With its prime location overlooking the mighty Colosseum, the Parco del Colle Oppio (Colle Oppio Park) is often seen as a mere walkway to Rome’s star attraction, but the hillside park is also a fascinating archeological site in its own right. Famously one of the seven hills of ancient Rome, Colle Oppio was once the site of the Baths of Trajan and Titus, as well as the Domus Aurea, (Nero’s Villa) and is dotted with intriguing ruins.
Laid out by Raffaele De Vico in 1928, the 11-hectare park was once embellished with marble statues, grand fountains and rose gardens, but today maintains a somewhat unkept façade. It’s none-the-less a popular lookout point, offering great views of the Colosseum and the Palatine, and hosts live music, entertainment and art exhibitions during the summer months.
The Parco del Colle Oppio is located just northeast of the Colosseum in central Rome.