Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Krysten B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had less than a 3 hour window from the time we let our cruise to our flight. we made it to the airport in plenty of time - no issues. Would recommend.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Beverly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our transfer from a Rome hotel to Civitavecchia went great. Driver was on time, very pleasant and a good driver. Vehicle was very nice also. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

dgcarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are on a cruise ship and only have 1 day in port to visit Rome, this is the to go. We were met by our driver shortly after we got off our ship and were taken to the Vatican steps where we met our guide, Elanora. She was wonderful. She was able to adjust our day to allow us to do a few different things we wanted to do, yet we still were able to see all the main sites. She was the perfect combination of knowledgeable tour guide and gracious host in what she called her city. When our tour was over, our driver got us back to our ship in plenty of time for dinner. It truly was a wonderful day and well worth the money.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Jerry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver was great. Explained things we saw as he drove to port. Loaded all bags and unloaded all bags.
very clean and nice vehicle

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An amazing day tour of Rome with my husband! Our driver, Claudio, picked us up from our cruise ship in Civitavecchia and dropped us off at our airport, which was extremely convenient. He also arranged skip the line tickets for the Colosseum and the Vatican, which saved us a tremendous amount of time and got us right into the attractions. Claudio provided interesting descriptions of the many monuments, buildings, and ruins that we passed as we drove through the city. He let us set the itinerary, but was full of helpful suggestions and even recommended a restaurant for us to grab a bite to eat it was fabulous.
Rome is a difficult city to see in just a day, but the incredible service we received left us feeling accomplished and excited rather than disappointed or frustrated. We highly recommend this tour as a way to experience this wonderful city!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just so pleased to have booked a private tour as had done it before 7 years ago with a ship excursion and this was awesome with a wonderful gal , very informed and just saw so much and missed all the crowds. Took us to a small restaurant to eat to save time. Only bad thing was the driver was to meet us outside of gate at port according to our paperwork and he had gone inside and wasn't there when we first come off the ship so we sort of missed each other. Fortunately my son had a cell phone to call world tours and got it straightened out but was abit uneasy until he found us.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Shai B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour in Rome started when we got off the cruise ship at 8:00 am in Civitavecchia and Livio was already waiting for us with a sign with our name on it. In the car their was working a.c. with cold water bottles and some mints. Livio came with a luxury Mercedes Benz van that had way more room then our 4 people group needed. Livio was very nice and friendly and had an amazing amount of knowledge. The port is 80km away from Rome witch toke us about an hour to get to Rome. He toke us to magnificent view point of Rome with roman water fountain. Livio toke us the regular famous places of Rome in addition Livio toke us to special points in Rome witch only the tour guides know. Livio toke us to an authentic restaurant in the middle of Rome witch was very good in giving us an authentic Italian environment with very good food. To summarize Livio is very recommended, he gave us a lot of information as an Italian point of view. Take in consideration that the tour is only 8 hour and that from this kind of tour you only get a small taste of Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Driver was waiting directly outside as we arrived off the ship. The vehicle was great and the driver courteous and careful. Really good way to be collected from this port.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Karim K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our cruise ship dropped us to the port of Civitavecchia, and from there we traveled to Rome by bus. We had about 12 hours from the time we were dropped off at the port, to the time we had to be back on the bus. We were there in July 2016, on a Thursday. It is typically a very busy time in July, so our family of 9 people decided we only have enough time to see the Vatican in order to make it back on the ship. That's why this skip the line tour which allows you to see the Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and the Vatican museum, was a MUST. Do not subject yourself to the lines if you are on a time crunch! Lunch was provided which consisted of pizza/pasta and a meat/cheese plate and wine, of course. It was good. We were able to see and take pictures at the beautiful Trevi Fountain as well as the Panthenon, and stopped to get an explanation of various monuments and fountains around Rome. We also stopped at the Spanish Steps and took pictures. Our tour guide was Flavio and he was excellent. He was very patient with our large group and took time to carefully explain the important highlights and details, and was very knowledgeable. He especially was impressive with his knowledge of Michelangelo's work in the Sistine chapel. He also went above and beyond for my daughter who is in a wheelchair. He did whatever he could to help us find ramps and alternate routes whenever there were steps, and he also helped us carry the wheelchair down several steps when going from the Sistine Chapel to the basilica there was no alternate ramp. We all really appreciated him and admired his kindness. The ONLY negative was that there was VERY limited time about 30 minutes for shopping, and many of my family members wanted to have more time but that is just the nature of our trip, as we had to be back on the ship.

