Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tiffany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was very convenient and affordable in comparison to what was offered by our cruise line. The drive was on time to pick us up both at the port and in Rome for the return trip. We were dropped off within 2 minutes walking distance of the Vatican Museum entrance.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Paullar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pick up was on time at the hotel. Car was new, clean and comfortable Mercedes sedan. Arrived at the port directly at the cruise ship check-in entrance. Couldn't ask for more.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Todd T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As we have never reserved a tour outside of our cruise ship, we were little reluctant to book, but after hearing great things from others, and wanting a tour that included all the things we wanted to see, we booked with Viator.

Viator contracts out these small tour groups of up to 8, and we ended up with Fabrizio Rossi, a fantastic driver and guide that owns his own van. It was clean and neat, and he even brought along a special seat for our daughter and a baby seat too. He picked us up right in Civitavecchia at our cruise ship, and got us back early for dinner and undocking.

We arrived in Rome, via tollway for speed, and first headed to the Vatican Museum, which gets busy early. Fabrizio gave us vouchers for tickets and told us where he'd meet us later, giving plenty of time to peruse the treasures of the Vatican.

He then took us to a local square where we had a great lunch of local pizza sold by the kilo. There was also a farmer's market that was fun to explore. Then we headed through the streets of Rome for awhile before heading to the Trevi Fountain. Fabrizio headed around the block, which gave us plenty of time to throw a coin and take a photo.

We headed back out into the city where he led us to a parking area near the rear of the Coliseum. He gave us our vouchers and waited while we took our time touring the ancient landmark. This is where our daughter was so excited to visit.

After that, we headed past the Hippodrome and up a small road only locals know about to see an overlook where we could see a lot of ancient Rome and the Forum.

On our way back to the ship, Fabrizio stopped by an ATM for us to grab some extra cash for a great tip! Then he led us to a local gelato shop where he helped us order the best cones we had on our trip.

We wouldn't hesitate to use Viator or even Fabrizio personally again! It was great to get a local perspective in such a historical place.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in 1 day including Skip-the-Line Colosseum and Vatican Museums

kentphil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our private tour was excellent! The driver arrived at the designated area right on time and took us quickly into the city. We had a few sights that we wanted to see and he suggested others that we should also see. At each stop we were able to take our time and stay as long as we liked and met our driver when we were ready to move on to the next spot. This gave us the opportunity to have a truly personalized experience. By the end of the day we had seen more than we expected to and a number of things that we wouldn't have known to ask to see. A private excursion is a great way to get a lot into one day without having to wait for a lot of people, when going in a large group. Our driver/guide was great. He gave us a lot of background and was able to provide the color and history of every site we went to making each stop much more meaningful.

Doing what: Rome Private Shore Excursion

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The driver met us right outside where we picked up our luggage and was waiting for us. Bus size was perfect for the 8 of us and all of our luggage. Transfer to the airport was smooth and simple. Will definitely booked again when in Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

raul United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a very convenient way to go to Rome from Civitavecchia and back on time to board your ship before it departs. Great if you know what to do in Rome, or if you are not afraid of adventure.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Penny M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Marco...he was excellent! We got picked up right at the cruise port and drove in a beautiful Mercedes. He took us everywhere we wanted to go, gave us some history and was always waiting exactly where he said he would be. We returned to our cruise ship in plenty of time.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

He was on time, easy to find and got us to the airport quickly.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

ccberg10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The private tour was well worth the money. Our guide, Annalisa C was excellent. She had everything organized from transportation, tickets, and even took us to a place with the best Gelati in Rome. We didn't have to wait in the long lines for our tickets or entrance into any of the main attractions. However, when we left the Vatican the line for tickets was around the block. Annalisa's knowledge on the history of the Vatican and Colosseum was informative, interesting, and made the tour of this amazing city exactly what I had hoped for. I was nervous about booking an excursion outside of our cruise, however, I'm very happy I did and would have no hesitation to book again through Viator on my next cruise. Great job Annalisa!!!!!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Sshanger.5

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Did not give us a lot of flexibility once initial time was set. Found out ship was docking earlier than first thought, but company would not let us adjust pickup time. Once transport was made vehicle and travel time was fine.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

Jeffery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On time, friendly with no hassles. Perfect way to get from Civitavecchia to Fiumicino.

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

PATRICIA W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! What a relief ! VIATOR guide was waiting as promised as we disembarked our ship for transport to Rome City Centre. Smartly dressed in a suit , immaculate car , good driver , very professional , great value . Can recommend highly . Well done VIATOR ,, will use you again !

