Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 231 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gillian.maguire11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

what a way to see Rome outside of the city. our guide 'Maria' went above and beyond the call of duty and her knowledge and sense of humour dazzled us. the catacombs, Via Appia and the aqueduct made a great morning of sightseeing. Inwould highly reccomend Enjoy Rome as a company and will seek out their tours when next in Rome

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Claire L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Katrina and Luka was the highlight of all of the tours I took. She was originally form California so her English was perfect also speaks Italian and some German just as easily. She has really studied her history and gave us some much information along with questions about what we thought things were that it became a history discussion instead of just a guided tour. Myths, legends, the actual facts, who the gods were and then the name changes, how things became what we know today - wow. She was the best guide I've ever had in all of my travels! The catacombs were fascinating and we were luck enough to witness several Masses being held in there - a rare sight since they usually happen when closed to the public. I was with Katrina's side so really didn't interact with Luka except when he lectured on the bus but he was also great.If you're going, I'd recommend asking for her. We also went to a small church St Clement - and the church under it from the 12th century and the one under that from 400AD - amazing, and then the Osuary with the bone art - some people didn't really like it, but looking at it from the art side, what they did with the bones was amazing and beautiful and then to hear the story behind it and the reverence that these monks have for it, they go in and pray each day with their ancestors. Well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

carolyn w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant although we didn't go on the walking tour as I felt unwell with a horrendous cold and it threatened rain.... but the first part with the Capuchin museum and the chapels filled with ornaments of bones was just mind blowing... Not macabre when you hear the reasoning behind it and the beliefs.... the church on 3 levels was absolutely amazing and such an example of the archaeological lasagna that they speak of in Rome... the catacombs was fantastic too... we got there on a coach which took about 20 mins but our guide told us facts and stories to pass the time... BEWARE the toilets at the catacombs.... yuck..... all in all i would recommend as a very interesting and informative tour... well worth the money

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

Erin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was great and very informative. We were able to visit three great places during this tour. There was bus transportation between the locations, which was fantastic. Highly recommend if you are interested in the crypts and catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Thomas C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was interesting and well conducted. But what we saw was not all that amazing. Indeed the crypts of human bones was, to us, rather weird - rather than awe inspiring or amazing. I wish we had had more of the catacombs to tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I flew into Rome from the US the morning of the tour already exhausted and planned this for the afternoon just to stay awake and get a good overview of the city. It was lots of fun. Glad I did it. Tour guide, Daniel, provided lots of interesting information. He was clear about instructions and was professional about keeping the group informed about what was happening next and reasonably safe, even in traffic. I loved the variety of this tour, starting in Central Rome, stopping at the Catacombs, along the Appian Way, and farmland still in the city. I chose the mountain bike, as did most of our group, over the electric bikes. The only thing the company could have done better was fitting us onto bikes. I and several others were on bikes that were too big - the seats could be lowered to an appropriate height but reach was too long and it was difficult to stop and start since the frame was too tall. Not sure if they didn't have smaller bikes or if they just didn't bother to fit us. The tour ended at 8 pm, and the staff was helpful getting me a cab back to the hotel.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Lorraine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Andy, was exceptional! He made the tour so interesting with so many facts and a very good recommendation for dinner near Trevi fountain. The tour was so refreshing since it was underground at least half the time and a welcome break from the summer heat in Rome. It was amazing how Andy directed us through the catacombs and back up to street level. The Capuchin crypts were very unusual and St. Clements church was so interesting with the 12th , 4th, 2nd and 1st century buildings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Felipe was very good at telling the stories behind the Basilica of Saint Clementine and the catacombs. Great tour for history buffs.

Doing what: Rome Catacombs and San Clemente Underground Tour

sunshinesmile767

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was a young lady from Ireland and was a joy and had lots of interesting history and information to share with us.This is probably like nothing you've ever seen before. The crypts are decorated in human bones so if you think you can't handle it, you could probably wait outside for the group or just visit the gift shop. The Catacombs are amazing! The pick up and drop off point is the same, easy to get too, I found out some of the tours aren't like that. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Maria E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because of our tour size, two tours were combined and we ended up with two tour guided that were very interesting and engaging and made the whole experience fun. Rome is a city with so much character and history and these tour guides gave us a lot of information we will remember. The Catacombs were fascinating. Bu showing us how the building were built one on top of each other was impressive. They pointed out details which would have been missed if we were doing a self guided tour.
Rome is built like a lasagna with many layer of history. One needs these type of guides to help us learn about this great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow! The catacombs were fascinating. Our guide was so knowledgeable and was eager to pass on the stories and information she knew. Just being able to be in these ancient burial spots was amazing. The Basilica of San Clemente was unbelievable. Before I booked the tour, this was on our visit list. To be able to go down 60 feet through the current Basilica to the 4th century church with its faded frescoes and beautiful baptismal font. Below that is the 3d century Temple of Mithras, sun god of Persian origin. One more layer down is the ancient Roman mint. Great place to visit. Capuchin crypts are made of 3700 skeletons and while beautifully done - imagine shoulder blade bones in a flower pattern - it is creepy at the same time. Interestingly, who did them or when is still unknown. This is definitely a must tour if you really want to not only see the catacombs and crypts but also want the stories behind them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Lynda K Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our first impression of this tour wasn't great as when we got to the office the tour operator, they had moved to the other side of Rome. Luckily we had left early enough that we were able to call them, catch a cab to the new address the cost of which they reimbursed and catch the tour on time. WThere were just 12 in the group which was great. Our guide, Jeanette, was an Art History major and was very knoiwledgeable entertaining. She gave us lots of historical background on our way to each of the sites. She also was able to give us lots of info about the catacombs when we were there. The catacombs were very interesting but anyone with claustrophobia might not be comfortable in there. Next stop was the Appian Way. We stopped and had a wlk down the chariot-rutted cobble stones. It was awesome to think I was standing on the same road where the Apostle Paul walked. The last stop was ast the site of the aquaducts. Again Jeanette had lots of info on the history - how they were built, the specifications, etc. This tour is great if you want a day away from museums and art galleries and want an easy day of touring very little walking.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Beryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bike ride was something completely different and informative. Jesse was a great tour guide. We all learned a lot from him.
The catacombs tour was interesting, just know that there will not be any bones to see like you see in other catacombs.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide very knowledgable - especially blown away by the church on top of a church on top of a house built 100AD - catacombs amazing

