Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Spanish Steps

Climbing from the lively Piazza di Spagna to the Trinita dei Monti church, the Spanish Steps are unmistakable, gracing countless postcards and immortalized in numerous films, most famously Audrey Hepburn’s Roman Holiday. Built between 1723 and 1725 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

victoria t

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Was interesting and worth doing but the spanish steps were not open unforunately.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour which takes in the major non Vatican sights - The Colloseum, the forum, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, plus a lot more, in a four hour bike tour. The tour was safe it winds through all sorts of interesting byways and easily doable by anyone who can still ride a bike. Our guide, Valeria, was simply excellent. Highly informative, knowledgeable, helpful, and a delightful human being. Ask for her by name.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

chuiku2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rome is such a beautiful city, that you need a week, month or even an year to see all the sights and appreciate them. But if you are short on time, then this tour is definitely the one for you.

You start of in front of the Spanish Steps which are currently being restored and walk along the many side streets of Rome. Each one uncovering one or the other treasures of Rome. And when you have a guide like Francesca who patiently explains to you in detail about each site and also puts in a few anecdotes from her experiences in Rome, then it's a delightful tour.

Some of the places you see are the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon near to where we have a delightful gelato stop and finally ending at Piazza Novona. I have been on many tours of Rome but this one turned out to be the best. Was with my wife and friend who had come over from India. My friend really appreciated Francesca as her accent and explanations were very easy to follow. Kudos to her.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

jhirbour82

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

SO glad I did this! Very informative and I got to see parts of the city I had not made it to yet. The Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and some delicious gelato too! Very reasonably priced and very informative, Vasco was a great guide!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Josephine B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Trevi Fountain was great but the underground tour was not what I expected. It was about 500m away from the fountain. The Spanish steps were closed so we didn and #39;t see them. Our tour guide was very good though!

Doing what: Spanish Steps and Vicus Caprarius Underground small-group tour

Jerry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, we enjoyed the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps and the historical information provided by our guide was very good.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Marsha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first evening in Rome, and it was the perfect way to get acquainted with this incredible city! While we had a few showers right at the start, we bought umbrellas from the peddlers at the Spanish Steps and carried on. Our guide, Luca D was fantastic, very knowledgeable and passionate about the city and its history. We got to know him quite well during the tour and at the fantastic Aperitivo stop! This was a perfect evening and welcome to Rome!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, starting at the base of the Spanish steps currently under construction and making our way over to the Piazza Navona, thru the Trevi Fountain and other sites on the way. Our guide was terrific. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as it's a bit a of walking. The highlight was the Pantheon, which even though we'd seen before, we didn't appreciate the history and the superb architectural elements e.g. the dome ceiling that make it inexplicable how ancients were able to build it. We also couldn't get over the how, by design, the internal air circulation within the Pantheon prevents most rain from hitting the floor through the open hole in the top of the dome. Amazing!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Marys Travel ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent bike tour of Rome that we took in Sept2015. Our Guide Valeria was so friendly and knowledgeable about the city. The bike tour winds you thru hidden back lanes and streets and away from the busy roads so you feel very safe on the bikes, yet they get you up close to the main tourist spots of the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and so many other spots we never knew about. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Mervyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous walking tour, great guide, saw lots that we wouldn't have been able to see, great walking route starting from the Spanish Steps. Very informative and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We totally enjoyed our walking tour of the Spanish Steps.Trevi Fountain area...and the underground part of it was totally fascinating! Trevi, of course, is under reconstruction, so that was a great disappointment. Tour guide was great!

