Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful guide Paula!!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Fred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Morning tour of the colosseum and the palatine hill was very interesting.our guide Katia was very knowledgeable and interesting.The afternoon walking tour was also very interesting and made pleasureable by our excellent guide Franco.The only slight criticism was that the tour ended a long way from the nearest metro station.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Dennis A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The benefit of skipping the very long lines mitigates the price for both passes. The hop on, hop off bus tour was a great way to orient oneself to the city and historic sites and the Rome travel card was nearly worn out in navigating the bus and metro lines for the three days of site-seeing. The staff was helpful in providing directions and suggestions for ensuring the best use of time. Would recommend early arrival for redeeming vouchers as the lines swell as the morning progresses.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Caroline M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly enjoyable.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Cate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was awesome! Our host was fantastic with a great amount of knowledge about Rome. She was very interesting and we really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Marcia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and information provided by our guide.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Lynette V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour, extremely informative, great way to help get orientated in Rome. Although we got lost on the way back to our hotel once the tour ended, but fantastic experience, and enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

sandamuzzell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, very knowledgeable and interesting guide!!!!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Randy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tour guide was so knowledgeable. She was also concerned about her group and made sure all had equal opportunity to enjoy the experience. She kept our interest, Walking us thru and at the same time managed to allow time to soak it all in and enjoy the day. The Colosseum and Ancient Rome were truly a site to visit. So much history and so well kept for us to enjoy. My wife and I thouroghly enjoyed very minute. We would highly recommend this tour. The afternoon tour also just as equally filled with so much enthusiasm from the tour guide. He showed so much interest in his presentation. He walked us thru to all the important areas at the same time allowing us the time to take it all in. Also a great way to see Rome and it's history.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Melanie was great. Best tour-guide, by far, we had in 3 weeks. St. Peter's was closed due to canonization and they planned an alternative trip to Tiber island, which was great. Even if you are unfamiliar with the book, this is a tour to take. Melanie can explain the book in a few minutes and the people that haven't read it followed.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

meng40 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoy the day trip with all skip the line entires. Guides are good and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were four people and we all agreed that Isabella gave us a marvelous tour of the Borghese Gallery and Popolo Church. She is very personable and knowledgeable - a great combination. My husband and I had been to these sites several times we love Caravaggio and Bernini but Isabella gave us insights and history that we never would have known. Brava!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a really long with a lot of walking, so we were exhausted by the end of the day. But it was worth it to see all the famous sites in one day. Our guides were informative and friendly. It was really hot and sunny, and the guide always tried to find a shaded spot for us, which was a sweet touch.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

nerisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is very helpful that we do not have to wait in a long line to enter the Vatican museum.we went right in and the personnel who led us in is very nice and punctual.highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

David W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a nice tour. Really the highlights are Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. There are a number of other things you visit briefly, and I thought it was nice to have someone to explain things.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Mohammed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must for anyone new to Rome. I can't recall my guide's name, but she truly was insightful.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

megwatson0806

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Roberto was a fantastic guide providing the narrative of the books for those on the tour who had only seen the film, which this tour focuses on, in a fun and entertaining manner. Along with taking us on the journey of the book he painted a beautiful picture of Rome's past with all of his knowledge shared throughout the tour. He was happy to answer any questions in detail and gave us an in-depth insight into Rome, showing us how Dan Brown used Rome's history and some of it's many Bernini sculptures within the book.

The air-con coach to take us from place to place was welcomed between destinations, as well as the gelato/drink stop in a small cafe, as we visited during the hot, sunny season!

Regardless of if you have seen the book or the film, I highly recommend this tour. If possible I would book for one of the first days of your Rome visit as you get a good overview of Rome and can use it to get to grips with where things are. Myself and my friend being from two ends of the Angels and Demons spectrum, one being a huge fan of the book and film and the other having seen neither, found that this was out highlight of our Rome trip.

All in all, don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

RoseMary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent and knowledgeable guide, Paulina, good audio receivers, and saw lots. Only stayed for half day as was a very, very hot that day and we had been traveling for over 2 weeks. RoseMary

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

robynandbruce4 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nico was the best guide we have had and we are travelling the for all of 2016.
He had a personality and Knowledge that was incredible.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Raji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Felix was a great guide. Very informative. Gave lots of insights. Adhered to the schedule. Wd highly recommend.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Rennie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour, knowledgeable guide with a wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message