Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Prativadi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our experience of getting transfer from Cruise Port to Central Rome hotel was excellent. We just got off the Cruise and the driver was waiting there with our name. I had to inform them about our disembarkment time just 2 day before the transfer. We emailed the tour service contact via email and they acknowledged it right away. The driver was very cheerful and helpful in providing us other information about Rome. Great service. We will use it elsewhere too.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were trying to get from the Rome airport to the Cruise terminal. Our driver was there waiting when we arrived in Rome, took us to our hotel, was very courteous and did everything to get us directly to our location.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were picked up right off the gangplank and driven into the city of Rome. Mario, the driver was very polite and had a GPS that in formed him of roads with traffic problems. He also turned on some narratives of sights we were passing. We had hoped to get into the museum at the Vatican city. As we drove by we saw no lineups, so our driver dropped us off and told us to phone when we were done.We had been before but it was super crowded and we needed to pay extra to skip the line. Our driver got us there by 9:30 am and we were out in 2 hours. He took us everwhere we wanted to go. The Colliseum, Trevi fountain , Spanish steps the Pantheon, St. Peter's square and many more sights.Took us for an amazing panoramic view of all of Rome. When we were hungry he took us to his friends restaurant for lunch. We invited him to eat with us but he declined. The meal was most enjoyable and the pizza had the original buffalo cheese on it. He was very respectful and helpful. We even had time to pick up some amazing liqueurs, pistachio, cantaloupe, and peach. This was our son's first time in Rome and we wanted it to be as stress free as possible for him, as he has an illness. This was so worth the money and so much cheaper than what our cruise offered for the same experience. there was just 3 of us in a van with our own private 8 hour tour. The driver even offered to go a couple of hours longer , but we were tired and it just started to rain. It was a perfect day and we gave him a good trip. We could never have seen all we saw without a car and driver. Our other son and his another time with went into Rome by train, walked a whole bunch and went on a hop on hop off bus, went to the Vatican, took a cab back to the train station and barely made it back. It was very stressful for them. With a one day port stop, we highly recommend getting a car and driver. Thanks Mario.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Self-Guided, Full-Day Tour of Rome

Les

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was there on time to pick us up and was friendly and courteous. The car was clean and comfortable. We arrived at the airport in plenty of time for our flight. We will definitely use this service again.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Les

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was actually there a little early to pick us up, which is a good thing. He was friendly and courteous. He drove us to the cruise port without any trouble and we arrived in plenty of time. We will definitely use this service again.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Elizabeth S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

With all the chaos at the port when thousands of passengers are trying to figure out a way to get to Rome -- this is the best choice. It is safe and efficient -- our driver was waiting for us with a sign and we went to the nice Mercedes mini van -- there were four of us with all the luggage and it was very comfortable. Excellent service.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were picked up at the ship right on time and had an informative drive to Rome. Our tour guide asked what we wanted to see or do and he delivered plus more. What we really loved was that he took us to a few places that I've not seen mentioned in any tour books. I did not have that much interest in visiting Rome I know, I was crazy but came away breathless in awe over what a beautiful and dynamic city it is. I wish we could have found more cruise port tours like this.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Self-Guided, Full-Day Tour of Rome

brendap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was not only one of the most educational, but most fun tours I have been on! We started the tour with several others, but they had made personal plans that conflicted with the tour and athough our tour guide did his best to be accommodating, they decided to go on their own. Lucky for us, as my sister and I were the only ones left! Our guide did a fantastic job showing us a wide variety of sights! He not only took us on the regular tour, but since there were only two of us, stopped at a restaurant and had the owner serve us small portions of many foods so we could taste a great variety! I also wanted a Harley shirt as a souvenir, and wanted to try gelato . Obviously these stops weren't part of the tour , but our guide went out of his way to take me both places! My sister and I both had a fantastic time on this tour, learning and laughing all day ! I can't say enough good things about our guide- he truly made this one of the highlights of our entire trip! I am just sorry that I have misplaced his name ! I would highly recommend !

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Self-Guided, Full-Day Tour of Rome

mmastro1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Driver was professional, friendly and waiting for us when we picked up our bags. Very easy and would recommend for tight connections between cruise terminal and airport.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Fiumicino Airport - Tour Option Available

