Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Guide was terrific and skipping the line was definitely the right choice. We went early morning and still the crowds were huge but believe it is worse later in the day. The Vatican and St Peters are unbelievable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

bahulee.awasthi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, the Vaitcan museums were gorgeous with so much art from so many masters. The Sistine Chapel was a bit of a let down, because the ceilings are really high so you can't see all the art as well as you'd like. St. Peter's Basilica is must it was giant and beautiful, if you're booking another tour that doesn't include it ..don't! We were even lucky enough to walk through the holy doors that are open right now.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vinith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour!! We were worried about finding the place where the tour starts, but we got off at the Ottaviano Metro stop A Line, and asked around for the entrance to the Vatican museum. People are helpful, and we saw a bunch of people with writing pads on the steps near the entrance - they were the tour people. The guide was excellent - he happened to be one of the people the Vatican hires to restore sculptures, and he knew them inside out. He explained the paintings inside the Sistine Chapel using color printouts before we entered the Sistine Chapel, because that is one place in the Vatican where neither photography not talking is allowed. The Vatican palace itself is stunning, and the St Peter's Basilica is incredibly beautiful and it is huge. The guide was very academic and yet personal in his explanation of everything, and answered questions very patiently. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can't go to Rome and not seeing the Vatican. Everything is beautiful in Vatican From Museum, to Sistine Chapel and St. Peter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ettori is a wonderful guide -- knowledgable, witty, and enthusiastic. We really enjoyed his careful selection of highlights and attention to our questions. There were so many people at the Vatican museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel that I do not think we could have managed it without his guidance. We really appreciated his expertise and careful navigation of the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Emily D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You have simply got tout do this tour if you want to see the Vatican and Saint Peter and #39;s Basilica. Thus was not my first time seeing these places, but I learned more on this tour than my previous 3 visits with other tours. This was a breath taking tour with a great guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emmanuella took us through the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's with great information and was very friendly and accommodating. Without this tour we would have roasted in the extreme heat and sun for 3 hours, waiting our turn to enter!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Todd United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We a family with 2 teenagers took this tour with Igor, who was an outstanding guide. Igor not only understood the Vatican and its artworks in great detail, but he also clearly has a deep understanding of Byzantine, renaissance, and baroque art history. The result was a fantastic education not only about the artwork we saw in the Vatican collection, but also the historical and political contexts that influenced the artists and the content of their works. I highly recommend this tour - especially as an introduction to the Vatican museums / Sistine Chapel / St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous tour. Viewing the entire Vatican City from the top of St. Peter's Dome was something I will not soon forget. We would definitely use Viator again when we are in need of a tour. Our tour guide I apologize for forgetting her name was outstanding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Seabeelarry1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The line to buy tickets the day we went was 4-5 hour wait.
We met our guide, Frederica (who was AMAZING), got setup and was inside the Vatican Museum in about 30minutes. The tour was great, seeing the Vatican collection, hanging out in the Sistine Chapel and walking thru the Holy Door to St. Peter and #39;s!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Really enjoyed the beautiful art. The Holy Door was open, so we were able to enter St. Peters through the Holy Door. Guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jeffrey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was helpful and informative. The tour was well-organized. Definitely book a skip-the-line tour and get a guide as I can't imagine doing this on your own. We saw highlights of the museums, beautiful frescoes in the former Popes' residences and in the Sistine chapel, and went on to view the enormous St. Peters Basilica. This is a great tour to see it all in 3 hours very efficiently but not feel rushed or that you missed out on parts of the Vatican. We are not Catholic but still had great appreciation for all that we saw and the enormity of the property. We came away feeling as though we really have a better understanding of the history and wonderful items in the Vatican. After the tour, we bought tickets on our own to go to the top of the dome a very hot experience.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very much enjoyed this tour. First of all, we had to reschedule due to being delayed coming into Rome - and Viator rescheduled us with minimal hassle. We had to take a tour Wednesday am - which is during the papal audience, BUT this was actually a wonderful benefit, as the Sistine Chapel and museums were not nearly as crowded as usual. We saw all the main significant features, then had the afternoon to visit St Peters on our own. We took our time having a nice lunch and enjoyed our time walking through the museum a second time before seeing the Basilica. Definitely a must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ashok Bhasker S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip though the Saint Peter and #39;s Basilca was off limits till 1 pm the day we visited and we had to leave by 11.30 am to catch our flight. As a matter of fact one needs at least one full day to see Vatican city .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

On a hot and crowded day, our tour guide, Lindy made this a good experience. So much to see and so many people it would have been frustrating to attempt this solo. Lindy was smart, funny and kept us moving through the herds to see and hear about some of the most important aspects of the museums. She left us on our own to explore the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. I liked that we could tour those sites on our own time at our own pace. Start of tour was easy to find. Skipping the long lines was nice too. Overall, worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

pamrakay21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Indispensable! The wait at the Vatican museum and St. Peter's was over 4 hrs long....we sailed right in. Omnia card transportation terrific, the metro is so easy, and Christiana hop on hop off gives a great tour. Don't do Rome without this. The wait alone at the sights would lose you days in sight seeing.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

J M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

THIS WAS A GREAT TRIP WITH A BUBBLY WELL INFORMED GUIDE. THE WEATHER WAS EXCESSIVLY HOT BUT SHE MANAGED THE GROUP WELL AND LEFT US AT ST PETERS WITH PLENTY OF TIPS ON WHAT TO LOOK FOR INSIDE AND HOW TO VISIT THE DOME AND OTHER SITES

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

aprilanncordova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican Museums are truly IMMENSE therefore, this skip the line tour was worth it! We were able to cover all of the important and most amazing features in my opinion of the museums and learned a ton of interesting facts along the way with our tour guide Sylvia. Each part of the tour was stunning and chilling as we witnessed the beauty and ingenuity of famous artists. Vatican Museums, St. Peter's Basilica, Raphael's Rooms, and the Sistine Chapel are MUST-SEEs when you're in Vatican City, and it'll be even better with this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Virginia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were in awe of the Vatican City! Our tour guide serena was able to help us know more about it, highlight of the tour would be St. Peter and #39;s Bacillica! It was so huge and very detailed! We enjoyed this tour ;)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Miguel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

highly recommended you will see the Sistine chapel and St Peter, the guide was really nice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Caitlyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We enjoyed it all. Our guide Rachel was fun and led us through the museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica with ease and professionalism. We saw many interesting sites such as the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, Pieta, Pope John Paul II tomb, and other chapels, paintings, and sculptures. Rachel provided us with a lot of background information as well as the basic information about these sites. She was helpful in recommending how we could acquire tickets to the papal audience the following day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

NO LINES AT ALL! The guide was VERY knowledgeable (an archeologist). No line for Saint Peters neither.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour guide, Gio, brought order from a chaotic environment. The sheer numbers of people streaming into Vatican City are amazing! Gio worked hard to keep our group together and told us wonderful stories about what we were seeing. On my own, I would not have had nearly as rich an experience touring St. Peter's, Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message