The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathie B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a really nice tour and the description was very accurate. We were picked up promptly at 8am from our hotel in a van, then taken to a waiting bus. The tour guide asked how many French speaking and English speaking passengers there were, then talked constantly, always alternating between French and English. I was in the back of the bus and could barely see him. After a while, I stopped listening, as he was switching between the 2 very quickly, and frankly, it was not relaxing. The information was not that interesting. After a 40 min shopping stop, we arrived at Chichen Itza about 11:30. Once there, another guide on the bus took the English speaking group. He was great. And from then on, everything was fine. The buffet was delicious. As you have already read, this is a 12 hour trip. But well worth it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

naliniramanlal

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Mayaland in conjunction with Grey Line seem to be incompetent to organize their pick-ups. We checked three times because of incorrect advise from Grey Line on a prior trip, Each time it was confirmed that we were to be at the Fiesta Americana at 8:00 a.m. We were finally collected from the Hyatt across the street an hour and a half later at 9:30 a.m. By the time the rest of the visitors were picked up and we arrived at Chichen Itza, it was noon. The tour was from noon to 2:00 p.m., the hottest part of the day, instead of being in the morning.
This was supposed to be a small group. In fact two groups were combined with one guide who was also the driver. In other tours we've had a dedicated, very knowledgeable guide. This had not been the case in either of the Grey Line/Mayaland tours. This tour guide was either not knowledgeable or unwilling to share information. We almost had to squeeze information out of him by asking pertinent questions. Would not want to use either of these companies again. We did not receive good service or value for money.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ken R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I have just returned as what I can only describe as he WORST trip I have ever had the unfortunate of experiencing. Firstly, the tour operator would not pick us up from our hotel, the Hampton Inn in Merida, meaning we had to get a cab the the Fiesta Americana for 9am. We arrived at 8.45 as instructed and the guide picked us up at 8.50....all fine. We the. Went to another hotel to pick up more guests. After this we went BACK to the Fiesta Americana at 9.30 to pick up two other guests, why where they not told 9am like we were???

We finally get on the road to Chitchen Itza around 10am. On the way around 17 of the group who were mostly Spanish told the guide the guide they were told they would be taken the cenote outside of Chitchen Itza. The guide informed them they if they wanted to go the whole group of 20 had to go. We therefore reluctantly had to agree as we felt pressured as the majority of the bus wanted to go. As we get off the bus the guide says we can not take our backpacks so had to carry our litre bottles of water we were told to bring....upon arriving there were LOADS of people with backpacks.

We arrive at Chitchen Itza at the Mayaland Resort. We get the entrance and are told we have to que to pay the entrance fee. We tell our guide we had already paid as part of our tour, he looked confused and said everyone had to pay DESPITE it clearly stating entrance was included in the price. The guide tells us we have to be back by 2.30.

Our guide then walks us around the main pyramid and surrounding areas for 50 mins then tells us we have an hour free time and points us In the direction of the rest of the buildings. Why does the tour not take you around the WHOLE of the site? Many of the other tour guides were taking people around the whole site.

We get back the hotel for 2pm and get a drink from the bar thinking we had plenty of time after being told to be back for 2.30. Around 2.10 our guide Antonio runs in and tells us we have to go right now and to drink up, meaning we had to down our drinks. We ask about lunch as now it's quite late and are told we had to wait until after the cenote...we then get on the bus and wait on other 10 mins until we leave, meaning we would of had loads of time to finish our drink!

What happened to enjoying the resort and its facilities????

We get to the cenote, and have to pay 70 pesos each as the bus will not be staying. We did not have any swimming things with us as we had not planned on visiting the cenote so had to stand and watch people for 30 mins before getting back on the bus.

FINALLY we get back to Mayaland at 3.30 for lunch, after being picked up at 9am.....I would not class 3.30 LUNCH! We were asked if we wanted drinks and told we had to pay for them as no drinks are included....not even water!

We then leave for Merida at 4.30, arriving back at 6.45.

This has got to the most unorganised tour I have ever been on....

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

jacquelyn.n.luna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was exactly as described. We were a bit concerned finding our with the ferry, but the tour staff made it easy by meeting up with us to give the ferry tickets and finding us once we arrived in Playa Del Carmen. Bus was nice and comfortable for the long ride to and from, and the included beverages with the package was a definite bonus. The ruins were very impressive and the hotel was very cool and relaxing. The whole trip was pretty tiring due to all the travel, but overall very good experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

kyle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Delio was the best guide Ive ever had. Very nice, jovial, knowledgeable, and he has some great night pics of the pyramid! Answered everyone's questions with enthusiasm and insight!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Rosa G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Tour guy Willy was unpleasant and rude.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

saless-c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When visiting the Yucatan, Chichen Itza is a must see for anyone interested in history or ancient cultures, .

