Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Ancient Ostia

Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fantastic half day tour of the ruins in Ostia with a very knowledgeable and passionate guide. If you have the time to explore the ruins further I would recommend it as the level of preservation is very high and the site is quite extensive. The milder weather in this location and an abundance of shade trees made it an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Stefanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An amazing guide from greenlines georgio old professorlike man with amazing stories bringing back the life of ostia

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

cathyrkreis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rebecca was our top-notch tour guide for this morning excursion a bit outside of Rome. A lovely, articulate, and congenial guide who, as a native to eastern USA has lived in Rome for some years after studying in Spain. Her multi-lingual skills, bright, and yet down-to-earth presentation related well to the diverse personalities of our group. Rebecca's special insights to history, human nature, and art, brought Ostia Antica to life while we walked through that historic site.Grateful, too, for her fine suggestion for a stop at St. Paolo's Basilica on our way back to Rome. If there's a next time for us in Rome, we'll ask for Rebecca!! Good job... thanks Viator, and City Wonders. You picked a winner!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ended up being a private trip for our group of 6 in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Emilio, our tour guide, took cues from the group as to our pace and interests. He was pleasant and professional as he shared the history of ancient Ostia and took time to answer individual questions. Took a break at the cafeteria and gave us time for snacks with no pressure to be at the bus by X time. Relaxed and friendly. By far, one of the best tours I've ever taken.

Doing what: Relive the Ancient Ostia: Half-Day Tour from Rome

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best kept secrets in Italy was brought to life by our outstanding guide Rebecca. She was very knowledgeable, attentive to our needs and made the trip both interesting and educational. In some ways, we thought Ostia matched or surpassed Pompeii.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jonathan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ahmet was superb. We had a wonderful and enlightening tour, with just a few people in our group. Ahmet was exceedingly knowledgeable, and brought the secrets of Ostia Antica to life with his vivid stories. This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour, and we would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Judith D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Ostia is a really interesting site and much better preserved than Pompeii. I found it absolutely fascinating. If you had a good guide it would be riveting. Sadly the guide we had was not one of City Wonders best guides. Laura was not enthusiastic, had trouble finding the right words in English and finding her way around the site. I think I missed out on a lot. Nevertheless, do go to Ostia as it is really, really interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Bibledoc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike was an excellent guide, and we, my students and I, enjoyed his humor as well as his very great knowledge about and appreciation of ancient Ostia and the Roman empire. I just wish the tour had been longer, as there were many parts of the site we did not get to visit under his guidance.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Torkel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice trip! Guide fantastic and Ancient Ostia a must when in Rome..

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Roger W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was excellent. The guide was a British archeologist, who spends most of the year in Rome. She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and explained things very well. Ostia Antica archeological site gives a fascinating glimpse into the past. Even if you are only a short time in Rome, this place is worth a visit, as it is an easy local train journey. It was one of the highlights of our second holiday in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Lumar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of our favourites. So much still unexplored here. We stayed with our guide to the end, but as your train ticket lets you return when you want we took full advantage of being here. We explored Ostia on our own and saw even more amazing artifacts and ruins. Then we went into Antica and explored the modern city and castle fortress there. Then the beach and home. It's worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a delight. The guide was superb and escorted us from Rome to the site by train. Then he guided us around the site with great descriptions and a good sense and feel for the importance of this place. The small group makes it intimate and the guide is describing Rome and Ostia from the time you meet, on the train and at the site. He left us to make our own way back on the train using tickets he provided. You can stay at the site for as long as you want and this contributes to a stress free and relaxed atmosphere. If you can't get to Pompeii, do this tour and like me, you'll enjoy it more because this site is much quieter because it less well known. Again City Wonders did a great job.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jeremy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I absolutely loved the tour to Ostia. The ruins are incredible, and our guide did a fantastic job bringing them to life thanks to her knowledge and passion for the area. My favorite aspect of the tour was that it had a very relaxed feel despite also covering a lot of ground and seeing lots of ruins over just a few short hours. I think the location of the ruins outside the city had a lot to do with that. Make sure you have a camera, because there's lots of great picture opportunities here.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Tina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amanda was our tour guide and she did an amazing job bringing Ostia to life for us. I hope more people go to see this site and learn about the business end of Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our amazing tour guide, Rebecca, gave such great information and answered all of our questions. She is truly one of the best guides we had, and we had several. I highly recommend that you take this tour with a guide because there is not a lot of signage and you'll end up just wandering around wondering what you're looking at. Ostia itself is very well preserved, and a tranquil, beautiful trip right outside of Rome much closer than Pompeii, and in our opinion, better!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an exceptional tour. Great guide, Rebecca. She was very knowledgable and had a great way of telling the stories. She was passionate about Ostia and we benefitted from that passion. Would go on other tours with her again. The small group was nice also. Well done. Thankyou

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Carla M A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Unfortunately I read my voucher wrong and showed up at the wrong time. I went to Ostia Antica on my own and missed the organized tour. :

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided this time to visit the ancient port city of Ostia using this tour. Similar to what you see at Pompeii, but of course with a less dramatic history. Our guide, Giorgio, was an excellent and witty guide, who not only pointed out several aspects of the ruins military, commercial and residential, but wove into his presentation the operational and daily life of the Roman citizens who lived and worked there. The ampitheatre was a highlight. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Marla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour with a comprehensive look at an ancient city, different than Rome because nothing has been built over the top of it. Our guide back to ancient Ostia was Donald, who did a terrific job infusing us with his passion for the cite. We have been quite satisfied with all the tours we booked with Viator as well as their service: website, communications, changes, confirmations, etc. everything went smoothly making our trip that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Relive the Ancient Ostia: Half-Day Tour from Rome

Airlie B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Most interesting tour with Rebecca, who was very informative about the history of Ostia. Tour was not rushed, plenty of time for photos. Very good cafe for lunch there, museum and shop. Only disappointment was the very long walk to and from the staion.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JeJoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our wonderful guide, Rebecca, met us at the train station and led our group out to Ostia. When there she gave us an incredible tour. It was almost as if she lived there at one time! Ostia is a fascinating place, an ancient seaport of Rome, as large as Pompei and better preserved. Rebecca was the perfect guide for this tour, and while there were over two dozen people in our group, you felt that it was a personal tour, given by a close friend who just might happened to be a college professor. This was an incredible tour and easily worth a half day to see. The fact that it is only a half-hour by train from central Rome makes it all the easier to get to. If you are interested in ancient Rome, this is a must do. And if you have Rebecca as a guide, all the better.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Alexandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent - the guide was very knowledgable and informative and Ostia itself is stunning and parts of it were incredibly well preserved. A must-see when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

June L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip, with knowledgeable and helpful Georgio. While day trip with picnic could be even better, in summer heat the half day leaving at 8 am was a great compromise to see the main sights of Ostia but still have a reason to go back.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Ed P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour to Ostia Antica was great - nice early start, short 40 min ride to the site. The guide was great, very informative and funny - he was in fact an archeologist and teaches at a University in Rome. Price was right too - bus dropped us off very close to our hotel- all in all an excellent tour

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

SLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rebecca was by far the best tour guide, and Ostia is AMAZING!!! We also took the train to the beach for the second half of the day...this was our favorite for Rome!!!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message