Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Raphael's Rooms

Raphael's Rooms (Stanze di Raffaello) are four interconnected rooms in the Vatican which have frescoes painted by the renowned Renaissance artist Raphael (1483 - 1520). These late Renaissance frescoes are the second-most famous in the Vatican's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

aprilanncordova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican Museums are truly IMMENSE therefore, this skip the line tour was worth it! We were able to cover all of the important and most amazing features in my opinion of the museums and learned a ton of interesting facts along the way with our tour guide Sylvia. Each part of the tour was stunning and chilling as we witnessed the beauty and ingenuity of famous artists. Vatican Museums, St. Peter's Basilica, Raphael's Rooms, and the Sistine Chapel are MUST-SEEs when you're in Vatican City, and it'll be even better with this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael R. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We absolutely loved our tour of St. Peter's, the museums and Raphael's Rooms and the Sistine Chapel! Organization was excellent we had no problem locating and checking in with the Viator group, and experienced no issues getting through security, receiving our tickets or even working in comfort breaks. The quiet boxes worked well we had no problem hearing our tour guide Emma or Ema. She was very knowledgeable about the art, the history of the place, items of particular interest, and, well, everything! She spoke excellent English we had absolutely no trouble understanding her unlike a different tour experience we had. Emma allowed sufficient time for photos and our questions, and was just a wealth of knowledge. We give her very high marks indeed, and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

GAURAVJIT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and we really liked her explanation of Michelangelo's paintings at the Sistine Chapel. Our tour also included Raphael's rooms which was definitely a bonus.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dario was our tour guide and he was fantastic,had a great level of knowledge about the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's Bacilica. He was also very engaging and entertaining. We loved not having to wait in the lines for these sights and the Whole tour was organised very well. Thank you very much, we loved it so much that we have booked more tours in Venice and Paris with Viator!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rene W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to get the most out of an overwhelming site and to beat the lines! Maria was so very knowledgeable and very adaptable to the groups needs. She was always looking out for my mom to be sure we minimized our time going up and down stairs and made sure options were offered when it was time to take a rest. I was here 3 years ago, without a guide and felt like it was my first time seeing the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's, given Maria's insights and how she was able to convey the stories behind the art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Carolyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was wonderful! The opportunity to see the Sistine Chapel and all of Michelangelo's work was so surreal. Then on to the St. Peter's Basilica was another surreal experience. Seeing the location where St. Peter was buried and the beauty of the church, amazing! Stella was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable and spoke good English for all to understand. Skipping the line was a huge plus! It was extremely long and why anyone would want to wait in those long lines while on vacation is beyond me! The crowds in the Vatican Museum, Raphael's Rooms and Sistine Chapel were crazy! But there's really nothing you can do to avoid it. Everyone wants to see this amazing place and I don't blame them one bit!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Karmela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic way to get through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and the Basilica. The guide was full of interesting knowledge. So many people about, can't imagine doing this visit without a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour - enabled us to see some highlights of the Vatican museum before heading onto St Peter's. Our tour guide was a qualified art historian - so it was particularly interesting for us to have some context and explanation about the Sistine Chapel prior to entering so that we knew some things to look out for. Likewise it was great to get some commentary as we moved through the Vatican museum - including the Raphael's rooms.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

VENKAT GIRIDHAR V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour special thanks to our guide Tiffany who is an encyclopaedia of knowledge on Renaissance art, Vatican Museum including Raphael's Rooms, Hall of Maps, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica. Tiffany kept the audience engaged with enthusiasm. Even a layman who does not have knowledge of history would develop an interest for the subject due to Tiffany's methodological insight into historical events.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cried in the Sistine Chapel! Our guide was great, kept us moving, took us through Raphael's Rooms, very knowledgeable and obviously very interested in teaching us! Loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a terrific tour! Skipping the lines is the only way to go and being in before the public opening gave us a very up close and personal experience with the museums and Raphael's Rooms. Our guide was terrific. This is a must do way to see the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Gregg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a remarkable tour and visit pure delight and amazing. A must do tour for every visitor to the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's.
Our tour guide - Shannon - had profound knowledge which she passed onto us with passion and enthusiasm and in a manner which was inclusive at all times. What a gem she was!!!
As the tour advertises - skip the line - is an absolute must. We whisked by the extremely long line waiting for entrance and found ourselves with the Vatican Museum with absolute ease.
Can one actually describe the beauty of the artworks inside - probably not! Will the memories of this amazing destination remain with us forever - absolutely!
You have to book this tour and try and insist on Shannon as your guide - she has a masters qualification in fine art, she has an empathetic and friendly nature and she cares deeply about the subject matter. We had the pleasure of bumping into Shannon some days later in Florence where she was enjoying being a tourist herself! and with no hesitation she remembered us and her friendliness just continued.
The organisation of this tour was exemplary and worth every Euro spent. Thank you for making our time at the Vatican an experience we will talk about for years to come.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mihai a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect trip, it's so important to understand the Michelangelo's frescoes at Sixtine Chapel and the other works of art in Raphael's rooms. We love our guide, Francesca and the entire tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Vatican Museums Walking Tour including the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St. Peter's was absolutely amazing. Of course, my friends and I liked skipping the lines but once inside, it was chaos with so many people. Other than that, the tour guide was exceptionally well-versed in a wealth of information. Would give her a 5-star!!!

