Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13550 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide provided information essential to understand an appreciate the structures.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

dduguid27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Barbara, happened to be an archaeologist and a fantastic tour guide. She told us some of the theories about what we were seeing, provided her POV and let us make up our own mind about what we think happened. She kept the tour interesting and exciting for my wife and I as well as our two teens. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

ksherring27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour and loved the upgraded part and seeing underneath the colosseum. Guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Burt P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Could not have been better. Professional in every way!!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and spoke excellent English! Outstanding experience!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lynn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide - great day! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

James

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour on a hot day! The guide was an archeologist so he really knew the history. We stayed out of the heat as much as possible and the tour was extensive and so informative! Would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dwinderjit V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with very enjoyable and knowledgeable tour guide. Would strongly recommend this and to book in advance.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with the local guide whose great descriptions of the activities of the Colosseum brought the ruins to life for me. The City Tour guide who led us through the Forum and Palantine Hill was less energetic and colorful in her commentary.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an exceptional guide - a PhD archeologist who gave us a rich and compelling look into the layers of history. She helped keep us going on a 95 degree day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra our guide wasmarvellous very informative a truely lovely man. Very good on a very hot day. Briliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and the trip underground was worth the extra cost.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

rdpaquin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so lucky to have Francesca for our Vatican and colosseum tours. It was amazing just being there, but to hear her talk about it just made it so much better. The process was very organized and we'll run. Highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant! Really enjoyed this tour ... A knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide and access to areas we couldn't get to on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Palatine Hill in Rome Including Domus Augustana

Demetrios M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding guide. She was very knowledgeable, cheerful and fun ! The explanations were in depth and interesting. Highly recommend it. One would not appreciate what they saw strolling along alone. The ruins were remarkable but brought to life by the guided explanations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

T P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't have asked for a better tour.
Our guide was called Sev, an American archaeologist teaching in Rome and his knowledge was outstanding, combined with a good sense of humour and a genuine care that totally made the tour.
The tour itself was excellent, covering many parts of the Colosseum that the general public don't get to see, then on to the Forum with lots of eye opening facts.
Well worth the money, you don't get to say that very often these days.
Don't forget your water if it's going to be a hot day.
Many thanks Sev, from the family on the right side of Hadrian's Wall !

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour ,with lots of information and walking !!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

astridmdafter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Doriana was the most amazing tour guide, having excellent knowledge of history and geography, and as an archiologist had some current diggings news as well. Dorianna did a great job to keep us focussed in the heat. It was the best tour we have done

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an experience a must see in Rome !! The tour guide was exceptional!! Learned a lot and would do it again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with a really knowledgable guide,very helpful and answered all questions asked.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David Mark W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour and well worth the money. Our tour guide had a Ph.D. in anthropology and was very informative and helpful. Great tour, book it early !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Constance R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Giuseppe was very passionate about his tour subjects and my husband and I learned alot. We have been there before but Giuseppe made it a living experience......thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mark_haywood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Guides were very knowledgable and entertaining. We were booked on the 9:30am tour but we had to transfer to the 11:15am tour. No reason why. The down side was that it was a very hot day with the Colosseum part of the tour not ending until about 2:30pm and then we off to Palatino and the Forum. A long tour in the middle of the day with no break or option to buy water.
A lot of people opted out of the guided part of Palatino and instead were given their tickets with a view to go later in the day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message