The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour with the great tour guides. They provide you with the water, corona beer, coffee, fresh bread from local bakeries, and they provide a great experience. I would highly recommend for anyone. If you speak Spanish or want to learn go with the Spanish guided tour its more smaller and more personal rather than the English one which is mostly about 20 people. I would also buy any items at the local shops in cancun or any other place the place the guides take you is a bit expensive and the places in Chichen Itza its also expensive.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Jennifer I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Quang N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour is just ok. I needed to pay the entrance admissions when they were said to be included

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, a very pleasant experience all around. Victor and his team made everything very easy, and he was incredibly informative. We learned a ton of great, interesting information that really made us appreciate what we were seeing. Everything was very punctual, and little things like having breakfast on the bus which was very good made things comfortable and pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. You stop to shop but it is only for 40 minutes so you don't spend long there, allowing you to get the full experience at Chichen Itza. One note, it is very hot at Chichen Itza and you are in the sun for most of the tour there so keep that in mind when thinking about dress / sunscreen. After Chichen Itza and lunch which was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip, you go to a sink hole that is really cool and is a lot of fun. Make sure to bring your bathing suit as we forgot ours and I slightly regret not going into the water. The total tour is 12-13 hours, so keep in mind when booking as it will take all day and you may want a more expedited tour. However, this tour was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a day seeing a bit more of Mexico than just the resort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chichen Itza has become very commercialized and overrun with tourists. I was hoping that with the heat and humidity, there wouldn't be that many people. I was wrong. I couldn't get a decent picture without photobombers. Other than that Mayaland Tours did a good job with comfortable transportation, good guide Wilbert and decent lunch included. I would still highly recommend this tour despite all.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the better tours that we took during our vacation. Pick-up was at our hotel in cancun. Then we traveled in a passenger van to the Mayan Village where some of the tour people split to do the adventure part. Zip-line and repel We toured the Mayan Village and was blessed by their Shaman before jumping into their Centote. Afterwards we went back and met up with the group and had a wonderful traditional Mayan lunch! Loved the Chicken! Food was fresh and well made! Next onto the Coba ruins where we had our Mayan tour guide educate us on the Mayan culture and history!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

sandra e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guides were great. We went to a mayan village and did a religious ceremony, ate homemade tortillas, jumped into a cenote. The lunch they severed was amazing. Then we went to Coba, make sure you bring sneakers for Coba. I also recommend taking the mayan limo to the main temple. It's a far walk. Great trip!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Jim V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tulum was interesting but guides were of little value. Very little explanation and time was cut short. After a brief description the guides headed back to the air conditioned bus. Other guides from other companies were giving their groups detailed explanations of the site. Xel-Ha was fun but we were ready to return home before closing but you have to wait on everyone that is going to your area. Best alternative would be to hire drive or rent car and try it yourself.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

msbennett515

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great all day excursion! Could use more time at Tulum. Paper map at Xel-ha would have been helpful navigating park locations.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

mitzitsuo

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ron G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The buses were comfortable, the tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the site and it's people and history. We would recommend this trip to our friends and family.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Sanna P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything went smoothly.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Jacqueline J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour guides
Awesome destination
Brilliantly run
Information and pre-booking information were superb

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Randy M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We were very disappointed that the day did not follow the scheduled tour. Instead of leaving Chichen Itza at 3:30 and returning to Merida by 5, we went to a cenote for an hour and didn and #39;t get back to Merida until 7 p.m. The cenote visit wasn and #39;t part of the schedule and cost extra.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Sandra B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was a hassle to get to person of contact .
Was told not to bring good walking shoes by Catlynn,
as there would not be a lot of walking !!! Told to buy extra skin protection that would not hurt the environment , at an extra cost of about 15 Canadian. Also no deal it was more expensive with viator,,,,,,

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Marivi N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Chichen Itza is a UNESCO World Heritage location and it is magnificent, mysterious, and inspiring. Unfortunately the tour was substandard. We were eight, in a clean mini van that was wrapped to advertise the company and blocked the view on either side of the car. We were not able to see the countryside and villages as we drove through. The tour guide, a pleasant man, delivered a misinformed and sometimes invented narrative. The lunch was good, on a positive note. It was a disappointing visit.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Tomasz J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

On time
Friendly driver
Perfect guide

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It would be hard not to rate chichi high as it is a spectacular property. My guide, Agusto, was very good and the buffet lunch was varied and also very good. A day well spent

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful grounds they do a great job of maintaining the site. One thing that is surprising is that there is much more to see than just the Chicken Itza pyramid. The site is like a campus, with lots of buildings. Every walkway is filled with shops to buy from local artisans. The buffet has a lot of choices, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free, they can make it for you. They also have a vegetarian section. Our guide was Augusto, who spoke decent English.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Faiçal J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cancun passion has been very professional. They gave us interesting information throughout the tour. The buffet was really good. And when I have forgotten my camera in the bus, they were very helpful and delivered it to my hotel.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Susan J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We very much enjoyed the trip. Good driver, good guide. Able and willing to answer questions about the site.
Lunch was fine.
It would have been perfect if we had about an extra half hour for the guided part of the tour.
We could not see out the windows of the van because of the heavy screen.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Andre R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Robert B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The ruins are very nice. You can't climb on anything and there are many tourists. If you need to pick one tour go to Uxmal.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message