Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3957 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sonya United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very informative tour. I recommend it to those looking to learn about Colosseum and Roman forums

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

3rd time to Rome and the Colosseum and this was by far the best tour! The VIP area access is such a bonus and the guides are terrific and full of interesting info you'd miss otherwise. So worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Francesca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was by far the highlight of my trip. The underground and Upper Tier were brilliant and defiantly worth a visit. would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the Colosseum and its history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Roly United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Our lovely guide Alessandra was so knowledgeable in Roman history and was very patient - we learnt so much more being in a small tour group. The access to the underground area was amazing as was the very top level - fantastic views - well worth the extra money! Lots of ground to cover but well worth every step - so many ancient buildings to see on one site. Would highly recommend this trip.

Read more about Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour - Rome Viator at: https://www.viator.com/tours/Rome/Colosseum-Underground-and-Ancient-Rome-Small-Group-Tour/d511-6718COLOSSEUM?pubvcps

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you want to go to the Colosseum and Forum, do yourself a favour and pay the extra money to do this. The guides were brilliant, and the opportunity to see so much of the Colosseum was special. Very worthwhile! Pack yourself a snack as you finish inside the Forum so can stay longer.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

sorhayoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing experience I highly recommend to visitors of Rome. Our tour guide, Lucca, was fantastic!!! His passion, enthusiasm, and love for Rome was obvious, and set the tone for a wonderful 3 hours of touring the Colosseum and the Roman forums. This is not to be missed! In a small group of 6, we were taken to the lower and upper levels of the Colosseum for special views of the entire complex and great photo opportunities. He really created an image in our minds of what it must have been like thousands of years ago. He is very knowledgeable, warm, and, for us, was the perfect guide! There is a lot of walking, so bring comfortable shoes. I cannot recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Bretto S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was amazing to see in real life. But the magic of this tour was our guide Vasco. He was a champion and had so much information, so many stories and interacted with all the members of our small group so well. It was great to see the arena stage, the lower areas and the higher tiers of the Colosseum and this tour connected well to the Roman Forum next door.
I'm still amazed thinking of all the stories Vasco told us and I'm sure he had hundreds more !
I'd thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to really learn about the Colosseum and Roman Forum rather then just looking at the ruins.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Parkman H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide held our attention with her intelligent and informed discourse for three full hours and more. From the Colosseum and Forum to the Palatine Hill she pointed out fascinating details of the physical layout, adding revelatory historical themes, biographies of the various emperors, and archaeological as well as geographical trends over the millennia. She fielded our questions with grace and insight. Her humor helped her to carry her knowledge lightly. I'm not sure how this tour could have been organized or executed in a better way. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gavin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was Franchesca, a very knowledgeable archiologist who was truly outstanding. The trip enabled you to see the major sights of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palantine Hill and took a little over three hours. The insight that Franchesca was able to provide was both amusing and very helpful in bringing to life Roman history and what life would have been like in Ancient Rome. Would recommend bringing a bottle of water and thoroughly recommend the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I had been to the Colosseum years before and had not had a guide. I probably learned and understood 3x as much going through with an experienced and very well educated guide - she was rather brilliant - so I felt it was well worth the booking. There is so much to know and experience. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sheree T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had an excellent tour of the Colosseum. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgable and informative. She guided us through the full Collesseum. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Veronica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was well worth it. We learned a lot about the history of the colosseum and Rome! Be aware that there are a large number of people who are booked for these tours so they split you up at the meeting point. Get there early/on time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicola G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

So pleased that I chose to purchase tickets for this tour. Our guide Mariella, a former archaelogist, was wonderful, very knowledgeable and experienced. Being able to enter straight away instead of queuing for hours was definitely a bonus. The tour around the forum and Palatine hill felt a little rushed, but once it finished we were allowed to wander around at our leisure, there was so much to see. The highlight was undoubtedly the spectacular Colosseum, seeing the underground chambers was incredible. And the very steep and high steps to the upper tier were exhausting but the view was certainly worth it. Probably the best vantage point to take in the arch, forum and Palatine hill was made even more perfect when my boyfriend dropped to one knee 3 3 Definitely a perfect day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

