Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynda K Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our first impression of this tour wasn't great as when we got to the office the tour operator, they had moved to the other side of Rome. Luckily we had left early enough that we were able to call them, catch a cab to the new address the cost of which they reimbursed and catch the tour on time. WThere were just 12 in the group which was great. Our guide, Jeanette, was an Art History major and was very knoiwledgeable entertaining. She gave us lots of historical background on our way to each of the sites. She also was able to give us lots of info about the catacombs when we were there. The catacombs were very interesting but anyone with claustrophobia might not be comfortable in there. Next stop was the Appian Way. We stopped and had a wlk down the chariot-rutted cobble stones. It was awesome to think I was standing on the same road where the Apostle Paul walked. The last stop was ast the site of the aquaducts. Again Jeanette had lots of info on the history - how they were built, the specifications, etc. This tour is great if you want a day away from museums and art galleries and want an easy day of touring very little walking.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Beryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bike ride was something completely different and informative. Jesse was a great tour guide. We all learned a lot from him.
The catacombs tour was interesting, just know that there will not be any bones to see like you see in other catacombs.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide very knowledgable - especially blown away by the church on top of a church on top of a house built 100AD - catacombs amazing

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

tsaldanaak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Andy did an excellent job breathing life and excitement into a tour that deals with death and reverence to those souls. The crypt of remains of Capuchin friars is intriguing surrounding the mystery of the artist who created the artful design of the rooms. The catacombs and the Christian story of burial is fascinating. The tour of San Clemente basilica was most rewarding. Standing 60 feet below street level in 1st century temple was humbling. The next level being a temple to Mithras seemed almost unbelievable, stuff read about but now real. Definitely different tour but very worthwhile tour and price. Andy is a talented guide, excited and dedicated to his craft and sharing his knowledge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Marc A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour. I'm so happy my son wanted to do this. I have been to Rome 5 times and never did this before. The catacombs and St Clemente was absolutely amazing to see the different layers of Rome. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! We are a family of 5 and our jaws were dropped the entire tour! We really enjoyed our guide Jon and all the information and passion he had. Learning about the Capuchin Monks and going underground to the catacombs were amazing! I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but this is a tour to take. We have already recommended it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour, it started at 2pm and finished about 8pm, six hours flew by and electric bikes were a great idea for just a few of the inclines, active cyclists would have no problems with using non-electric bikes too. The tour guide Federico was very helpful, informative, courteous and professional at all times and the stop off at the catacombs and farm-house were special experiences. Recommend this highly, for a great way to see Rome you won't be disappointed, throw the leg over the crossbar and set off for a great experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

lisa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth it and I can honestly say that without this tour I doubt I would have seen the crypts and it is certain I would not have appreciated the whole visit anywhere near as much. It was a small group that joined another small group just for the bus journey and it worked very well.
The guide Dimitris was amazing, his English was perfect and as a guide incredibly knowledgeable and funny. I would highly recommend this tour.
I booked primarily for the Catacombs but the crypt really impressed me, it is not for the faint of heart as these are human skulls and bones but it is something else.
The catacombs were well explained and without a guide I doubt we would have really appreciated them. They are just outside the city walls and a short bus journey but the other general information you get on route is an added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

dene m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great introduction tour for the younger people. Tour guides ANDY was great!! It was not creepy or scary at all. The bone museum was incredible! A must see! With a name like Crypts and Catacombs I was hoping for something a bit more than PG rated BUT it was good for what it was.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Joseph B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Awesome bikes with electric assist motors, disc brakes. The tour and equipment was very well organized. Our guide was excellent and did a great job of looking after everyone in the group. We rode over lots of different terrain, stone, pavement, dirt trails, cobble stone, etc. It was a lot of fun. The catacombs tour was a really nice bonus. And stopping at the end at a farm to enjoy some wine and cheese was a great way to cap off the day.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Karen D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. We had two groups on the Crypts and Catacombs tour, so while on the bus, two guides giving us information. Both had great insights to share and explained things in ways that were clear and amusing. The catacombs were very interesting and with the good guides, it made for a great experience. The crypts and ossuary were certainly unique. Morbid but unique.
The mystery tour was a great deal of walking often in crowds downtown Rome on Saturday night. Again, a very good guide who understood that a ghost tour shouldn't take itself too seriously. We didn't stay to the end as it was too much walking, but we enjoyed the part we did.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour - just what we hoped it would be. Our guides were Lucca and Gio. The Catacombs were amazing and gave you a real feel for the time period. Throughout Lucca filled in all the historical background, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Marc P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour to take to hit three attractions: catacombs, Appian Way, and the aqua ducts. This tour is really all about the catacombs, with just a taste of the other two. Tour bus was small but comfortable, and our guide was fantastic! Made me wish that I had booked an Appian Way tour by itself! Guess that's for the next trip to Rome. This tour is definitely recommended!!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Gina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour! We had Andy as our guide and his knowledge of the catacombs and crypts was amazing. Would thoroughly recommend this tour. Thanks Andy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

