Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14540 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic guide with loads of information on how it was used in the past.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Steve E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Is was a great tour!! Our tour guide was great and informative!!! It was so great that I will be taking this tour again with another son. It is a lot of walking. But worth it. When the tour is done you are able to tour the roman forum on your own. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great guide Jaber! This was probably our favorite Viator tour in Italy. We enjoyed the walking tour on Palatine Hill more than the Colosseum. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Piacan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You can tour the colosseum on your own, but you won't get this experience and the wonderful history lesson given by the tour guide. We were lucky to have Sara -- not only does she know her history a very patriotic Roman! and have visual aids, but she's charming and funny and was such a delight. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very impressive. Tour guide very helpful. We got the underground addon which was well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

George B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was knowlegeable and spoke perfect English. We will take this tour again on our next visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joel Ivan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went at night the day before our tour as it was highly recommended. It was beautiful at night.
The next a.m. we went back and it was great to have a tour guide explain the history.
By the end of the tour, we were exhausted. But the tour itself was incredible. Definitely suggest this tour!
Be sure to eat some breakfast before your tour if you are signing up for a AM tour.
Also, you can take a water bottle - you'll have to dump it before entering but there are water fountains that which you can use to refill your bottle.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

AMAZING! Super awesome to go to other areas with less people and amazing views, incredibly informative. 100 must do!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great and informative tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. It was an excellent, hassle free way to experience the Colosseum and some of the ruins of ancient Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

stevehouston1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and explained many interesting details of the colosseum and forum. Enjoyed hearing all the history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dong B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A friend and I went on this and had Gigi as a guide. He was awesome, very dramatic very I enjoyed. If this is your first time at the Colosseum you NEED a tour guide and I would highly recommend Viator. The guides were knowledgeable and gave you enough time at each spot. You also need to go to the underground and top floor. This tour was worth every penny!!! Gigi I'm sure I spelled his name wrong was also awesome!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mustafa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was very well organized. our guide was quite knowledgeable and polite. definetly i suggest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

teresa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! Learned so much information from him. Money well spent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sheila A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A guia impressionou pelos alto conhecimento do conteúdo histórico. As 3h de conhecimento valeram muito a pena, recomendo!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend! Our guide was an archeologist and was very knowledgable and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Stanley G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did this tour last year and loved so we booked it a second time this year to share with our teenage grand daughters and they loved it as well.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

denise m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was definitely worth every euro paid.....as a group of 4 in rome for 4 nights this was the best bit of our trip. Vasco, our guide, was great. Highly knowledgeable and entertaining....the sound equipment worked perfectly so we could hear him at every stage. Highly recommend this tour. Thank you Vasco.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rachel was an amazing tour guide and her knowledge was extensive!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. We got to go into locked areas of the Colosseum. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson on Rome. Loved it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mark United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Incredible place to tour. The tour guide Rachel was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all the areas toured, was a great communicator and made me feel very at ease being a solo traveller. The tour itself was well paced, I did not feel rushed at any point and there were some amazing sites to see and learn about. The ability to tour the VIP areas was a fantastic bonus, worth the extra price of admission. I would highly recommend this tour and/or tour guide to anybody considering the tour.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Mark United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Incredible place to tour. The tour guide Rachel was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all the areas toured, was a great communicator and made me feel very at ease being a solo traveller. The tour itself was well paced, I did not feel rushed at any point and there were some amazing sites to see and learn about. The ability to tour the VIP areas was a fantastic bonus, worth the extra price of admission. I would highly recommend this tour and/or tour guide to anybody considering the tour.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Wai Kit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. Very informative and knowledgable tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Olga H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was recommended to us by friends and it was just perfect, our tour guide was a blonde lady and I cannot remember her name, but she was awesome and knowledgeable and gave highlights and interesting little facts, never boring!! We cannot imagine doing Rome on our own! Totally worth every cent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Guy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to end our stay in Rome. Our guide Maria was very knowledgable and gave us plenty of time for photos and questions. Skip the line is a great way to save time and is worth the price. We did the 8:30 tour and only had 10 in our group instead of the normal 25 it was like a private your. Incredible architecture and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing! Seeing it on TV or in books doesn't even come close to the up close and personal in live person!
Our tour guide was great and very informative.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message