A J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a superb tour. It covered the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Forum and the guide, Davide was excellent. A valuable history lesson in one of my favourite cities, this tour certainly enhanced our weekend. 12 out of 10 :-

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mfeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour and amazing hostess. With thousands of people there, felt very special with our guide and got to view locations in Colosseum that others were not able to go. Definitely worth the price to see underground and get that history. Wear comfortable shoes and be ready for lots of steps!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour with the upgrade to see three levels of the colosseum! Both tour guide and archeologist for the private areas were excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great place to learn history of gladiators and Empire. We both a tickets tour in Viator -
Booked your tour to Small Wonders our tour guide is Kristine which we have a good time. She tell us all details - History and the Roman Empire how it made. Tip January is good time to go to Rome, not overcrowded with tourist. And you could take a good scenic without interruption of people around you.

Awesome loved it. If you're going to Rome it's a must see the wonders of Roman Empire how they build this Colosseum without any gadget.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Tina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! I've done a self guided tour in the past during the day time but highly recommend a guided tour and when doing it at night you get a much different perspective of the Colosseum. The tour guide was really good at making sure everyone could hear her and she was very knowledgeable about the venue as well as the history of Rome. After the tour, wonder across the street to Cafe Martini and Rossi for dinner!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Kimteen2003 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was incredible! What a great way to learn and see the sights of the Colosseum and surrounding area! Our guide was very informative! It was a very faced paced tour and at times it was hard to keep up if you wanted to stop and take pictures. Make sure to wear very comfy shoes and get your camera ready!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palatine Hill Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide, Rachel, was fabulous! We learned so much about the inner workings of the Colosseum and appreciate the way we were taken to so many key positions for viewing and photo taking. Thank you for a marvelous tour of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and the Forum!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely brilliant guided tour led by Mariella whose clear, concise and comprehensive presentation was a joy to listen to and added greatly to our visit.

Her colleague guided us round the Colosseum, taking us to every level, then Mariella took over from her once again to tour the Forum and the Palatine Hill.

We found the pace of the tour to be just right in mild January weather. I would think that in the heat of summer it might prove too strenuous for the more elderly visitor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Stacy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic! Our guide was so knowledgeable - I felt like it was a history class as much as a tour in a good way!. I will say this was our last tour on the last day of our vacation and it was a lot of walking. I wasn't sure we were going to make it through Palatine Hill, but I'm so glad we persevered, as the big payoff was the Colosseum! The underground, as well as going to the very top were definitely worth the extra!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an outstanding tour! The underground chambers have only been opened to the public for the past three years, so to walk in the chambers that the gladiators walked sent chills down my spine! It was amazing to see the process they used in order to make animals magically appear on the Colosseum floor. It was awesome to have the various views of the arena as well. The upper tier views of the city were remarkable! Then we walked the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. Maura, our tour guide, would show us pictures of what the city looked like thousands of years ago which helped me visualize things. I loved that you could view Julius Caesar's tomb and walk on the stones that the senators and politicians did back in the day. The view from Palatine Hill overlooking Circus Maximus was also remarkable. I can't recommend this tour high enough...I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're travelling to Rome, of course the Colosseum is a must see, so why not do the full experience! All the standard entry people were kicking themselves watching us go behind the rope! Entry to parts I didn't know existed, knowledgeable guides, and absolutely worth the price tag!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing! We entered the Colosseum using the way gladiators would enter, onto the floor of the Colosseum. It was very special. When you entered it was a wow moment. The guide Francesca was very knowledgeable and told us all about seating arrangements and what went happened during the games. She escorted us around different parts of the Colosseum, telling us different aspects of the people who would have sat there. Be prepared as stairs are very steep. We spent about 1.5 hours in the Colosseum and then went to the Roman Forum opposite were we spent over an hour. This site was huge so it was great to have a guided tour. Francesca stimulated our imagination and explained about many of the different areas. We went into the Temple of Vesta, which I wanted to see, and she explained all about Vesta and the Vestal Virgins. We then walked up to Pallatine Hill. This was not as steep but was still a climb. Once up, the view from there was amazing. Francesca again was very informative and explained different areas and what they were.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message