With all the treasures in the Vatican Museums, it's easy to forget that one of Michelangelo's most beautiful sculptures, La Pieta , is a short distance away in St Peter's Basilica. It doesn't even require an entry fee. The term 'pieta' is applied ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26020 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charlyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am very glad we paid for this tour, so we could easily see the Vatican without sitting in line and we had a tour guide who explained to us key details. I would strongly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mpdayala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding, super organized trip and we were lucky to have Julia as our guide. Listening to other guides around us and believe me there were Many, Julia was above and beyond the rest.
This is the only way to go through the Vaticani tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alexander G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum than this card is a must. Expensive but you do cut the lines. Be prepared because they heard you like cattle and rush you through. No AC in many of the rooms and it was incredibly hot and humid inside. Never again in July.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour of the Basilica and the Dome.
This trip is in two parts:
1. The Basilica - this was a fantastic tour, our guide was highly knowledgeable and his English was excellent. All the highlights of the Basilica were pointed out an any questions answered.
2. The Dome- before starting I have to point out that this is not for the feint hearted and requires a certain level of fitness. The tour begins with a short trip in a lift which takes out 200 steps. The next leg of the journey upwards consists of 300 steps upwards with not many resting places. Now for the good stuff, shortly after starting the second part of the trip you access the inside of the Dome where all the highlights of the interior are pointed out, the visitors below are the size of ants. Then its onwards and upwards to the top. The views are amazing, well worth the journey to the top I would not have missed this.
Overall the Tour was fantastic, the two guides were really great and there English was perfect.
Our Group was only about 11 people so you really felt you were getting one to one attention at all times. Access to the Basilica at the start was effortless, particularly when you saw the queue's of people waiting outside.
All in all 5 out of 5 and I would have no hesitation of booking a tour with Viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Nigel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Was a little sceptical when booking as I'd never heard of Viator before, but any scepticism soon disappeared as we were walking towards the Vatican, all the other tour guides knew Viator and directed us straight to the right meeting point. The tour itself was conducted by City Wonders and our Guide Gulia was very friendly and knowledgeable and conducted the tour at a comfortable pace. Make sure you have water with you as the museum is extremely busy and gets very hot in certain places. Will definitely be taking the tour again when we return to Rome with our children.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Paola was excellent, and the tour company City Wonders has special access into the Vatican Museums - so we passed hundreds of other tourists waiting in the 90' heat, and went right in. Tens of thousands tour the place every day, so don't expect any space to view the artworks. The Sistine Chapel was astonishing. No photography allowed so I can't post any views!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vicky W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Extremely friendly tour guide very thorough and attentive. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ernesto G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This 3 hour tour of the Vatican was terrific. Our tour guide was personable and very knowledgeable - she allowed us time to take pictures throughout the tour where picture taking was allowed. I recommend this tour, since you really do Skip the line as the lines to just get tickets to the Vatican were very long. This was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience and the guide Angela was excellent. Timing was perfect and the whole experience was really good

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would give this one six stars if I could! The guide, Francesca, was very knowledgable, helpful and friendly. This tour is a must do!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

tom.krawczyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent. Kept everyone informed and knew how to work his way through the crowds to t get to the important highlights at the Vatican. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value. Our guide was enthusiastic, very well informed, polite and helpful. One of the best things we did in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Char

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved that we got to skip the huge line! That was so cool! The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

JP Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A better option for avoiding lines as well as the sea of people. The Vatican Museums are quite busy on a good day. Our tour guide, Alessandra, was friendly, well spoken and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. She provided us with detailed information on the process by which Michelangelo and Raphael created their masterpieces in the Sistine Chapel and the Raphael Rooms, respectively. We were intrigued to learn about the various personal touches that each of the masters added to their own work. Tour finished in St. Peter's Basilica where we were free to access other parts of the Basilica and Square. Overall, it was a great tour and a good way to navigate the key areas of the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melvyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were late arriving for this tour but City Wonders were very helpful and got us the next tour. The tour was lead by David who was very knowledgeable about the Vatican and it's history. He was always able to answer questions and gave other related information about the history, artwork in the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

robbender93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide as great. Super informative and very easy to understand. It and #39;s a tough place to get through with many many tours happening but she kept us together and explained so much along the way. Highly recommend tour and five stars to her!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

ANSHUMAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience.
Knowledgable guide Claudia helped us enjoy/learn.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Felicity B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I always find a guided tour the way to go - you just get so much more out of the experience. Our guide was very knowledgable and fun. Thoroughly enjoyed it and feel richer for the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jaclyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing thanks to our guide Sara N. She was very knowledgable and spoke very clear . We were very happy that we did the tour .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Elaine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour ! 3 hours was perfect to see the main points on this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message