Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors watched gladiators ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3692 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour itself was very informational and had an array of sights to see. The bummer was taking 20-30 minutes to get through security at the Colosseum. After that you get to see the colosseum from a much different perspective than movies. Definitely a must in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Matthew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Juliet was very knowledgeable and took us to some amazing sites before going to the Colosseum. This tour is a must if you want to see the historical Colosseum!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth it. Learned so much about the history and uses of the Colosseum/forum of old Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved seeing the Colosseum and Roman Forum on this tour. Our guide was wonderful and we learned a lot about the history of Rome. We just loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

gillian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour - really brilliant and our guide was full of interesting information that made the colosseum come alive.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jeanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent. I have been to the Colosseum before but never did the underground before. Amazing and fascinating. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Joel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was excellent. Our participation in the tour allowed us to avoid admission lines. Definitely the best way to see a tourist attraction like the Colosseum. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jlucastillo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to experience the Colosseum is at night. No long lines, and very few people.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Hillary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was well organized starting at the Colosseum and then transitioning into the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. As you can imagine, these sights were very crowded and our tour guide did a great job making sure everyone in the group was accounted for and could hear her. Great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Iain W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was extremely informative and it was really worthwhile having someone telling us what we were looking at and giving us some of the history behind building of the Colosseum. I would strongly recommend the tour company

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sonny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was terrific. Our guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. We did a lot of walking, but that was ok. The Colosseum was very impressive. Thumbs up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

buckinghamjason

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Colosseum is truly a wonder of the world. The guide was very knowledgeable and answered all the questions that we asked her. The second part of the tour to the Roman forum and platine Hill was even better for me. Be careful if you have trouble walking the 2nd part is not accessible for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Georgiy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour, definitely to be recommended to everyone who wished to discover Colosseum! Thorough organisation before and on the tour. Professional guide Massimo who was able to balance history of ancient Rome with jokes and funny stories on emperors:

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ken R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. We got to come in the back entrance and explore the floor of the colosseum not normally part of this tour so that enhanced tour. Despite rain in afternoon closing parts of the Forum, our guide made the day enjoyable and filled in lots of details on things we had to miss.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and even politely handled some rather rude behavior from some other tour guests. The colosseum is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen and the Roman Forum is mind blowing. If not for our excellent tour guide it would not have anywhere near the same significance. Highly highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was outstanding ! She had her masters degree in archeology and she knew an amazing amount about the Colosseum and nearby ruins e.g., the Forum.
She lived in the US for 9 years, so her English was excellent.
The tour could not have been better.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Martin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely an amazing experience. To be on the Colosseum floor and down in the dungeon at night was awesome. Very knowledgeable tour guide and of course seeing the monuments at night was a treat.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Paulina was our tour guide and for the Colosseum and did an amazing job of guiding the tour. She made if fun and kept it at a relaxed pace even though the crowds were pretty heavy. She had a lot of interesting information and fun tid-bits for us and allowed plenty of time for photographs and for everyone to catch up before moving on. We really enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Randy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tour guide was so knowledgeable. She was also concerned about her group and made sure all had equal opportunity to enjoy the experience. She kept our interest, Walking us thru and at the same time managed to allow time to soak it all in and enjoy the day. The Colosseum and Ancient Rome were truly a site to visit. So much history and so well kept for us to enjoy. My wife and I thouroghly enjoyed very minute. We would highly recommend this tour. The afternoon tour also just as equally filled with so much enthusiasm from the tour guide. He showed so much interest in his presentation. He walked us thru to all the important areas at the same time allowing us the time to take it all in. Also a great way to see Rome and it's history.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

rainy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. If you are going to Vatican and Colosseum best to do it in two different days as they are both 3 hours long--a lot of walking--especially if it is hot out. You definitely get your monies worth

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour, you get to go behind, up, down the scene where the average person cannot do. Our guide Chiara was just amazing, her knowledge of the Colosseum and the history as well as her personality made this tour for our group. If yr coming to the Colosseum do this tour, for 3 hours..

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

greatpmm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was so glad we took the Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier Tour. We got to see such interesting parts of the Colosseum. Our guides were great!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another one of the amazing tours from City Wonders I went on.

Extremely well organized, great guides in both the Colosseum and the Forum/Palatine Hill. It was great to see the underground chambers and get a lot of info that's not provided on most tours. I would suggest highly to book this tour over the others.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Gilbert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, awesome guide....early morning is the way to go to avoid the masses as much as possible. Quick walk from the Colosseum to the Roman Forum with tons of informative information throughout both.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gwyneth E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour which gave a very good introduction to Rome and how to read the ruins of ancient Rome and the Colosseum. Lovely guide. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of the colosseum which was also empty and quiet.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message