Doing what: Shore Excursion to Rome: Rome Fountains Squares and Vatican Museums - Full-Day Tour

Nee'ma B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Although there was some confusion regarding the initial pickup, our driver was great and he got us to the port on time, which was our main concern. When I initially booked this transfer, I knew we would be just finishing a tour near the Colliseum, so I entered the address of the Colliseum as the pickup location. No one from the transportation company ever questioned this and I didn't think more of it until the time approached for our group to be picked up. I called the contact number in my email about 30-45 minutes in advance of our reservation and explained that we were in front of the Colliseum, and inquired about where we should meet the driver, which interesection would be best. This turned into nearly an hour of frustration as each time I called, the woman I spoke with said she would contact the driver to find out and call me back which she NEVER actually did. I called her about 3 times before finally asking for the driver's number, which she refused to provide. Eventually I ended up telling her the name of a restaurant we were standing beside and she had the driver come find us on foot and he walked us all several minutes to the van. This was a hassle that could have been avoided if the company were more effective at communicating. The other issue I had is that when I booked the transfer, I included in the Special Request section that we needed to stop at our Santa Marinella hotel en route to the port to pick up our bags, since we only traveled to Rome that day to do a Colliseum tour. I was told there would be a 20 EU charge for this stop, which I was fine with. When we actually stopped, the driver informed that it was not 20 EU, but 25 EU. We just paid it and didn't make a fuss, but again, a miscommunication and a price that varied from what we were initially told.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Tiffany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was very convenient and affordable in comparison to what was offered by our cruise line. The drive was on time to pick us up both at the port and in Rome for the return trip. We were dropped off within 2 minutes walking distance of the Vatican Museum entrance.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Paullar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pick up was on time at the hotel. Car was new, clean and comfortable Mercedes sedan. Arrived at the port directly at the cruise ship check-in entrance. Couldn't ask for more.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Todd T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As we have never reserved a tour outside of our cruise ship, we were little reluctant to book, but after hearing great things from others, and wanting a tour that included all the things we wanted to see, we booked with Viator.

Viator contracts out these small tour groups of up to 8, and we ended up with Fabrizio Rossi, a fantastic driver and guide that owns his own van. It was clean and neat, and he even brought along a special seat for our daughter and a baby seat too. He picked us up right in Civitavecchia at our cruise ship, and got us back early for dinner and undocking.

We arrived in Rome, via tollway for speed, and first headed to the Vatican Museum, which gets busy early. Fabrizio gave us vouchers for tickets and told us where he'd meet us later, giving plenty of time to peruse the treasures of the Vatican.

He then took us to a local square where we had a great lunch of local pizza sold by the kilo. There was also a farmer's market that was fun to explore. Then we headed through the streets of Rome for awhile before heading to the Trevi Fountain. Fabrizio headed around the block, which gave us plenty of time to throw a coin and take a photo.

We headed back out into the city where he led us to a parking area near the rear of the Coliseum. He gave us our vouchers and waited while we took our time touring the ancient landmark. This is where our daughter was so excited to visit.

After that, we headed past the Hippodrome and up a small road only locals know about to see an overlook where we could see a lot of ancient Rome and the Forum.

