Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 231 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver was excellent. Luckily he was the same one who picked us up on our arrival to Rome. So when we saw him at the Port to take us to the airport we were extremely happy. His name is Fabrizio and he was very professional and kind. I would highly recommend him and Executive Rent Ltd.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Shopperdan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This transaction went perfectly smoothly - the driver was on time and got us quickly and safely to the cruise port. I definitely recommend this option to anyone looking for a reasonably priced option to the transfers offered by the cruise lines and/or hotels on the ground in Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Expensive transfer but worth the cost. Carlo, our driver, waited on us even through the flight was 1.5 hrs late. Met us outside arrivals area with sign and escorted us in in Mercedes to the port of Rome.
Port passes and ID brought to to the ship terminal with plenty of time to spare. He was conservative in English, knew the area, and was delight on our trip from Rome to the port.. I would spend the money again and again for the convenience.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

jerusalem1914

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was my fourth of 9 events that I scheduled with Viator on my European vacation to Italy, Spain and France. So after my 3 hr. Colosseum tour 8/24/16 - Wednesday afternoon, it was time to for the second half of my vacation on to my 7 day Mediterranean Cruise. 8/25/16 - Thursday afternoon at 1pm the driver picked us up. He was prompt and accommodating, something by now that I had come to expect from companies that do business with Viator. We had a pleasant 1.5 hr. drive to Civitavecchia cruise port from our hotel on Aventine Hill Hotel San Anselmo - incredibly beautiful hotel and rooms with a theme and things were seamless. After sailing we head to Naples, and begin another adventure.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Hotel in Rome to Civitavecchia Port - Tour Option Available

jerusalem1914

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was my ninth of the 9 events that I scheduled with Viator on my European vacation to Italy, Spain and France. Well today we head home to U.S. as we complete our European vacation. Once again the driver was prompt waiting for us holding a sign with my name on it. We had a very scenic and pleasant drive on our way to the airport. The conversation was great, and I got to check in online since I couldn't do so on the ship since I didn't purchase the internet service. This was great since I shaved an hour off of my wait time upon arriving at the airport. There was only 1 person ahead of us in the already checked in line. Anyway I digress, the driver was super nice and friendly. We had a wonderful European vacation, and I personally feel Viator was very key to making this one of the best vacations we've ever had. How they managed to have all of our tours perfectly arranged in 3 DIFFERENT COUNTRIES without a hitch was awesome for us. After arriving in each location, I never had to make a phone call or wonder what was going on. They delivered exactly what they promised, which is huge. Especially since often times once businesses have your money, service is out the window. They work with reputable businesses and people so you can feel good about booking with them. We will definitely use them on ALL future vacations and now so will many of my friends. Thanks Viator

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

slsykes18 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marco was an excellent driver. He showed up early at the port, walked thru the crowds and we immediately saw our name on his sign. He drove us directly to our hotel which was on a very narrow street, so had to stop down a bit and walked us to the front door. He also gave us some great insider tips to the city. Car was clean, non smoking, air conditioned and he was very professional and friendly.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

Noel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well done. No problems. Driver came about 10 minutes earlier, but we were ready. He took us to the Chivtavecchia Cruise port right to the check-in counter. He had a mercedez benz van and he commented how new it was. Tipped him and to his surprise. Told him he gave us good service, even though he was very quiet and knew very little English.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

carin1021

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David our driver was EXCELLENT!!! The trip was as exactly as advertised with no problems at all. David accommodated our EVERY NEED This is a must trip for all from the seaport to your hotel. We saw all the major sights of Roma and it was at our pace and schedule. FANTASTIC TRIP

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Phil H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Easy transfer at port, loads of free time in Rome to explore on your own. But the collection and return was very disorganised. Instructions provided with the booking stated return exactly where the drop off in Rome was. But after waiting a while the guide arrived and informed us and another couple I have been looking for you at the meeting point he had never told us about! It took 40 minutes to get the bus organised and out of the chaotic underground bus station. We did make it back to the ship in time despite this delay.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Krysten B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had less than a 3 hour window from the time we let our cruise to our flight. we made it to the airport in plenty of time - no issues. Would recommend.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Beverly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our transfer from a Rome hotel to Civitavecchia went great. Driver was on time, very pleasant and a good driver. Vehicle was very nice also. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

dgcarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are on a cruise ship and only have 1 day in port to visit Rome, this is the to go. We were met by our driver shortly after we got off our ship and were taken to the Vatican steps where we met our guide, Elanora. She was wonderful. She was able to adjust our day to allow us to do a few different things we wanted to do, yet we still were able to see all the main sites. She was the perfect combination of knowledgeable tour guide and gracious host in what she called her city. When our tour was over, our driver got us back to our ship in plenty of time for dinner. It truly was a wonderful day and well worth the money.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Jerry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver was great. Explained things we saw as he drove to port. Loaded all bags and unloaded all bags.
very clean and nice vehicle

