Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Ancient Ostia

Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful visit to Ostia Antica with Ahmed. He was very knowledgeable and interesting. Really felt that we got so much more out of the trip with him. The tour was well organized and paced perfectly. Ahmed was very accommodating and helpful to all in the group. The visit was like a stroll with a professor. Recommend Ahmed and this tour highly.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Marilyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, whose name I unfortunately have forgotten, was wonderful. He was on time to meet us and the tour was really informative. We liked the small group--there were 6 of us--and the flexibility of having our return train ticket so we could return to Rome whenever we chose, not necessarily at the end of the tour. Ostia was not overrun with other tourists, so it allowed us to explore and look without fighting the crowds that we encountered on tours in Rome. I really recommend a camera and comfortable shoes. The surfaces are very uneven and because we were there after a rainy night, there were lots of puddles to get around. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

catherineriley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Spent an amazing morning at Ostia. The guide was great - she'd worked on the dig here for 7 years so knew so much about the place. We were a small group of 4 which was fab rather than a huge group.
Its an area thats full of pine trees so if you are prone to being bitten do use insect repellent - I was bitten to death which was very unexpected in late October. A great tour, we got fabulous photos. Highly recommended - knocks spots off Pompeii

Doing what: Ancient Ostia: Semi-Private Walking Tour from Rome

Donald V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Emilio, was very well-versed and passionate about the history of Ostia Antica. His friendly demeanor and fluent English made this in-depth tour very enjoyable, grazie Emilio!

Doing what: Relive the Ancient Ostia: Half-Day Tour from Rome

Cosmo29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent Trip. Our guide was very informative and the trip itself was relaxing and we learned a lot. Ostia is a small Pompeii and did not have the crowds which made it lovely.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

fannyann2012

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was fantastic.Amanda was knowledgable and enthusiastic,her passion for Ostia showing.
A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Otto L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Amanda was very clear speaker. Very interesting peek into Roman society 2000 years ago. Tour has shade in most parts and one can end tour by eating at good cafeteria on site. We chose Ostia over full day trip to Pompeii due to time and energy constraints, and was good choice this time.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Rob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fantastic half day tour of the ruins in Ostia with a very knowledgeable and passionate guide. If you have the time to explore the ruins further I would recommend it as the level of preservation is very high and the site is quite extensive. The milder weather in this location and an abundance of shade trees made it an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Stefanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An amazing guide from greenlines georgio old professorlike man with amazing stories bringing back the life of ostia

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

cathyrkreis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rebecca was our top-notch tour guide for this morning excursion a bit outside of Rome. A lovely, articulate, and congenial guide who, as a native to eastern USA has lived in Rome for some years after studying in Spain. Her multi-lingual skills, bright, and yet down-to-earth presentation related well to the diverse personalities of our group. Rebecca's special insights to history, human nature, and art, brought Ostia Antica to life while we walked through that historic site.Grateful, too, for her fine suggestion for a stop at St. Paolo's Basilica on our way back to Rome. If there's a next time for us in Rome, we'll ask for Rebecca!! Good job... thanks Viator, and City Wonders. You picked a winner!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ended up being a private trip for our group of 6 in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Emilio, our tour guide, took cues from the group as to our pace and interests. He was pleasant and professional as he shared the history of ancient Ostia and took time to answer individual questions. Took a break at the cafeteria and gave us time for snacks with no pressure to be at the bus by X time. Relaxed and friendly. By far, one of the best tours I've ever taken.

Doing what: Relive the Ancient Ostia: Half-Day Tour from Rome

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best kept secrets in Italy was brought to life by our outstanding guide Rebecca. She was very knowledgeable, attentive to our needs and made the trip both interesting and educational. In some ways, we thought Ostia matched or surpassed Pompeii.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jonathan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ahmet was superb. We had a wonderful and enlightening tour, with just a few people in our group. Ahmet was exceedingly knowledgeable, and brought the secrets of Ostia Antica to life with his vivid stories. This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour, and we would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Judith D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Ostia is a really interesting site and much better preserved than Pompeii. I found it absolutely fascinating. If you had a good guide it would be riveting. Sadly the guide we had was not one of City Wonders best guides. Laura was not enthusiastic, had trouble finding the right words in English and finding her way around the site. I think I missed out on a lot. Nevertheless, do go to Ostia as it is really, really interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Bibledoc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike was an excellent guide, and we, my students and I, enjoyed his humor as well as his very great knowledge about and appreciation of ancient Ostia and the Roman empire. I just wish the tour had been longer, as there were many parts of the site we did not get to visit under his guidance.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Torkel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice trip! Guide fantastic and Ancient Ostia a must when in Rome..

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Roger W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was excellent. The guide was a British archeologist, who spends most of the year in Rome. She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and explained things very well. Ostia Antica archeological site gives a fascinating glimpse into the past. Even if you are only a short time in Rome, this place is worth a visit, as it is an easy local train journey. It was one of the highlights of our second holiday in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Lumar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of our favourites. So much still unexplored here. We stayed with our guide to the end, but as your train ticket lets you return when you want we took full advantage of being here. We explored Ostia on our own and saw even more amazing artifacts and ruins. Then we went into Antica and explored the modern city and castle fortress there. Then the beach and home. It's worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a delight. The guide was superb and escorted us from Rome to the site by train. Then he guided us around the site with great descriptions and a good sense and feel for the importance of this place. The small group makes it intimate and the guide is describing Rome and Ostia from the time you meet, on the train and at the site. He left us to make our own way back on the train using tickets he provided. You can stay at the site for as long as you want and this contributes to a stress free and relaxed atmosphere. If you can't get to Pompeii, do this tour and like me, you'll enjoy it more because this site is much quieter because it less well known. Again City Wonders did a great job.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jeremy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I absolutely loved the tour to Ostia. The ruins are incredible, and our guide did a fantastic job bringing them to life thanks to her knowledge and passion for the area. My favorite aspect of the tour was that it had a very relaxed feel despite also covering a lot of ground and seeing lots of ruins over just a few short hours. I think the location of the ruins outside the city had a lot to do with that. Make sure you have a camera, because there's lots of great picture opportunities here.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Tina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amanda was our tour guide and she did an amazing job bringing Ostia to life for us. I hope more people go to see this site and learn about the business end of Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our amazing tour guide, Rebecca, gave such great information and answered all of our questions. She is truly one of the best guides we had, and we had several. I highly recommend that you take this tour with a guide because there is not a lot of signage and you'll end up just wandering around wondering what you're looking at. Ostia itself is very well preserved, and a tranquil, beautiful trip right outside of Rome much closer than Pompeii, and in our opinion, better!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an exceptional tour. Great guide, Rebecca. She was very knowledgable and had a great way of telling the stories. She was passionate about Ostia and we benefitted from that passion. Would go on other tours with her again. The small group was nice also. Well done. Thankyou

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Carla M A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Unfortunately I read my voucher wrong and showed up at the wrong time. I went to Ostia Antica on my own and missed the organized tour. :

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided this time to visit the ancient port city of Ostia using this tour. Similar to what you see at Pompeii, but of course with a less dramatic history. Our guide, Giorgio, was an excellent and witty guide, who not only pointed out several aspects of the ruins military, commercial and residential, but wove into his presentation the operational and daily life of the Roman citizens who lived and worked there. The ampitheatre was a highlight. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message