On our way back to the ship, Fabrizio stopped by an ATM for us to grab some extra cash for a great tip! Then he led us to a local gelato shop where he helped us order the best cones we had on our trip.

We wouldn't hesitate to use Viator or even Fabrizio personally again! It was great to get a local perspective in such a historical place.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in 1 day including Skip-the-Line Colosseum and Vatican Museums

kentphil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our private tour was excellent! The driver arrived at the designated area right on time and took us quickly into the city. We had a few sights that we wanted to see and he suggested others that we should also see. At each stop we were able to take our time and stay as long as we liked and met our driver when we were ready to move on to the next spot. This gave us the opportunity to have a truly personalized experience. By the end of the day we had seen more than we expected to and a number of things that we wouldn't have known to ask to see. A private excursion is a great way to get a lot into one day without having to wait for a lot of people, when going in a large group. Our driver/guide was great. He gave us a lot of background and was able to provide the color and history of every site we went to making each stop much more meaningful.

Doing what: Rome Private Shore Excursion

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The driver met us right outside where we picked up our luggage and was waiting for us. Bus size was perfect for the 8 of us and all of our luggage. Transfer to the airport was smooth and simple. Will definitely booked again when in Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

raul United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a very convenient way to go to Rome from Civitavecchia and back on time to board your ship before it departs. Great if you know what to do in Rome, or if you are not afraid of adventure.

Doing what: Rome On Your Own From Civitavecchia Port

Penny M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Marco...he was excellent! We got picked up right at the cruise port and drove in a beautiful Mercedes. He took us everywhere we wanted to go, gave us some history and was always waiting exactly where he said he would be. We returned to our cruise ship in plenty of time.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

He was on time, easy to find and got us to the airport quickly.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

ccberg10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The private tour was well worth the money. Our guide, Annalisa C was excellent. She had everything organized from transportation, tickets, and even took us to a place with the best Gelati in Rome. We didn't have to wait in the long lines for our tickets or entrance into any of the main attractions. However, when we left the Vatican the line for tickets was around the block. Annalisa's knowledge on the history of the Vatican and Colosseum was informative, interesting, and made the tour of this amazing city exactly what I had hoped for. I was nervous about booking an excursion outside of our cruise, however, I'm very happy I did and would have no hesitation to book again through Viator on my next cruise. Great job Annalisa!!!!!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Private Tour

Wx9886 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't recommend this tour enough. It's nearly impossible to see all Rome has to offer in a short day, but we were able to knock out so much because of this tour. We were able to see everything we wanted and then some. Our driver was a local and took us to several places we didn't even know we should see! He was waiting right outside the cruise ship port and we were off in no time. He had our tickets in hand for the sites we needed them for so there was no waiting in long lines for tickets. I'd recommend this tour without hesitation.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Private Full Day Tour to Rome

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

On time early, actually! and professional. Vehicle easily fit 6 of us plus the driver, and the vehicle was immaculately clean. He drove us right to the entrance of the departure terminal at the airport. Could not have asked for a more comfortable, prompt, stress-free transfer.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Sshanger.5

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Did not give us a lot of flexibility once initial time was set. Found out ship was docking earlier than first thought, but company would not let us adjust pickup time. Once transport was made vehicle and travel time was fine.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

Jeffery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On time, friendly with no hassles. Perfect way to get from Civitavecchia to Fiumicino.

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

PATRICIA W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! What a relief ! VIATOR guide was waiting as promised as we disembarked our ship for transport to Rome City Centre. Smartly dressed in a suit , immaculate car , good driver , very professional , great value . Can recommend highly . Well done VIATOR ,, will use you again !

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

Etworetzky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was very happy and relieved when the driver arrived at the pick up point a full half hour before the scheduled time as we exited the ship a full hour earlier than we had anticipated. He was professional in the extreme, and he dropped us at Fuimicino in great time. I have used other transport services in the past, but will now utilize your company going forward due to your excellent professionalism and reliability.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message