Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Sistine Chapel

A glorious homage to the Renaissance and acclaimed by many as Michelangelo's masterwork, the Sistine Chapel offers a suitably regal backdrop for the Papal Conclave (the meeting of the Cardinals to elect a new Pope) and a top experience in Rome.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4618 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bridget W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Exactly as described, we had a very enthusiastic guide who was as excited as we were to get into the Sistine chapel first. On the way she pointed out what we should go back to look at in the museum and also helped get us into St Peters without going all the way out.
Would definitely recommend this morning visit.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The only way to see the Vatican as far as we are concerned. Skip the crowds and have the Sistine Chapel nearly to yourself. Without a guide we would have missed many details. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Parkman H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a deep privilege to enter the chapel with just a handful of other viewers in the early morning. Our guide gave us a brief introduction to the chapel, and then we were left to gaze in wonder. The Raphael rooms were also a treat to behold. But there is Michelangelo, and then everyone else. I would suggest doing your own research on the Chapel before entering, rather than relying on the guide's necessarily brief remarks. The chief benefit of this tour lies in getting to the Chapel early before the crowds. For this alone I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line tours do just that, save a large amount of time bypassing lines to purchase tickets and enter attractions. Plus, you have the benefit of a guide who will lead you to the most interesting exhibits, explain little-known facts, and prepare you for the experiences to come, such as the mob in the Sistine Chapel. Our guide did all that as we made our way through part of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and then on a tour of St. Peter's. The amount of time spent in each place was plenty to give us an overview, although someone wanting a more in-depth experience might have felt a bit rushed. Our morning tour was just right for us, we ended just before noon and spent the afternoon exploring other parts of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Benjis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I could do this tour all over again and again!!! Amazing inside the Vatican and St. Peter and #39;s Chapel breath taking and so much history and facts. Tiffany our tour guide was EXCELLENT SHEs VERY KNOWLEDGABLE and COMPASSIONATE ABOUT The history of Rome and The Vatican takes her job serious and herself lightly!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sheryll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour! Especially if you have kids or seniors in your group or simply don't want to waste time in line. We were the first to enter the Vatican Museum for that day. It's an express tour. The guide will walk through the museum quickly with your group pointing out important art pieces until you reach the Sistine Chapel and leave you there. It takes an hour. If you want an in depth tour, this isn't for you.
After the guide leaves, you can just walk back to the Vatican Museum at your own pace. We did this and saw the crowds that morning and we were thankful we bought this tour. Hard to appreciate art when the corridors were jam packed with people. Long long lines of tour groups trying to get into the museum with the regular times - even hours of waiting under the rain.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Tracy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I cannot recommend this tour enough! On the day we attended unfortunately we were unable to go into St Peters due to the Pope being in residence for a ceremony. I was bitterly disappointed to be told this by the guide but of course had to understand that this was out of their control and is mentioned in the T and Cs of the booking. That said - this tour was amazing! Our Tour Guide Bruno was absolutely fantastic. He was both knowledgeable and funny. The museum is unbelievable - truly beautiful and the Sistine Chapel was a complete treat, however, for me the Map Room was probably the most impressive! I cannot imagine going through these rooms without the tour guide. Bruno made this experience all the more wonderful with his great sense of humour and facts which I am absolutely sure would not be shared on an audio guide!!!!! I cannot wait to go back - simply the best and worth every penny in my book! Thank you to Bruno - you were a complete delight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing well worth paying extra for the small group tour and early start !The Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica Was the most amazing experience of a lifetime. Make sure you visit the Sistine Chapel and the Tombs of past Pope's underneath the main floor including the tomb of St.Peter .Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and very passionate of all the art included and was able to answer all our questions .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jessicasloan66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Was a great tour, we saw so much. The Sistine Chapel was the highlight for me. Our Tour guide was great. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Twojtala4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing experience. We were the first group of people entered in the Sistine Chapel, to be able to sit down and just enjoy the view before it was crowded was simply beautiful.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

leanne_amore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much to take in-but amazing. The Sistine Chapel was a let down, as the crowd got constantly yelled at by security to keep moving and NO PHOTOS!! And defiant people kept pulling out their phones and cameras to get rushed by the guards and admonished.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

