Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Ghetto

There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 648 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jennifer j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best way to see Rome. The half-day tour was probably enough but an easy stroll around areas of the city you would not otherwise see was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was amazing, so knowledgeable and friendly! There is so much food provided on the day and we got to see places we would never have thought of going into. Really recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Sophia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was super knowledgeable and friendly! loved hearing about the cultural history of the different regions, and of course all the food we tasted were so yummy!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Anne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Food was delicious, tour guide was very knowledgeable and very congenial. Wish we could have gone into the Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Douglas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide, small group, excellent food samples, interesting history provided

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Hester T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best of my whole experience. It was different and with the Tour guide Miquel Martin make it so interesting and it was really a pleasure meeting him and make everybody so comfortable. He is by far a really positive person and make the experienced unforgettable. Thank you so much. Will definitely recommend this tour - with Miquel.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was such a sweet, knowledgeable lady with many tips and stories of the Rome food scene. You really get value for your money. Our stomachs were full! Special thanks to our tour guide who made this an amazing trip to Rome I will never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Glen C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic little tour. Make sure you are hungry before you start because by the conclusion, you will be most satisfied.
It was fascinating to learn of various food making techniques, history of the stores we visited and a little bit about the Jewish quarter.
If you love food - Italian food - just do this tour. Excellent value for money and good memories to take home. Very good guide too.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour provides lots of food. Don't eat ahead of time. Learned how to buy pizza and other foods at an Italian bakery.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Walter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Antonia was a wonderful guide. Clear, knowledgeable, patient. Food choices were all Roman specialties. Tour exceeded all our expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Christa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was magnificent! She was so excited to share Rome with us, that her excitement was contagious -- even though I had just arrived in Rome with a severe case of jet lag! The food was excellent at each location, and the history and information she provided us as we walked and at each location was just perfect. This was an excellent tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, Irene, infused her pride in her city into our tour. This made the three hours with her even better. A walking tour let's you see everything and miss nothing of interest. We will now seek out more walking tours in our travels.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We'd lived in Rome and still this tour showed and told us many things we simply weren't aware of. Francesca is full of insights. You won't be hungry by the end of the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Alan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A perfect way to start your time in Rome. Learn about all the local food, how it is made and where to go to get amazing tastes of Italy. Allesandra was a wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide I believe her name was Valeria, her parents own the newspaper stand next to where we started our tour was fantastic. We were a small group 6. The food we sampled was wonderful. Valeria was very informative of the ingredients. When fruits and vegetables are in season how they eat them. History of food and the neighborhoods. Great time!!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Carla W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had an amazing time on the Food Walking Tour. The information was abundant and it really helped me know what to look for while in Rome as far as food and how to avoid the tourist traps and enjoy real food from the region. I only wish I'd gone sooner!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gerald O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved our walking food tour. Raj made the journey so enjoyable. If we can offer some advice, book your food tour for the beginning of your stay. This way you become acquainted with the local foods and where to go to enjoy them.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

k.rahmlow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see Trastavere and the Jewish neighborhood, while eating great food.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

tolerbc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What fun and what a fantastic was to immerse yourself in the local culture. Our guide Ilaria was so knowledgeable and also so very sweet. She truly loves her country and her culture and therefore made us feel the same. Before the tour we thought we might have to get a bite after, you just never know, but oh my goodness, we could not have eaten another bite. If you truly want to see and taste what local life in Italia is like, do a foodie tour with Ilaria

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Amy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I did the evening tour, our guide Iliana ? was excellent. She was very enthusiastic and told us a lot about the local food in Rome. We got to try a lot of different things and she brought us to very non-touristy areas. Best gelato I've had in Italy. Fun time, especially as a solo traveler!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Carmella G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The very best way to start a vacation and to learn about Italy.....our guide was brilliant! Spoiled us for gelato at places other than Gelato al Fiori......big difference been their gelato and everywhere else....

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message