Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information throughout the tour. His sense of humor brought these areas of Rome to life.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Averil W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I'm really sorry that I did not write this sooner, because I think I did my tour guide a GRAVE injustice! I did my tour in November with Elizabetha I hope I spelled her name right. She made Ancient Rome come alive!! You could really tell she has a great love of the subject matter, In fact, she did her university studies on that specific subject.
There was no point in time when I felt bored. And she was very good at moving us along, but not so fast that you felt rushed. Just enough time for each spot. She as able to answer all of our questions, nothing was ever too complicated or too simple for her to answer.
Could I have gotten a Guide Book, sure, but I would have been at a great disadvantage had I not had her.
As this is a walking tour, I'd would advise anyone planning to ensure you have good wlaking shoes, a good night's sleep, and eat a good breakfast.
Dont' carry large back packs, as it really can be a hassle going through security. Come prepared to be wowed!
Don't worry if you can'r be right beside your guide, the radio ear phones are great. It's also a good way for you to realize if you are falling behind or as too far ahead, because the sound with chip just a bit.
Lot's of great spots to take pictures.

I would recommend this for a family if you had older kids, or maybe a younger child who likes history, but don't plan anything else for the rest of the day, because they might be really pooped in the end.
I would definitely go on another tour with this company. It was awesome and a great vaule for my money.
Can't wait to try another one of their products.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Hannah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We genuinely can't rate these tours high enough! Both our tour guides, Fabrizio in the morning and Damiano in the afternoonsneeky photos of them below, were extremely knowledgeable archaeologists that gave us a great insight to the history and architecture of Rome and made our holiday memorable. If it's your first time in Rome, or if you simply want to learn more about this amazing city, we'd highly recommend booking with these guys !

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really beautiful afternoon tour. Our tour guide Damiano was very informative and engaging.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

John G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Tiffany L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not to miss! See the best of the monuments and fountains in one tour!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Mar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great place to learn history of gladiators and Empire. We both a tickets tour in Viator -
Booked your tour to Small Wonders our tour guide is Kristine which we have a good time. She tell us all details - History and the Roman Empire how it made. Tip January is good time to go to Rome, not overcrowded with tourist. And you could take a good scenic without interruption of people around you.

Awesome loved it. If you're going to Rome it's a must see the wonders of Roman Empire how they build this Colosseum without any gadget.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good guide and interesting tour with historical insights- highly recommended

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

mfathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I believe any place in Rome is just amazing, I really love this city.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Luca, our guide, was a font of detailed and entertaining information to provide history and context to what we saw. We would whole heartedly do again. The only way to experience this exquisite treasure trove of art!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Lee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guides for both of these tours were just amazing-so very knowledgeable. We all felt like this was an incredible time well spent and sooooo informative. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing and absolutely worth every cent. Our guide Maria Ludavica was very knowledgeable and even my wife who is very well versed in art history learned a great deal. A warm and wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone with even a small interest in art.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

mness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended. We did the earliest tour available to avoid the crowds. It was still a little crowded but not nearly as much as when we left. Out guide was an art historian and provided great insight into Romes history. We learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed our morning!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

VIKARAMAN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our both guides were very really friendly and took time to explain things very patiently!! One guide,Marciaella was good to us during the afternoon tour. She came back and accompanied us back to us back to the train station. She even made sure my mum was not left behind and was with the group. I think it is worth the price and the quality I received.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Elizabeth S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very friendly guide - very informative -- a great way to get an introduction to Rome -- try to do this tour at the start of your vacation.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Monica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was fabulous. Our tour guides were highly educated and knew their history extremely well. I really enjoy both tours and would recommend these tours. Loved Rome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

jon.glor1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A full on day but absolutely wonderful. Loved every minute. Our guide once again had exceptional knowledge and kept us well informed and entertained.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is as the name states, super saver, is mostly walking and the only ticket that is included is the colosseum access and the gelato very tasty but the guiding and explanation about everything is worth the money, and when you have a tight schedule and want to cover most this is the type of tour you need to take to get to see the most important of the city. All is walking so very confortable shoes are recommended you are walking in ancient stone streets and very uneven places

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

arthurgrice2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is was great! Was able to see a lot of important landmarks at a a very comfortable pace.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

ivanzolini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfetto per visitare i siti più importanti di Roma. Personale competente e cortese.
Le carte Omnia Vaticano e Roma permettono di girare Roma in maniera autonoma.
I biglietti ingresso saltafila sono graditissimi. Vale assolutamente la spesa. Ottimo.

Doing what: The Omnia Vatican and Rome Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

mdolliff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. The group was small so he could take the time to answer everyone's questions. We didn't feel rushed on this tour either. I enjoyed the fact that it was an afternoon tour and since it was in November is gets dark early so we could see these amazing places all lit up at night. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

pamela.noujaim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide for the first part of our tour, Vasco, was fantastic. He was smart, knowledgeable, and hilarious. He was also able to keep our group of about 20 people together during the crowded Colosseum tour. For our second tour, I believe our tour guide was named Louis or something similar. He was friendly and kind, and also knew very much about the city. Even though it was a long day though you do get a couple hour break in between the two tours, my husband and I enjoyed both parts of the tour and were happy to get all the touristy things done in one day so that we could enjoy the rest of our time in Rome at our leisure. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Even the kids loved it. Was great to orient us to the city

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

JMo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Love this tour. Both guides were great but our after lady as excellent. Would highly recommend the tour. Great way to get a feel for the whole City and the old vs the new.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Denis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable for a great tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message