Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14916 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

June K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour covers a lot of ground and history but Francesca I think was great, very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aladin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative tour with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Loll46

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great! Really informative and our guide Maura was knowledgable and funny - a pleasure to listen to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

thomas w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour. The skip the line was great as the que was huge without a tour. Guide was very personable. At the end of the tour we broke off and explored the Palestine area further. Good time of year. Avoid late summer trips if you can because of the heat and crowds

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rachel Helen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was wonderful, mainly because our guide Patricia was so knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. She answered all questions in great detail and really brought ancient Rome to life. The use of head-sets was a very good idea as it enabled us to hear her clearly even when we weren't standing next to her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Erin N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour!! Our guide was an older gentleman and a lifelong citizen of Rome. He loves his city and it shows! Was a good pace, saw many top sights and our guide made it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Garry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Magnificent. What made this tour was the guide from City Wonders. He was fantastic, unfortunately the guide who took over for the tour inside the Colosseum to take us to the lower and higher levels was not nearly as good and the sound equipment she used to talk to us was of a poor quality. Bring your good walking shoes folks this is a a long walk but not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Benjamin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Very educational and the tour guide was very easy to understand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fantastic and Barbara was brilliant . A great way to see Rome Good family fun too.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Blair H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience. Been there before on the standard above ground tour, but getting to see the underground chanbers, mechanical screw elevators, and water/drainage system was interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

April A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marvellous tour, our guide Halina was brilliant. She really brought the history of Rome to life, she was full of information and enthusiasm. It was the highlight of our time in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

crooks.sharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide. Maria Louisa spoke clear and not too fast. She was great. The audio equipment was very good also. Enjoyed it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

lombardmegan88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing, Francesca was absolutely fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Alba was a fantastic tour guide with a wealth of information and a pleasing personality. Take her tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

stephaniejillwallis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, tour guide was fantastic and we got to see so much. The tour guides were very knowledgable, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Francesca was an excellent tour guide. She was so knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

sfgorgei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and guide extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Kaushil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! One of the highlights of Rome. The tour is very well organised and the tour guide was excellent. Skip the line tickets are definitely a must. Highly recommend booking this tour. It's awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I recommend the half-day walking tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Juli B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience - would recommend it to our friends.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour itself was very informational and had an array of sights to see. The bummer was taking 20-30 minutes to get through security at the Colosseum. After that you get to see the colosseum from a much different perspective than movies. Definitely a must in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

guide was very informative and patient. The tour was in no way rushed, definitely will go with city wonders again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Marc W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Exceptional tour. Superb guide who really took the time to bring Ancient Rome to life..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message