Mexico’s Costa Maya port sits on the country’s Caribbean side, just north of the border with Belize. Built specifically for cruisers, the port facilities include pools, a beach club, shopping, restaurants and bars. It’s a bit theme-park-esque, so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very informative and excellent. Famliy of 4, with children 14 and 11.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time! Our ship had switched port days so we were worried about our off ship excursions but the tour company once we found them was waiting on us as we were the last group to arrive. The one problem we had was identifying which tour company was the right one, like others have said the booking had Costa Maya Tours as the name of the tour operator, but the tour operator was Toucan. So keep that in mind, I had been aware of this before our cruise so it really wasn't that hard to find them, just look around and you will be fine. The Tour itself was great, bus ride was good and the tour guide was excellent and you could tell he really cared about the ruins and the people who live in the surrounding areas being a local himself. We had 4 kids ranging from 19-24 on the tour and they loved it. A bonus while on the tour a group of monkeys passed over us in the trees above.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

tb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Gus was a lot of fun and knowledgeable. We really liked the value for the price we paid and liked being in a smaller group. Great guide and tour!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Amy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this as an excursion on a cruise. It was perfect. We LOVED the sample of the pineapple. I wish we could have brought some home. My struggle is always what to tip! Keep the cash handy!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent small group tour with emphasis on personal attention. I don't know how you did it but we were almost alone at Chacchoben and were able to get photos without fighting with dozens of people in our pictures. At the end we were given the choice of going to a beach or returning to the dock to shop. Very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Betti G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best shore excursion yet! Clean buses, nice roads, excellent guides!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Diego B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I was on a cruise vacation and decided to go scuba diving with Bucaneros instead of the shore excursions offered by the cruise line. We had a great experience and enjoyed it very much. Our instructor, Neto, was very patient and friendly. He also took our pictures underwater and made sure we were always safe. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Scuba Diving Beginner's Course

Jennifer N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! Very informative guide and safe, comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Sailor Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommended if you want to experience scuba diving in Costa Maya. The dive shop owner is Otto and he was very helpful and friendly and made the experience memorable. His instructor was very patient and made sure we were well instructed for our scuba experience. After the dive on the reef we enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Karlita's Café which is also owned by the owner of the Scuba Diving Facility. Just make sure you know how to get to the dive shop location, we missed some communication so almost got lost.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Scuba Diving Beginner's Course

Debbie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This experience with Viator was much better than I expected. We meet up with our tour guide Augustin. Along the way he would tell us the different sites. We arrived at the Chacchoben and met up with Diana (Family). She was excellent!! She kept everyone interested in the history. I really enjoyed the tour with her and with our driver Agustin. I asked to be dropped of somewhere to eat which he did. After two previous disasters with Viator this one was a huge success!!!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Che Che

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our original tour company - Alto did not show, we had to make other arrangements to find where is office was located. With little Spanish experience, we managed to communicate our needs. In our voucher it indicated free YELLOW TAXI ride to the location. When we got to the location, no one could explain what was going on and our driver would not be paid by the tour company. We decided to pay for the fare on our own. The good part of all of this, another tour driver took us along with another family to the Chacchoben and they did a fabulous job. Our lemons of a trip turned into lemonade with the new company. All and all the trip and day was fun. - FYI - if you are cruising, you cannot confirm your reservation if you do not call.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Paolo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Out tour guide was Diana. She was great. Very informative and attentive to any request. Greatly Recomend it!
One minor note: meeting place info not accurate. Guide was waiting for us not at the pyramid, but half way from the port and and pyramid. Recommend Viator to coord. Better with local agency.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Ananth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour started a bit shakily. We had a wait at least an hour to start off. The tour operators were rounding up a lot of new customers to fill their buses as much as possible before starting off for the ruins. Also, the booking had Costa Maya as the name of the tour operator, but the tour operator was Toucan. We were a bit apprehensive!! But once it started, it was worth every penny. The ruins and place itself was fantastic. Nice surprise - the operator provided cold water throughout... they even brought it to the top of the sun temple platform.!! Absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Jane L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Long drive, but worth it. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The company provided cool drinks and the vans/mini-buses were comfortable. The ruins very very interesting and extensive. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Jim S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall a great tour. A bit of a walk out to the pickup point but very clear once we got to the pyramid. Great guide...so this excursion would really depend on your guide. We got Gustaf who gave us a lot of history during our drive and very informative during the tour. Plus a good personality. I will say he was nice to give my kids some items like local chewing gum and a keychain but it also made me feel I needed to give a higher tip to compensate.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Liliane A United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This excursion was great. Our Guide Ishmael was informative well spoken and very accommodating. Our driver Carlos was wonderful. I would recommend this trip to any one and everyone. The van was comfortable.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Merryl Y