When you go to Rome make sure book your tour to City Wonders they have an awesome tour guide name Vasco he is very inform and knowledgeble with all the details of history. Enlightened us every corner of drawing of Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum. He explained the Lunettes, Mary and Christ and Biago Da Cesena as Minos. The Ascending and the Damned. Our tour start early @ 7:30 am. And were so lucky to say that were the first one enter to Vatican museum it's like exclusively for us, the group consist of 4 couples. It's must see if you go to Rome and well worth the cost by going to this tour you will not go to the long line. Highly recommended and make sure to request a tour guide name Vasco. He is so friendly and every question we asked he answered. Plus after the tour you could go around and enter the St. Peter Basilica without paying any. What I learn from this tour is, if you pay the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum don't get any tour for St. Peter Basilica just because it's free and no lines at all as long that you were inside the Vatican Museum. The only mistakes I did, I paid for the tour of St. Peter not knowing. The difference only is the audio that explain how they build it. But who cares as long you could save money.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Glinda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was Maria and she was amazing. Her knowledge was equal to her passion for the Vatican. She shared insider information on some of the art work and gave us a broad view of the galleries we viewed, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters Basilica. At the end of the tour you are still free to remain in the basilica for further exploration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

hooahmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide spent too much time speaking about the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

aramyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Took the early access to Sistine and it was well worth it. It was Jan, so it is the low season. The church does not allow talking it is a church after all so the tour guide spoke before entering into the Sistine. Also note, there is no photography what so ever. The group was small and we literally were staring at the work for 30 minutes with maybe only 15 people. We went back out to look at rafael's work which led us back into the Sistine. It was way more crowded later in the day. What struck me was after the refurbish of the Sistine, the art was much more vibrant than I saw in text books in college. One note was the trade off for early admission is it's a wee bit darker in the morning. The afternoon has the room more brightly lit with daylight.

Afterwards, we were on our own through the Vatican and St. Peter's, but that is what we wanted. We spent hours in both the Vatican and St. Peter's. This is the way to go regardless of high or low season.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Franklin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My brother recommended Viator for tours while we were in Europe. Unfortunately, we missed a tour in Barcelona but booked one for the Vatican with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. A group of 12 with an English-speaking guide. Fabulous tour! Our tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and her English was very understandable! There were a lot of people when we entered both the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's and she kept the group close together and provided a narrative that was both engaging and informative! We have recommended this tour to friends since we have been home and we will book tours again with this company when we travel in the future!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beyond wonderful! Thank you to our experienced, wise, guide who made our trip to the Vatican more than we could have ever expected. I am so grateful for the comment sections on Viator because they give you an idea of what to expect in terms of logistics so you never get hung-up on what might be perceived as a problem. You will have to wait a very short bit outside the Vatican wall and you will have to go through the ticketing process - it's nothing and because you are a part of this group everything is expedited. I can't begin to tell you how beautiful the Vatican is. I wanted to let you know that the museum is breathtaking! I was expecting relics in glass but this tour moves and fast which is great because you get to experience the grandeur of the place while the guide explains each room and provides fascinating details and explanations despite the fact you are in a virtual sea of people. You will never get bored on a Viator tour from our experience in Rome, Italy, and Pompeii, and we have two boys ages 17 and 20 who couldn't get enough of everything we saw. Be prepared to be surrounded by people but know that your guides voice through the headset makes that easy because you can tune the people out and take in an understanding of the things around you which will leave you speechless in their grandeur. Wisely, our guide stopped at a plexiglass covered poster outside the buildings to give a brief explanation of the Sistine Chapel which is the one place where the guide cannot give any explanations, even over the headset, as there is no talking allowed. If I had known this I might have studied-up a little bit but no complaints. When we moved into St. Peter's Basilica there was so much space and so much to learn about. The actual mummified bodies of several popes are there - including Pope John Paul the ll and St. Peter's is so massive with so many different areas in the church itself it would be impossible to explore it without a large guide book or a fabulous guide like ours. When we exited the Basilica the sheer size of the structure begins to boggle your mind and the feeling you have, being so small amid such size and beauty is somewhat life changing. If you can't afford these guided tours I would say don't worry, but prepare! Make use of all guide materials you can find throughout Rome and Italy, check in advance to find out if they offer self-guided tours with recorded commentary and earphones, and make sure to put a set of extra earbuds in your pocket just in case you get a bad set on any of your tours. I so appreciate the person who recommend that when I was reading comments on Viator and was glad I had extras in Florence when mine got scratchy during another fabulous tour. If you can, the tours make the trip in our experience and we spent so many wonderful evenings with our sons talking about the things we had seen each day and sharing ideas and thoughts along with lots of laughs over delicious pasta and pizza.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the only way to see the the Sistene Chapel, it is essentially a quick guided tour of the Museum - you can circle back and do the museum after the Chapel - twenty people, I lingered as long as I could and when I left the Chapel I was but one of six people in arguably the most beautiful room in the world. No tourists taking selfies, no people speaking when they should not - the Sistene Chapel is a useless destination if you are with a crowd. You must take this tour. After the Chapel you are allowed to either skip the lines for St. Peter's Basilca or go back to the beginning of the museum and walk through at your leisure. Just do it!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Charlie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I cannot stress enough how imperative it is to book an early morning skip-the-line tour when visiting the Vatican. I have done the Vatican three ways, 1. no pre-booked tour, just waited in line with the rest of the schlubs, 2. booked tour, but not early access, and 3. booked tour, early access. 3 is by far the smartest. The lines outside of the Vatican are ALWAYS insanely long, and the crowds inside are just as bad if you go during regular hours. Yes, this tour costs a bit more, but take it from someone who knows i.e. learned the hard way, IT IS WORTH IT. You meet early in the morning and a predesignated point across the street from the entrance. You can take a cab here, possibly even a bus. The alternative is standing in the line that snakes the block, and walking all the way around in line. That line is no joke my friends! I always visit in October or November, which is outside the summer season, and the lines are still crazy, so I can't even imagine what they are in summer. The tour guide then hands out the audio devices, and you literally walk across the street and walk right through the door, bypassing everyone in line and avoiding their evil and jealous gazes. This particular tour was excellent, we were given a tour of the gardens, highlights in the museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. We made it through most of the tour before the rest of the crowds were herded in. I hate the throngs of people, so this was really worth it for me and made it so much more enjoyable. Also, if you are traveling with older adults or young children, weigh the extra cost of the ticket against standing in that long line outside for hours, and then walking miles of museum inside. WORTH IT.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Kimteen2003 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You must book this!! The tour guide was amazing and not to mention the sights! Finding the entrance meeting point was a little difficult so go early and if you have time stop in Cafe Vaticano which is right near meeting point for lunch the staff was so friendly and food was delicious!! No pics allowed in the Sistine chapel forewarning :- but plenty of other great incredible photo ops! Make sure to find your way to the little gift shop in the Bascillica down one of the side halls.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We walked around the museum with our guide Vasco. He was very interesting and funny and showed us lots of pieces of art including amazing tapestries and rooms painted by Raphael. Prior to the tour starting we were informed about the paintings in the Sistine Chapel, as no-one is allowed to talk in the chapel. It was a wow moment entering the chapel. The chapel paintings and ceiling were amazing and we knew what we were looking at, thanks to the talk. Vasco then took us to St. Pater's, another Wow. He pointed out some important items in St. Peter's and then the tour ended and we could look around St. Peter's at our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Walker L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Did not include tour, for the best. Tours created a lot of traffic and made the visit more of a drag. They thin out after Sistine Chapel, which is for the best. Guide gets you to the ticket office and grabs your ticket, perfect line skipping service. Metro is a good way to arrive.

