Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Sistine Chapel

A glorious homage to the Renaissance and acclaimed by many as Michelangelo's masterwork, the Sistine Chapel offers a suitably regal backdrop for the Papal Conclave (the meeting of the Cardinals to elect a new Pope) and a top experience in Rome.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4582 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Super tour with an excellent guide. The explanations were very good and the trip to the Sistine chapel was well researched and extremely interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Katie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was well worth the extra money and early morning. We were among just 20 or so people in the Sistine Chapel. This exclusive access meant we could sit and enjoy the splendour of the chapel. We visited it twice later in the day and each time it was busier - no space to take it all in.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour! Our guide met us exactly where we were told, and she was extremely knowledgeable about the everything the Vatican has to offer! We had a great time and spent a good 2-3 hours with our guide learning all about the different rooms and buildings, as well as seeing top sites like the Sistine Chapel and La Pieta. Not to mention the perk of getting in before the crowds! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did this tour on the morning of the day we did the colosseum at night tour. The directions for meeting place were easy to follow even though we got lost almost daily in Rome. The Vatican museum and Basilica as expected were extremely crowded and being able to skip the line was glorious. Our tour guide was fantastic and very personable. When going through the Sistine Chapel please remember to look up! It was literally so crowded that I was worried about getting separated from my husband that I almost didn't look up. I recommend this tour and doing it on the same day as the later Colosseum at night tour gave us plenty of time to explore the city and have a great lunch near the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This really was a GREAT tour - try not to miss it! It was a small group w/ a fantastic well informed guide.
In fact the tour guide was exceptional. We went into areas not open to the general public and had the Sistine Chapel
all to ourselves. It was more than worth the time and money spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a MUST DO! Everything about it was special. You can not under estimate the value of being in the Sistine Chapel on your own simply AMAZING! This tour well worth every penny.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

radar_25 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our tour of the Vatican. Our tour guide, Manuela, was very knowledgable and really balanced our time well. She pointed out key paintings, sculptures and features of the museum, Basilica, and Chapel without becoming too engulfed in details. The Vatican is overwhelmingly large and this tour made it seem much less daunting and also allowed us to appreciate the art and architecture. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting the Vatican for the first time and/or has limited education in art and religious history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mollie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This early access express tour of the Sistine Chapel was amazing! My husband has MS, and has mobility issues and gets fatigued easily, and I knew there was no way he would be able to make it through a 3 hour/7 km tour of the Vatican Museum. With this tour, we were LITERALLY the first group into the museum, got a quick highlights tour with our excellent guide through the museum on our way to the Sistine Chapel, and then got to enjoy the Sistine Chapel with only a handful of other people. We were able to sit on the benches along the wall, and really just were able to take our time and soak up the beauty of the place. Most of the people on our tour then backtracked through the museum to spend more time seeing the exhibits, but our guide showed us the secret door that leads directly to St Peter's Basilica. A few steps down some back hallways, and we were there! This was especially welcome as it meant my husband didn't have to walk all the way around the outside of the Vatican and stand in another line to get into the Basilica. We were able to enjoy the Basilica as well before it filled up with people. Everything was really just perfect for our circumstances. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm writing a review of the Vatican I took five years ago. It was a fantastic experience. The Sistine Chaple was impressive to say the least. I received a three hour tour with a guide who knew great details of the Vatican and had a keen knowledge of the works of art and treasures that lay within the thirty foot walls.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was full of information. It was my second tour of the Vatican in five years. The place was packed like a bunch of sardines in a can. The Sinstine Chapel was as magnificent as I rememberd it as last time. The post office at the Vatican is a must if you want to send a letter home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

exprez35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Getting into the Vatican as some of the first groups made this tour so much more enjoyable. The Sistine Chapel is amazing and being able to see it with a smaller crowd allows you to take in the masterpiece that it is.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

michelle o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An amazing tour and excellent value, we learned so much about the Sistine Chapel that we wouldnt have known without the fantastic Lucia.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lindy was an excellent tour guide for our visit to the Vatican Museums with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel! It was wonderful to avoid the long, long lines to enter the Vatican. Everything went smoothly and we could not have been more pleased. Lindy was extremely knowledgeable and fun to tour with and listen to. She is enthusiastic and clearly loves what she does and it makes the experience much more enjoyable!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

sirmonshouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing, wonderful, fabulous, stupendous...I could go on and on. We loved everything about this tour, with one exception. The crowds were unreal. That's not the fault of anyone since this is a must-see in Roma. We saw the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. It was glorious! My suggestion is to book an early tour so you can enjoy the Square during the day and perhaps miss some of the crowds. It was very beautiful at night, so either way, you will be pleased. Our guide, Alberto, was funny, kind and engaging. He offered us a ton of information. It was all relevant and fascinating. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Shanti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a fantastic tour and our tour guide Elena was brilliant!! She patiently explained all the facts that we needed to know as first timers to the Vatican. Additionally, her art history background was most helpful in helping us understand the frescoes especially in the Sistine Chapel and other priceless artwork. However, please be aware that this is a walking tour with very few rest breaks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Friday night tour was a wonderful way to get an overview of the Vatican treasures and see the Sistine Chapel. There were still crowds, but it is apparently much better than during the day. Would have like to have more time to linger, but the collections are vast! Good guide and organized tour operation.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

angnealy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was fantastic, she was articulate and knowledgeable. I do wish there was more than 15 minutes in the Sistine Chapel - we could have stayed - however it was not explained to us that from the Sistine Chapel our headsets would be collected and we'd enter St Peter's independently. If we had known that, we would have stayed to enjoy the chapel much longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Heatherautumn27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sabrina was amazing! She was so full of knowledge, and very sweet. The tour was laid out perfectly, going through the Vatican and the chapel. I highly recommend splurging on the small group tour, as there are so many people going through these places it could be easy to get lost. We really appreciate that she took her job seriously. Over all, a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely the only way to see the Vatican. Our guide was very good--he kept a good pace, answered all questions, and discussed the highlights of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Our small group could hear our guide easily with the headphones he provided.
We have visited before during regular hours, and it was so crowded that we couldn't see anything or hear our guide.The early access and small group format made all the difference.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

jane r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour group leader was fantastic, providing an overview of the Sistine chapel prior to our entrance, answering questions and professional as well as personable. We were among the early risers and had the opportunity to view the chapel with a limited number of others. This is the best way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Lynnette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome to be able to view in private, small group, the Sistine Chapel and Vatican rooms. I wanted more to see even more, to be able to go into St. Peter's also with this tour would have been great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message