Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Casey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this tour of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Skipping the line at the colosseum was great and a huge time saver. Our tour guide Maria was great and really added to the experience. She especially shined at the Roman Forum bringing the ruins to life and really painting a picture of the majesty of what this area once was. Without her I would have just been staring at a bunch of ruins and not really sure what I was looking at. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

shirley.cropper2011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just visited Rome for 5 nights. On our first morning we did the Rome Segway Tour at 9.30am for 3 hours. There were only 7 of us in the group and after a short practice/briefing we set off. It was a fun and great way to get to know the area and it's history. Our tour guide was very informative. We covered plenty of ground and went to places that we are certain we wouldn't have gone to or found without the aid of a guide.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Les A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Enjoyed the experience to see behind the scenes at this fantastic building

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sonya United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very informative tour. I recommend it to those looking to learn about Colosseum and Roman forums

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

3rd time to Rome and the Colosseum and this was by far the best tour! The VIP area access is such a bonus and the guides are terrific and full of interesting info you'd miss otherwise. So worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour took us to the underground chambers and up to the platform and a few other behind-the-scenes locations. One of the best tours I have ever taken.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aimee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable, recreated the times for us! I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours I have ever been on, well worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Francesca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was by far the highlight of my trip. The underground and Upper Tier were brilliant and defiantly worth a visit. would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the Colosseum and its history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the highlight of our trip to Rome. Bob our tour guide is the Emperor. He was awesome. Put it this way. Once we completed the first segway tour, we signed up for the second one. Really a great experience. Did a great job teaching us to ride and then was great on the tour. They use very good headsets and you are able to understand everything he says.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I can't remember the name of our guide but she was great. She spoke with passion and knowledge and was fun to listen too. I would recommend this tour to everyone...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sai Chaitanya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It must and one of the highlight of our Italy tour. Its a five star company with all the guides and facilities in five star standards. We got special access to underground chambers and is as said in the tour description. Both our guides were very knowledgeable and very informative and provide detailed description on sites visited.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent value for the money and a must as the detail provided by the tour guide you would never know if you did it alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really excellent way to see Rome. Guide was knowledgeable and funny and had a great point of view. The Segways make getting round Rome very straightforwad and actually fun. The timing and structure was perfect and we saw loads of places and things that a walking or other tour would have missed.

Could not recommmend higly enough!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you want to go to the Colosseum and Forum, do yourself a favour and pay the extra money to do this. The guides were brilliant, and the opportunity to see so much of the Colosseum was special. Very worthwhile! Pack yourself a snack as you finish inside the Forum so can stay longer.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Tristan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Good tour and tour guide, well planned, with a lot of good info.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. Magdalena was very knowledgeable and fun. She made the history come alive. The directions were very clear and we found our tour with no problems. The audio system was a big plus. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Natalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Totally worth the money! Our tour guide Laura was fabulous and very knowledgeable. even though it wasn and #39;t high season, the placentral was packed and the lines were very long. So sad we didn and #39;t booked more tours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best way to see this remarkable building and historical Roman influence. Once again extremely knowledgeable guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Getting to go to underground and skipping the lines was well worth the money. If you are going to come all this way a tour guide really helps you not miss anything important.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Daniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. I wouldn't want to ride a bicycle through the streets of Rome without a competent and friendly guide. We wound up with only 3 of us on the tour. We were all experienced city cyclists in fairly good shape. The riding was technically a bit challenging for us. I would avoid this ride if I were not a fairly competent cyclist and certainly would not label this an easy ride. We saw many of the major sites of Rome and several that were a bit off the beaten path. We were left with a very good feel for the city and helpful suggestions for places to tour and places to eat on our own. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The equipment was good. We had very good weather. I would be wary of doing this tour in the rain with slick wet streets.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Bretto S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was amazing to see in real life. But the magic of this tour was our guide Vasco. He was a champion and had so much information, so many stories and interacted with all the members of our small group so well. It was great to see the arena stage, the lower areas and the higher tiers of the Colosseum and this tour connected well to the Roman Forum next door.
I'm still amazed thinking of all the stories Vasco told us and I'm sure he had hundreds more !
I'd thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to really learn about the Colosseum and Roman Forum rather then just looking at the ruins.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Parkman H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide held our attention with her intelligent and informed discourse for three full hours and more. From the Colosseum and Forum to the Palatine Hill she pointed out fascinating details of the physical layout, adding revelatory historical themes, biographies of the various emperors, and archaeological as well as geographical trends over the millennia. She fielded our questions with grace and insight. Her humor helped her to carry her knowledge lightly. I'm not sure how this tour could have been organized or executed in a better way. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message