Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Sistine Chapel

A glorious homage to the Renaissance and acclaimed by many as Michelangelo's masterwork, the Sistine Chapel offers a suitably regal backdrop for the Papal Conclave (the meeting of the Cardinals to elect a new Pope) and a top experience in Rome.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4535 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

somesh.maheshwari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You need a guide to do Vatican specially Sistine and our's - Vasco was an excellent one. Patient, funny and knowledgeable. He made it a fun tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

missa.ortiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic - the guide was informative and shared great historic tidbits with a local flare that were invaluable to our perspective at the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Willemijn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was everything I was looking for. You don't have to stand in any line and you go to all the highlights in the Vatican Museum, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide Tiffany had a lot of knowledge and a good story teller. She made our tour super informative and fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joel Ivan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Unbelievable experience.
Sistine Chapel is the most beautiful sight!
Definitely do the skip the line tour. We watched people wait in lines in the rain.
Grateful for the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mgj218

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our guide was knowledgeable, spoke English and was very pleasant. Getting in early gave us plenty of time to explore the Musums and Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. I recommend this highly!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For a family group of 6, the Skip the Line small-group tour of the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel was excellent! Our tour guide, Assunta, was a knowledgeable art historian whose passion for the art was contagious. She carried a portfolio of reproductions that enhanced our appreciation of the sights and she was approachable and inclusive. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

the4clynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Spent my 50th birthday on this tour so was looking for something a bit special and wasn't disappointed. We had a terrific guide who's name, to my regret, I didn't catch but she did say she came from Venezuela should narrow it down. She really knew her stuff and put it across well and had a good sense of humour into the bargain.
The Vatican is absolutely stunning. I personally don't normally bat an eyelid about artwork but even the most hardened sceptic can't fail to be impressed. The scale of the work and the timespans involved are breathtaking and the commentary provided by the guide really brought it all to life. The only regret was that entry to St. Peter's Basilica had to be delayed due to the Pope being in attendance and our guide had to leave us after the Cistine chapel but we had a drink in the cafe and then wandered round St. Peter's by ourselves. It is an absolutely stunning building and would have been better if we still had the guide to point things out but this is always a danger when it is a working church and didn't diminish the tour too much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see the Sistine chapel before the crowds came in.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

moriczmonika

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The early access Sistine chapel tour was the best thing we did. Got to see the museum before the crowds and got a nice orientation and background info from the tour guide. It was not a guided tour but it got us in before the crowds and gave us a good background to the paintings. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Probably one of the best tours we took on this trip! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I think it will take another 3-4 days to see EVERYTHING and we still will not have seen it all. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. I wish we had more time in the Sistine Chapel, because it was simply breathtaking. St. Peter's was mind blowing to say the least.

We will definitely come again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lvrooman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My teenage daughter and I took this tour in May 2016. I think there were a total of 8 of us on this tour would recommend a small group such as this and we met up at 8:00 am on a Friday morning. May is a busy tourist season so we were one of many groups touring the Vatican museums, St Peter's and Sistine Chapel. In spite of that we were still able to really enjoy this tour. I would imagine the crowds build as the day goes on so if possible you may want to consider an early start time for your tour. Our tour guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and clearly very passionate about everything we were seeing. Each of us had headphones on so we were able to hear what he was saying. It was all so fascinating!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jean Hee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour that you should strongly consider doing if you're staying in Rome.

It was a pleasure to be guided by Giuseppe, who is also an archaeologist. This showed, because he was very knowledgeable in telling us the interesting background and highlights of the history and artworks of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica, and could answer all our questions. He had a genuine enthusiasm and fascination with the history he was explaining, despite the poor guy talking to us while navigating us around crowded places for a few hours, while carrying around several heavy looking bags. You will have a chance to get a drink at the cafe in the Vatican before visiting the Sistine Chapel.

My husband, who is not normally a big art or history enthusiast, really enjoyed the museum and the amazing beauty and scale of the art in it, truly unique. It surpassed our expectations. Although the Sistine Chapel is beautiful without an explanation, without knowing the background history and stories about Michelangelo, you would not enjoy it nearly as much.