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

tsaldanaak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Andy did an excellent job breathing life and excitement into a tour that deals with death and reverence to those souls. The crypt of remains of Capuchin friars is intriguing surrounding the mystery of the artist who created the artful design of the rooms. The catacombs and the Christian story of burial is fascinating. The tour of San Clemente basilica was most rewarding. Standing 60 feet below street level in 1st century temple was humbling. The next level being a temple to Mithras seemed almost unbelievable, stuff read about but now real. Definitely different tour but very worthwhile tour and price. Andy is a talented guide, excited and dedicated to his craft and sharing his knowledge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Marc A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour. I'm so happy my son wanted to do this. I have been to Rome 5 times and never did this before. The catacombs and St Clemente was absolutely amazing to see the different layers of Rome. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! We are a family of 5 and our jaws were dropped the entire tour! We really enjoyed our guide Jon and all the information and passion he had. Learning about the Capuchin Monks and going underground to the catacombs were amazing! I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but this is a tour to take. We have already recommended it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour, it started at 2pm and finished about 8pm, six hours flew by and electric bikes were a great idea for just a few of the inclines, active cyclists would have no problems with using non-electric bikes too. The tour guide Federico was very helpful, informative, courteous and professional at all times and the stop off at the catacombs and farm-house were special experiences. Recommend this highly, for a great way to see Rome you won't be disappointed, throw the leg over the crossbar and set off for a great experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

lisa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth it and I can honestly say that without this tour I doubt I would have seen the crypts and it is certain I would not have appreciated the whole visit anywhere near as much. It was a small group that joined another small group just for the bus journey and it worked very well.
The guide Dimitris was amazing, his English was perfect and as a guide incredibly knowledgeable and funny. I would highly recommend this tour.
I booked primarily for the Catacombs but the crypt really impressed me, it is not for the faint of heart as these are human skulls and bones but it is something else.
The catacombs were well explained and without a guide I doubt we would have really appreciated them. They are just outside the city walls and a short bus journey but the other general information you get on route is an added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

dene m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great introduction tour for the younger people. Tour guides ANDY was great!! It was not creepy or scary at all. The bone museum was incredible! A must see! With a name like Crypts and Catacombs I was hoping for something a bit more than PG rated BUT it was good for what it was.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Joseph B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Awesome bikes with electric assist motors, disc brakes. The tour and equipment was very well organized. Our guide was excellent and did a great job of looking after everyone in the group. We rode over lots of different terrain, stone, pavement, dirt trails, cobble stone, etc. It was a lot of fun. The catacombs tour was a really nice bonus. And stopping at the end at a farm to enjoy some wine and cheese was a great way to cap off the day.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Karen D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. We had two groups on the Crypts and Catacombs tour, so while on the bus, two guides giving us information. Both had great insights to share and explained things in ways that were clear and amusing. The catacombs were very interesting and with the good guides, it made for a great experience. The crypts and ossuary were certainly unique. Morbid but unique.
The mystery tour was a great deal of walking often in crowds downtown Rome on Saturday night. Again, a very good guide who understood that a ghost tour shouldn't take itself too seriously. We didn't stay to the end as it was too much walking, but we enjoyed the part we did.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour - just what we hoped it would be. Our guides were Lucca and Gio. The Catacombs were amazing and gave you a real feel for the time period. Throughout Lucca filled in all the historical background, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Marc P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour to take to hit three attractions: catacombs, Appian Way, and the aqua ducts. This tour is really all about the catacombs, with just a taste of the other two. Tour bus was small but comfortable, and our guide was fantastic! Made me wish that I had booked an Appian Way tour by itself! Guess that's for the next trip to Rome. This tour is definitely recommended!!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Gina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour! We had Andy as our guide and his knowledge of the catacombs and crypts was amazing. Would thoroughly recommend this tour. Thanks Andy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message