Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13833 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with great access, and very good guides to explain things and answer questions. the afternoon dragged on a little after the Colosseum, but all around great tour

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Giovanni our guide was just fabulous. Very amicable - made us all feel comfortable including our 12 and 13 year olds and made every effort to ensure we were travelling ok. Excellent knowledge of the subject matter - an archaeologist no less - that gave us a wonderful insight into the history of the Colosseum and forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Anastasia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Azurra was a fabulous tour guide with excellent English! She provided great information and could answer all our questions. The headsets made it easy to hear and it was so nice not to wait in lines, especially in the heat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Hugo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was an architect by trade and his inset on the Colosseum was really interesting. Unfortunately the Palatine Hill closed early without prior notice and we couldn't get inside however we were taken for a walk around the compound and learned a lot interesting facts. Highly recommended. Also definitely recommend this due to skipping the queue's!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

geraldine.mart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really good tour we learned a lot about the history of Rome and the Colosseum, there was a lot of walking involved more than expected but definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the morning tour to avoid the heat and increased crowds and it was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Hank F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Tourist guide was very Knowledgeable, she had a PhD in Roman history wow... amazing explanations and gives good time for resting and pics, be aware this tour has a lot of walking and steps climbing so wear comfy shoes.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

fhs84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic, Valentina was great. Archaeologist inside of Coloseum was also fantastic. Both gave us lot history information. Highly recommend the tour. Halina

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rhodema C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Knowledgeable guide who was easy to understand. She encouraged questions and shared many interesting facts. The insider access to the underground area was fantastic and worth the cost.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

babs12564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! Absolutely awe inspiring, highly recommend! Got into area only this tour does and was well worth it! Tour guide Valentina was lovely and very knowledgable and the length of tour was just enough to enjoy on a very hot day!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. Overall recommend this tour with this company. They took us to other parts other than the Colosseum. Although there wasn't enough time spent in the other areas, you were allowed to spend your free time after the tour end in spots the tour did not cover or areas where you wanted to take more pictures.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

helen m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting - guide was extremely knowledgeable and I would recommend this trip

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Martin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We actually had two tour guides for our Colessum tour, Fabrizio and Barbara. Both were amazing! The Colosseum is stand-alone amazing. Access to the underground chambers as well as the upper tier was well worth it and definitely is the only way to fully appreciate the structure and it's history. Fabrizio and Barbara were both knowledgeable and passionate about the topic as well as being considerate and mindful of the desires and comfort of the members of the tour on the very hot day. Do not miss this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

franksinapi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you like the Colosseum, this is a great tour.
We had multiple tour guides for this one, they were both fantastic.
Our tour was a small group, and we were away from the masses.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Alessandro, was very informative and entertaining. His English is good and easy to understand. I highly recommend this tour! You get to see and learn so much in just 3 hours, especially if you have a tour guide with as much enthusiasm as Alessandro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was great, very knowledgeable. A lot of stairs but well worth it. Awesome site.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fantastic tour with City wonders who are a fantastic company. Our tour guide Barbara was very informative and friendly. Made the tour worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The private tour of the Colosseum was top rate! Would highly recommend this as the only way to get a first hand glimpse of the Colosseum in its entirety - the tiered seating, dungeons where the gladiators and animals awaited their doom. The other tours had long lines and were limited to only certain areas for viewing. The tour also included the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill - well worth every minute!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Debbie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience.
The tour guide was the best we had in our trip to Europe and showed us as much as possible while giving us heaps of worthwhile information.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mallory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With this tour you get right into the Colosseum and Forum, which is basically priceless on a scorching day when you see the hours long line for people without tickets. The tour guide was really informative and she kept my attention throughout the duration of the tour. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

marty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very informative afternoon. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Would have liked to do the underground tour but we left it too late and it was booked out and we were on very limited time. However this is very good and would highly recommend. Well worth the price as without a guide you don't know what you are looking at!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

lesliepannell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide! Loved this tour. A good mix of local and history knowledge, didn't feel rushed. Visiting the underground section was very interesting and the archaeologist who conducted that part of the tour was very good at providing the right amount of details.

We were given time at the end of the tour we wrapped about 5:00PM to stay in Ancient Rome and explore it some more but most of us were done by then having been out in the hot sun on our feet for hours. Make sure and have an empty water bottle to fill for this part of the tour. You can't take full water bottles into the Colosseum any more but you can fill them once you are in from water fountains there. Also, toilet access is a bit challenging so be aware of that given the tour duration.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Scot S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable about Rome's history. I think it was worth the price to learn more about the sites and get into the Colosseum quickly!.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her again on our Vatican tour. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on the Colossuem tour are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city, it's origins, and you could tell she loved sharing the information with her tour group. We loved listening to her descriptions, anticdotes because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members on a very crowded, hot, and sunny day. She always tried to have people in the shade as much as possible. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! The sights of the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palentine Hill are something you will never see or experience anywhere else in the world. Thank you!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was so great! We recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message