Recherches récentes
Effacer

San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari) Excursions

San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari)
L'église San Carlo ai Catinari (Eglise San Carlo ai Catinari) du XVIIe siècle, dédiée à Saint Carlo Borromeo, est réputée pour ses intérieurs somptueux de style baroque. L'église présente des décorations en stuc, des représentations tridimensionnelles des vertus cardinales et la chapelle Sainte-Cécile d'Antonio Gherardi, dotée d'un dôme éclairé par des fenêtres cachées.

Les bases
Les visites guidées du ghetto juif et du Trastevere incluent souvent une halte à San Carlo ai Catinari (Santi Biagio et Carlo ai Catinari), ainsi que la fontaine à tortues (Fontana delle Tartarughe) et l’église Santa Maria in Trastevere, situées à proximité. Vous pouvez facilement jumeler une visite à ce quartier avec une visite des sites les plus célèbres de Rome, notamment la Piazza Navona, la fontaine de Trevi, le Panthéon et Campo de 'Fiori.

L'église a été conçue par Rosato Rosati et présente une élégante façade en marbre de Giovanni Battista Soria. À l'intérieur, les décorations élaborées du plafond en stuc et les peintures des vertus cardinales autour de la base du dôme surgissent de leurs cadres, les faisant apparaître en trois dimensions. Ceux-ci sont attribués à Domenichino, tandis que d'autres œuvres importantes de Pietro da Cortona, Giovanni Lanfranco et Guido Reni ornent l'autel et les chapelles.

Ce qu'il faut savoir avant de partir
  • Les visiteurs doivent porter des vêtements qui couvrent les épaules et les genoux pour entrer dans l'église.
  • Les visites à pied de Trastevere et du ghetto juif offrent peu d'ombre, alors apportez un chapeau et de la crème solaire si vous vous rendez en été.
  • Il y a des escaliers à l'entrée de l'église, elle n'est donc pas accessible aux fauteuils roulants et aux poussettes.
  • La photographie sans flash est autorisée à l'intérieur de l'église.

Comment aller là
Située à peu près à mi-chemin entre l'église de Sant'Andrea della Valle et le Tibre, près de l'ancien ghetto juif, Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari est située Piazza Benedetto Cairoli 117. Prenez le bus 40 ou 64 depuis la gare de Termini.

Quand y arriver
Les églises de Rome offrent un répit agréable pendant les chaleurs de la journée. Par conséquent, si vous vous rendez en été, rendez-vous pour midi lorsque les températures extérieures montent en flèche.

Couloir des Bassins
L'expression «ai Catinari» fait référence aux ateliers d'une rue voisine qui se spécialisait autrefois dans la fabrication de bassins d'argile, ou «catini». Une petite rue en face de la façade de l'église s'appelle toujours le Vicolo de 'Catinari. ' Voie.
Adresse : Piazza Benedetto Cairoli 117, Rome, Puglia, Italie
Plus d'infos

1 Circuits et activités à essayer San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari)

Catégorie
Filtrer
Choisir dates
Aujourd'hui
Demain




Annulation gratuite:Recevez le remboursement complet jusqu'à 24 heures avant pour la plupart des expériences.Voir les détails
Trier par :Sélection
Balade gastronomique en petit groupe à Florence : Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori et le ghetto juifExcursions à la demi-journée

RISQUE D'ÊTRE COMPLET

Balade gastronomique en petit groupe à Florence : Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori et le ghetto juif

star-5
Partez à la recherche de quelques-uns des meilleurs plats de Rome lors de cette excursion culinaire à pied à travers Campo de' Fiori, Trastevere et le ghetto juif. Avec un guide, vous apprendrez les secrets de la cité éternelle et dégusterez des plats traditionnels italiens comme les glaces et les pâtes ainsi que des spécialités locales comme les artichauts frits. Limitée à 12 personnes, cette visite offre une expérience touristique plus intimiste.
...  Plus
  • 3 heures 30 minutes
  • Annulation gratuite
À partir de  
89 $US
À partir de  
89 $US
En savoir plus
  • 3 heures 30 minutes
  • Annulation gratuite


icon_solid_phone
Réservez en ligne ou appelez
33 1 70 38 74 44
33 1 70 38 74 44

Recent Searches
Clear

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari) Tours

star-5
700 Reviews
San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari)
The 17th-century San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari) is dedicated to Saint Carlo Borromeo and known for its sumptuous baroque interiors. The church features stucco decorations, three-dimensional depictions of the cardinal virtues, and Antonio Gherardi's Chapel of St. Cecilia, which features a dome illuminated by hidden windows.

The Basics
Guided tours of the Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere often include a stop at San Carlo ai Catinari (Santi Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari), along with the nearby Turtle Fountain (Fontana delle Tartarughe) and the Chiesa di Santa Maria in Trastevere. You can easily pair a visit to this neighborhood with a tour of Rome's most famous sights, including Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and Campo de' Fiori.

The church was designed by Rosato Rosati and has an elegant marble facade by Giovanni Battista Soria. Inside, the elaborate stucco ceiling decorations and paintings of the cardinal virtues around the base of the dome pop out of their frames, making them appear three-dimensional. These are attributed to Domenichino, while other important works by Pietro da Cortona, Giovanni Lanfranco, and Guido Reni decorate the altar and chapels.

Things to Know Before You Go
  • Visitors must wear clothing that covers the shoulders and knees to enter the church.
  • Walking tours of Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto offer little shade, so bring a hat and sunscreen if visiting in summer.
  • There are stairs at the entrance to the church, so it is not accessible to wheelchairs and strollers.
  • Photography without a flash is allowed inside the church.

How to Get There
Set about halfway between the church of Sant’Andrea della Valle and the Tiber river near the former Jewish Ghetto, Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari is located at Piazza Benedetto Cairoli 117. Take bus 40 or 64 from the Termini train station.

When to Get There
Rome's churches offer a cool respite during the heat of the day, so if visiting in summer, time your visit for midday when the temperatures outside soar.

Basin-makers’ Lane
The phrase “ai Catinari” refers to the workshops on a nearby street that once specialized in making clay basins, or “catini.” A small street across from the facade of the church is still called the Vicolo de’ Catinari, or Basin-makers’ Lane.
Address: Piazza Benedetto Cairoli 117, Rome, Puglia, Italy
Read More

1 Tours and Activities to Experience San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari)

Filter
Select Dates
Today
Tomorrow




Did you know?You can reserve your spot today and pay when you're ready.
Learn more
Did you know?
You can reserve your spot today and pay when you're ready.Learn more
Sort by:Featured
Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori, Jewish GhettoHalf-day Tours

Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori, Jewish Ghetto

star-5
Go on the hunt for some of the best food in Rome on this culinary walking tour through the areas of Campo de’ Fiori, Trastevere, and the Jewish Quarter. With a guide, learn the local secrets of the Eternal City and sample traditional Italian favorites like gelato and pasta, as well as local specialties like fried artichokes. Limited to 12 people, this tour offers a more personal sightseeing experience.
...  More
  • 3 hours 30 minutes
  • Free Cancellation
  • Taking safety measures
From  
$74.12 
From  
$74.12 
Learn More
  • 3 hours 30 minutes
  • Free Cancellation
  • Taking safety measures

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What's the best way to experience San Carlo ai Catinari Church (Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari)?

icon_solid_phone
Book online or call
(888) 651-9785
(888) 651-9785