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The directions to find the tour vendor were slightly confusing. It directed us to look for Costa Maya Tours. We could not find it in the vicinity. Luckily a friendly taxi driver helped us and even called the contact telephone number which was not in service. The same taxi driver walked over to Toucan Tours and asked them if they heard of Costa Maya Tours. After showing the tour ticket, it was determined Toucan Tours was the correct vendor. I took off a star because of the mix up as we almost missed the transportation van.
The ride to Chacchoben took 65 minutes in a van which did not have seat belts in the last row where we were sitting. At least there was good air conditioning in the van.
Ismael, the English speaking guide at Chacchoben provided a lot of information about the ruins and kept everyone's attention. He was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour. Weatherwise, it was a great day at Chacchoben - slight breeze, intermittenly overcast thus a tolerable temperature.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Kms

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Interesting tour but long journey to get to the site. Driver took us to beach on way back. Beach ok, but drinks very expensive 9 for non--alcoholic daiquiri.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Carrie Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour and ghids were good. However we arrived at the meeting point 1 hour to early as there was no specific meeting time on the tour voucher

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Jack W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

very good guide who was informative as well as personable. trip was delayed about one hour, but well worth the price.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I was excited to find such a great deal on the excursion price for this Mayan Ruins tour rather than putting the extra $ in the cruise ship's pockets and hoping to be able to keep the $ in the local economy. Our driver got us to and from our destination safely and was very friendly. The tour guide at the site was very friendly and knowledgeable. As other past guests have mentioned I would wear tennis shoes and be prepared with bug spray if you are going during the warmer months but fortunately bugs or extreme heat were not an issue for us during January. The only problem with this tour was a little confusion finding where to meet our driver for pickup. Our excursion passes labeled everything as Viator Travel but no one at the port or outside the port gate seemed to know them or how to find them for transportation. Luckily after searching for 20-30 minutes we finally found a lady at a booth that was listed under a different tour/travel name who had our names and was expecting us. I would recommend this tour to other families as all of us enjoyed it from ages 6-59 in our party. I would suggest that Viator make it very clear on how to find the tour group for transportation for future tour groups. Thanks!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

family cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

These ruins were worh the trip. After speaking to many people about which ruins to visit during this cruise these were recommended by numerous friends. I was so excited with your tour guide - she was informative and knowledgeable on these ruins and was passionate about the tour.
The only downside was they were hard to find once we disembarked of the ship. We had to go outside of town to meet them and nothing was clearly marked.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Rise J. P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Directions to the pick up site from the cruise dock were a little confusing, as every native person on the street is trying to get you to sign up with their tour. After meeting up with the tour operator, (who was calling our name) who then took us directly to the mini-bus. We were taken immediately to the ruins, about a 35 minute drive on good roads. Our group was small and a good size-about 15-20 people. The tour guide-Victoria- spoke very good English and had a good knowledge of the ruins. The Chacchoben trip was well worth the money, and we had a very good day!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Mike

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Finding the tour company was difficult because the vouchers say Costa Maya Tours, but the tour company is actually Toucan Tours. They are located just outside the gates of the port and are not too difficult to find. Once we were checked in, we had to wait for a while for a driver? for more passengers?. They gave us plenty of cold bottled water, which we were grateful for because it was HOT. Our van was not very comfortable, but served its purpose for the 45 minute ride to the ruins. On the way, our tour guide stopped for pineapple, which was delicious. When we got to the ruins, we had to pay an additional 1 per person, which was not disclosed to us when we booked the tour. We spent about an hour at the ruins, which were impressive, but be warned that the heat and humidity were brutal. There is very little shade, so be sure to bring a hat and sunglasses and wear clothes that you don't mind sweating in. Our tour of the ruins was great. The ride back is when things started to go sour. Our driver was texting and on the phone for most of the ride. While he was driving. He said he would drop us off at the port if we wanted or he would take us to the beach. Most people chose to go to the beach. He promptly called his friends and told them in Spanish that he was about to drop off 12 tourists at the beach. Our van was met with a dozen men trying to sell us everything from food to kayak rentals, and they even followed us onto the beach. One man tried to rent us a FREE beach chair. We had agreed on a time to meet and go back to the port, but we had difficulty finding our guide and ended up having to wait around for 40 minutes for him and the group. I would not do this tour again. Costa Maya is just an attempt to exploit visitors-- save your money and enjoy the pool onboard your ship.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Fionn M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We weren't too enamoured with this particular tour, we followed the instructions on the document we received and left the port area... before long we had a guy calling us asking were we on the tour... he had a plaque of a different named company to the voucher... We showed him the voucher but he said it was them and directed us to their stand... sure enough at the stand it was them and they had our name and details and werent asking for money. The company that was ACTUALLY providing it was Toucan.

Next we were left waiting for around 30 minutes for a driver but to be fair we were provided with unlimited free water..

The vehicle was clean when it arrived and comfortable, along the way the driver stopped and got some pineapple in the village for us.

Upon arrival to Chacchoben we were asked for 1 dollar each to pay for upkeep not a big deal but shouldve been advised to us.

Our driver had little english very little.

We met up with what appeared to be their ONLY tour guide and joined another group who had seemingly arrived earlier.

The guide was knowledgable and friendly but at the end our late arriving group we added to a DIFFERENT group and taken back to fill in the missing gap which involved some repetition... this could have been organised better.

Overall it was ok but left a bit to be desired,

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message