Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Willemijn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was everything I was looking for. You don't have to stand in any line and you go to all the highlights in the Vatican Museum, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide Tiffany had a lot of knowledge and a good story teller. She made our tour super informative and fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

stevehouston1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful guide and overview of Vatican and St Peters. We stayed after tour and bought tickets to climb to top of the basilica. You meet across the street from the museum entrance on the stairs that go down to the next street. Other tours meet there too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

iwolf2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Must do Small-Group Upgrade! I can't imagine having this tour with a larger group. You need to small group size to be able to better experience everything. Our guide, Giuseppe, was exceptional. They information and knowledge that he was able to provide was priceless. You could tell that he really loves what he does and that translates into a better tour experience. Also, don't miss going to top of St. Peter's Dome. The view is worth the steps.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

teresa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was with a group of 4 women and we all enjoyed the audio guide tour of St. Peter's Basilica. Go at your own pace. Worth the money!

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

SirJBP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was good. It was easy to find the meet-up place and it was well organized. The group size wasn't too big, although the hearing system wasn't very good, probably to many groups walking around the same places and if you distanced a little bit from the guide you had bad connection quite fast, apparently is provided by the Vatican museums so is not a problem with their own equipment. Our guide Tatiana was good and enthusiastic about the explanations, and seemed to have a good knowledge about the subject. The visit was in November, so being very low season there wasn't that much people around, but it was still worth it to skip the line as we managed to get in in the moment to both the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica. Overall was worth it and more engaging visit. As the Vatican Museums are massive, you only visit part of them with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

the4clynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Spent my 50th birthday on this tour so was looking for something a bit special and wasn't disappointed. We had a terrific guide who's name, to my regret, I didn't catch but she did say she came from Venezuela should narrow it down. She really knew her stuff and put it across well and had a good sense of humour into the bargain.
The Vatican is absolutely stunning. I personally don't normally bat an eyelid about artwork but even the most hardened sceptic can't fail to be impressed. The scale of the work and the timespans involved are breathtaking and the commentary provided by the guide really brought it all to life. The only regret was that entry to St. Peter's Basilica had to be delayed due to the Pope being in attendance and our guide had to leave us after the Cistine chapel but we had a drink in the cafe and then wandered round St. Peter's by ourselves. It is an absolutely stunning building and would have been better if we still had the guide to point things out but this is always a danger when it is a working church and didn't diminish the tour too much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Probably one of the best tours we took on this trip! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I think it will take another 3-4 days to see EVERYTHING and we still will not have seen it all. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. I wish we had more time in the Sistine Chapel, because it was simply breathtaking. St. Peter's was mind blowing to say the least.

We will definitely come again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lvrooman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My teenage daughter and I took this tour in May 2016. I think there were a total of 8 of us on this tour would recommend a small group such as this and we met up at 8:00 am on a Friday morning. May is a busy tourist season so we were one of many groups touring the Vatican museums, St Peter's and Sistine Chapel. In spite of that we were still able to really enjoy this tour. I would imagine the crowds build as the day goes on so if possible you may want to consider an early start time for your tour. Our tour guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and clearly very passionate about everything we were seeing. Each of us had headphones on so we were able to hear what he was saying. It was all so fascinating!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jean Hee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour that you should strongly consider doing if you're staying in Rome.

It was a pleasure to be guided by Giuseppe, who is also an archaeologist. This showed, because he was very knowledgeable in telling us the interesting background and highlights of the history and artworks of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica, and could answer all our questions. He had a genuine enthusiasm and fascination with the history he was explaining, despite the poor guy talking to us while navigating us around crowded places for a few hours, while carrying around several heavy looking bags. You will have a chance to get a drink at the cafe in the Vatican before visiting the Sistine Chapel.

My husband, who is not normally a big art or history enthusiast, really enjoyed the museum and the amazing beauty and scale of the art in it, truly unique. It surpassed our expectations. Although the Sistine Chapel is beautiful without an explanation, without knowing the background history and stories about Michelangelo, you would not enjoy it nearly as much.

