Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you want to go to the Colosseum and Forum, do yourself a favour and pay the extra money to do this. The guides were brilliant, and the opportunity to see so much of the Colosseum was special. Very worthwhile! Pack yourself a snack as you finish inside the Forum so can stay longer.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Tristan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Good tour and tour guide, well planned, with a lot of good info.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. Magdalena was very knowledgeable and fun. She made the history come alive. The directions were very clear and we found our tour with no problems. The audio system was a big plus. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Natalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Totally worth the money! Our tour guide Laura was fabulous and very knowledgeable. even though it wasn and #39;t high season, the placentral was packed and the lines were very long. So sad we didn and #39;t booked more tours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best way to see this remarkable building and historical Roman influence. Once again extremely knowledgeable guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Getting to go to underground and skipping the lines was well worth the money. If you are going to come all this way a tour guide really helps you not miss anything important.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Daniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. I wouldn't want to ride a bicycle through the streets of Rome without a competent and friendly guide. We wound up with only 3 of us on the tour. We were all experienced city cyclists in fairly good shape. The riding was technically a bit challenging for us. I would avoid this ride if I were not a fairly competent cyclist and certainly would not label this an easy ride. We saw many of the major sites of Rome and several that were a bit off the beaten path. We were left with a very good feel for the city and helpful suggestions for places to tour and places to eat on our own. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The equipment was good. We had very good weather. I would be wary of doing this tour in the rain with slick wet streets.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Bretto S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was amazing to see in real life. But the magic of this tour was our guide Vasco. He was a champion and had so much information, so many stories and interacted with all the members of our small group so well. It was great to see the arena stage, the lower areas and the higher tiers of the Colosseum and this tour connected well to the Roman Forum next door.
I'm still amazed thinking of all the stories Vasco told us and I'm sure he had hundreds more !
I'd thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to really learn about the Colosseum and Roman Forum rather then just looking at the ruins.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Parkman H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide held our attention with her intelligent and informed discourse for three full hours and more. From the Colosseum and Forum to the Palatine Hill she pointed out fascinating details of the physical layout, adding revelatory historical themes, biographies of the various emperors, and archaeological as well as geographical trends over the millennia. She fielded our questions with grace and insight. Her humor helped her to carry her knowledge lightly. I'm not sure how this tour could have been organized or executed in a better way. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very experienced and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Nicola the guide was excellent. Explained everything in an enthusiastic and informative manner. If I return to Rome I will do it again, I suffered from information overload by the end. A MUST DO tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gavin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was Franchesca, a very knowledgeable archiologist who was truly outstanding. The trip enabled you to see the major sights of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palantine Hill and took a little over three hours. The insight that Franchesca was able to provide was both amusing and very helpful in bringing to life Roman history and what life would have been like in Ancient Rome. Would recommend bringing a bottle of water and thoroughly recommend the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kasturi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a fantastic experience. The tour guide explained everything in detail and did a great job of answering questions for everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mariella is great...like having your own personal Historian and Archaeologist! Very informative and knowledgeable and truly enjoys sharing the experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

ThatGuyJM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Bob the Emperor was great. Since all of the places you'd want to visit are in different areas, using a Segway takes the work out of it. The great thing about this tour was the fact that we visited pretty much every bucket list item. They give you time to take pictures at every stop and the history that they share gives you a better picture of where you're standing. Try to this tour first, you'll cover a lot of ground in 3 hours. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Lakisha J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was fantastic, our guide was very friendly and exremely knowledgeable! Me and my boyfriend thourughly enjoyed this and would highly reccomend this to everyone. I would definatly advise upgrading your tour to see the underground chambers etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Cristina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although not in full season, the crowds were quite large. We did take the tour on a beautiful sunny Saturday, which could account for so many people. Our guide Patricia was amazing. Three hours of facts filled odyssey through Ancient Rome. It was a perfect introduction to Rome, for our first time visit. It truly set the stage for our future visits. Couldn't ask for a better tour. Easy to follow directions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sanjay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour, made much better by a great guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant tour. So informative and our guide was excellent. Great to get a guide who had been for of an actual dig in this area. Just brilliant. Lots of walking so take comfy shoes!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Extremely knowledgeable guides, they were pleasant and made the whole tour incredibly interesting. The audio equipment used was great it meant we weren and #39;t all crowded round struggling to hear. There was a fair bit of walking tho so perhaps not for the less mobile

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Toni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a trip of a life time! The group was small and the guide was well informed! You get to see many things that i would never have found on my own. Love it

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Anthony l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the best way to start the trip and the best way to get around rome quickly. The tour gave us a general outline of rome and all the particular area of interest. Our guide was fantastic, he was a local and knew so much of Rome's history, it was great retracing the tour during our time there. Thank you for a great experience

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

morgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabrizio was an AMAZING tour guide. He explained everything extremely thoroughly and had great stories. I highly recommend this tour, it's worth the little extra money to see the upper tier and the underground chambers. It was such an incredible experience. The upper tier you can see over the Roman Forum perfectly.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I had been to the Colosseum years before and had not had a guide. I probably learned and understood 3x as much going through with an experienced and very well educated guide - she was rather brilliant - so I felt it was well worth the booking. There is so much to know and experience. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message