Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14645 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

david g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you get the chance to do this tour with the purple fishour guide you will be extremely lucky. She had so much energy to keep the tour and your time extremely enjoyable. We did several tours during our trip, and this one with the extra addition of seeing below the arena and above the third floor is a must

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rome_trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pur guide Peter George was awesome. He was extremely knowledgeable but also considerate to our needs. He made sure the pace was good for everyone and that we remained hydrated during his super informative tour. He was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Grant F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved Paulo! Great tour and experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Rachael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was great! She knew so many facts and explained everything well. It was very crowded when we went and we got separated too far to hear at one point so STAY CLOSE. The meeting place was easy to find with the description. It was a lot of walking but that's expected. We got in very quickly and easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Hillaria with city wonders did a wonderful job. It was entertaining and very informative. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Arvind B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the perfect tour to start our Italian Sojourn. If you have not seen the Colosseum with this tour, then probably, you have not been to the Colosseum.

Our tour guide knew his job well. It was all the money's worth to skip the line and be able to visit entire Colosseum like a VIP!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Corey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The coliseum tour was fantastic. Really enjoyed the tour of Palatine hill. Wish we had more time in the Forum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Fiona m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the money. Alina the tour guide was brilliant. She was very welcoming and gave great information. The tour was best day out of holiday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Fawaz A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour wad amazing!! Very informative.


Very very very much recommended if you want to see and hear stories about the Ancient Rome and colosseum.

Use suitable shoes for comfort walking... and ask about tour guide named Sev or Sef, he will show different angels and different stories.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

etterjf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just took this tour with Alessandro as our guide. He is an archaeologist and was so informative! Trying to see these sights on our own would have been stressful and time consuming but Alessandro took care of everything. We moved straight through the lines, learned so much and were able to get great photos in the process.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Naomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful way to get to Rome. I enjoyed the tour and the guide was knowledgeable regarding the history of Rome. We were well looking after on the roads and also a little challenged by the bike ride. Worked off our gelato at the end of the ride! Although you didnt have to be very fit to enjoy the tour but it did help that I was.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

adrian.selinapearce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All guides were excellent, very organised, fantastic tour

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sheeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with great access, and very good guides to explain things and answer questions. the afternoon dragged on a little after the Colosseum, but all around great tour

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Giovanni our guide was just fabulous. Very amicable - made us all feel comfortable including our 12 and 13 year olds and made every effort to ensure we were travelling ok. Excellent knowledge of the subject matter - an archaeologist no less - that gave us a wonderful insight into the history of the Colosseum and forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Anastasia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Azurra was a fabulous tour guide with excellent English! She provided great information and could answer all our questions. The headsets made it easy to hear and it was so nice not to wait in lines, especially in the heat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Hugo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was an architect by trade and his inset on the Colosseum was really interesting. Unfortunately the Palatine Hill closed early without prior notice and we couldn't get inside however we were taken for a walk around the compound and learned a lot interesting facts. Highly recommended. Also definitely recommend this due to skipping the queue's!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

geraldine.mart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really good tour we learned a lot about the history of Rome and the Colosseum, there was a lot of walking involved more than expected but definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the morning tour to avoid the heat and increased crowds and it was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

fhs84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic, Valentina was great. Archaeologist inside of Coloseum was also fantastic. Both gave us lot history information. Highly recommend the tour. Halina

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rhodema C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Knowledgeable guide who was easy to understand. She encouraged questions and shared many interesting facts. The insider access to the underground area was fantastic and worth the cost.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

babs12564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! Absolutely awe inspiring, highly recommend! Got into area only this tour does and was well worth it! Tour guide Valentina was lovely and very knowledgable and the length of tour was just enough to enjoy on a very hot day!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. Overall recommend this tour with this company. They took us to other parts other than the Colosseum. Although there wasn't enough time spent in the other areas, you were allowed to spend your free time after the tour end in spots the tour did not cover or areas where you wanted to take more pictures.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Maxwell B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message