Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3471 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paris Family ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour on a very hot day! Our guide was knowledgeable with interesting insight. We were met by an archeologist at the Colosseum that provided a well rounded experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

ian t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Colosseum tour was great. You need to jump the cue's as they stretch for ages. The guides are great also giving you not only information but plenty of photos to give you looks at how things look before originally.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour was fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the place and also the time that the place was presenting. There were many moments when several of us on the tour were quite amazed at the depth of her knowledge.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Forget every Hollywood sword-and-sandals movie you've ever seen. Instead, book a tour of these ancient ruins and discover the FACTS about their history. Our tour guide was Elizabeta and she was absolutely superb. A qualified archaeologist, she had been personally involved in excavations in the area around the Colosseum. She led the tour with passion, authority, friendliness and humour.

If you're 'on the fence' about whether to book a tour, don't be. Otherwise you'll be one of those tourists who wander around in a daze because they have no idea what they're looking at. The Colosseum, Forum and Palatine have little-to-no signage, and you really do need some expertise to make sense of it all.

Some further tips:

1 Book the earliest tour you can, before the heat gets unbearable
2 Wear comfortable shoes and take a bottle of water
3 Bring comfortable earphones to use instead of the ones supplied
4 Go with an enquiring mind and ask questions

Oh, and PLEASE leave your dreadful selfie sticks at home. You already have two selfie sticks - they're called ARMS.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Dinner was spectacular with stunning views from the rooftop restaurant. Our Colosseum tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Visiting this attraction at night after dinner was much more relaxing than battling the daytime crowds!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best tour in Rome. The guide was great. Gave us such a history of the the ruins in Rome. A great tour to do in the summer because the nights are so much cooler than the 98 degree day. Seeing and feeling the experience of the Colosseum at night was amazing. No crowds. A must do in Rome.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

tom.krawczyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. She does this daily and studied archeology so she knew everything about the Colosseum and roman forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

robbender93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was amazing. She was so well educated on all the happenings in and around the Colosseum and did a great job sharing this knowledge. The ability to skip a long line in the hot sun was great. Bring plenty of water and a hat. Highly highly recommend the tour and our guide!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

james d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you only take one tour in Rome make sure it is this tour.
The behind the scene private tour of Casa Augusto and Casa di Livia were amazing made special by the fantastic guide who has lots of passion for the places we visited and of Rome.
I thought the Colosseum would be the highlight of this tour but not so.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Casa di Augusto, Casa di Livia and Colosseum Tour in Rome

Kathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a terrific tour. Our guide was informative and interesting - filled with all sorts of information one would not get from just walking around. She made the Colosseum, Forum and Palantine Hill fascinating. Despite the heat, we didn't leave the tour early. Just great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

lreynolds1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Daniella was great. She knew so much about the history and was able to answer all our questions. I reccomend the evening tour for visits in July as it was very warm and also because the Colosseum was so quiet! Great tour.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

steve.b53

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must-do tour on a trip to Rome. Our very informative and entertaining guide Gigi, really brought these fantastic sites to life and entering the Colosseum was a truly unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Julia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous tour and our guide Francesca was wonderful. She had so much knowledge but delivered it in an interesting and easy to understand way. We really enjoyed the time with her and going in to the Colosseum in the cool and quiet of the early evening was fabulous. We got some amazing photos.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

ksherring27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour and loved the upgraded part and seeing underneath the colosseum. Guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with the local guide whose great descriptions of the activities of the Colosseum brought the ruins to life for me. The City Tour guide who led us through the Forum and Palantine Hill was less energetic and colorful in her commentary.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Euggie Buggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour of Rome, not cheap but truly excellent dinner and then a fantastic tour of the Colosseum with a most knowledgeable guide. He was so enthusiastic, truly knowledgeable of Roman History and the atmosphere was electric. Highly recommended and will always be the best experience of Rome...........

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

rdpaquin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so lucky to have Francesca for our Vatican and colosseum tours. It was amazing just being there, but to hear her talk about it just made it so much better. The process was very organized and we'll run. Highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

T P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't have asked for a better tour.
Our guide was called Sev, an American archaeologist teaching in Rome and his knowledge was outstanding, combined with a good sense of humour and a genuine care that totally made the tour.
The tour itself was excellent, covering many parts of the Colosseum that the general public don't get to see, then on to the Forum with lots of eye opening facts.
Well worth the money, you don't get to say that very often these days.
Don't forget your water if it's going to be a hot day.
Many thanks Sev, from the family on the right side of Hadrian's Wall !

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Robyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Food and wine were well-matched. View from the restaurant was superb. The tour of the Colosseum had two aspects. The first its beauty with the lights at night was so superior to daytime that it was hard to believe we where in the same place. Secondly, it was wonderful not having any crowd there and it was awe inspiring.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

mark_haywood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Guides were very knowledgable and entertaining. We were booked on the 9:30am tour but we had to transfer to the 11:15am tour. No reason why. The down side was that it was a very hot day with the Colosseum part of the tour not ending until about 2:30pm and then we off to Palatino and the Forum. A long tour in the middle of the day with no break or option to buy water.
A lot of people opted out of the guided part of Palatino and instead were given their tickets with a view to go later in the day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Frank N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour however this company is not licensed to visit the underground Colosseum , we were handed off to another guide from the company who is licensed

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Shane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide, Valentina, was knowledgeable and very personable. She was happy to answer all of our questions and was very flexible. The ruins and their story are fascinating. Seeing the Colosseum and understanding its history and development is an essential part of getting to know Rome for any visitor. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day in the summer, but well worth it. The colosseum was amazing, and the best of highlights helped us see things we would have missed navigating ourselves.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

kas001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing to see how such immense structures could be built 2000 yrs ago.
Accompanying tour of the Forum was more impressive than the colosseum itself

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Must do tour. Our guide was funny and informative. We went in June and it was extremely HOT! There was a lot of walking involved but it was a great tour explaining the history of the Colosseum and surrounding area. The tour utilizes headsets - I would recommend that you use your own headphones for better sound and wear comfortable shoes!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message