Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors watched gladiators ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3877 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great and informative tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. It was an excellent, hassle free way to experience the Colosseum and some of the ruins of ancient Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

stevehouston1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and explained many interesting details of the colosseum and forum. Enjoyed hearing all the history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dong B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A friend and I went on this and had Gigi as a guide. He was awesome, very dramatic very I enjoyed. If this is your first time at the Colosseum you NEED a tour guide and I would highly recommend Viator. The guides were knowledgeable and gave you enough time at each spot. You also need to go to the underground and top floor. This tour was worth every penny!!! Gigi I'm sure I spelled his name wrong was also awesome!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Robert Y Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Being in the basement of the colosseum was amazing. This is the area animals and slaves were kept before being sent to their doom. There is a working model of the type of elevator used to take them up to the arenas surface. The tunnel to the gladiator barracks has been excavated but is not open..

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. We got to go into locked areas of the Colosseum. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson on Rome. Loved it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

pamela.noujaim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide for the first part of our tour, Vasco, was fantastic. He was smart, knowledgeable, and hilarious. He was also able to keep our group of about 20 people together during the crowded Colosseum tour. For our second tour, I believe our tour guide was named Louis or something similar. He was friendly and kind, and also knew very much about the city. Even though it was a long day though you do get a couple hour break in between the two tours, my husband and I enjoyed both parts of the tour and were happy to get all the touristy things done in one day so that we could enjoy the rest of our time in Rome at our leisure. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Iban S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You must book this tour if you want to explore the Colosseum with an archaeologist and a Viator tour guide. We were able to go underground and to the very top with an archaeologist explaining every detail of the Colosseum. Our tour guide Emanuela Emmy was very polite and knowledgable as well. We started our tour at 8:30 or 9 am and were done by Noon or so. We also toured the ruins which were right next door as well. TIP: Were comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour with the most knowledgeable guides. This tour cost a bit more but it was well worth it. We were able to see the underground tunnels and the top floor of the Colosseum. Amazing views from the top. The guides are excited to share what they know and work hard. This teacher gives it an A

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Anthony J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a superb tour! Thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. Francesca our guide was excellent and full of knowledge. She obviously had an accent which we soon got use to her and her passion for giving us a great day were obvious to see. But probably our favourite part of the trip was going to the Underground Chambers and this is where an archeologist joins the party - you really could picture what is was like all those years ago. The tour is expensive but worth every penny if you ask me. I was trying to imagine what visiting the Colosseum would be like without the tour guides and I reckon it would take you half an hour.... we must have been in the venue for nearly three and it flew by!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Phyllis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Luca, Luca, and Rachael led 3 small groups that totaled 17 people. Each was very knowledgeable and had a warm and friendly personality. We clearly had privileged access to the Colosseum. When we were on the Colosseum floor, the underground where the animals and prisoners were kept, and on the upper level, there were 17 people plus 3 guides and the Colosseum official who opened locked gates for us--no other tourists permitted. We were never in the huge crush of tourists that visit the Colosseum daily. Our guide, Luca gave us each Roman names, based on our given names and places of birth, and a role in the history of the Colosseum, which made us active participants as the history unfolded. We learned a great deal about the history in a very intimate and personal small group setting. This tour is pricey but worth very penny.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great guided tour of the Colosseum and the Forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

pt.netherways

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Both tour guides inside and outside the Colosseum were excellent. They were able to provide the perfect amount of information so as not to overload the tourist brain. Be aware that there's quite a few stairs to negotiate, but the guides take it slowly so most people should be okay.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mahmoud S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was my favorite tour, I am a big fan of Colosseum, our guide Fabrizio made it more interesting tour with everything he told us, skip the line is such a great idea for this tour and believe me you will be lucky if you had Fabrizio as your guide. As for the afternoon walk, we previously did the ghost and mystery walking tour and we were looking forward to have another walk in Rome. This tour met our expectation and Sara our guide was adorable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Rachel was wonderful!!! She was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the history of Rome and the Colosseum. I highly recommend this tour especially if you are visiting the Colosseum for your second or third time. Great experience!!!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Jason K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you did your research, you would know the best way into the Colosseum is through a guided tour. The Colosseum lines for tickets and entry are always long. This skip the line tour is the best way to go. It gets you in and through without any delays. By the way, the Forum is not as crowded to get into. But, this tour covers both the Colosseum and nearby Forum and a lot of information is provided by the guide to make it interesting.