There are many tour operators providing tours of this fabulous site, but I can't imagine an operator in better position to provide this tour than Mayaland Tours, Viator.com's contractor for this tour. They operate the Mayaland Resort which is adjacent to the Chichen Itza site with their own private entrance. The trip to from Playa del Carmen takes a little over two hours, one way. Fortunately Mayaland Tours use the Gray Line buses for transportation to the site from Playa Del Carmen, which were comfortable and professionally operated.

Our tour guide, Faustino, was friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The tour progressed at an easy pace throughout the site with stops to learn of the history, culture and little inside details from Faustino.

The lunch, which was advertised as a 5-cousre gourmet lunch ... with beer and wine, has changed to an all-you-can-eat buffet with drinks at additional cost. The buffet however was stupendous with many local dishes to try and some international items, like hot dogs and hamburgers.

After lunch we had a couple hours on or own. Some of the tour returned to the site for another look or to shop the numerous vendors tables. Others took advantage of the resorts pool and bar.

The trip back to the ferry dock to Cozumel was another two hours, which tends to make this a long day, but the experience is well worth the time and the fee.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Stephanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this trip was amazing! Visiting the ruins was not only great but the tour guide and others helping on the tour were awesome! You should definitely book this.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was amazing!! Couldn't have asked for anyone better. Very knowledgeable, ensured that everyone had a great time, and we could see everything we wanted. I wish we could have spent more time here, but this tour would be something that I would love to go on once more!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Ben Holmes United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We almost nearly didn't get to go on the trip. The tour company asked us to confirm our booking with them twenty-four hours before the tour. We didn't think much of this as we assumed that we could use the hotel's wifi to confirm the booking and that would be it. However at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba there was no phone signal, and the wifi was quite frankly, terrible. We then had to get the hotel to ring the tour company and tell the tour rep to come and meet us, which meant waiting around in the lobby for the rep to arrive. However, it must be said the rep Gabi or Gaby was really nice and very clear about what we needed to bring and what time we would be getting picked up.

Our tour picked us up from our hotel on time, and we were put onto a mini van which then took us to a big coach to begin our tour. The tour guides were Gaytan pronounced 'guy tan' and Ramon. Gaytan began our tour introducing himself and perhaps giving us a talk about the Mayans, their culture, and their descendants today. He said to us, When you think of Mexico, what do you think of? Sombreros? Mariachi music? Tequila? Well we don't wear sombreros and we don't listen to Mariachi music. We have our own music, and we don't drink Tequila, because we simply don't like it. We have our own drinks. We don't speak Spanish at home, we have our own language. We are Mayans, not Mexicans. He then gave us an example of what the Mayan language sounded like, saying the same sentence in Spanish, Mayan and English.

The drive to Chichen Itza was about two and a half to three hours I think and the time was well spent listening to Guytan and Ramon talk about the history of the Mayan people and the appalling treatment they received from the Spanish, and even today how the Mayan people struggle to fight to protect their culture. We stopped off to a place where Mayans make genuine Mayan crafts to sell, Gaytan warned us that pretty much everything sold at the Chichen Itza site is fake and wanted to take us to a place where we could meet genuine Mayans and see their crafts up close and personal. Needless to say we bought a few things, and it felt good knowing our money was going to people who genuinely appreciated it. On top of that, the Mayan people were incredibly friendly and polite, and weren't pushy when it came to selling things.

When we got to Chichen Itza, it took me a few minutes to fully comprehend where I was. This place that I had wanted to visit for so many years was finally here in front of me! Gaytan took us around and once again provided us with incredibly detailed information about each part of the site, explaining to us what it was used for and what occurred there. It was truly amazing to be there and when we were hearing about the activities of the Mayans you could almost imagine being there with them. After going round all the parts of the site, we were given refreshments and some free time to wonder and explore.

