Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mustafa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was very well organized. our guide was quite knowledgeable and polite. definetly i suggest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

teresa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! Learned so much information from him. Money well spent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sheila A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A guia impressionou pelos alto conhecimento do conteúdo histórico. As 3h de conhecimento valeram muito a pena, recomendo!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend! Our guide was an archeologist and was very knowledgable and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

denise m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was definitely worth every euro paid.....as a group of 4 in rome for 4 nights this was the best bit of our trip. Vasco, our guide, was great. Highly knowledgeable and entertaining....the sound equipment worked perfectly so we could hear him at every stage. Highly recommend this tour. Thank you Vasco.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. We got to go into locked areas of the Colosseum. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson on Rome. Loved it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Wai Kit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. Very informative and knowledgable tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Olga H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was recommended to us by friends and it was just perfect, our tour guide was a blonde lady and I cannot remember her name, but she was awesome and knowledgeable and gave highlights and interesting little facts, never boring!! We cannot imagine doing Rome on our own! Totally worth every cent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Guy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to end our stay in Rome. Our guide Maria was very knowledgable and gave us plenty of time for photos and questions. Skip the line is a great way to save time and is worth the price. We did the 8:30 tour and only had 10 in our group instead of the normal 25 it was like a private your. Incredible architecture and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing! Seeing it on TV or in books doesn't even come close to the up close and personal in live person!
Our tour guide was great and very informative.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

meganhannah63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Imperial Rome Afternoon Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did a good job. The guides english was good and understandable. He could have pointed out a few more things about the Palentine Hill that we could have explored on our own. There were some good overlooks of the ruins that we discovered later.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour and very knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Iban S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You must book this tour if you want to explore the Colosseum with an archaeologist and a Viator tour guide. We were able to go underground and to the very top with an archaeologist explaining every detail of the Colosseum. Our tour guide Emanuela Emmy was very polite and knowledgable as well. We started our tour at 8:30 or 9 am and were done by Noon or so. We also toured the ruins which were right next door as well. TIP: Were comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Helder S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Get ready to walk a bit. The guide was really nice... 5*

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour with the most knowledgeable guides. This tour cost a bit more but it was well worth it. We were able to see the underground tunnels and the top floor of the Colosseum. Amazing views from the top. The guides are excited to share what they know and work hard. This teacher gives it an A

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Anthony J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a superb tour! Thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. Francesca our guide was excellent and full of knowledge. She obviously had an accent which we soon got use to her and her passion for giving us a great day were obvious to see. But probably our favourite part of the trip was going to the Underground Chambers and this is where an archeologist joins the party - you really could picture what is was like all those years ago. The tour is expensive but worth every penny if you ask me. I was trying to imagine what visiting the Colosseum would be like without the tour guides and I reckon it would take you half an hour.... we must have been in the venue for nearly three and it flew by!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Steven D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Small group and very knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Hi we had a really good tour , with a very informed and interested guide sorry forgotten his name but picture attached we wish all guides were this good as we have found that good guides really bring things life

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide we had Alba was very knowledgeable and very friendly. I would rate this tour as very good you could of walked around yourself but the questions and answers we asked and received was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had a lot of fun on this tour. We saw quite a bit of the central part of the city. Raff (short for Rafaela) provided a lot of historical info while we rode around, using a nice radio headset apparatus. It and #39;s a nice way to see some sights in a short period of time without tiring out your legs

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

freedom60 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organized . Very informative and very knowledgeable staff. Lots to see and learn.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Paula6252

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rome was amazing, this tour was the best!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message