Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stacy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic! The guide was so knowledgeable - I felt like we were in a history class and not a tour in a great way!!. I will say this was our last tour on our last day of our trip and we were pretty tired and it does require a lot of walking. I was worried we weren't going to make it through Palatine Hill, but I am so glad we kept going. The Colosseum was epic! The extra underground tour and going to the top were truly worth the extra!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Stacy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic! Our guide was so knowledgeable - I felt like it was a history class as much as a tour in a good way!. I will say this was our last tour on the last day of our vacation and it was a lot of walking. I wasn't sure we were going to make it through Palatine Hill, but I'm so glad we persevered, as the big payoff was the Colosseum! The underground, as well as going to the very top were definitely worth the extra!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an outstanding tour! The underground chambers have only been opened to the public for the past three years, so to walk in the chambers that the gladiators walked sent chills down my spine! It was amazing to see the process they used in order to make animals magically appear on the Colosseum floor. It was awesome to have the various views of the arena as well. The upper tier views of the city were remarkable! Then we walked the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. Maura, our tour guide, would show us pictures of what the city looked like thousands of years ago which helped me visualize things. I loved that you could view Julius Caesar's tomb and walk on the stones that the senators and politicians did back in the day. The view from Palatine Hill overlooking Circus Maximus was also remarkable. I can't recommend this tour high enough...I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're travelling to Rome, of course the Colosseum is a must see, so why not do the full experience! All the standard entry people were kicking themselves watching us go behind the rope! Entry to parts I didn't know existed, knowledgeable guides, and absolutely worth the price tag!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing! We entered the Colosseum using the way gladiators would enter, onto the floor of the Colosseum. It was very special. When you entered it was a wow moment. The guide Francesca was very knowledgeable and told us all about seating arrangements and what went happened during the games. She escorted us around different parts of the Colosseum, telling us different aspects of the people who would have sat there. Be prepared as stairs are very steep. We spent about 1.5 hours in the Colosseum and then went to the Roman Forum opposite were we spent over an hour. This site was huge so it was great to have a guided tour. Francesca stimulated our imagination and explained about many of the different areas. We went into the Temple of Vesta, which I wanted to see, and she explained all about Vesta and the Vestal Virgins. We then walked up to Pallatine Hill. This was not as steep but was still a climb. Once up, the view from there was amazing. Francesca again was very informative and explained different areas and what they were.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dennis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Tour allows you to go underground at the Colosseum and see things most will not. You need a guide to truly experience and understand all there is to know about the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Get a fantastic tour of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum! Our guide was knowledgable, gave us so much information about the rise and fall of the Roman empire. Told us all about what the different uses of the Colosseum over the last century... at the time there were scaffoldings all around it as they were restoring it... but have since been removed. I can only imagine how glorious it looks now. The icing on the cake of this tour was the private tour of the Casa di Augusto and Casa di Livia. WOW! This space was opened up especially for our group which was small and we had access to the home of Augusto and Livia. If you're into ancient Roman history, this is the tour for you! They even adjusted the tour a bit to target the kids and give them some fun facts that kept them interested too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Casa di Augusto, Casa di Livia and Colosseum Tour in Rome

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great way to see the colosseum and the lady that took the group around was full of knowledge and very helpful
Loved it

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Brian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant give access to parts of the Colosseum not normaly open to the general public. Allows you to view the building in a small quiet group. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Linda M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect choice to allow us to see these 3 ancient sites Colosseum, Forum, Palatine Hill. Tour was just long enough to enjoy and not feel rushed. We had time at the end to explore the Palatine hill museum as well. Elizabetha was an excellent, enthusiastic guide, and an archeologist by training. I am certain my daughter and I would not have appreciated what we saw as much, without our guide's excellent narrative and stories. I had been to Rome 30 years prior, but felt I never really appreciated world history as I did after this day. We were outside for the entire tour and the weather was perfect for a January day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Oh boy! This was fantastic. before we headed into the Colosseum we did an extensive walking tour of the Roman Forum. Our guide was brilliant. Talked us through all the inmportant locations and really brought the forum to life and helped us visualise what a day would look and feel like. Stepping inside the Colosseum was an experieince I'll never forget. Going below the arena floor to where the animals and slaves were held was fantastic. A must do in Rome