Nancy, Jane, and Debra from Tulsa, OK, USA

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Yvonne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I recently visited Rome for a 5 night break and booked the skip the line tour for the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/Raphael's Rooms and St Peters with Viator. I was able to avoid the queue's and the 4 hour wait and went straight in.The tour was approximately 3 hours long and it was worth every penny. I would not have had such a fantastic experience of these amazing places if I had not had such a knowledgable and patient tour guide Oscar. He made this tour one to remember and I would recommend this to anymore visiting Rome and hope you are lucky enough to have the same guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rosslyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Combining this tour with the Papal visit was terrific. We were able to skip the massive three hour waiting lines to enjoy a very thorough and enjoyable tour of the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's rooms and St Peter's. This is a must do tour. Another fabulous Viator which I would recommend highly and combined it with the must do Papal Audience tour. Another treasured memory! Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria Rosaria was fantastic! Her knowledge and enthusiasm was refreshing and we were able to understand her very well. She knew so much about the art in the Vatican Museum, Raphael's Rooms, St. Peters and the Sistine Chapel. It was also better with a small group of 12....well worth the extra money. Maria also showed us where we could go to climb to the top of the Cupola which was incredible (but a lot of stairs!) !! She was one of the best guides I've had!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

TravelAbroad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This guide was fantastic! He took the time to explained the painting in the Sistine Chapel before we actually saw them. He also informed us that although the painting on the ceilings looked three dimension they were actually flat and that the artists used shadows to make that affect.
This was an awe inspiring tour. Raphael's Rooms were breath taking. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. We also toured St Peter's Basilica and knowing that the Pope had just held service there is something that I will never forget! There is a lot of walking as well as going up a lot of steps but it is so worth it. You can't come to Roman and not take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

judy2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Skip the line is the only way to do the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Julie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Dario for a tour guide and he was terrific! Funny, informative and knowledgeable. I can't imagine waiting in line when this tour is so accessible! We felt like rock stars a little, the regular line was incredibly long. Plus I know we learned much more from Dario than we would have on our own. The Sistine Chapel is breathtaking and almost surreal. My favorites tho may have been Raphael's Rooms. Our guide pointed out such interesting facts. The whole 3 hours (we did the morning which I recommend if you go in the summer). The opulence of St. Peter's is almost too much to take in. Incredible. At the end of our tour we were invited to stay if we so desired, to light a candle or wander around more. Definitely do this tour - do not attempt to do it on your own unless you have a lot of time to spare.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was definitely worth the extra $$ on top of the entrance fee to the Vatican Museums! This was largely due to our wonderful tour guide, Sabrina. She was very knowledgable and and art history major, so we really felt like we knew a lot more about the artwork before we even got into Raphael's Rooms and the Sistine Chapel. I highly recommend this tour to get the most out of your Vatican experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Laura D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Loved the headphones- with so many people, it is great to still be able to hear the guide even if you are separated. This was especially beneficial when in the Vatican Museums and Raphael's Rooms as there are so many people. Our guide was so enthusiastic about everything she was showing us. It was obvious that she really enjoyed her job! There were several younger children in our group, and she had a lovely way of interacting with them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

June Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Catherine was outstanding . Excellent tour and the most humbling experience. Raphael's rooms were moving. Could spend days and days here. Catherine - Brilliant!!!!!

June And Michael - Australia

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! I HIGHLY recommend the skip the line tour because the line to get into the Vatican Museum was down the street and around the corner. We would have been waiting half the day. But with this tour we met out guide and walked right in. Very nice and knowledgeable guide and of course the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peters Basilica were gorgeous!! Fantastic tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Craig G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend this tour. We were easily able to bypass the long lines and enter the Vatican with no problems. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and willing to answer any and all questions thrown at her. We explored the Vatican Museum including the room of maps, raphael's rooms, the sistine chapel and St. Peters. For first timers - this is a great introduction and overview.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message