Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line tours do just that, save a large amount of time bypassing lines to purchase tickets and enter attractions. Plus, you have the benefit of a guide who will lead you to the most interesting exhibits, explain little-known facts, and prepare you for the experiences to come, such as the mob in the Sistine Chapel. Our guide did all that as we made our way through part of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and then on a tour of St. Peter's. The amount of time spent in each place was plenty to give us an overview, although someone wanting a more in-depth experience might have felt a bit rushed. Our morning tour was just right for us, we ended just before noon and spent the afternoon exploring other parts of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Benjis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I could do this tour all over again and again!!! Amazing inside the Vatican and St. Peter and #39;s Chapel breath taking and so much history and facts. Tiffany our tour guide was EXCELLENT SHEs VERY KNOWLEDGABLE and COMPASSIONATE ABOUT The history of Rome and The Vatican takes her job serious and herself lightly!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Theresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lyndi was a great tour guide with a lot of information which was very interesting. She was patient with us all and waited us all the time. All these experiences were wonderful but better as we did not go in peak time. We were able to join a spiritual procession at St Peters which was amazing. The tombs are well worth a visit also.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tracy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I cannot recommend this tour enough! On the day we attended unfortunately we were unable to go into St Peters due to the Pope being in residence for a ceremony. I was bitterly disappointed to be told this by the guide but of course had to understand that this was out of their control and is mentioned in the T and Cs of the booking. That said - this tour was amazing! Our Tour Guide Bruno was absolutely fantastic. He was both knowledgeable and funny. The museum is unbelievable - truly beautiful and the Sistine Chapel was a complete treat, however, for me the Map Room was probably the most impressive! I cannot imagine going through these rooms without the tour guide. Bruno made this experience all the more wonderful with his great sense of humour and facts which I am absolutely sure would not be shared on an audio guide!!!!! I cannot wait to go back - simply the best and worth every penny in my book! Thank you to Bruno - you were a complete delight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing well worth paying extra for the small group tour and early start !The Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica Was the most amazing experience of a lifetime. Make sure you visit the Sistine Chapel and the Tombs of past Pope's underneath the main floor including the tomb of St.Peter .Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and very passionate of all the art included and was able to answer all our questions .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mohammed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I did not have to wait in the line to get into St. Peter's Basilica. The audio guide was very helpful to understand every thing about St. Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

