The famous Riviera Maya combines ancient Mayan culture, modern-day resorts and water sports action galore. The absolute best time to visit is September to December, though any time of year is prime time. From Cancun on the northern coast to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour with the great tour guides. They provide you with the water, corona beer, coffee, fresh bread from local bakeries, and they provide a great experience. I would highly recommend for anyone. If you speak Spanish or want to learn go with the Spanish guided tour its more smaller and more personal rather than the English one which is mostly about 20 people. I would also buy any items at the local shops in cancun or any other place the place the guides take you is a bit expensive and the places in Chichen Itza its also expensive.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

frankiedgreen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fat Cat was outstanding! Very clean van picked us up on time and the driver was outstanding. Fat Cat 2 boat, crew and overall experience was more and better than I expected! The snorkeling was great and the jumping from the boat was a highlight for our grandsons!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Leslie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Most definitely a 5 star!!!! Wonderful staff, beautiful scenery, couldn't have asked for anything more! We had a mix-up getting there and they were so accommodating and really got us out of a jam. So grateful to them! The snorkeling was fabulous...swam with sea turtles and sting rays and really enjoyed the whole trip. I HIGHLY recommend this excursion! Way worth the money. Thank you so much Fat Cat!!!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, a very pleasant experience all around. Victor and his team made everything very easy, and he was incredibly informative. We learned a ton of great, interesting information that really made us appreciate what we were seeing. Everything was very punctual, and little things like having breakfast on the bus which was very good made things comfortable and pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. You stop to shop but it is only for 40 minutes so you don't spend long there, allowing you to get the full experience at Chichen Itza. One note, it is very hot at Chichen Itza and you are in the sun for most of the tour there so keep that in mind when thinking about dress / sunscreen. After Chichen Itza and lunch which was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip, you go to a sink hole that is really cool and is a lot of fun. Make sure to bring your bathing suit as we forgot ours and I slightly regret not going into the water. The total tour is 12-13 hours, so keep in mind when booking as it will take all day and you may want a more expedited tour. However, this tour was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a day seeing a bit more of Mexico than just the resort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michelle M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is something I would do over and over again. It was an absolute ball! The highlight was of course was when we got off the boat to snorkel in the coral reef. The guide lifted up rocks and pulled out the sea creature that inks which he squeezed a little bit and it sprayed purple stuff. He was able to pick up all sorts of exotic sea beings that you only see in movies and they were just a couple feet in from of us. There were sting rays swimming right under us and we were even able to pet a sea turtle! The boat ride itself was peaceful and relaxing but also a lot of fun! They were fishing off the back end and caught a Tuna. It was wonderful! The only downside was having to much fun and being hung-over the next day. :

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Jim V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tulum was interesting but guides were of little value. Very little explanation and time was cut short. After a brief description the guides headed back to the air conditioned bus. Other guides from other companies were giving their groups detailed explanations of the site. Xel-Ha was fun but we were ready to return home before closing but you have to wait on everyone that is going to your area. Best alternative would be to hire drive or rent car and try it yourself.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

msbennett515

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great all day excursion! Could use more time at Tulum. Paper map at Xel-ha would have been helpful navigating park locations.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Felicia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing day out on the water. We sailed towards Puerto Morales where we jumped in to pristine waters to snorkel. There were few people at this location so it felt more intimate. Unexpectedly, we saw several sea turtles and rays while in the water who were very friendly. Lunch was yummy and our last stop was in a cove that the kids, young and old, were able to jump off the catamaran. Loved our day with FAT CATS!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Mitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall this was an awesome experience! Our guide for Chichen Itza, Mauricio, was AMAZING. He was very knowledgable on the Mayan history and culture and made it fun and interesting. We would definitely recommend him as a tour guide. The snorkeling and ziplining adventure was a fun filled day as well. The group was relatively small so we liked that. Swimming with the turtles was spectacular, although the conditions weren't the best so it was wavy and the water wasn't as clear as it could be. We still got some great shots though. The only negative part of the experience was the entrance fee to Chichen Itza. We did not expect it to be as high as it was 20 USD per person so that caught us off guard and made us a bit unhappy. We wish the details of the trip would have told us how much that would cost in advanced. We recommend you bring Pesos instead of other currency because their conversion rates are VERY high. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

Jacqueline J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour guides
Awesome destination
Brilliantly run
Information and pre-booking information were superb

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Sandra B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was a hassle to get to person of contact .
Was told not to bring good walking shoes by Catlynn,
as there would not be a lot of walking !!! Told to buy extra skin protection that would not hurt the environment , at an extra cost of about 15 Canadian. Also no deal it was more expensive with viator,,,,,,

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Faiçal J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cancun passion has been very professional. They gave us interesting information throughout the tour. The buffet was really good. And when I have forgotten my camera in the bus, they were very helpful and delivered it to my hotel.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Had a great time in Chichen Itza, lots to see and amazing pictures.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

DeanC Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guides Luis, Flipe, Luis and driver were all great.

If there was one complaint it is the amount of free time we spent at Chichen Itza. Though I appreciate the history lesson, I would have liked more time to walk around.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Anthony S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

we were too hot in Tulum and dehydrated very quickly. my boyfriend was fine but I became sick. when we got to xel-ha it was amazing and I cooled off in the beautiful water and rehydrated in the restaurants. next time we are just going to xel-ha. Tulum was very nice and I loved learning about the mayans but it was just way too hot and humid.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Holly R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Had a wonderful day. Very tired when we got back to our resort!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Nancy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

KEITH Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great trip.. crew was great... plenty to drink, music was great, weather was even better... ran into a downpour rainstorm. it was fabulous.. everyone onboard laughed and enjoyed the 15-20 min storm, then it passed and the sun came out again. thanks, good times.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Jefhreen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The setting is beautiful. I've never seen so many trees in a park. Also if you do run out of things to do, you can just chill out on the beach which is part of the park. I also thought it was convenient to rent a locker for just 5.I had a great time.

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

Susan C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It was ok tour guide we informative food was poor

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michele O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

timothy h

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

worth going but the tour was short less talking and more touring the other areas that we did not get to see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip!! The car picked us up promptly!!! The catamaran itself was beautiful and the crew was so friendly and accommodating! We had a great afternoon 2-6 and the pictures we were able to take were awesome!! We had an amazing time snorkeling - saw lots of fish, 2 sea turtles, coral reef and sting rays! The crew even caught a tuna which we all took photos of. Then we went to a natural swimming area where we were able to jump off the side of the boat and swim around. It was a trip of a lifetime and a fantastic way to celebrate my husband's birthday!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message