Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Ghetto

There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 602 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

BarbaraMae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rome is such a fascinating city, and this is a terrific way to get a feel for some of her neighborhoods. The shops and restaurants we visited were great, and the food was excellent. We ate homemade buffalo mozzarella, sausage, cheeses, pizza, mortadella sandwich, anchovy stuffed zucchini blossoms, something called suppli, homemade pasta with a choice of 3 sauces, wine, and gelato . . . and we were STUFFED! Our guide was interesting and knowledgeable about the food we sampled and the history and culture of the neighborhoods. All in all, a excellent tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

JJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Valeria was great! She grew up in the area so was very knowledgeable about the quality of the foods offered and services available. Walking was not too long so it was a good way to start our stay in Rome and find out where to get food locally.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

lovetotravel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommended. Antonia is such a great guide. I really enjoyed this food walking tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Anita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great experience! the young lady that guided us through the various markets and restaurants was knowledgeable and sweet.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Cheryl.naumann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide Antonia was amazing. I booked this tour for our family group of 8 and would definitely recommend this for people new to Rome. You get to visit neighborhoods that are off the beaten path and really see how the locals eat and shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful way to become acquainted with the area and who doesn't enjoy Roman food

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Do this tour the very first day you get to Rome! We couldn't do it until the last day and it was still well worth it. Antonia, our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and just excellent at her job! We learned and tasted local food from super-fresh mozarella to the best zucchini flowers to pizzas to pasta to awesome gelato. We were stuffed! In addition to the food, we walked and learned more about the history of the area we were visiting. Anyway, if when?!! we find ourselves in Rome again, we'll know where to go for delicious Roman food thanks to this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

MARY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots of fun being in a small group. Guide Francesca was a foodie and really informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Arleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ilaria was a wonderful tour guide - warm, charismatic and so knowledgable. We had such a great time sampling all of the cuisine and learning about the history of the areas that we visited. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome - you'll discover some off the beaten path jewels and leave with a full stomach!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Learned some interesting things about the culture and the neighborhoods we were in as well as finding out what is really authentic Italian food. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Marla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A lot of fun - a ton of food - beautiful neighborhoods - loved it

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great walking tour. You get to try many different Roman delicacies. Also, learning a little history of the Roman neighborhoods you are sampling food from. I went back to a few of these places during my stay in the capital.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

portnoykaren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Daniella - a delightful, friendly, knowledgable lady that helped us discover the food of Rome. We recommend this tour if you'd like a first-hand experience of Roman food. We tasted everything from fresh fruit, to cheeses and wines, pizza and pasta, and topped off with gelato! It's best to come hungry on this tour, as you will be eating a lot of food.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

cheryl.a.donnelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience, wonderful guide. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Debra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was excellent, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We were a family group of 6 adults and 1 child and did the evening tour so this was our dinner and what an amazing dinner it was! The food samples were more than ample and so good! Absolutely delicious! We all loved our tour!

Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Rachel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was so informative. I recommend doing it early on in your trip so that you know exactly what tour order throughout your entire stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Jason Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We attended this yesterday and it was an awesome start to our Italy trip. Valeria was our guide and we were fortunate to have her. She was a wealth of knowledge and shared local insight while we enjoyed the amazing seasonal food. Outstanding pasta and gelato among others. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Cathy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour great guide very informative and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gavin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. Loved every part of it. And the guide was amazing.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Warren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour with Antonia as our guide. She is very knowledgeable about Roman food and history. We had so much great food we didn't even need to eat dinner that night. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

richard r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very pleasant and informative. The right amount of information - not too much to bore us, but enough to learn something. I wish we had spent a little more time trastervere and more information about the sights in that area. Overall a very nice way to spend a few hours in Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The food guide had a PHD in archeology and literally grew up in the areas we visited. Her passion and joy not just for the food but for the history of the locations made this journey fascinating. Be prepared to learn as well as eat. It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message