A great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a good way to see the highlights of the Vatican. I would have liked to see more paintings, but there and #39;s only so much time (Michaela, our guide, told us there are 10 km of gallery!). The Sistine Chapel is beautiful and St Peter and #39;s is awe inspiring. Definitely a must do in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took this tour in late Oct. at 2pm and it was still pretty crowded, but not as bad as in July. Worth it just to not be standing in the regular lines. There are several tours who use the same meeting point so make sure you find the right one you paid for! Also, you may notice more than 20 arriving for the same tour, but they divide everyone into smaller groups. I think my group had about 15 people in it. I also compared this tour to the one on the Vatican Museum site itself, but went with Viator because the size of the group seemed like it would be a little smaller. Guide did an excellent job explaining the history of the place and pointing out key items in the museum before getting to the Sistine chapel. Unfortunately because it was already about 5pm when we got out of the Sistine chapel, the guide couldn't give us a tour of St. Peter's basilica, but instead he gave a brief talk before releasing the group a handout that explained the main features of he church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We are really glad we opted to do this tour. The Vatican Museum was extremely crowded in October, when they were averaging 25,000 visitors per day. The museum had wall to wall people in some parts, and our tour guide skillfully navigated us through the crowds while highlighting the most important attractions. She was very knowledgeable and accessible to any questions, and spoke great English. St. Peter's Basilica is at the end of the tour, and after she took us through it, we were free to remain as long as we liked, so we took the opportunity to climb to the Basilica dome for some magnificent views. Buy this tour ahead of time and at an earliest possible time slot, as it enabled a smooth entry without much of a wait the wait was only for passing through the security system.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ginanunez81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very informative. Our tour guide gave excellent information of the paintings and tapestries. The we went on the Early morning tour which was best as the rooms were not extremely full and you had time to take your pictures and admire all of the art work. St. Peter's Basilica was beautiful and an amazing experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is definitely the highlight of our trip!!! Despite the hot summer in Rome and lack of AC everywhere we visited in July, I know..., we really enjoyed the marvelous Vatican City. With its mesmerizing and over-the-top decorations and masterpieces oh yes we've seen all there is to see in Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica, Vatican City should be on every tourist's wish-list while in Rome. We need to give a special thanks to our tour guide Sev, whom explained everything in great detail and kept it interesting even for our 7-years old. We were truly fortunate to have a historian he's a professor in Rome University and guiding is his part-time job in summer as our tour guide. We will definitely take the tour again next time in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide managed our group of a dozen with admirable skill, to keep all of us in sight at all times, and the crowds unusually large to attend the Beatification of Mother Teresa were challenging in the confines of the Gallery. Although the Sistine Chapel is a fabulous sight, a visitor cannot linger more than fifteen minutes, becoming one of a mass of people all looking upward in awe, and slowly moving toward the exit. St. Peter's is a wonderful place to explore apart from the group and we were able to spend all the time we wanted in that magnificent space, without the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Donald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really did skip the line and had an informative tour of the museum, Sistine and St. Peter's. We were able to stay in the basilica and spend additional time on our own. Everything was exactly as billed, professionally conducted and well worth the small investment to not stand in line for three or four hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Brendan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide we had was very knowledgeable but did not overload us which would have been easy to do. Instead he provided enough information to understand what we were seeing and whetted our appetite for more. The early morning start turned out to be a must as by the time we left St Peters the crowds were nearly impossible to get through. If you want a tour to give you an overview of the Vatican and St. Peter's then this is the one. Thank you Giuseppe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour begins at the Vatican Museums, goes through the Sistine Chapel and ends at the Basilica. You can go back into the Basilica after for more photos without charge. Our tour guide was Igor and he was very knowledgeable and his English was easy to understand. Igor brought us through the Vatican Museums at a quick pace so there is a lot of information to take in but it would be hard to understand the significance of what you were looking at without a guide. You can take photos all through the tour except in the Sistine Chapel. The Basilica is amazing! For lunch after the tour Igor recommended the area pedonale near St. Peter's Square. A gelatto store on that street called argentale was the best gelatto we got while in Rome and it did receive a Trip Advisor award a couple of years ago.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Roxanne O. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so informative. Our tour guide knew her stuff and kept the whole group intrigued. Happy that we went in October because I hear this tour gets super packed with people. St. Peter's Basilica was breathtaking and the Sistine Chapel was so incredibly beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour and our guide was extremely knowledgeable I am sorry I forgot her name. The day of our tour the Vatican was very busy and our guide, in a very courteous manner, moved us around so we could see everything with an unobstructed view. This tour hit all the high points of the museums, basilica and the Sistine chapel. If I were to do it again, I would plan on spending extra time in the area after the formal tour ended. We had booked another tour shortly after this one ended, but if we had time it would have been nice to visit the Vatican post office, get our passport stamped, climb the dome of the basilica, spend more time in St Peter's Square, and browse the religious items the nuns were selling. I would highly recommend this specific tour and Viator!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sally A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best way to visit the Vatican which included a comprehensive tour of the museum, Sistine Chapel plus St Peters Basilica. Our tour guide was extremely informative and had extensive knowledge of the history of the artwork and Vatican. It was easy to book into and was able to use e-voucher so no running around finding ticket offices to gain access or waiting in long queues. Strongly recommend, well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hollis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour gave us the highlights of the Vatican and St Peters with a knowledgeable and personable tour guide. We did not have to do the lines and that was the greatest advantage. We were herded but with the use of the headphones provided, you could go at your own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour covered the Vatican Museum in great detail. What more needs to be said. There are 9 miles of galleries so seeing all of it was well beyond the ability of our three hour tour. Everything we saw was incredible and was a key part of the history of the Vatican. Well worth the investment. Be prepared to have your mind overwhelmed with the incredible range and depth of artworks in the museum.
Our tour guide Magdalena was incredibly well informed and knowledgeable. Her knowledge was impressive and she was gladly answered all our questions - even those well beyond the items contained in the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, or St Peter's. If you have her as your guide, you will NOT be disappointed.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome was Amazing! I would highly recommend taking this tour! Not only do you get to learn about the Church's rich history from a small group tour guide, you will also get to climb the cupola and have breathtaking views of all of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was fantastic and was brimming with so much knowledge about the Vatican and the history. With so much overwhelming things to see in just a few hours, it was interesting to understand the specific history of a few of the pieces of art that we would have never known on our own. We went at 10:00 and it was packed I heard the earlier the better! as it is every single day so beware of that and just make the best of it! With the headsets on you could always wander and listen as she told us wonderful history without fear of not being able to hear the guide or be right next to her. This is the way to go as I saw some other tours that did not have the headsets. The Vatican museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel were so amazing and unreal. We saw many other beautiful churches on our two week tour in Italy but this is the most gorgeous church in the world and a MUST SEE once in a lifetime experience. Truly breathtaking and I am not religious!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message