Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Campo de' Fiori

Whereas most of us know the term “piazza” roughly equates to a public square, we may not immediately think the same thing when we see “campo” - especially if we know that means “field” in Italian. But Rome’s Campo de’ Fiori - literally, “field of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Georgia was our guide for a group of 7 and she was very knowledgeable about the area we toured and the various shops and eateries we visited. Her enthusiasm helped keep the chill out of a cold evening in Rome as did the friendliness and wit of our fellow travellers. The tour is ideal for finding out more about Roman pizza, sandwiches and ice cream. There was just the right balance between walking and stopping to sample a fair amount of food. The visit to the Jewish quarter was also insightful. The small number in our tour helped us get to know each other and none of us were shy at asking questions. Georgia got the balance right between being group leader and knowing when to let us chat among ourselves. She made it look easy and was a very accomplished host. This is a great tour if you want to see more of Rome than the main tourist sights. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gregory Vacations United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this walking tour very much. So much food to sample and it was all delicious. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed learning so much about the produce at the market. Well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

ido t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was such such a great tour! All the food was delicious - we watched how to make a roman pizza, how to order it like a roman and then tasted it the can-not-stop-eating buffalo mozarella in a 100-yrs history shop surprisingly good kosher food all kinds of weird biscotti with weird names and after all, pasta and gelato. the tour guide gave very informative introductions of the tour, not only about the food itself, but also comparison with similar items in other regions, fun facts, neighborhood history and funny stories. Sorry I have difficulty in names but I remember the guide has a doctor degree in ancient coins, that probably made the trip with so much historical information. Anyway, love it and totally recommend to anyone who would like to travel to Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

susie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was my first tour with Viator. It was so much fun. I booked 3 tours before we left and I am soooo glad I did! First big trip for us. So Viator was a great choice for us in getting to know what was out there. Our guide Antonia was happily greeted by the shop owners. They had tasty treats for us to sample. Go on this trip very hungry because there are so many good things to sample and also at least 3 sit down tastings besides the shops we entered. The open air veggie, fruit and flower market was fun too. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Rachael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved exploring the food market and learning about Italian foods. The tastings were fun and delicious. The pizza making was great too. Though the pizza cook was a little grumpy. The guide was absolutely awesome. We loved her. She was funny, smart, and entertaining. She gave us great recommendations, and made us all feel very comfortable. The pizza making was not exactly what I expected, it was more just adding toppings to your pizza, but still a great time. I took 4 kids along, and they really enjoyed it as well, so totally family friendly.

Doing what: Traditional Food Tour Including Pizza Making Food Markets and Tastings

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a great time and the food was exquisite! Would have loved to have had more time in the markets, but had so much ground to cover. A great way to orientate yourself in Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Dave L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gigi, our Guide was a great guide!

He was prompt, friendly and whiz with historical and factual details. The two hours flew by as we had our own private Walking Tour. He provided insights that were intricate and amazing.

The 2-Hour Walking Tour was capped off to a visit to a Gelato shop.

Thank you, Gigi and Viator!

Doing what: Fountains and Squares of Rome 2-Hour Walking Tour Semi - Private

BarbaraMae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rome is such a fascinating city, and this is a terrific way to get a feel for some of her neighborhoods. The shops and restaurants we visited were great, and the food was excellent. We ate homemade buffalo mozzarella, sausage, cheeses, pizza, mortadella sandwich, anchovy stuffed zucchini blossoms, something called suppli, homemade pasta with a choice of 3 sauces, wine, and gelato . . . and we were STUFFED! Our guide was interesting and knowledgeable about the food we sampled and the history and culture of the neighborhoods. All in all, a excellent tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Raji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Bruno was a great guide. The bike shop has so many bikes to choose from. Wd highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Anita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great experience! the young lady that guided us through the various markets and restaurants was knowledgeable and sweet.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Cheryl.naumann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide Antonia was amazing. I booked this tour for our family group of 8 and would definitely recommend this for people new to Rome. You get to visit neighborhoods that are off the beaten path and really see how the locals eat and shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and Guide, Antonia. Be aware that the market is closed for to afternoon tour. There is so much food to eat that you will not want to eat for hours before the tour begins, especially the evening tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Federika was a great guide with an infectious love of Rome. We were a very small group 3 people and even though it was an afternoon tour, and the market was already closed, felt we got great explanations about the products used and typical Roman dishes. We were certainly not hungry by the end actually middle of the tour, having tasted gelato, pizza, cheeses, a salami, suppli, a fried artichoke and a pasta dish all in different locations. We went to the market the next morning and knew what to look for based on the evenings descriptions.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Isabel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Great guide I think her name was Francesina! She was very spunky and knowledgeable. We enjoyed every bite.
As a fellow traveler: The afternoon tour does not go to the market, but is worth it nevertheless.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Andy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Favourite Tour in Rome! A must do folks. The Colosseum morning part is the perfect length of time and you get a nice 3 hour break before the afternoon walking tour portion to grab a bite to eat or a little shopping. The Pantheon is my absolute favourite architectural structure in all of Rome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

