Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3566 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mallory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With this tour you get right into the Colosseum and Forum, which is basically priceless on a scorching day when you see the hours long line for people without tickets. The tour guide was really informative and she kept my attention throughout the duration of the tour. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

lesliepannell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide! Loved this tour. A good mix of local and history knowledge, didn't feel rushed. Visiting the underground section was very interesting and the archaeologist who conducted that part of the tour was very good at providing the right amount of details.

We were given time at the end of the tour we wrapped about 5:00PM to stay in Ancient Rome and explore it some more but most of us were done by then having been out in the hot sun on our feet for hours. Make sure and have an empty water bottle to fill for this part of the tour. You can't take full water bottles into the Colosseum any more but you can fill them once you are in from water fountains there. Also, toilet access is a bit challenging so be aware of that given the tour duration.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Scot S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable about Rome's history. I think it was worth the price to learn more about the sites and get into the Colosseum quickly!.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her again on our Vatican tour. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on the Colossuem tour are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city, it's origins, and you could tell she loved sharing the information with her tour group. We loved listening to her descriptions, anticdotes because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members on a very crowded, hot, and sunny day. She always tried to have people in the shade as much as possible. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! The sights of the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palentine Hill are something you will never see or experience anywhere else in the world. Thank you!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

CJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour gets a 5 star because of the venue, not because of our guide who was a bit 'dry' and not very enthusiastic. It was fantastic to have access to all the colosseum's levels. Definitely recommended to go as early as possible in summer, before the heat gets too much!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Carole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really great 3 hours with our guide Fabrizio- he made the Colosseum come alive with the details he provided.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Baron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide was very informative and passionate! He had done the tour for 40 years! Walked straight into the colosseum with the skip the line ticket and it was worth every penny! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

gary.patterson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked the enhanced tour which takes you into the depths of the Colosseum. Believe you me, if you want to see the full picture, then book this tour. it gives you access to areas most other visitors do not get and gives you the real sense of life around this place. You walk where the gladiators and animals once went, saw the holding areas and to be honest, the only thing that is missing is the smell. The tour guides are excellent, full of knowledge and enthusiasm and without them, you would not understand what you are looking at. This is a must in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicola P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Four of us joined the 2 pm Sunday tour and we were really lucky to only have 7 of us in total in our group should have been 20! which made it almost like a personal tour!
Danella our guide was fantastic - she new so much information and history - i don't know how she manages to know so much!
The Colosseum is so impressive and it was fantastic to get such a good understanding of how it was used and the changes it has gone though over time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

ec926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, great guide! It was really exciting to see and visit the Colosseum and the surrounding forums at night. Only thing, you need to clarify the actual meeting point. There are crowds and many tour groups all leaving from the same area.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

a great way to spend the day, expert advice on the colosseum and local area from a great guide and in the afternoon a different way to see rome by walking through streets you probably would not have seen with a knowlagble guide answering any question fired at her

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Gina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and personable. I felt that we got so much more out of seeing the Colosseum and Palatine, having someone to explain things to us and give us the history. We visited on a very hot day and our guide was very conscientious about finding spots in the shade where we could sit or stand while she spoke to us. Her love of Rome and respect for the ancient structures was evident and really made the experience stand out. I wish we had time for another tour during our trip unfortunately, we were only in Rome for one day and decided to make a whirlwind trip to St. Peter's Square on our own the following morning. Can't say enough about our great Viator experience and will definitely utilize them for future travel! One final note is that the tour proceeded at a very comfortable pace. We had travelers in our party ranging from age 14 to age 66, so I was a little concerned that my father would be tired out and unable to complete the 3 hour tour especially given the weather. However, the leisurely pace of our walk combined with plenty of stops where we listened to our guide, made it really a very doable experience for all of us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jylohr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Barbara, the tour guide was very knowledgeable. Spoke wonderful and clear English. Very attentive. Make sure not to bring any water in the colosseum because it is not allowed. Strenuous walking the earlier in the day the better. The afternoon was very hot and very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Terri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Colosseum Ancient Rome Tour was excellent , the guide gave a full description and history, and we never felt rushed as we have with some tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Maxine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Incredible tour. Our guide Marco was friendly and engaging. His well planned tour took us on an interesting and colourful tour around the Colosseum and other ruins. He brought the area to life with stories and theories.. He was well informed and easily answered all questions posed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rachel M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I have never met a tour guide as passionate as Lucy! She was just so amazing and friendly! Her knowledgeable of Roman history made this tour so fantastic! Seeing the magnificent Colosseum and the houses of Augustus and Livia was such a great experience!! This tour is so worth it!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Casa di Augusto, Casa di Livia and Colosseum Tour in Rome

Chung K A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was travelling alone and this was perfect for me. I enjoyed lively conversations over a beautiful meal. That in itself was almost worth the price. Having a private Guide from one of the Colosseum staff members for the tour was refreshing. It felt like the whole place was dedicated just for us and there was only 14 people in the group. Having said that, the presentation wasn't structured and was off the cuff. That could be one further improvement but that is not the fault of Viator.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour of the Colosseum and Forum with our guide Frederica. She was great and very knowledgeable. As with most popular sites in Rome, this one was packed and it was great to be able to skip the line. For sure worth the money just for that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Eliezer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an amazing day with the full day tour! The morning was pretty smooth to meet the tour guide and get started. We skipped the enormous Colosseum line and the tour guide gave us great insight and historical facts of all the locations. I like the fact that the tour guides use the microphone/headphones for the tour because it can get noisy outside, so we were able to hear well what she was saying. We had plenty of time to enjoy, take pics, and have restroom breaks. At the end the tour guide gave great suggestions on dining and helped everyone on getting to their afternoon destinations. You have plenty of time to get to the afternoon tour and eat lunch. I would recommend taking a taxi or uber to go immediately to the location and then find somewhere to eat by the meeting location of the afternoon tour. It was really nice walking the streets of Rome and learning all of the stories behind the architecture of the buildings and the culture in general. Again, plenty of time to take pics and enjoy the views. At the end of the afternoon tour we all got free gelato which was a huge treat!! loved it! Both tour guides, morning and afternoon, were both very knowledgeable and all-around great! We were only in Rome for 2 1/2 days so this was the best way to see the major sites!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, from the bottom of the Colosseum to the top, also great tour guide.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Leanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The kids loved the Colosseum but probably got a bit bored/ tired by the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill part as it was very hot. My second visit to the Colosseum, and I would say that it is much better with a guided tour. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Hugh M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Both guides very informative, both inside the Colosseum and in Forum. Sound systems affected badly by ambient noise high and wind. Made hearing difficult esp outside of Colosseum. Better quality system/microphone?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Amber P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So I had pretty high expectations for the Colosseum and Roman Forum - but they were awfully hot and crowded I live in Miami, so when I say hot I mean hot. The guide was fine, but it was hard to keep up and hear him with the interference from the other hundred guides using the headsets. The afternoon walking tour definitely made up any and all difference. We had a different guide for this portion, and she was absolutely AMAZING...her enthusiasm made the whole day for me. I loved the Trevi Fountain and street musicians especially.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

BADRI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Maria Luisa was charming, knowledgeable, and had a great personality. It made the Colosseum come alive not just for us parents, but to our three teenagers as well. All parents of teens will understand just how high praise that is. As for skipping the line, can and #39;t recommend that highly enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

craignlindawerner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful way to see ancient rome! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and took us through the best of the Colosseum and ancient Rome. The only negative was a 2 pm tour in August was very hot. The morning tour might be cooler.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message