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

Etworetzky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was very happy and relieved when the driver arrived at the pick up point a full half hour before the scheduled time as we exited the ship a full hour earlier than we had anticipated. He was professional in the extreme, and he dropped us at Fuimicino in great time. I have used other transport services in the past, but will now utilize your company going forward due to your excellent professionalism and reliability.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

MAJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We highly recommend this tour. The company in charge, Vittoriale Inc., was very professional. Andrea was on time to pick us up at the Civitavecchia Port and led us to our tour guide and driver Michael. Michael explained us every single detail regarding the places we visited as well as made sure to answer every question we had. We were able to visit most of the historical places in Rome, such as the Coliseum and various Plazas, as well as the Vatican, one visit I will never forget. Both my wife and me really enjoyed this tour and will book it again in a near future via Viator.

Doing what: Shore Excursion from Civitavecchia Port: Rome Full-Day Tour

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was great. The driver was on time at the port and he was standing in front holding my name plate. Excellent service!! I will use again and recommend this company to others.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Driver was waiting for us in the Hotel Lobby at 5:50 am for our 6 am pickup! Was very proficient, helped handle our luggage and we were at the airport within 45 minutes! Very well organized and a great driver. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

ensorc52

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We walked out of the cruise terminal at Civitavecchia at 8 a.m. and our driver was right there with our name clearly displayed. He asked us to wait and went to get this car and seated us in the car and loaded the luggage. We had a fast efficient and very comfortable ride to the airport arriving ahead of schedule. A great stat to your journey home and at much less than the cruise line charges!!!
Highly recommend - this was our third car journey on the trip and all were exact replicas - on time, highly efficient and excellent drivers and vehicles. First Class

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

ensorc52

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver was at our hotel 15 minutes early and had our car loaded and ready to go when we can out of the hotel. My wife had some shopping and this was carefully placed in the front seat, as with all our transfers the quality of the car was excellent - the drivers were all very professional and we always felt safe and secure. It was a very relaxing journey through Rome and on the meet our ship at the cruise port. This was one of three private pick ups on our journey and there were all of similar high standard and quality and key we arrived safe and sound. Excellent highly recommended!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Charles M B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We made our own transfer from airport to hotel/hotel to port. From airport we were allowed to see some sights of Rome. From hotel, our driver made great time in getting us to the port for the cruise.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

arecon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We arranged on line all of our transfers from and to airports and seaports in Italy inclusive of by van and boat. In each instance we received on time and courtesious service. We highly recommend Viator without hestitation or qualification. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

Judith A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun day led by the energetic and hilarious Carlo. His knowledge of Rome was greatly appreciated as our day was marred by many protests and strikes in the city making visiting some of the sights difficult. No trouble for Carlo to take a back street and get us to a different destination. We saw almost everything on our list, had a wonderful pasta lunch and a delicious gellato back in Civitavecchia. Plenty of free time for us to spend at different sights and Carlo was always exactly where he said he would be for meeting up. Loved this day trip.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

MARA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver was on time and drove us safely to the port.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Hotel in Rome to Civitavecchia Port - Tour Option Available

Bart M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great value for a private driver and an entire day's excursion. Considering the cost of just getting to Rome and back from the cruise port, the additional amount spent for the four of us traveling together to have a private van all day for our own itinerary was was well worth it. We had been to Rome before, and knew specifically where we wanted to go, and what we wanted to see. Our driver, David, first took us to a small coffee shop for a great cappuccino in the morning on our way to the Colosseum, where he dropped us off for a late morning visit, so that we could beat the heat of the day and the worst crowds. He then took us to the Trevi Fountain area, where we stayed awhile and had an enjoyable lunch. We then asked him to take us the Spanish Steps, where we roamed awhile and had an afternoon gelato. He then graciously took us by St. Peter's/The Sistine Chapel, to get a quick view of them as we proceeded back out of Rome to the cruise port just ahead of the afternoon rush. We had a marvelous, personally-tailored excursion through Rome that was well-worth the price paid.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Mrs_twitter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy pickup right at the tent outside our ship. Nice easy drive to the airport and directions to our airline counter. Our driver was professional and friendly.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

Mrs_twitter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy pickup right at the tent outside our ship. Nice easy drive to the airport and directions to our airline counter. Our driver was professional and friendly.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message