Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Borghese Gallery is possible the best in Roma! Breathtakingly beautiful.A 'Do Not Miss' tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Lorraine B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The 2 hour guided tour of Villa Borghese was intense and fascinating. The art works are displayed on both walls and ceilings in 20 large galleries across 2 floors.There were fabulous paintings by Caravaggio, Raphael, Correggio,Titan, Rubens etc but the piece de resistance was the magnificent collection of marble sculptures by Bernini. Our guide was very informative and he cleverly maneuvered the group through and around the crowded galleries in the villa. The one hour walking tour in the gardens after our gallery tour was hard work for us and half the group disappeared. The incredible heat and jet lag contributed to our discomfort. On a different day we would have enjoyed the garden walk. A visit to the Borghese Gallery is a must see for Art Lovers and I would happily recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

fi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were lucky enough to have the beautiful, passionate Rebecca to lead our amazing tour of the Borghese Gallery. This tour is a very interesting and enlightening walk through the highlights of the Borghese collection. The Bennini sculptures alone make this a sensational tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Borghese gallery is superb with some sublime Bernini sculptures. I will definitely visit again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Borghese gallery is superb with some sublime Bernini sculptures. I will definitely visit again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Patricia A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was our second time at the Borghese Gallery and Gardens. It will never get old! The Bernini's are incredible!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Andrew B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was provided by City Wonders. It was very well coordinated. Our tour guide, Rebecca, really made this a five star experience. Rebecca was extremely enthusiastic about the Gallery, very knowledgeable, and an outstanding communicator. She really contributed immensely to my appreciation of the Gallery and my enjoyment of the tour. Well done, Rebecca and City Wonders! The Borghese Gallery is incredibly beautiful,and should be considered a must-see while in Rome. The gardens are immense, and we only got to see a fraction of it, but they are very beautiful. The tour ends at the Pincio Terrace, which is a great place to get sunset pictures of the Piazza del Popolo, and St. Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Nancy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sabrina was an excellent tour guide: patient, thorough, and knowledgeable. She enthusiastically provided us with a huge amount of information throughout the tour of the gallery, and kept us in line for the tight schedule. The walk through the gardens was more relaxed, but she still could share details about the Borghese family history and the park's many features. Thank you, Sabrina!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide was wonderful and knew the Borghese Gallery well. The only issue I has was that the gardens were not gardens. Did love the overlook that we ended at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ours was a private tour with an amazing historian named Richard. He seems to know everything about the Borghese Gallery as well as putting in the context of history. Best tour of the trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Rhonda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Since the Borghese Gallery is small, the prearranged entry tickets saved time and hassle. I would highly recommend to those who want to see magnificent art in a beautiful setting. Skip the line - for sure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Lori V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Borghese Gallery was amazing, and our tour guide was extremely well versed in the history of everything. She was an excellent tour guide, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Merisi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

John's love for art is real and he shows it. Loved the way he conveyed the history of the Borghese Gallery with facts and a liitle bit of humor. Borghese Gallery is truly one of the most beautiful museums in Rome. The tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Eric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As noted aboveUnfortunately, due to other circumstances I was unable to attend this tour, My Passport, an inconsequential credit card , 86.00 and some receipts were taken by some Indian sorry if you are offended by truth, pickpockets on the Milan Green line train the day before. These are girl gangs that work/hunt in packs and rise quickly to each others defense if they are discovered. An Austrian gentleman lost 9000.00, A very distraught French woman lost 3000.00 her passport, tickets and purse, a lady from California lost 600.00 her tickets and passport, there were others as well. The Italian security forces, Army, and American Embassy workers were extremely helpful. I can't begin to explain their courtesy, help, understanding, in what was an aggravating situation. I was lucky. I also had to miss the Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport. Least of the problems for me.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Serena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Borghese Gallery is simply amazing! I'm so happy I went there with this tour and with our guide Fabio. There are so many masterpieces to see that going there with a guide is the best way to visit the Gallery. Fabio led us through an art and culture journey that has been interesting and interactive, with a nice walk in the park at the end on a beautiful sunny day. I highly recommend this tour. You'll never get bored and everything you see will be memorable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Kelly

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I booked this tour the afternoon of my arrival in Rome. Ambitious? Slightly. I was using my phone for navigation, but realized that when the signal was weak, navigation was less than helpful. Despite my best efforts, I was late and the tour had already started. I received a call from the tour company. They worked with me to ensure that though I wouldn't be able to join the tour, I would still have the ticket so I could wander Borghese Gallery on my own. I am not able to comment on the tour itself, but they were so helpful and I was still able to enjoy the beautiful art. I did use City Wonders for my Vatican tour Later in my trip, and would definitely use their tours in the future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Susan U

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We certainly entered the Borghese at the specified time however, apparently we misunderstood the tour as we thought we would have some type of listening device as we walked through the gallery. We were basically left on our own to view the wonderful sculptures and other artwork.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Helen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I was expecting a tour of the Borghese Gallery so you can imagine my consternation when I was just handed my ticket. Seriously, I could have ordered the tickets myself online for half the price. I booked this tour after reading the rave reviews a guided tour. I think Viator should separate the reviews for the tickets only and the ticketets guided tour to prevent this from happening to someone else because thats how I got confused. I obviosuly should have reviewed my purchase more carefully, but its easy to miss something when youre in the midst of organizing your trip. Still annoyed for overpaying for something so useless by accident. For the record, I booked live tours for the Vatican and Colossem through Viator and they were great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was very well done. Luca is an outstanding guide for the artwork in the gallery and for the grounds of the Borghese Villa. I would highly recommend this especially as there is a limited time in the Gallery.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Severino S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was very well worth our time and money! Mikaela was an excellent tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and yet entertaining enough to keep the tour interesting, highly informative and interactive. There should be more tour guides like her. The collections at the Borghese Gallery was quite impressive. I wish we were able to visit the private secret gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Teja G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Guide met us right outside the Borghese Gallery, We did not go in with a guide, but before going in bought the Self Audio Tour, which was more then enough to understand what we were seeing at the gallery. I would remind everyone they do not allow bags into the Gallery, so make sure you literally come with nothing, but money to purchase the self directed audio tour, which is given in the basement of the gallery. If you don't go in with a audio guide, it is just staring at a bunch of monuments, without understanding the perspective of what the gallery is trying to portray! Definitely worthwhile to visit!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Marcia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. We needed more information on how to reach the Borghese Gallery. It took us an hour in the Gardens to find the Gallery just in time for the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

mckemeyw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour of Boghese Gallery and gardens. Pia was our tour guide and she was wonderful . She is an Art History teacher and very knowledgeable of the Gallery. You spend two hrs in the Gallery and an hour in the Gardens. City Wonders meets you, divides you in groups and gives you headsets. You must be on time for this tour. Borghese controls how many people can be in the Gallery. If you are on this tour your guide will lock up your valuables in a cage. you cannot carry anything in like a purse, backpack. you can take cameras and cell phone- no flash,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message