Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14315 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and the trip underground was worth the extra cost.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

rdpaquin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so lucky to have Francesca for our Vatican and colosseum tours. It was amazing just being there, but to hear her talk about it just made it so much better. The process was very organized and we'll run. Highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Demetrios M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding guide. She was very knowledgeable, cheerful and fun ! The explanations were in depth and interesting. Highly recommend it. One would not appreciate what they saw strolling along alone. The ruins were remarkable but brought to life by the guided explanations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

T P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't have asked for a better tour.
Our guide was called Sev, an American archaeologist teaching in Rome and his knowledge was outstanding, combined with a good sense of humour and a genuine care that totally made the tour.
The tour itself was excellent, covering many parts of the Colosseum that the general public don't get to see, then on to the Forum with lots of eye opening facts.
Well worth the money, you don't get to say that very often these days.
Don't forget your water if it's going to be a hot day.
Many thanks Sev, from the family on the right side of Hadrian's Wall !

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an experience a must see in Rome !! The tour guide was exceptional!! Learned a lot and would do it again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with a really knowledgable guide,very helpful and answered all questions asked.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David Mark W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour and well worth the money. Our tour guide had a Ph.D. in anthropology and was very informative and helpful. Great tour, book it early !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Constance R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Giuseppe was very passionate about his tour subjects and my husband and I learned alot. We have been there before but Giuseppe made it a living experience......thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mark_haywood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Guides were very knowledgable and entertaining. We were booked on the 9:30am tour but we had to transfer to the 11:15am tour. No reason why. The down side was that it was a very hot day with the Colosseum part of the tour not ending until about 2:30pm and then we off to Palatino and the Forum. A long tour in the middle of the day with no break or option to buy water.
A lot of people opted out of the guided part of Palatino and instead were given their tickets with a view to go later in the day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Frank N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour however this company is not licensed to visit the underground Colosseum , we were handed off to another guide from the company who is licensed

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour! The tour guides we had 2 were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized with the skip the line working nicely. We went into areas that the average ticket buyer did not get into and it was very interesting. The tour guides gave time to take photos and really take in the environment. It was not rushed. It was quite a walk in the hot sun to the Forum and Palantine Hill, but the tour guide had nothing to do with that. Most of our tour dropped out due to the walk in the heat -- I completed the tour and enjoyed it very much. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Shane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide, Valentina, was knowledgeable and very personable. She was happy to answer all of our questions and was very flexible. The ruins and their story are fascinating. Seeing the Colosseum and understanding its history and development is an essential part of getting to know Rome for any visitor. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sonia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing experience! Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

blondie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide made it fun with interesting details. He made sure everyone was there and realized it was very hot and kept people in the shade. He knew a lot about his subject.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

George E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely LOVED our Rome bike tour. Highly recommend it. Best way to see city. Touches all major sites. Valeria, our guide was excellent. Do it everybody!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth every penny to skip the line and have such a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. Absolutely a must do when in Rome!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mona E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An easy and fun way to see important highlights in Rome. Our tour guide was fantastic and very patience. A fun tour to do with family.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great evening of music on our first night in Rome

Doing what: Rome Sightseeing by Antique Tram Including Wine

Doris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent. She was so knowledgeable due in part to her background as an archeologist
This was an excellent tour and covered so much history that we were blown away and very moved about walking on roads built in BC and viewing first hand history we all have studied.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. Really loved the guides. They were friendly, informative and very conversational.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was well worth doing, I would recommend this to anyone who is reasonably fit and healthy and can ride a bike. We got to see much more than just walking, the guide was fabulous, the bikes well well maintained and well equipped. We loved this trip - the four hours flew by. I'd like to point out that we are 53 and 58 very good value for money and great fun.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was AWESOME. Our tour guide, Barbara was the best. She was so knowledgeable and knew so much about the sites and showed us the most interesting things. We went on the morning tour before it got too hot, which was nice. They did a great job and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Daphne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! We had the privilege of having Alessandro as our tour guide. This man was not only an extremly knowledgable archaeologist, but he was so passionate about Italy and its rich history! We learned so much from him. He taught us about things I would have never rad in books!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Deborah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message