Alison A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR. Of all the tours we booked, this one was the most frustrating, mainly because we paid a whopping 750 for it. I'll explain from the beginning. The driver was supposed to meet us right where we got off the ship. He wasn't there on time and we waited and waited. After a half and hour our cruise director ended up calling the number on the voucher. I'm not sure if he was just late or at the wrong ship we 100 put in our voucher that our ship was the Norwegian spirit. So he finally arrived after we had been waiting an hour. He then informed us that he would be dropping us off at 5pm, a whopping 1.5 hours earlier than we needed to be back we needed to be on the ship by 6:30 because it sailed at 7. Understandably, we were upset given that he was an hour late and that we had very limited time in Rome. We later found out that he wanted to drop us off early because he had to take his wife to the airport that evening. He spoke very limited English and when we would ask him about the history of certain monuments he would have no idea...I know it wasn't exactly guaranteed in the package but given that we paid an arm and a leg for this tour it would have been nice to at least have a driver who could tell us about the area. Instead he was essentially like a taxi driver which we could have hired for much less for the day. The tickets for the Vatican and colosseum were 66 Euro for both of us, so we essentially paid 600 to get driven to and from the port if we had just hired a taxi at least he would have been ON TIME! We made the most of the day but it certainly did frustrate us. On the way back to the cruise ship we ended up picking up another couple whose driver had car problems. We packed into the car like sardines...Overall if we hadn't paid so much for the tour this wouldn't be such a big deal but given that our experiences with the company were overwhelmingly terrible, we certainly wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in 1 day including Skip-the-Line Colosseum and Vatican Museums

Alexander P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was great to have our driver waiting for us when we reached the exit from baggage claims. The ride to the port was pleasant and comfortable.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

hguelpa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Booking was quick and convenient. However, on board our cruise ship we picked up an additional passenger and I needed to change from 3 people to 4 - and tons of luggage. This was handled well by Viator, but I worried as we were at sea with its notable horrible internet connection. I was delighted when we got off the ship in Civitavecchia to see someone holding a sign with my name right at the exit. Trip was smooth and professional to the hotel and we will now always use Viator. Thank you for the wonderful service.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

On time and made trip to the Airport from the port where we disembarked from the cruise painless. Cost significantly less then if the service as provided by the cruise.
Made extra sure that we new where to go after we had exited the car.
Make it easy on yourself and plan ahead,

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

npcrump

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Driver was on time and made the trip to the port easy.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Hotel in Rome to Civitavecchia Port - Tour Option Available

Veronique N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nice black stretch Mercedes, I felt like a rock star! Arrived early, got us to port in style.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Driver was waiting for us and loaded our bags for the 45 minute trip to our Civitavecchia hotel. Since we were
so tired he provided only necessary conversation. Totally recommend this company.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Angie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a FABULOUS day with Luca!!! Our family of four my husband and myself and my aunt and uncle were with him and saw much more than our new friends saw on the ship's Ultimate Rome shore excursion! We had 1030 tickets to the Vatican which we got on our own. After getting into port at 0800 we arrived at the Vatican at 0930 and they didn't hold us to our tour time. Luca instructed us on the quickest way to get into the Sistine chapel, since that was the prime thing we wanted to see for the record, get into the Vatican museum and THEN stay to the right. He gave us a map and told us to call him when we were ready and he showed up within seconds!

We also had Colosseum tickets at 1330, which Luca said was perfect! He took us to the Pantheon which no one from the ship said they saw and we went in there...amazing! Also took us to a small little square where we had lunch at a little pizzeria off the beaten path. Stopped at a few other places where he took us inside and told us the history and showed us the underground ancient part of the city and we saw the Trevi fountain. Again, at the Colosseum, he met us when we were done within seconds of calling him!

To finish off the day, he brought us to a number of other places and then to the site overlooking the ruins and the landmarks of the city the place where Three Coins in the Fountain was filled...the apartment...absolutely amazing. Luca was fabulous and we'll request him if/when we ever return to Roma!

Thank you, Luca, and give Rudy a hug from us!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Independent Rome Day Trip

Donald S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

He was there on time. He drove pretty fast taking us on to the port. Overall is was fine.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

8289acs

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this excursion with the exception of us getting lost and wasting time waiting. I guess we will have to come back to Civitavecchia. Due to time constrictions, we only took pictures of the outside.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Cruise Port: Self-Guided, Full-Day Tour of Rome

cip2828

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Driver was waiting for us at the port and provided us with excellent service. Good driver!

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We ended up in Rome on World Tourism Day! Probably the worst day to be there, but didn't know about it until it was too late to change our schedule. We contacted Viator while in Venice and set the the Rome tour up on the phone. We had a nice tour with skip-the-lines tickets and entrance. lines where unbelievable! Our driver, Roberto, got us to Vatican City from the cruise port, and then on to the Roman Coliseum. We also had tickets to the Forum, but there were so many people out on this day, Roberto took us to an over look to see the whole Forum. Nice! He showed us a great spot for lunch and then got us back to the port. We had a nice mini-van, spacious and comfortable for 4. Great job, Roberto! I totally recommend this tour, lots for your money!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in 1 day including Skip-the-Line Colosseum and Vatican Museums

tcbuch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was wonderful to not worry about how to get from the port to our hotel. The driver was at the dock waiting as we exited the ship.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Civitavecchia Port to Hotel in Rome - Tour Option Available

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent service - greeted immediately after departing secured port area.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

ptsvette2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Driver was on time, actually early. Very polite and professional. Made our trip to the cruise port very easy. Would highly recommend this transfer.

Doing what: Private Transfer from Hotel in Rome to Civitavecchia Port - Tour Option Available

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message