Vatican Visiting Tip: Don't come to Rome late on a Saturday past 1200. You could/will end up turning a day trip into a two night stay if your train is late like mine. You miss it on Sat, closed Sun, have to wait for Mon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Nadine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent experience, we bought skip the line tickets and paid for English audio guides when we were in the museum. I have paid previously for a 3 hour tour guide which was great, but I wanted the flexibility to really explore all the various museums before seeing the Sistine chapel. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour very enjoyable. Apart from th tour, I would recommend giving yourself enough time to find the meeting point, as we had a little difficulty finding it from the metro station. We made it just in time, but it was a stressful situation that could have been avoided by allowing for some extra time before the tour departure. All the rooms we visited were very interesting, especially the hall of maps. Raphael's rooms were amazing and our tour guide did a very entertaining job of explaining to us the relationships of the artists of the time. The Sistine Chapel was amazing, as was St. Peter's Basilica. After the tour ended, we were able to continue touring around until we were finished. We highly recommend this tour to help navigate through the museums and for an enjoyable experience in the basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Terence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Having heard repeatedly of the huge number of tourists that visit the Vatican museum and particularly the Sistine Chapel we decided to book the early access tickets. This meant that when we were in the Sistine Chapel there were no more than forty other tourists and at one point there were only six of us tourists in the Chapel. This allowed us to take our time, read our guide book to understand the individual parts of the paintings, and really absorb the atmosphere. We stayed in the Chapel for around an hour and then viewed the rest of the museum which for the first two hours was relatively quiet.The benefit of our decision was rammed home to us when we walked through the Sistine Chapel mid-afternoon on the way to the exit. The room was solid with hundreds of people it felt like thousands It was hot, stuffy and quite frankly horrible. My wife and I agreed that the considerable extra expenditure over normal entry was worth every penny. Another contributor wrote that it was a good idea to take binoculars for the chapel which we did and I am very grateful for the suggestion as it allowed you to really get up close if some thing caught your attention in the paintings

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message