Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ML

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was excellent. Very informative. Just be aware that is a walking tour that may not be suitable for older folks or those have issues of walking at a faster pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Oh boy! This was fantastic. before we headed into the Colosseum we did an extensive walking tour of the Roman Forum. Our guide was brilliant. Talked us through all the inmportant locations and really brought the forum to life and helped us visualise what a day would look and feel like. Stepping inside the Colosseum was an experieince I'll never forget. Going below the arena floor to where the animals and slaves were held was fantastic. A must do in Rome

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Bethany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great way to get the history and see the Colloseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

skhan2769

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rosie was an incredibly informative guide, and because it was Christmas week the museums were very crowded. No matter where we were able to make our stop to talk as a group, in any random spot, Rosie had vital information to share about any piece of art.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

jonboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable and interesting.
Well worth the money

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

amquick160

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an amazing tour!! Our guide talked us through the history of the area and shared with us her love for Rome what what made it the city it is today. The underground tour at the Colosseum was handed off to an archeologist who was equally as amazing, her love for the history that was at our very feet and hands reach was palatable. She painted verbal pictures of what took place in the underground chamber and who had access to each level of the colosseum.
I would highly recommend both Viator and this excursion. Simply amazing and worth the price!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour of the Colosseum. We've done Colosseum tours before, but now they have opened the underground area making it better. The guide was great. Always more to see and learn. I recommend it if you haven't been in a few years.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are going to see the Colosseum go on this tour it covers everything from top to bottom. literally. Fantastic informative guides, told me so much I can't remember it all but it was very entertaining too, not boring. It was so hot that I was very grateful we skipped the lines and went straight in once inside it was cool and pleasant, tour was very well organised and I enjoyed it a lot would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely amazing the tour guides were brilliant thank you a must if you go to Rome their knowledge of the history and architecture brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Philomena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour which we thoroughly enjoyed! We were privileged to be accompanied by an archaeologist, Elizabeth who was our guide on the tour. Huge thanks to Elizabeth who was so professional, courteous and informative and made the tour so special.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Fabrizio was the man! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nujood M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was marvellous going all around the colosseum and Rome forum we had great time going through old history of Rome with the our wonderful guide Francesca who was more that capable of delivering history to us smoothly and elegently she just made us want more and more thank you for such an informative guide and a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended. We did the earliest tour available to avoid the crowds. It was still a little crowded but not nearly as much as when we left. Out guide was an art historian and provided great insight into Romes history. We learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed our morning!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing. Perfect private tour. Vito is a superb guide. Worth every Euro.

Doing what: Private Tour: Palatine Hill in Rome Including Domus Augustana

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill was fantastic. Paulo was a great guide who was extremely knowledgeable and his stories of the areas really brought them to life. The only minor downside was the ice that was on the arena floor of the Colosseum which caused the Colosseum staff to close off access to the floor, but that allowed us more time in the underground chambers which are amazing to see.
Would recommend this tour and Paulo to anybody wanting to explore Old Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

amy.skeet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

amazing tour. WOW. the history is stunning.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sylvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic. Lara really knew her stuff and was fun to walk around with. She answered all questions thoroughly and really made an effort to include everyone. I am so glad we did this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So wonderful! Our guide Julia really brought the Colosseum and Ancient Rome to life. She was enthusiastic and a joy to listen to. We learned so much, worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastically good 3 hour trip. No long queue for the tickets and a private guide for the two of us. I did not realise that I had arranged for that rather than a group tour but am very glad I did. Our guide was brilliant: well informed took everything at the right pace and was a joy to be with. Quite a lot of walking - but that is because there is a great deal to see. All fascinating and excellently explained.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

Adam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide Livia was very good. Very approachable, friendly and knowledgeable. It was also good that she has pictures with her to show us what the Colossuem would have looked like in the day.
No complaints at all. Very easy to understand her too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Daniella was our tour guide and she was awesome with good experience about sharing the history of Colosseum and Ancient Rome. Kudos to you Daniella and we appreciate it. Until next time we for sure go back to Rome, Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

MARTIN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour and quality tour guide. Price was very fair, exceptional professionalism.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour. Our tour included the tour under the colosseum where the animals were kept and a tour of the upper level. The guide for this portion of the tour was part of an archaeological group and was very knowledgeable about everything colosseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organised with enthusiastic and knowledgable guides. I was pleased I took this option with the underground chambers and upper tier.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message