Doing what: Spanish Steps and Vicus Caprarius Underground small-group tour

michele

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our bike tour led by local guide Corrado was fine. Unfortunately (no fault of the tour), many of the sites were under construction or closed for special events. ( Trevi fountain - under repair, Spanish Steps -church and fountain draped and under repair, Pantheon -closed) As this was not our first trip to Rome, we didn't mind but it would have been disappointing for first-timers. The only other issue was the congestion and maneuvering around all of the tourists on our bikes! Overall, I recommend seeing any city on a local bike tour. It's a fun way to quickly get an overview of a city.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Charlie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good tour and guide.
Apertivo at restaurant was very average. Big deal was made of going to the top of the hill overlooking the Vatican.... I found this not very appealing. Would rather have seen the other fountains, Spanish Steps, etc in the evening with lights, rather than earlier in the day. The only illuminated portion was the Colissieum at the end (which as very nice) and the Garibaldi statue mentioned earlier.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Philip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alejandra did a really nice job leading us through the streets and keeping us safe when we were on some of the busier roads. However, more often than not, we were on smaller streets and alleyways that made you feel like you were more a part of the city vs being on a tour. She did an excellent job of explaining all of the sites we visited and we got to see the major ones. Most we rode by, but we did make stops at the Trevi Fountain, to climb the Spanish Steps, go inside the Pantheon as well as stop on hills to admire other parts of ancient and medieval Rome such as the Roman Forums, Coliseum, and many famous piatzas with their beautiful fountains, architecture and cafes. The skies opened up with quite the downpour for the final hour of our trip, but Ale was prepared and had rain ponchos for all of us (they worked far better than the umbrella that I brought). The bike was excellent and fitted well to each person. they came with a basket to out things in, plus a couple of water bottles.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

john.rudy

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Trevi fountain and the fountain at Spanish steps are being restored and so that was a big disappointment and a slow start to the tour. Pantheon and piazza navona are worth visiting. Tour guide was great, but the tour lacks a bit due to restoration work on two key sites.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Thusy M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lady pretty patient when she taught us how to use the segway. She was very attentive while we were driving and made it very interesting. Groups are smaller than listed here (might have been a slow day). The videos and audio clips they played weren't that interesting and the tour guide seemed disengaged at those times. Overall the tour was beautiful, except all the big parts were being renovated (trevi fountain and spanish steps) and we were not told of this earlier when we were booking. It is not worth the price of the full tour due to those uncontrollable factors.

Doing what: Rome Night Segway Tour

Mary K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. We went back to the Pantheon to see the art works a bit closer. Very disappointed that the Trevi Fountain and the fountain at the Spanish steps were under repair.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An amazing experience! It was a very crowded Rome at Easter but our guide was expert at finding a quiet route through the crowds at the Trevi fountain and Spanish steps. It so well organised and we felt very safe. cycling past the colosseum was just surreal! Thank you Viator it was wonderful.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Fazilah Hani H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

It was very good and informative. Our tour guide Francesca is very knowledgeable and provide us with all the details of the tourist sites i.e spanish steps, trevi fountain, piazza novona etc.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

derrick t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My 18 year old daughter and I (52 years old) were really worried we wouldn't be able to master the Segways but how wrong we were. We were given a very warm welcome and great tuition by our guide Alessandra. This tour was so much fun and our guide was very informative and friendly. The whole tour lasted around 2.5 hours and took us to places such as the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, churches, lively streets and a square filled with Artists and their paintings, musicians and people eating and drinking out under the warm night air. I recommend this to all ages, it wont disappoint. We are heading back next year for another go.Thank you Alessandra for a really great job done.

Doing what: Rome Night Segway Tour

Janis

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

In future you should take the tour back to where it started as we didn't have a clue how to get back to our hotel. It was going to cost a lot of money for a taxi back. We finally found our way. We knew how to get back for the Spanish steps. Our tour guide helped us.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Joeguarin USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommended, in 1 afternoon/night we saw all of the "must see" sights in Rome.
Friendly and knowledgeable guide took us to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navone, and many other fantastic places. A lot of walking, but well worth the effort, the Coliseum at night is not to be missed.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Donna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely fantastic tour and great way to see the City of Rome!! We walked through the heart of the City during the early evening and then took a bus tour after the sun went down! We truly enjoyed every moment of this adventure. It gave us a chance to see all of the major sites and take great pictures by the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Pantheon, and then see the sunset at the Piazza Navona. We also took great pictures at night from the scenic spot where you could see the whole city of Rome and were dropped off at the Colosseum at the end of the tour. I would highly recommend it to anyone who travels to Rome!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Mariana T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The tour and the sites were good. The tour guide was knowledgeable and very funny. I didn't like that fact that the first half of the tour was during daylight even though it was supposed to be "Illuminated night tour". I think the company should consider changing the start time during summer. We couldn't see the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon during night light and that was the point of the whole tour.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

MELANIE L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A good start to get one's bearings and see Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Piazza Navona.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message