Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was very well done. Luca is an outstanding guide for the artwork in the gallery and for the grounds of the Borghese Villa. I would highly recommend this especially as there is a limited time in the Gallery.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Severino S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was very well worth our time and money! Mikaela was an excellent tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and yet entertaining enough to keep the tour interesting, highly informative and interactive. There should be more tour guides like her. The collections at the Borghese Gallery was quite impressive. I wish we were able to visit the private secret gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Teja G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Guide met us right outside the Borghese Gallery, We did not go in with a guide, but before going in bought the Self Audio Tour, which was more then enough to understand what we were seeing at the gallery. I would remind everyone they do not allow bags into the Gallery, so make sure you literally come with nothing, but money to purchase the self directed audio tour, which is given in the basement of the gallery. If you don't go in with a audio guide, it is just staring at a bunch of monuments, without understanding the perspective of what the gallery is trying to portray! Definitely worthwhile to visit!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Marcia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. We needed more information on how to reach the Borghese Gallery. It took us an hour in the Gardens to find the Gallery just in time for the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

mckemeyw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour of Boghese Gallery and gardens. Pia was our tour guide and she was wonderful . She is an Art History teacher and very knowledgeable of the Gallery. You spend two hrs in the Gallery and an hour in the Gardens. City Wonders meets you, divides you in groups and gives you headsets. You must be on time for this tour. Borghese controls how many people can be in the Gallery. If you are on this tour your guide will lock up your valuables in a cage. you cannot carry anything in like a purse, backpack. you can take cameras and cell phone- no flash,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Amy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see and learn about the Borghese gallery. We took three tours through Viator on our recent trip to Italy Sept. 2016 and would highly recommend their tours. Skipping the lines and being led through the gallery with a knowledgeable guide was our favorite way to experience the sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Rosalind C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The borghese gallery was fantastic. It was great that we could just print out our tickets and not have to deal with the tour group. Because we had our tickets, we did not have to wait in any lines and went right into the Galleries.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

ekgaetan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The Borghese Gallery is well organized and anyone can buy a ticket DIRECTLY from the museum, either in person a day or two before, or online. There is no need for a third party provider like Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Rituparna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful way to avoid disappointment of not finding day tickets at Borghese gallery. This a must for advance gallery ticket booking. Good price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a VERY small group 10 people! with a FANTASTIC guide Roberto from Switzerland. He is educated in history and art and made it all come to life no boring classroom lecture!. Unfortunately, the Borghese limits entry for 2 hours and they strictly escort everyone out of the gallery at the 2 hour mark, otherwise we would have spent more time! After, Roberto walked 5 of us, who remained, through the Borghese park, sharing more about the history of the family and of Rome. It was a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth it just to skip the line and be assured of reservation at this extraordinary place. Be sure to check out the Gardens and the Etruscan museum easily walkable from the Borghese Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Someone met us at the entryway and exchanged our vouchers for tickets. We got in as soon as the doors opened, checked our purses they're not allowed in, but the gallery has a secure way of checking them, and then enjoyed the magnificent art from across many centuries. The Borghese Gallery is a must see for any visitor to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Arielle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was the last stop on our trip to Italy for our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time, learned a lot and saw all of what the Borghese Gallery had to offer. Our guide, Jon, incorporated insight on the lives of each artist spanning greater than just each work of art. He did a great job explaining, keeping everyone engaged, and navigating through the museum among the crowds. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rebecca was charming, warm, knowledgeable, interesting, handled people and questions with grace and ease. She and Borghese were all around delightful! Rebecca brought the gallery to life- you couldn and #39;t help but love it!
Barbara

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Eileen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ricardo was great. There's so much at the Borghese that it can't all be seen in the time allotted for the tour. He did a wonderful job paring it down to a perfect selection. He gave a sense of the significance and history of the gallery as well as the collection. The stroll through the gardens was also filled with information and great stories. He knows so much! And is a very nice guy. Recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Tommie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable in art and art history. The Caravaggios and Berninis in the museum are breathtaking, and our guide did an great job of taking us to the most important paintings and sculpture there is so much to see in the museum and explaining the art and its history, as well as stories and anecdotes about the artists. The Borghese Gallery is a must for any trip to Rome, and this guided tour is the way to go in order to understand the significance of what you are seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Ellyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of my favorite tours of our trip. Rebecca N was our tour guide and did an amazing job walking us through not only the art but the story of the Borghese Gallery. Highly Recommended! Also the view from the edge of the gardens is amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery allows a set number of guests in at any one time, and, once inside, limits the tour to two hours. The collection inside the Gallery itself is overwhelming, and having a guide is really important to optimizing your experience. Prior to entering the Gallery, out guide Andy provided us with a very good background/history on how the Gallery came into existence. He did a great job in maneuvering us around in order to minimize the congestion with other tour groups. And, he got us to see the most significant parts of the collection and gave us a terrific understanding why these artists and their work were so important. Absolutely the way to visit this Gallery!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Rick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The half day tour of the Borghese Gallery was a real joy thanks to our guide Rebecca who made the masters and their art work come alive. She is a gem! Great job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery was our favorite museum in Rome and your tour guide made it all that much more memorable. A great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery is a marvelous collection of paintings, sculptures and decoration. It should not be missed if going to Rome. Getting there can be a bit difficult if you don't know the bus system, but there is a metro station Spagna that is reasonably close. We bought our tickets in advance for a 3:00 pm entrance the place closed at 5:00 pm. Using an auto guide was fine for us, rather than a tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Jane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery was one of our highlights while in Rome! A definite and #34;must see and #34; and doesn and #39;t get the attention it deserves. Bernini and #39;s sculptures are equally as impressive as Michelangelo and #39;s David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Di

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Where do I begin WOW Shannon was our guide what an amazing young lady. Your can tell when someone loves their job she just knew absolutely everything regarding and and the Borghese Gallery. We had the most informative tour and learnt so much. Shannon took the time to answer all of our questions she went above and beyond to make this a very memorable tours Thank you Shannon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message