Once inside the Colosseum, you have plenty of time as the guide walks you through. Keep in mind, even though you skipped the line, it is very crowded inside the Colosseum. But, you get plenty of time to see it and walk around and take pictures.

A short walk over to the nearby Forum begins that segment of the tour. There is a lot of history there and the guide has a lot of information about what it is and the buildings that are in there. It is not as crowded as the Colosseum, and since this is where the tour ends, you can always continue walking around on your own and take lots of pictures.

Definitely well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I enjoyed our tour of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill very much. The architecture and the historical imagery was absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. Our tour guide Claudia, an archeologist, was wonderful -- she was very friendly and personable and she was very knowledgeable and informative throughout the day. Our tour was amazing and we strongly recommend it for anyone who visits Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I can not rate this tour highly enough. Laura was our guide on the day, she was knowledgable, friendly and approachable. The queues that we missed were massive and after that she skilfully took us round the colosseum. The tour lasts for 3 hours but it didn't feel that long as we were entertained throughout. As an aside, there are now airport scanners to get in the colosseum so you can't take drinks and deodorants in there which was a shame as we had to ditch all of ours so a heads up on this would have been good. Defo a 5 star tour of a five star venue.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Randy P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I did another Colosseum Tour in April and was so tired after and Roman Forum and Palatine Hill I did not get to do the Colosseum tour. This time I did the Smaller Group tour and it was more focused to the Colosseum and the levels and history. Great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ginanunez81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Massimo was super informative. He gave great detailed explanations of the history of Rome at the Colosseum and at the Roman forum/Palatine Hill. He had examples of the ruins and how they looked originally. The Colosseum tour guide was very informative you went in the underground chambers and up to the highest sections of the Colosseum. Our group was about 24 people, we had a few elderly on the group that found it difficult to go up and down the stairs of Colosseum and at the palatine hill as well. If you have difficulty walking please be mindful when booking your tours as I did notice that this group was having some difficulties. This tour was about 4 hours and extremely informative. I would highly recommend this tour as you do learn a lot and see a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Stephen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Get the upgrade to go onto the Colosseum floor, it is a must! This tour was so great - skipping the line was great and the tour guide, Alexandra, was wonderful. We started the tour around 9 and although you can tour this on your own, the guides really do make the experience that much better. They have a wealth of knowledge to share with you and answer any questions you may have. Started at the Colosseum, then moved to the Forum and ended on Palatine Hill. You see it all on this tour so expect a whole lot of walking. So much history there!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

dheaberlin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent Tour. Saw virtually everything in the Colosseum top to bottom and the Roman Forum. Tour of the Colosseum was strenuous! Much work has been done to reclaim the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Peta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very much enjoyed this tour. We only did the first half, and saw the Colosseum because I was sore from arthritis. However, our guide was lovely. She had excellent English and clearly loved what she was doing. Definitely recommend this tour although I did not see the last 1.2 of the tour, I am sure that it would have been equal to the first half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing! Be aware that it is a long walking tour. There were some families in our group that really struggled and the kids were done about halfway through the tour. If you love history though, this is the tour for you. The guides are so knowledgeable and they have tons of information for you. The tour does not only walk the colosseum but you go up the Palatine hill as well which is next to the colosseum. The history of this area is unbelievable and the information from the guide saves you from reading the guide books. It is also nice to have the guide available to answer questions you may have about anything. Our guide even gave us some suggestions for great restaurants in the area as well. Wonderful tour with great information and beautiful views!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ameena H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a good tour. There is a lot of walking before actually getting to the Colosseum and by the time we did arrive there I was exhausted, but the tour around Rome was still good. Tour guide was very knowledgeable, but at times hard to keep up with walking. Overall, I enjoyed myself! I was initially apprehensive about doing a night tour, but the evening experience turned out to be a good thing. The Colosseum experience was amazing!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed the tour of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. We did learn that water is not allowed into the Colosseum, however, empty water bottles are okay and there are places to fill them up, after you pass security. Luca was a wonderful guide who knew the history, can work the camera wonderfully and manage this small group 6 people very well. It is worth knowing that you will be walking a bit. We had an elderly couple who had to sit and wait in part of the Roman forum as the rest climbed the hill for a wonderful view of the Forum and Rome. I recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing the Colosseum and knowing what was it like and how they did it.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message