Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Giulia, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly, able to keep a large group together and help us navigate both the amazing art and the crowds. She gave great, clear information about the history of the Vatican, of the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, bringing to life the great Popes who created what we see today as well as the artists who made masterpieces. I had no idea that the Sistine Chapel was Michelangelo's first painting job! Or that he didn't use blue because he had to pay for all the paint and supplies, and couldn't afford lapis lazuli. Just one of the fun facts that made our tour memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Salvatori was the most fabulous and informative guide. He was incredibly knowledgeable and could answer all our questions. He looked after everyone on the tour group really well and my whole family really enjoyed the tour. The tour was very well organised. The only way to see St. Peter and #39;s and Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So if the only thing this tour got you was to be able to skip the line it would be worth the money. We booked the early morning tour and when we got to the museums the lines were already around the corner and down the street. A gentlemen was announcing to people arriving that from where they were it was 4 hours to the museum doors. We met up with our tour guide 10 minutes before our tour began and got our headphones hooked up so we would be able to hear the guide. Promptly at our tour start time we stepped off and were headed for the museum entrance, past the hoards of people and through the doors, no lines for us. The majority of the tour is in the main museum, with the tour guide giving interesting facts and tidbits about the tens of thousands of pieces found here. It felt like we were running though the museum, but we hit all the main points and important pieces, and got lots of good information. The tour ends with the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters which were absolutely amazing. When the tour ends you have the ability to stroll back through the museum or stay at St. Peters and exit through the front of the Vatican. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend these tours to anybody interested in seeing the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

D2693

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a must book guided tour . We had an excellent tour guide and highly recommend the No wait access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour .

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

xuan v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really loved this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. It was sooo crowded though. I recommend doing the tour then go back around and enjoy the sites at a more leisurely pace. felt like cattle herded through the museum. I wish we had our guide in st peter's basilica. So much to see but would have loved to learn through a guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tammi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Skip the line is the only way to go. There was a line about 200 people deep waiting at 8 am to get in and with Skip the Line you walk right in front of them. Very nice. History of the museum was kind of a reminder lesson only because we are Catholic. St. Peters, and the Sistine Chapel were BEAUTIFUL- No photos or talking in the Sistine though, as well as you MUST mind the dress code!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Peter W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Well organised. Great tour guide. Museum amazing. Very busy at museum, An early access small-group tour is the best way to see the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's. Enjoyed the tour very much. The head-phone set made it easy to take photos without missing the commentary from our guide. Well done City Wonders Ltd for a great tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you want the inside scoop on the real Michelangelo and Raphael plus hear stories about the Pope's of the Middle ages and how the Vatican came to be, then take this tour. Our guide, Tiffany, was extremely knowledgeable and presented her information in a way that made the tour through the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's more of an adventure than a hike through time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extremely thorough tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. In the summer it's quite hot and crowded with all the other tours and guides, but worth it to see the Sistine Chapel and the works of Raphael School of Athens!. Don't miss the map room, which is reminiscent of Versailles Hall of Mirrors but more erudite. One could spend years in these places studying the art. But this was a great overview.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Carmelo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Assunta Leonardi did an outstanding job educating us, maintaining a good pace, and conveying historical and interesting information about the Vatican Museums and objects, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. She was patient with our children, who were the youngest members of the tour group. She had a portfolio of photographs and information she shared with us before we went into the relevant buildings that really enhanced our understanding and enjoyment of the places she showed us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Heather C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mariana was excellent- she was so knowledgable and enthusiastic- and explained everything so clearly and with humour where appropriate! There was no way we could have noticed/understood the detail of the areas that she'd highlighted if we'd wandered around on our own.
It was well worth the expense.
The Vatican and St Peters were the highlight of the trip to Rome.
Well done!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shout out to our fabulous tour guide, Linda. I believe she was born in Rome she has a ph.d. and is an archaeologist. My husband and I love history, so we loved hearing all about the Vatican Museums through her tour. The entire time we walked, she told us interesting facts and history lessons, things we wouldn't have known if we had tried to tour the place on our own. Plus, we got to skip the lines that were already huge during our early morning tour. I would definitely recommend the early morning tour as I didn't notice the place being too insanely packed. It was busy, but I heard it was normally much worse. After our tour was over, my husband and I climbed to the top of the St. Peter's Dome must-do. Then, we had an amazing lunch at place that our guide recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Steve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see St Peter's Basilica. The only suggestion is making the meeting point easier to find. Its hard to locate where to meet the guides.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Jade F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Little Pricey, but worth it. Tour guide was great, so knowledgeable and truly had a passion for what she was talking about. When you see the queues outside you appreciate not having to wait! Spent all morning here and was left to wonder about later ourselves at St Peters. Would highly recommend it, maybe bring your own headphones though, they give you some but mine kept falling out my ear!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

aboyers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was great - a local but still able to speak English very well. She was very knowledgeable and pretty much talked the whole three hours of the tour. The price was worth being part of a small group, hearing the stories and historical insights of the museums and St. Peter's Basilica, and most definitely not waiting in lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Cindy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was amazing she was so excited and knowledgeable about every thing. I took so many pictures but my battery died in St Peters so I did get many in there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great, the guide very knowledgeable , we went through the Sistine Chapel no photos to be taken in here, beautiful art, we went into St Peters Basilica a lot of people but you get to see everything and you can stay and wander around when the tour is finished.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Alycia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

1 best thing I booked my entire Italy trip. Not only was our guide Laura fantastic, but part of the benefit of this guided tour is skipping the lines. Even those with tickets to the Vatican Museums still waited for 2 hours to get in! I learned more about the museums, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel through the tour than I would have ever learned in a book or a separate audio tour. This was a FANTASTIC experience and I recommend it to anyone planning a trip to the Vatican.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

rogersgood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour. The art work in the museum, the Sistine Chapel and St Peters was fantastic. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Really helped us understand what we were seeing. A bit overwhelming if we did this on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

thepisanos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Agnes was extremely friendly, passionate and knowledgeable and having her meant we were able to focus on the important works of art in a very expansive museum. Nothing can prepare you for the beauty of the Sistine Chapel or the oppulence of St. Peter's - definitely a must-see if traveling to Rome. Highly recommend purchasing a Skip the Line tour as the security lineups are very long during peak season and there is no shade to stand in while in line. Also, the museum and chapel are not air-conditioned so if you are going in the summer, go early as the heat and crowds can be overwhelming.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Anand India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As mentioned by our guide Francesco, the 3 hrs timeline wouldn't do justice to cover the 12 museums. But he gave us an excellent tour of the major ones, narrating in fluent English, the works of major artists. His Sistine Chapel presentation covering Michael Angelo's greatest works, was superb. St Peter's Basilica was massive and captivating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mark p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

St Peter's Basilica is simply amazing, and the audio guide was very helpful!

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

ljallen91

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and I highly recommend this if you wish to visit the Vatican.

We were able to skip the queue via booking in advance and visited the museums, Sistine chapel and St Peters Basilica.

We had Emma as our tour guide who was extremely knowledgeable about Rome and the Vatican. It was amazing to have her teach us so much.

All of the painting and sculptures were amazing. St Peters Basilica is WOW! So huge and beautiful.
The Sistine Chapel is worth the visit to see the incredible ceiling and the last judgement painting.

It is extremely busy at the Vatican so I recommend one of the first tours that they offer in the day. You will not be disappointed in this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

VERONICA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great, St Peter's is breathtaking, also it pays to skip the line otherwise you could be waiting for hours to get in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message