking caiprinhas and dancing. The sea was very rough in the spots we stopped to swim and while it may have just been the weather on the day I chose, it wasn't very safe. One of the crew was an amazing swimmer and had no problem rescuing people that drifted out, but I did think they should've stopped people swimming it was so strong. Buzios is beautiful and makes a nice change from being in the city centre - it's well worth a visit. There was quite a bit of waiting around to board the boat after a long bus journey, but it was worth it nevertheless.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Lawrence W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Whilst this beautiful Guanabara Bay is still appealing, the noticeably polluted water is a put off! Fantastic views of the Rio coastline though makes up for it. Only major downer was our multi-stop pick ups from other hotels en route to the Marina

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

thompsjo8

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Missed hotel breakfast due to scheduled pick up time, then coach over 40 minutes late. Picked up by one coach to be taken to another then spent further hour driving round Rio picking up other passengers. Guide gave no information on either places passed on journey to Buzios or Buzios itself. Had booked the trip that included a walking tour of Buzios but told the one we were on included a boat trip for the beaches, we had no swimwear/towels, but, the guide wasn't bothered. Only found this out some 2hours into the journey. On arrival in Buzios refused to go on boat trip and agreed to meet guide later, found Buzios to be nice with cobbled streets, decent shops and lovely cafes/bars to stop off at, it also had many restaurants that caters for all people's needs, so in itself is worth visiting. For those booking the boat trip need to be aware that it took our fellow passengers 50 minutes to board the boat after arrival in Buzios, so in total just over 4 hours after leaving Rio. The return coach journey took just over 4 hours due to traffic in Buzios. Be prepared for a long day with 7 hours of coach travel and a very little information.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

thompsjo8

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Missed hotel breakfast due to scheduled pick up time, then coach over 40 minutes late. Picked up by one coach to be taken to another then spent further hour driving round Rio picking up other passengers. Guide gave no information on either places passed on journey to Buzios or Buzios itself. Had booked the trip that included a walking tour of Buzios but told the one we were on included a boat trip for the beaches, we had no swimwear/towels, but, the guide wasn't bothered. Only found this out some 2hours into the journey. On arrival in Buzios refused to go on boat trip and agreed to meet guide later, found Buzios to be nice with cobbled streets, decent shops and lovely cafes/bars to stop off at, it also had many restaurants that caters for all people's needs, so in itself is worth visiting. For those booking the boat trip need to be aware that it took our fellow passengers 50 minutes to board the boat after arrival in Buzios, so in total just over 4 hours after leaving Rio. The return coach journey took just over 4 hours due to traffic in Buzios. Be prepared for a long day with 7 hours of coach travel and a very little information.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Shirsendu S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AWESOME food!!! Nice guide, great experience of the cuise. All in all it was an experirnce

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Ruediger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful time in Buzios. The bus picked us up in front of a hotel and the ride from Rio to Buzios took about 2 1/2 hours. The tour guide was great and gave us lots of information, which made us fully enjoy the trip. At Buzios we chose the option to go to one of the beaches instead of on a boat tour since we stayed only one day going back and forth. It probably makes sense to stay at least 2 days if you want to enjoy both the beach and the boat tour. We were taken to a nice restaurant for an excellent buffet. All in all, thumbs up!

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Oscar R Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great experience, all the instructor really nice, a great time and meeting of new friends!

Doing what: Surf Adventure Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Taylor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! It was a great way to see the city and learn some history about it along the way. Our guide JB was fantastic! He was very fun and informative thought the trip. Would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Rio.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

JonDoh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We chose to not get the seafood lunch and since our flight out of Rio was scheduled for later in the day, we were anxious when the boat was late and then they sent the wrong boat to the dock. The delays surpassed 30 minutes, but thankfully our guide he told us to call him John the Baptist yelled at the boat operators and got them to shave off 15 minutes of the boat ride without us missing any of it. We got back to our hotel by 12pm as was promised. Thanks John! As for actual sightseeing, it's a nice way to either start or finish your time in Rio as you'll get a different perspective of all the landmarks and see areas you wouldn't get to otherwise. The live English commentary on the boat was also very helpful along with the fun Bossa Nova music in the background.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Daniel Antonio R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I was very disappointed with my experience during this trip. In my trip, the entire group spoke Spanish and Portugese and I was the only one who spoke english. I felt like a burden for the guide who was translating. Furthermore, the trip itself isn't worth it. There are better beaches and swimming spots in RIo or near Rio for the amount of time offered. The experience itself was terrible/ On the boat in Buzios, none of the crew spoke any english and I was generally just left alone. Terrible waste of the day

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Jabari W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Luis our guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and offered to take pictures of notable sites during the boat cruise. The seafood lunch is misleading as we had Brazilian BBQ after the boat ride. Overall, a great experience and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Gregory O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was amazing however there was no seafood buffet that followed. I would recommend just doing the tour and have lunch where you want.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Niharkc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. We all enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Niharkc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Excellent. We all enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

George P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a good tour and we saw quite a bit of the overall area from a different perspective. It lasted around 3 hours from hotel pick up to drop off, with about 2 hours in the boat. Tour guide was not too helpful as we were sitting in various places on the boat and he couldn't speak to everyone at once. However, he made a point of talking to each of us individually and giving some information on the adjacent views. I'd recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Nicola G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

The cruise was done well, however the 'Seafood Lunch' is not this at all. It actually is at a BBQ restaurant, which is the location of all meals with the company. I did multiple tours on different days and was sent here for every meal, which wasn't even a great meal to start with. Also was told that if you have more than one meal on a day with tours, you still only go to this place. Was unfortunate to end the lunch that way as the boat ride was fun. I would just opt out of the lunch.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

EUGENIE V D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Worth doing. The boat ride around is a must, that will take approx 2 hrs then you should have a good hr to walk around the small city sqare. Not much shopping here but good food.
Our guide was only ok, his english was not goid and he really couldnt be bothered to make any effort. The buffet lunch was nice.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Susan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Good trip, however the cruise was conducted in Portuguese so had no idea what was being said, I booked an English speaking trip so was expecting this to be translated.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Kris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really nice tour, overall. The 2 hour cruise was the perfect amount of time to be out on the bay. We saw all of the 'must see' locations and the ride was very comfortable. Our guide gave us valuable tips for staying in Rio during our transport to and from the hotel. Totally worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Krzysztof S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, beautiful weather, tour leader DJ was excellent with humor and knowledge.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Latasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very nice boat cruise... Not crowded at all! Everyone was very friendly! The Place I went to for lunch was the same place that I went to before the samba show. Nice place, lots of food! I don't eat meat so there were plenty of options on the buffet.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Ian F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not great by any means. You motor out of the bay alongside sugar loaf mountain, but after that it's all very industrial - if you want to see oil rigs, an unattractive
(But very long) bridge, planes landing and taking off in close proximity, then you'll like this tour. I didn't.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Juan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

El tour estuvo muy bonito. Se ve Rio de otro punto de vista. Realmente me gusto. La guía también los hizo muy bien y respondió a todas las preguntas.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Barbecue Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message