Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazza Navona

The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 6531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this tour, Stephanie was a great guide, very informative and interesting

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information throughout the tour. His sense of humor brought these areas of Rome to life.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Daniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. I wouldn't want to ride a bicycle through the streets of Rome without a competent and friendly guide. We wound up with only 3 of us on the tour. We were all experienced city cyclists in fairly good shape. The riding was technically a bit challenging for us. I would avoid this ride if I were not a fairly competent cyclist and certainly would not label this an easy ride. We saw many of the major sites of Rome and several that were a bit off the beaten path. We were left with a very good feel for the city and helpful suggestions for places to tour and places to eat on our own. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The equipment was good. We had very good weather. I would be wary of doing this tour in the rain with slick wet streets.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Meaghan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was very good! Our guide Irene was very nice, funny and informative. She did not waste time and she made sure we all had time to take photos and take in the sights. I would definitely recommend this, especially since the individual ticket line for the Colosseum is extremely long even in winter. Go in a group like this and get in faster/learn more!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Averil W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I'm really sorry that I did not write this sooner, because I think I did my tour guide a GRAVE injustice! I did my tour in November with Elizabetha I hope I spelled her name right. She made Ancient Rome come alive!! You could really tell she has a great love of the subject matter, In fact, she did her university studies on that specific subject.
There was no point in time when I felt bored. And she was very good at moving us along, but not so fast that you felt rushed. Just enough time for each spot. She as able to answer all of our questions, nothing was ever too complicated or too simple for her to answer.
Could I have gotten a Guide Book, sure, but I would have been at a great disadvantage had I not had her.
As this is a walking tour, I'd would advise anyone planning to ensure you have good wlaking shoes, a good night's sleep, and eat a good breakfast.
Dont' carry large back packs, as it really can be a hassle going through security. Come prepared to be wowed!
Don't worry if you can'r be right beside your guide, the radio ear phones are great. It's also a good way for you to realize if you are falling behind or as too far ahead, because the sound with chip just a bit.
Lot's of great spots to take pictures.

I would recommend this for a family if you had older kids, or maybe a younger child who likes history, but don't plan anything else for the rest of the day, because they might be really pooped in the end.
I would definitely go on another tour with this company. It was awesome and a great vaule for my money.
Can't wait to try another one of their products.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Toni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a trip of a life time! The group was small and the guide was well informed! You get to see many things that i would never have found on my own. Love it

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Anthony l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the best way to start the trip and the best way to get around rome quickly. The tour gave us a general outline of rome and all the particular area of interest. Our guide was fantastic, he was a local and knew so much of Rome's history, it was great retracing the tour during our time there. Thank you for a great experience

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Rodel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

James is very passionate and knowledgeable. I appreciate his wit and humor as well. I will certainly recommend him to my friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Tour in Rome: Espresso, Gelato and Tiramisu

Reynie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Aaamazing Tour! Would recommend it to any Coffee and Ice cream lover, just like my wife and I . It was a very small group with just the three of us plus Giorgia. She was great, she took us to two different cafe shops, two of the most famous ones in Rome, and two different gelato shops, where we got to sample five flavors before picking two in a cup or cone, and one famous tiramisu shop. It was a good walk, but worth it!!

Doing what: Small-Group Food Tour in Rome: Espresso, Gelato and Tiramisu

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

could not have asked for more. Guide was fabulous, spent way more time then the tour was suppose to be. loved it

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Hannah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We genuinely can't rate these tours high enough! Both our tour guides, Fabrizio in the morning and Damiano in the afternoonsneeky photos of them below, were extremely knowledgeable archaeologists that gave us a great insight to the history and architecture of Rome and made our holiday memorable. If it's your first time in Rome, or if you simply want to learn more about this amazing city, we'd highly recommend booking with these guys !

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really beautiful afternoon tour. Our tour guide Damiano was very informative and engaging.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Lyndall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely the best! Elisabeta was a wonderful tour guide. Excellent way to see the sights. LOVED IT!!!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Edward R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! Very fun way to get an overview of Rome--plus we saw a few things we hadn't seen our other times in Rome. Our guide was great and the bikes were nice too. We finished up with some pretty good gelato!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

John G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Tiffany L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not to miss! See the best of the monuments and fountains in one tour!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Mar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great place to learn history of gladiators and Empire. We both a tickets tour in Viator -
Booked your tour to Small Wonders our tour guide is Kristine which we have a good time. She tell us all details - History and the Roman Empire how it made. Tip January is good time to go to Rome, not overcrowded with tourist. And you could take a good scenic without interruption of people around you.

Awesome loved it. If you're going to Rome it's a must see the wonders of Roman Empire how they build this Colosseum without any gadget.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Craig Hadfield United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Marcel was brilliant, really enjoyed this tour. Such a nice way to see Rome, especially if you like cycling. I was worried they would be old bikes, but they looked and rode brand new. Loved it!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our first tour of the trip and it was amazing! What a guide and what a city - so beautiful. On the morning tour you will see all the highlights of Classical Rome and you'll walk mostly hopping on and off the bus twice. This is the way to do it if your time is limited and even if you are staying a month or a lifetime I would definitely recommend it. Just wandering the streets with a local who loves this place is fantastic. You will see the Trevi Fountain and Pantheon and all the important squares etc. and get a feel for classical, gorgeous, Rome. We took this tour on Boxing Day right after Christmas and I was very confused when I booked it because many comments referred to visits to the Vatican despite the fact that it was not mentioned in the description of this tour. We did enter Vatican City briefly on the tour but the museum, Basilica, and Sistine Chapel we closed because of the holiday. This was good for us because I think we got to spend more time in the city of Rome as I had hoped and we had a tour of the Vatican scheduled for later in the week. The Vatican portion of the tour is something that causes a bit of confusion but I assume this tour often gives you a bit of time in St. Peter's Basilica. In any case, bring your own set of earbuds just in case the ones they give you don't work properly and have a blast!!

We also took the Afternoon Ancient Tour Of Rome that you could add to this tour and it was the only tour I found a bit disappointing. Be aware you will not get to walk through the Roman Forum as I assumed we would. We enjoyed it however and did see the ruins of course but had little detailed explanation. You do have to wait as the guide buys tickets for the Coliseum but we were prepared for that as we had read reviews here. If time is limited add this part of the tour most definitely! A nighttime tour might be a bit better.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Hillel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this trip to individuals who would like to cover some significant ground and yet get insightful information about the history of Rome.
The bike company is extremely friendly and we were fortunate to have a wonderful and knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good guide and interesting tour with historical insights- highly recommended

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

mfathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I believe any place in Rome is just amazing, I really love this city.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Rosie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent bike tour hosted by Emanuel. Very professional organisation with excellent bikes, clean helmets and kit bags, and bike garage. The tour and itinerary was excellent covering both sides of the Tiber. Very suitable for all.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Lee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guides for both of these tours were just amazing-so very knowledgeable. We all felt like this was an incredible time well spent and sooooo informative. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Mutaz F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very friendly staff, good bikes, Elizabeth our guide was very friendly and nice talking to, we spent a lovely time on that morning in Rome, viewed almost all the historic landmarks in the city, I highly recommend this tour to others.

Mutaz Ferman

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour with Optional Electric-Assist Bike

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message