Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15421 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent bike tour hosted by Emanuel. Very professional organisation with excellent bikes, clean helmets and kit bags, and bike garage. The tour and itinerary was excellent covering both sides of the Tiber. Very suitable for all.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Brian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant give access to parts of the Colosseum not normaly open to the general public. Allows you to view the building in a small quiet group. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Linda M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect choice to allow us to see these 3 ancient sites Colosseum, Forum, Palatine Hill. Tour was just long enough to enjoy and not feel rushed. We had time at the end to explore the Palatine hill museum as well. Elizabetha was an excellent, enthusiastic guide, and an archeologist by training. I am certain my daughter and I would not have appreciated what we saw as much, without our guide's excellent narrative and stories. I had been to Rome 30 years prior, but felt I never really appreciated world history as I did after this day. We were outside for the entire tour and the weather was perfect for a January day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mutaz F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very friendly staff, good bikes, Elizabeth our guide was very friendly and nice talking to, we spent a lovely time on that morning in Rome, viewed almost all the historic landmarks in the city, I highly recommend this tour to others.

Mutaz Ferman

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful, amazing to step on the grounds where so many were entertained and some lost their lives. So much history here. We bought the pass the lines, early entry and went down below where the animals and slaves were kept. It is ruins but if you use your imagination you will appreciate the history. wonderful time in Roma

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

KB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Incredible tour. Spent the day going back in time. Our guide was an archaeologist. He had vast knowledge about the architecture, history, and the drama ancient Rome. This was an amazing tour. A must do when in Rome

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

ML

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was excellent. Very informative. Just be aware that is a walking tour that may not be suitable for older folks or those have issues of walking at a faster pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Oh boy! This was fantastic. before we headed into the Colosseum we did an extensive walking tour of the Roman Forum. Our guide was brilliant. Talked us through all the inmportant locations and really brought the forum to life and helped us visualise what a day would look and feel like. Stepping inside the Colosseum was an experieince I'll never forget. Going below the arena floor to where the animals and slaves were held was fantastic. A must do in Rome

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Bethany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great way to get the history and see the Colloseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

skhan2769

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rosie was an incredibly informative guide, and because it was Christmas week the museums were very crowded. No matter where we were able to make our stop to talk as a group, in any random spot, Rosie had vital information to share about any piece of art.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

jonboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable and interesting.
Well worth the money

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

amquick160

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an amazing tour!! Our guide talked us through the history of the area and shared with us her love for Rome what what made it the city it is today. The underground tour at the Colosseum was handed off to an archeologist who was equally as amazing, her love for the history that was at our very feet and hands reach was palatable. She painted verbal pictures of what took place in the underground chamber and who had access to each level of the colosseum.
I would highly recommend both Viator and this excursion. Simply amazing and worth the price!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Raphael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Bike tour was fantastic! Emmanuelle was a great guide- passionate about the city and highly informative. He was also very focused on safety! ( it was however very safe and we cycled areas with very little traffic! )Saw a side or Rome we never would have seen otherwise!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour of the Colosseum. We've done Colosseum tours before, but now they have opened the underground area making it better. The guide was great. Always more to see and learn. I recommend it if you haven't been in a few years.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are going to see the Colosseum go on this tour it covers everything from top to bottom. literally. Fantastic informative guides, told me so much I can't remember it all but it was very entertaining too, not boring. It was so hot that I was very grateful we skipped the lines and went straight in once inside it was cool and pleasant, tour was very well organised and I enjoyed it a lot would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely amazing the tour guides were brilliant thank you a must if you go to Rome their knowledge of the history and architecture brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Philomena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour which we thoroughly enjoyed! We were privileged to be accompanied by an archaeologist, Elizabeth who was our guide on the tour. Huge thanks to Elizabeth who was so professional, courteous and informative and made the tour so special.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Fabrizio was the man! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nujood M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was marvellous going all around the colosseum and Rome forum we had great time going through old history of Rome with the our wonderful guide Francesca who was more that capable of delivering history to us smoothly and elegently she just made us want more and more thank you for such an informative guide and a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill was fantastic. Paulo was a great guide who was extremely knowledgeable and his stories of the areas really brought them to life. The only minor downside was the ice that was on the arena floor of the Colosseum which caused the Colosseum staff to close off access to the floor, but that allowed us more time in the underground chambers which are amazing to see.
Would recommend this tour and Paulo to anybody wanting to explore Old Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

amy.skeet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

amazing tour. WOW. the history is stunning.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sylvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic. Lara really knew her stuff and was fun to walk around with. She answered all questions thoroughly and really made an effort to include everyone. I am so glad we did this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So wonderful! Our guide Julia really brought the Colosseum and Ancient Rome to life. She was enthusiastic and a joy to listen to. We learned so much, worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastically good 3 hour trip. No long queue for the tickets and a private guide for the two of us. I did not realise that I had arranged for that rather than a group tour but am very glad I did. Our guide was brilliant: well informed took everything at the right pace and was a joy to be with. Quite a lot of walking - but that is because there is a great deal to see. All fascinating and excellently explained.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message