Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chuiku2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rome is such a beautiful city, that you need a week, month or even an year to see all the sights and appreciate them. But if you are short on time, then this tour is definitely the one for you.

You start of in front of the Spanish Steps which are currently being restored and walk along the many side streets of Rome. Each one uncovering one or the other treasures of Rome. And when you have a guide like Francesca who patiently explains to you in detail about each site and also puts in a few anecdotes from her experiences in Rome, then it's a delightful tour.

Some of the places you see are the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon near to where we have a delightful gelato stop and finally ending at Piazza Novona. I have been on many tours of Rome but this one turned out to be the best. Was with my wife and friend who had come over from India. My friend really appreciated Francesca as her accent and explanations were very easy to follow. Kudos to her.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour was fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the place and also the time that the place was presenting. There were many moments when several of us on the tour were quite amazed at the depth of her knowledge.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Elaine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely worth doing. Both guides were engaging and accommodating.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Alexander G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum than this card is a must. Expensive but you do cut the lines. Be prepared because they heard you like cattle and rush you through. No AC in many of the rooms and it was incredibly hot and humid inside. Never again in July.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

JP Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fantastic tour connected to the book. Our guide, Roberto, led us on the adventure that Robert Langdon followed while giving us great historical details about the artifacts and the buildings featured in the book. He separated fact from fiction and kept us on our toes using humour and wit.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was one of our highlights of Rome. Our guide Roberto knew the book inside and out and made the day come alive. We learned so much about Rome, Bernini, and the novel. Well worth the time and money and definitely a must do!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

rio.oneill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing! It was a very full day with a lot of walking, but we definitely saw many highlights of Rome. Maura was our guide for the morning and Vasco for the afternoon. Both were great guides that knew lots of information. Definitely recommend this tour if your time in Rome is limited.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Burt P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Could not have been better. Professional in every way!!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Sian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour ,with lots of information and walking !!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

astridmdafter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Doriana was the most amazing tour guide, having excellent knowledge of history and geography, and as an archiologist had some current diggings news as well. Dorianna did a great job to keep us focussed in the heat. It was the best tour we have done

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day in the summer, but well worth it. The colosseum was amazing, and the best of highlights helped us see things we would have missed navigating ourselves.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

ELAINE N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great way to spend the day in Rome. Laura was a great guide of the Colosseum! She provided history, stories and the right amount of humor along the way! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Donna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The money spent on this was well worth it and more. If you go, it and #39;s imparitive that you purchase these passes to skip the line. Vatican City was beautiful and an experience we will never forget.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Reginald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour and the guides were fantastic. We were very disappointed that the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish steps were closed.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Victoria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant - so easy to use and the staff were fantastic, knowledgeable and helpful. Buses were frequent and this ticket was such excellent value for money

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gabrielle was our guide. He was absolutely amazing. We were a group of 12 and he paid attention to all of us. It was all our first experience riding an e-bike and we all loved it. We visited Florence from the top of the city and in the city, we ate amazing food and tasted great wine. This was one of the highlights in Italy. Thanks Gabrielle.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Tammy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

your guide GG was spectacular he really made the trip. What an amazing guy, engaging and knowledgeable with a great sense of humour and his English was very clear.

Skipped the tour in the afternoon though as the heat was unbearable opted for a siesta instread

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

abid4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Ursuse was very politer and knowledgeable. Gave us a detailed tour.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message