A great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour began promptly on time. Guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all that was in the description. It was absolutely wonderful and all that we could have hoped for. The Museum was fantastic, the Sistine Chapel magnificent. No doubt would recommend the tour to others, enthusiastically!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a good way to see the highlights of the Vatican. I would have liked to see more paintings, but there and #39;s only so much time (Michaela, our guide, told us there are 10 km of gallery!). The Sistine Chapel is beautiful and St Peter and #39;s is awe inspiring. Definitely a must do in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide. Knowledgeable and engaging. Too bad we didn't have more time in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

natandesther

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend this ticket. You can stay as long as you want in the Sistine Chapel and just sit and gaze - even with the larger crowds it was the best!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Jason K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you did your research, you would know the best way into the Vatican is through a guided tour. The lines for tickets and entry are always long. A guide also gives you information that you may not know. This small group tour is the best way to go. It gets you in and through without any delays.

I really enjoyed the whole tour and saw pretty much everything there was to see. Plenty of time provided to go through the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel remember no pictures allow there. The tour concludes in St. Pauls Cathedral, so you get the guides comments and then have lots of time in there to take pictures or see the sights inside this large cathedral.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My family and I enjoyed our tour of the Vatican Museums very much. The architecture and the historical imagery was absolutely beautiful and breathtaking -- especially the Sistine Chapel and the Basilica. Our tour guide Raphaela was wonderful -- she was very friendly and personable and she was very knowledgeable and informative throughout the day. Our tour was amazing and we strongly recommend it for anyone who visits Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took this tour in late Oct. at 2pm and it was still pretty crowded, but not as bad as in July. Worth it just to not be standing in the regular lines. There are several tours who use the same meeting point so make sure you find the right one you paid for! Also, you may notice more than 20 arriving for the same tour, but they divide everyone into smaller groups. I think my group had about 15 people in it. I also compared this tour to the one on the Vatican Museum site itself, but went with Viator because the size of the group seemed like it would be a little smaller. Guide did an excellent job explaining the history of the place and pointing out key items in the museum before getting to the Sistine chapel. Unfortunately because it was already about 5pm when we got out of the Sistine chapel, the guide couldn't give us a tour of St. Peter's basilica, but instead he gave a brief talk before releasing the group a handout that explained the main features of he church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definitely worth the early morning for this tour! Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was wonderful to have time in the Sistine Chappell before the crowds came in. I highly recommend this one!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Emogene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very knowledgable guide led us through the vastness that is the Vatican until we finally got to see what we came for, the Sistene chapel. It didn't disappoint. Getting through the crowds was a bit of a bother, but the summertime would have been even worse. Our guide did a good job of keeping us all together.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

dheaberlin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very unusual to have 45 minutes after hours in the Sistine Chapel with only 16 others in our tour. Our guide was allowed to describe everything in depth which is a complete opposite of the guide not even being allowed to talk during normal hours. Tour of the Pope's quarters was outstanding. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Peta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Sistine Chapel after hours WOW. only about 13 people in our group. The Chapel without the great crowds is wonderful to see. I'm not so sure about the secret rooms though because I have done an ordinary Sistine Chapel tour in the past, and I saw the so called Secret rooms before So, although this cost a lot of money, its well worth it just to spend 20 minutes in the Chapel without crowds - however, the Secret Rooms bit, is a bit of a fib.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is definitely the highlight of our trip!!! Despite the hot summer in Rome and lack of AC everywhere we visited in July, I know..., we really enjoyed the marvelous Vatican City. With its mesmerizing and over-the-top decorations and masterpieces oh yes we've seen all there is to see in Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica, Vatican City should be on every tourist's wish-list while in Rome. We need to give a special thanks to our tour guide Sev, whom explained everything in great detail and kept it interesting even for our 7-years old. We were truly fortunate to have a historian he's a professor in Rome University and guiding is his part-time job in summer as our tour guide. We will definitely take the tour again next time in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

JAS United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Vatican city and the chapel. Our tour guide was so educated on the facts and made the place come alive. It was great to avoid the crowds also.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message