Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14383 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paris Family ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour on a very hot day! Our guide was knowledgeable with interesting insight. We were met by an archeologist at the Colosseum that provided a well rounded experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

ian t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Colosseum tour was great. You need to jump the cue's as they stretch for ages. The guides are great also giving you not only information but plenty of photos to give you looks at how things look before originally.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was a wealth of knowledge and answered everyones questions articulately. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Forget every Hollywood sword-and-sandals movie you've ever seen. Instead, book a tour of these ancient ruins and discover the FACTS about their history. Our tour guide was Elizabeta and she was absolutely superb. A qualified archaeologist, she had been personally involved in excavations in the area around the Colosseum. She led the tour with passion, authority, friendliness and humour.

If you're 'on the fence' about whether to book a tour, don't be. Otherwise you'll be one of those tourists who wander around in a daze because they have no idea what they're looking at. The Colosseum, Forum and Palatine have little-to-no signage, and you really do need some expertise to make sense of it all.

Some further tips:

1 Book the earliest tour you can, before the heat gets unbearable
2 Wear comfortable shoes and take a bottle of water
3 Bring comfortable earphones to use instead of the ones supplied
4 Go with an enquiring mind and ask questions

Oh, and PLEASE leave your dreadful selfie sticks at home. You already have two selfie sticks - they're called ARMS.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Maura was an excellent guide. It was easy to find the group and she made sure we all stayed together. We could hear her well with a headset. Showed all the sights with great commentary as we went along. You will miss lots of things to see and explanations if you don't do a tour. She was very well informed

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dave D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! well worth the price considering the long lines. In addition you are free to stay on in the Forum after the tour for the remainder of the day if desired.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Damiano, was excellent. He provided a thoroughly enjoyable and educational experience. We got exactly what we were hoping for--a good look at the Coloseo and the Fora Romano, and lots of information that only an educated historian/archaeologist like Damiano could provide. I would always recommend stopping for a toilet break before leaving the coloseum. We did that. Thank you!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Raashid H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a insightful and enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mutti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was the greatest experience. The guide was so nice and very knowledgeable. It was all great but the headset. We could only hear what the guide was telling, when we were very close to her.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was fantastic and well knowledgeable. Directions for finding location to meet were easy to follow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

tom.krawczyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. She does this daily and studied archeology so she knew everything about the Colosseum and roman forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Elizabeth Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We highly recommend the bike tour - it was a great way to see Rome and our guide did a fantastic job of describing the sites and the history of the various highlights during the tour. It was the first thing we did upon arriving in Rome and gave us an excellent feel for the city.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

anthony s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great experience brought to life by an intelligent, knowledegable and funny guide, it brought so many interesting facts and highlighted things you would miss by yourself, absolutely reccommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

trent.glasier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! Definitely the highlight of our 7 days in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Jacques R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. This was a very good way to discover the city in a different active way. Our guide Allessandra was very good and knowledgeable. I recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Danielle, was awesome. He was very personable and attentive to everyone's experience. You have a great employee in Danielle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Melvyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Despite the continuous rain, this tour by TopBike Rental and tours was very worth the time getting wet. They gave the option to go on a drier day if we wished too. The tour guide Ugo was friendly and very knowledgeable about the history of the places we rode too. He kept the pace very well and always waited for stragglers, and gave us time to walk around some of the stopping places.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

robbender93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was amazing. She was so well educated on all the happenings in and around the Colosseum and did a great job sharing this knowledge. The ability to skip a long line in the hot sun was great. Bring plenty of water and a hat. Highly highly recommend the tour and our guide!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a terrific tour. Our guide was informative and interesting - filled with all sorts of information one would not get from just walking around. She made the Colosseum, Forum and Palantine Hill fascinating. Despite the heat, we didn't leave the tour early. Just great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Tolanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My guide was awesome. Honestly I forgot her name but she took us to some awesome spots, her enthusiasm was amazing and infectious and I absolutely loved it. I did my tour on my last day there and I was actually happy that I did. We didn't hit the major touristy spot that I could go to on the trains which I did by the way The crowds were pretty much just right to roll around on a Segway. Learning was easy!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Meher Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mike was a great guide - my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the bike tour. I was nervous about biking in a foreign country, on main roads alongside cars etc... but we found quiet bike paths and Mike was great about helping the group navigate busy streets. I think the morning tour probably hits more of the bigger sites but I enjoyed the places we visited too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Laura was our tour guide and did an fantastic job. She was very well informed, her command of English was great and took the time to answer any questions we had.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

From start to finish this was an excellent tour. Well organised and managed at all stages. We went on this particular tour as it enabled access to the lower and upper areas of the Colusseum. This was well worth the extra money. Very interesting and entertaining, thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message