The site is quite large, and although The Temple of Kukulkan gets the majority of the attention, there are other nice bits to explore. It is quite easy to get caught up taking pictures on one part of the site and not have enough time to wonder and explore the whole thing. However, you do go around most of the site with your tour guide, so you can use your free time to go back to get some extra photos of something you liked or go see some of the less visited parts of the site. As you can imagine, Chichen Itza is very busy and sometimes it was frustrating trying to get photographs because people kept walking in front of us! However, it is possible to get a people-free picture of The Temple of Kukulkan if you are quick! Perhaps if I were to say one negative, it would be that there were venders that sold these things that made fake jaguar sounds, and needless to say they got annoying very quickly, particularly when you are trying to listen to your tour guide.

After Chichen Itza, we went for some lunch at a restaurant and had a choice of international or regional cuisine. I asked for regional cuisine and asked for un poco de todo a bit of everything to which they happily obliged. The food was amazing, it was not stereotypical Mexican food, but regional Mayan food. After lunch we went to the cenote, not being a confident swimmer I decided not to swim as there was no shallow end although life jackets are provided however this didn't stop appreciating how beautiful the cenote is.

I would 100 recommend you come on this tour, even if you are not a huge history buff, the history to do with the Mayans is really amazing, the way their calendar works, how that links into the construction of the Temple of Kukulkan, and so many other things as well. This was definitely the highlight of my holiday in Mexico.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Mary G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was informative and interesting.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Yvonn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative. Could have had more time on the second sight. Strathmore friendly and professional.
Excellent experience.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Love

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Had issues with the Voucher... may want to get that fixed with Viator and the local agent but other than that the tour and Xel-Ha were great.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Neil H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very long day well worth it though we did not have enough time to explore this place on our own. We had a guided tour and our guide like to talk. It was a bi ligual tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Regina I

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was a very interesting tour however our guide did not devote much time to his English narration so I missed out on a lot on information about the site. This is a very tourist driven site, but brush up on your Spanish if you want to get the most out of it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Carolina Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience and the tour guide was fascinating story teller.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

FRANK L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good guide.
Enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

MONICA R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was the first tour I had taken worlwide and they arrived late. We were supposed to leave at 08:40 and we finally made it until 09:35...because they were supposed to pick the other person too but arrived late. We were only two in a van. Lucky we had a great tour guide who compensate the bad first impression. Augusto Tun was great with explaining facts, data. I recommend this tour but suggest that Gray Line be more formal on the timing.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Regina I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The tour was not the same as the description. We started the day at Kabah and then to Uxmal. kabah was supposed to be the second day. We did Kabah and Uxmal in one day and it was very difficult to do both. I did not book two sites on the same day for good reasons.The guide forgot to drop me to my Hotel in Uxmal and had to turn around and return to the Hotel. The light show was not included according to the hotel. Since there was no one there to escort me I did not get to see the light show. Very disappointing tour for 220.00USD. I did not get what I paid for.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Josue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour with the great tour guides. They provide you with the water, corona beer, coffee, fresh bread from local bakeries, and they provide a great experience. I would highly recommend for anyone. If you speak Spanish or want to learn go with the Spanish guided tour its more smaller and more personal rather than the English one which is mostly about 20 people. I would also buy any items at the local shops in cancun or any other place the place the guides take you is a bit expensive and the places in Chichen Itza its also expensive.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Jennifer I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Quang N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour is just ok. I needed to pay the entrance admissions when they were said to be included

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, a very pleasant experience all around. Victor and his team made everything very easy, and he was incredibly informative. We learned a ton of great, interesting information that really made us appreciate what we were seeing. Everything was very punctual, and little things like having breakfast on the bus which was very good made things comfortable and pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. You stop to shop but it is only for 40 minutes so you don't spend long there, allowing you to get the full experience at Chichen Itza. One note, it is very hot at Chichen Itza and you are in the sun for most of the tour there so keep that in mind when thinking about dress / sunscreen. After Chichen Itza and lunch which was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip, you go to a sink hole that is really cool and is a lot of fun. Make sure to bring your bathing suit as we forgot ours and I slightly regret not going into the water. The total tour is 12-13 hours, so keep in mind when booking as it will take all day and you may want a more expedited tour. However, this tour was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a day seeing a bit more of Mexico than just the resort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chichen Itza has become very commercialized and overrun with tourists. I was hoping that with the heat and humidity, there wouldn't be that many people. I was wrong. I couldn't get a decent picture without photobombers. Other than that Mayaland Tours did a good job with comfortable transportation, good guide Wilbert and decent lunch included. I would still highly recommend this tour despite all.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message