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

pgoyseverino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful experience visiting the Colosseum, Forum and Palantine Hill. This is my 4th visit to the Colosseum and there is always something new to learn and experience. Our guides were local and very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill Tour

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour included an extremely knowledgeable guide, and pre-purchased tickets so we did not have to wait in line. We were provided headphones so we could hear the guide clearly while walking outdoors. This tour involves a lot of walking, so wear comfortable shoes! Our tour included a pick up at our hotel and drop off at the location to meet the guide, but at the end of the tour of the Colosseum, we had to find the taxi stand to get a ride back to the hotel. We were extremely pleased with our guide and the tour of each of the sites. I recommend you take it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill Tour

amquick160

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an amazing tour!! Our guide talked us through the history of the area and shared with us her love for Rome what what made it the city it is today. The underground tour at the Colosseum was handed off to an archeologist who was equally as amazing, her love for the history that was at our very feet and hands reach was palatable. She painted verbal pictures of what took place in the underground chamber and who had access to each level of the colosseum.
I would highly recommend both Viator and this excursion. Simply amazing and worth the price!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour of the Colosseum. We've done Colosseum tours before, but now they have opened the underground area making it better. The guide was great. Always more to see and learn. I recommend it if you haven't been in a few years.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are going to see the Colosseum go on this tour it covers everything from top to bottom. literally. Fantastic informative guides, told me so much I can't remember it all but it was very entertaining too, not boring. It was so hot that I was very grateful we skipped the lines and went straight in once inside it was cool and pleasant, tour was very well organised and I enjoyed it a lot would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Nujood M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was marvellous going all around the colosseum and Rome forum we had great time going through old history of Rome with the our wonderful guide Francesca who was more that capable of delivering history to us smoothly and elegently she just made us want more and more thank you for such an informative guide and a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill was fantastic. Paulo was a great guide who was extremely knowledgeable and his stories of the areas really brought them to life. The only minor downside was the ice that was on the arena floor of the Colosseum which caused the Colosseum staff to close off access to the floor, but that allowed us more time in the underground chambers which are amazing to see.
Would recommend this tour and Paulo to anybody wanting to explore Old Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So wonderful! Our guide Julia really brought the Colosseum and Ancient Rome to life. She was enthusiastic and a joy to listen to. We learned so much, worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Daniella was our tour guide and she was awesome with good experience about sharing the history of Colosseum and Ancient Rome. Kudos to you Daniella and we appreciate it. Until next time we for sure go back to Rome, Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour. Our tour included the tour under the colosseum where the animals were kept and a tour of the upper level. The guide for this portion of the tour was part of an archaeological group and was very knowledgeable about everything colosseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rickey Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was AMAZING! Our guide, Fabrizzio, was an archaeologist and very familiar with the Colosseum and Roman Forum. He was educational but also extremely engaging! This was the first day they were allowed to take us on the stage and it provided the most amazing views! I cannot recommend this enough. He was incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The instructions on where to meet our guide were excellent. Our access to the restricted parts of the Colosseum was wonderful. But most outstanding was our guide Fabrizio. He was brilliant in his ability to describe what life was like and help us picture what the ruins looked like during their time. He conveyed an ideal amount of information and tips during the tour. He even gave a great recommendation for lunch afterwards!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Kristine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guides were passonate about the Colosseum and the history of Ancient Rome. We had a small group which made the tour more intimate, informative and rewarding.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Roberta D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour really was amazing! I would rank The Colosseum as one of the world and #39;s top sites. What made the visit awesome was our guide Alberto. Alberto was knowledgeable and presented the information in a relaxed interesting manner. He easily guided the group through the crowds. He was a great guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message