Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14765 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was exceptional! To be able to go underground as well as to the third tier for views was well worth it. Our guide Vasco was tremendous. So knowledgeable of the subject and very interesting. He kept our attention fully. I even learned that we were fibbed to by the nuns regarding religious persecution!! Shame on them. Vasco kept us interested for the full 3 hours of the tour. He did have a fellow guide for the underground and she was great also. To see how animals were lifted into the arena was informative. Something else I did not know. The Vestal Virgins home as well as the Forum and Palatine Hills were stunning! And more views from that part of the tour also. Vasco also recommended some museums that were near by that also had ruins from the Forum. His knowledge of area restaurants that were more local than touristy was excellent also!! He even had visuals, a book with reproduction drawings of what the area looked like in Roman times. Very helpful and it just brought more to the tour. We had Viator tours in 2015 and we will continue to use the company for tours such as this. Those hard to get to places where you do not want to waste time waiting for tickets or in lines. Well worth the value. And a final thanks to Vasco/Antonio, he will get the joke!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the most iconic structures on earth didn't disappoint, the guides were extremely knowledgeable and their English was excellent. Having completed the tour of the colosseum, one could have expected the remaining activities to be less interesting but they weren't and the tour of the roman forum was full of fascinating insights. Our guide, Maria, was extremely well informed and a perfect host.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sheila V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Vasco our guide was excellent - He was informative and made the whole 3 hours extremely interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Casey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this tour of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Skipping the line at the colosseum was great and a huge time saver. Our tour guide Maria was great and really added to the experience. She especially shined at the Roman Forum bringing the ruins to life and really painting a picture of the majesty of what this area once was. Without her I would have just been staring at a bunch of ruins and not really sure what I was looking at. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Les A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Enjoyed the experience to see behind the scenes at this fantastic building

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sonya United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very informative tour. I recommend it to those looking to learn about Colosseum and Roman forums

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

3rd time to Rome and the Colosseum and this was by far the best tour! The VIP area access is such a bonus and the guides are terrific and full of interesting info you'd miss otherwise. So worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour took us to the underground chambers and up to the platform and a few other behind-the-scenes locations. One of the best tours I have ever taken.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aimee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable, recreated the times for us! I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours I have ever been on, well worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Francesca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Colosseum was by far the highlight of my trip. The underground and Upper Tier were brilliant and defiantly worth a visit. would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the Colosseum and its history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I can't remember the name of our guide but she was great. She spoke with passion and knowledge and was fun to listen too. I would recommend this tour to everyone...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sai Chaitanya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It must and one of the highlight of our Italy tour. Its a five star company with all the guides and facilities in five star standards. We got special access to underground chambers and is as said in the tour description. Both our guides were very knowledgeable and very informative and provide detailed description on sites visited.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent value for the money and a must as the detail provided by the tour guide you would never know if you did it alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Roly United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Our lovely guide Alessandra was so knowledgeable in Roman history and was very patient - we learnt so much more being in a small tour group. The access to the underground area was amazing as was the very top level - fantastic views - well worth the extra money! Lots of ground to cover but well worth every step - so many ancient buildings to see on one site. Would highly recommend this trip.

Read more about Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour - Rome Viator at: https://www.viator.com/tours/Rome/Colosseum-Underground-and-Ancient-Rome-Small-Group-Tour/d511-6718COLOSSEUM?pubvcps

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you want to go to the Colosseum and Forum, do yourself a favour and pay the extra money to do this. The guides were brilliant, and the opportunity to see so much of the Colosseum was special. Very worthwhile! Pack yourself a snack as you finish inside the Forum so can stay longer.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

sorhayoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing experience I highly recommend to visitors of Rome. Our tour guide, Lucca, was fantastic!!! His passion, enthusiasm, and love for Rome was obvious, and set the tone for a wonderful 3 hours of touring the Colosseum and the Roman forums. This is not to be missed! In a small group of 6, we were taken to the lower and upper levels of the Colosseum for special views of the entire complex and great photo opportunities. He really created an image in our minds of what it must have been like thousands of years ago. He is very knowledgeable, warm, and, for us, was the perfect guide! There is a lot of walking, so bring comfortable shoes. I cannot recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Tristan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Good tour and tour guide, well planned, with a lot of good info.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. Magdalena was very knowledgeable and fun. She made the history come alive. The directions were very clear and we found our tour with no problems. The audio system was a big plus. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Natalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Totally worth the money! Our tour guide Laura was fabulous and very knowledgeable. even though it wasn and #39;t high season, the placentral was packed and the lines were very long. So sad we didn and #39;t booked more tours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best way to see this remarkable building and historical Roman influence. Once again extremely knowledgeable guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information throughout the tour. His sense of humor brought these areas of Rome to life.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Getting to go to underground and skipping the lines was well worth the money. If you are going to come all this way a tour guide really helps you not miss anything important.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message