Glinda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was Maria and she was amazing. Her knowledge was equal to her passion for the Vatican. She shared insider information on some of the art work and gave us a broad view of the galleries we viewed, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters Basilica. At the end of the tour you are still free to remain in the basilica for further exploration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melissa W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour is well worth taking especially since you skip the line for St Peter's saves you more than 40mins even in Winter. Our tour guide Christina was excellent - shared some interesting facts and ensured we maximized our time to see everything. The tour is paced just right and with the headphones you are able to hear her all the time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Franklin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My brother recommended Viator for tours while we were in Europe. Unfortunately, we missed a tour in Barcelona but booked one for the Vatican with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. A group of 12 with an English-speaking guide. Fabulous tour! Our tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and her English was very understandable! There were a lot of people when we entered both the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's and she kept the group close together and provided a narrative that was both engaging and informative! We have recommended this tour to friends since we have been home and we will book tours again with this company when we travel in the future!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Charlie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I cannot stress enough how imperative it is to book an early morning skip-the-line tour when visiting the Vatican. I have done the Vatican three ways, 1. no pre-booked tour, just waited in line with the rest of the schlubs, 2. booked tour, but not early access, and 3. booked tour, early access. 3 is by far the smartest. The lines outside of the Vatican are ALWAYS insanely long, and the crowds inside are just as bad if you go during regular hours. Yes, this tour costs a bit more, but take it from someone who knows i.e. learned the hard way, IT IS WORTH IT. You meet early in the morning and a predesignated point across the street from the entrance. You can take a cab here, possibly even a bus. The alternative is standing in the line that snakes the block, and walking all the way around in line. That line is no joke my friends! I always visit in October or November, which is outside the summer season, and the lines are still crazy, so I can't even imagine what they are in summer. The tour guide then hands out the audio devices, and you literally walk across the street and walk right through the door, bypassing everyone in line and avoiding their evil and jealous gazes. This particular tour was excellent, we were given a tour of the gardens, highlights in the museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. We made it through most of the tour before the rest of the crowds were herded in. I hate the throngs of people, so this was really worth it for me and made it so much more enjoyable. Also, if you are traveling with older adults or young children, weigh the extra cost of the ticket against standing in that long line outside for hours, and then walking miles of museum inside. WORTH IT.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We walked around the museum with our guide Vasco. He was very interesting and funny and showed us lots of pieces of art including amazing tapestries and rooms painted by Raphael. Prior to the tour starting we were informed about the paintings in the Sistine Chapel, as no-one is allowed to talk in the chapel. It was a wow moment entering the chapel. The chapel paintings and ceiling were amazing and we knew what we were looking at, thanks to the talk. Vasco then took us to St. Pater's, another Wow. He pointed out some important items in St. Peter's and then the tour ended and we could look around St. Peter's at our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour very enjoyable. Apart from th tour, I would recommend giving yourself enough time to find the meeting point, as we had a little difficulty finding it from the metro station. We made it just in time, but it was a stressful situation that could have been avoided by allowing for some extra time before the tour departure. All the rooms we visited were very interesting, especially the hall of maps. Raphael's rooms were amazing and our tour guide did a very entertaining job of explaining to us the relationships of the artists of the time. The Sistine Chapel was amazing, as was St. Peter's Basilica. After the tour ended, we were able to continue touring around until we were finished. We highly recommend this tour to help navigate through the museums and for an enjoyable experience in the basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Janell N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sara was a great lady and fantastic guide. This small Group was out of this world with all of the other larger group around she kept us with her and explained all of the designed and customs of St. Peter. This was well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Galileo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Etollie is one of the best guide we met, professional and keep the pace well - as it was Christmas eve and the St Peter's will be cleared out early.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lindy was an excellent tour guide for our visit to the Vatican Museums with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel! It was wonderful to avoid the long, long lines to enter the Vatican. Everything went smoothly and we could not have been more pleased. Lindy was extremely knowledgeable and fun to tour with and listen to. She is enthusiastic and clearly loves what she does and it makes the experience much more enjoyable!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

sirmonshouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing, wonderful, fabulous, stupendous...I could go on and on. We loved everything about this tour, with one exception. The crowds were unreal. That's not the fault of anyone since this is a must-see in Roma. We saw the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. It was glorious! My suggestion is to book an early tour so you can enjoy the Square during the day and perhaps miss some of the crowds. It was very beautiful at night, so either way, you will be pleased. Our guide, Alberto, was funny, kind and engaging. He offered us a ton of information. It was all relevant and fascinating. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

angnealy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was fantastic, she was articulate and knowledgeable. I do wish there was more than 15 minutes in the Sistine Chapel - we could have stayed - however it was not explained to us that from the Sistine Chapel our headsets would be collected and we'd enter St Peter's independently. If we had known that, we would have stayed to enjoy the chapel much longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely the only way to see the Vatican. Our guide was very good--he kept a good pace, answered all questions, and discussed the highlights of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Our small group could hear our guide easily with the headphones he provided.
We have visited before during regular hours, and it was so crowded that we couldn't see anything or hear our guide.The early access and small group format made all the difference.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

s.kehe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour I will highly recommend. When we got into the Museum we were like the only people in it for about the first 45 minutes. It was like having the Museum all to our self. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was very interesting to listen to. Overall it was a wonderful experience to view the Museum and St. Peters using this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended, I advise getting an earlier tour as the tours start before the 'public' entrance begins so it may be a little quieter. This is a good excursion to do if there is bad weather - it is all inside. The Sistine Chapel is beautiful, worth the visit - although I was a bit frustrated that people did not follow the no talking or photographs rule, I feel it ruined the atmosphere a little bit. Even some tour guides continued not this one which I thought was pretty rude. St Peter's Basilica is amazing. I particularly enjoyed seeing the size markers where other well known cathedrals would be in comparison. Wear comfortable footwear - there is lots of walking and standing and extremely limited places to sit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Me and my 11 year old daughter really enjoyed this tour. The tour guide didn't come with us to St. Peter's, I guess time ran over but so we were left to go by ourselves, but the rest was good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message