cetompkins3

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Both guides for this tour were very knowledgeable, articulate, and friendly. The catacombs were interesting, but one's interest is quickly satisfied walking through the tunnels and viewing empty niches. Perhaps greater discussion of funeral practices or epitaphic materials would increase the level of interest. The church visit between the catacombs and Capuchin Crypts seemed to be a placeholder with limited content. The Capuchin Crypts were very interesting. We double timed through the Capuchins museum enroute to the crypts and I would have liked to have taken a few more minutes to view the museum. All in all, though, I'd recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Emilie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. There was a bus picking us up at the meeting point which then took us to the catacombs, then the sant clementine church and last to the bones crypt. It was really interesting to see the catacombs and walk around in the tunnels underground and our tour guide was great. I highly recommend this to other people!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Huraiyah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I was able to go on the ghost and mystery walking tour, but missed the catacombs tour because I was to exhausted. They offered me a credit which I thought was very nice of them. The ghost and mystery walking tour was amazing. Thrills, chills and laughs!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely astounding. We were the only ones at our tour so it made it more personal. We were very lucky due to it was a Jubilee year of Mercy - thus we were able to walk through the Holy Doors that normally happens every 25 years. St. John's was breathtaking, honestly pictures doesn't due it justice. St Mary Major was as beautiful in it's own way.

Our guide I can't remember her name, but she was think with brown hair, was to helpful and showed/shared with us information we would have past by if it wasn't for her. The catacombs were amazing bring a sweater since it gets cold down there. Everyone should visit the catacombs to fully understand the Christian and Pegan religion relationship. Wonderful.

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. It was long enough to see what's listed and get some interesting history without being overwhelming. It should be noted up front that for the most part, pictures aren't allowed in the crypts and catacombs. Our guide, Peter, was great and had a lot of good information - both about the tour attractions and Rome itself despite being a Mchgn fan. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

jeffy scott

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Have been on this tour before and always loved it. Had some difficulty this time because we took my mom who handicapped and uses a walker. We normally book private tours because she walks slowly but this tour is not offered privately so we tried it. Made it through the catacombs but we had to drop out for the last two portions because the group moves very, very fast and could not wait for us. Disappointing we could not see the last two churches. But as long as you can keep up it's a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided to take this tour as we usually don't go out to the countryside too often. Visiting the Catacombs, the ancient Via Appia and the Roman Acquaducts was very interesting. A great informative guide Jeanette provided us with a lively commentary throughout the half day experience. The tour was well organized and the departure point was just a few blocks from Termini.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of some very interesting catacombs and crypts. Tour guide was very informative, but tended to repeat himself if folks on tour asked any questions. He'd answer the question then repeat stuff he'd already said, incorporating the new information. Not sure why he felt the need to do this. Otherwise, we really enjoyed what he had to say and learned a lot about Roman history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Thomas J F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This was a very good tour with a very good guide. However, we spent most of the time in the catacombs and very little on the Appian Way Roman countryside. We were the only people on this tour, so it turned out to be a private tour. Perhaps more time is needed to do more of the countryside.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Aphrodite Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my favourite tour out of my whole 6 week European holiday! For starters we had a fantastic guide who made Roman history come alive with the way she told it, unfortunately cannot remember her name but she was American with red hair if that helps. The catacombs were simply amazing - beautiful frescos over many of the tombs that were painted thousands of years ago was so cool! It was an endless series of underground narrow passages so it was mandatory to be with a guide. Some of the ancient tombs had been vandalised by grave robbers in ancient times, fascinating and sad at the same time!

Next we visited the famous Basilica in central Roma, not only did we see it we were also taken underground there to see the original Basilica a few floors down. Kept going down more levels and soon reached the point that we were actually walking along what used to be a main street in 1st century Rome, now THAT was amazing stuff! Not everyone can say they have walked along 1st century Roman streets -
You honestly can't NOT do this tour if you are in Rome, I can't go on about it enough!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

jenfolls

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Our guide was not the greatest but the tour was good. It was more like 5.5 hours of walking and not 3.5 ad indicated as our guide was not the fastest in getting us through and onto the other parts of the tour. The Capucine's were very interesting as was the church we saw after the Catacombs. All the history was incredible and I learned a lot just looking at everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message