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An amazing day tour of Rome with my husband! Our driver, Claudio, picked us up from our cruise ship in Civitavecchia and dropped us off at our airport, which was extremely convenient. He also arranged skip the line tickets for the Colosseum and the Vatican, which saved us a tremendous amount of time and got us right into the attractions. Claudio provided interesting descriptions of the many monuments, buildings, and ruins that we passed as we drove through the city. He let us set the itinerary, but was full of helpful suggestions and even recommended a restaurant for us to grab a bite to eat it was fabulous.
Rome is a difficult city to see in just a day, but the incredible service we received left us feeling accomplished and excited rather than disappointed or frustrated. We highly recommend this tour as a way to experience this wonderful city!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just so pleased to have booked a private tour as had done it before 7 years ago with a ship excursion and this was awesome with a wonderful gal , very informed and just saw so much and missed all the crowds. Took us to a small restaurant to eat to save time. Only bad thing was the driver was to meet us outside of gate at port according to our paperwork and he had gone inside and wasn't there when we first come off the ship so we sort of missed each other. Fortunately my son had a cell phone to call world tours and got it straightened out but was abit uneasy until he found us.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Shai B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour in Rome started when we got off the cruise ship at 8:00 am in Civitavecchia and Livio was already waiting for us with a sign with our name on it. In the car their was working a.c. with cold water bottles and some mints. Livio came with a luxury Mercedes Benz van that had way more room then our 4 people group needed. Livio was very nice and friendly and had an amazing amount of knowledge. The port is 80km away from Rome witch toke us about an hour to get to Rome. He toke us to magnificent view point of Rome with roman water fountain. Livio toke us the regular famous places of Rome in addition Livio toke us to special points in Rome witch only the tour guides know. Livio toke us to an authentic restaurant in the middle of Rome witch was very good in giving us an authentic Italian environment with very good food. To summarize Livio is very recommended, he gave us a lot of information as an Italian point of view. Take in consideration that the tour is only 8 hour and that from this kind of tour you only get a small taste of Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Driver was waiting directly outside as we arrived off the ship. The vehicle was great and the driver courteous and careful. Really good way to be collected from this port.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Martin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

all was perfect, we were met at the cruise port, great service!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Philip F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver was on time and very efficient and pleasant. Traffic was not too heavy so it only took 45 minutes to get to the port. Would definitely recommend this transfer as other methods seem far too complicated and expensive

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole experience was fantastic. I am really bad with names, but both the driver and the tour guide were great. The tour guide was actually more than great. She showed us all around Rome with in depth information about everything we saw.
It was a no rush, but super fulfilling day for us.
We visited many ports on our cruise, but this was, by far, the most memorable of all and it was due to the tour guide!

Doing what: Shore Excursion to Rome: Full day tour from Civitavecchia Port with Lunch

Karim K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our cruise ship dropped us to the port of Civitavecchia, and from there we traveled to Rome by bus. We had about 12 hours from the time we were dropped off at the port, to the time we had to be back on the bus. We were there in July 2016, on a Thursday. It is typically a very busy time in July, so our family of 9 people decided we only have enough time to see the Vatican in order to make it back on the ship. That's why this skip the line tour which allows you to see the Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and the Vatican museum, was a MUST. Do not subject yourself to the lines if you are on a time crunch! Lunch was provided which consisted of pizza/pasta and a meat/cheese plate and wine, of course. It was good. We were able to see and take pictures at the beautiful Trevi Fountain as well as the Panthenon, and stopped to get an explanation of various monuments and fountains around Rome. We also stopped at the Spanish Steps and took pictures. Our tour guide was Flavio and he was excellent. He was very patient with our large group and took time to carefully explain the important highlights and details, and was very knowledgeable. He especially was impressive with his knowledge of Michelangelo's work in the Sistine chapel. He also went above and beyond for my daughter who is in a wheelchair. He did whatever he could to help us find ramps and alternate routes whenever there were steps, and he also helped us carry the wheelchair down several steps when going from the Sistine Chapel to the basilica there was no alternate ramp. We all really appreciated him and admired his kindness. The ONLY negative was that there was VERY limited time about 30 minutes for shopping, and many of my family members wanted to have more time but that is just the nature of our trip, as we had to be back on the ship.

Doing what: Shore Excursion to Rome: Rome Fountains Squares and Vatican Museums - Full-Day Tour

Shawnee United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Driver arrived on time and was easy to find when we got off the ship. Easy trip to airport. Driver did not speak very good english.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Nee'ma B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Although there was some confusion regarding the initial pickup, our driver was great and he got us to the port on time, which was our main concern. When I initially booked this transfer, I knew we would be just finishing a tour near the Colliseum, so I entered the address of the Colliseum as the pickup location. No one from the transportation company ever questioned this and I didn't think more of it until the time approached for our group to be picked up. I called the contact number in my email about 30-45 minutes in advance of our reservation and explained that we were in front of the Colliseum, and inquired about where we should meet the driver, which interesection would be best. This turned into nearly an hour of frustration as each time I called, the woman I spoke with said she would contact the driver to find out and call me back which she NEVER actually did. I called her about 3 times before finally asking for the driver's number, which she refused to provide. Eventually I ended up telling her the name of a restaurant we were standing beside and she had the driver come find us on foot and he walked us all several minutes to the van. This was a hassle that could have been avoided if the company were more effective at communicating. The other issue I had is that when I booked the transfer, I included in the Special Request section that we needed to stop at our Santa Marinella hotel en route to the port to pick up our bags, since we only traveled to Rome that day to do a Colliseum tour. I was told there would be a 20 EU charge for this stop, which I was fine with. When we actually stopped, the driver informed that it was not 20 EU, but 25 EU. We just paid it and didn't make a fuss, but again, a miscommunication and a price that varied from what we were initially told.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Edith S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Driver was 30 minutes late to pick us up to airport. We called a few times but no one answer the phone.

Not a very pleasant experience when you tried to catch a flight

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

Tiffany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was very convenient and affordable in comparison to what was offered by our cruise line. The drive was on time to pick us up both at the port and in Rome for the return trip. We were dropped off within 2 minutes walking distance of the Vatican Museum entrance.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message