For a few days break in Rome this could not have been a better way of seeing the main areas in a short space of time-the bikes were so comfortable and in very good condition. It was disappointing when the tour came to an end-and we now know where the best ice cream and coffee shops are!! Excellent!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Timothy T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Daniella is a the best tour guide we've ever had and we've done quite a few tours through Viator. She was on time, friendly, knowledgeable, and very fun. She shared interesting information on everything from the produce in the market to the history of the Jewish Ghetto's architecture. We tried so much food and every bite was an experience to remember. The prosciutto that was seasoned similarly to salami was to die for. There is nothing in the world like fresh buffalo mozzarella. Mortadella makes for a surprisingly delicious pizza topping. Do yourself a favor and buy a Brutti ma Buoni or two. If you get a chance to enjoy the squash blossoms, rejoice! This tour was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Alana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the city in 4 hours - although it is not for the faint of heart if you don't like or you're not used to being in traffic. Slow speeds of cars and the bikes through the narrow streets help though. Ugo was a great guide and the bike shop logistics and guys were friendly and helpful. There were enough stops to hear about history but not too many that it dragged on. The only suggestion I have to Viator is to provide an address to go to in the confirmation email. Central Rome doesn't help, and I never received an email response from Viator to my inquiry about the address that day or any day thereafter.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

JSSC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Federica was a tremendous tour guide -- instantly befriending us at our easy to find rendezvous spot and then taking excellent care to teach us about the various stops/history on our tour. We did the late afternoon tour which meant that the Campo de' Fiori Market was just wrapping up. But as it was so hot we more than welcomed darting in and out of fabulous shops and eateries, some cool because of AC, others refreshing because we were in a subterranean dining room. We kicked off the tasting and tales at the Ruggeri Campo de' Fiori shop: beautiful meats, cheeses and family stories. We then went onto several other stops -- all with food samples -- including a bakery which had the best wine donuts we've ever purchased, a restaurant in the Jewish Ghetto, a gelato shop and most memorably, Sette Oche in Altalena, Ristorante/Pizzeria , Reclamavano la Cena, the restaurant which serves Rome's signature Tonnarelli Cacio E Pepe -- also Federica's favorite pasta dish! The motto on the server's t-shirts: Make food not war was an excellent indicator of how serious this establishment is about creating authentic dishes yet still promoting a fun celebration of tradition. It was a tremendous tour with no need to have a meal until well into the next day. Federica was delightful and engaging and took care that the members of our small and very nice group knew how to get back to everyone's respective hotels. She followed up with all in a foodie email communique sharing links to recipes and recommendations for further places to go visit. Highly recommend doing this on your very first day in Rome... it won't disappoint you and will help orient you to the city and where to go, especially with thoughtful Federica's guidance.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Vanessa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour lived up to it's name. Group of only 8 people, lots of tastings, ample portions and Valeria was so informative and engaged with the group. Even though she does this tour multiple times in 1 week she never showed any repetitive strain and she thoroughly enjoyed sharing her passions with us - Roman cuisine/local shop keepers and Rome City. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Ronit C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have Daniela - the guide to our Rome food walking tour.
We joined the afternoon tour, starting at Campo de Fiori area and visited several places during the 4 hours tour, taking us through the Jewish Ghetto and across the river to Trastevere.
Daniella was full of knowledge and stories about food and food's customs. We had delicious tastings and dishes, and visited interesting parts of Rome. It's a fantastic way to combine sight seeing with food tasting in a good company and an amazing Daniela - a true Roman.

Not to be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Delores B F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an incredible tour and I'm so glad my family did it. It was my husband, two children ages 3 and 6 and myself. There were only 3 other people plus our tour guide, Francesca. The guide was very informative and engaging. With a small group, we were able to get any questions answered and go at a pace that was good for the entire group. There was so much food! I didn't realize how many tastings we would get. Be forewarned, there's not much time to buy at the shops since it's a tour. We did this on our last day and I wish we did it on our first so we could have taken advantage of the recommendations we were given.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Louise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour of the city got see all the main attractions and little square and side streets.
Great information provided Ambre the guide.
All the family can enjoy as not too physical.
Really enjoyed great way to see the city

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

PJ V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We went on the Rome Food Walking Tour covering the Trastevere, Campo de Fiori and Jewish Ghetto neighbourhoods. What an absolute treat it was. We were in a small group, and the enthusiastic and knowledgable Daniela was our guide. The range of food we were able to try was fantastic and we certainly did not finish the tour hungry. Daniela explained the origin of all we ate and gave pointers for places and other food to eat in our remaining time in Rome. The tour ended in Travestere which was enabled us to independtly visit a craft beer pub I had my eye on. So, wins all round.
I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message