Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gordonhart.hart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable and we enjoyed the tour. The only drawback was it was extremely busy in places and as the Pope was in St Peters we did not get access to that section of the Vactican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jenellep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and considering the very large crowd at the Vatican on the day of our tour he was well organised and kept our group together. St Peters was closed during our tour time as there was a mass on but our tour guide gave us an overview of what to see and guided us to the entry at the end of our tour once it had opened. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Francesca, was excellent. It was well worth it to skip the line and hear all about the Vatican musuems and St Peters from an expert. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mckemeyw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with Peter Giorgio . Speak very clear English. Very knowledgeable .This tour was very organized . City Wonders Meets you at bottom of stairs near Cafe Vaticano. They divide you into groups of 12 and give you headsets.just to be clear, many tour companies have skip the line tours so you won't be the only one in the Vatican.. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sabena A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rainada was excellent! She has a very calm and soft voice. She's not one of those tour guides whose yelling in your ear, even though they use audio ear pieces. She speaks very passionately about the history and beauty of the vatican, St. Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and all the art, monuments, sculptures and overall details. The tour went a little over 3 hours, but its so worth it! My Fiancé and I both agree that we would have never been able to brush up on the info she did in under three hours. There's just so much! Take the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Hillary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our tour of the Vatican Museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and was personable. I definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in touring the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Huy T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was amazing. Unfortunately, I forgot her name. Additionally, we came on a Wednesday, which meant that we didn't get to see St. Peters basilica since the pope was there. Our guide did tell us that if we stuck around, we would be able to go in. However, we had another tour that we had to get to...Great reason for us to come back!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was so great skipping the line and going right into the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel before the crowds built up. It was somewhat crowded by the time we got into St. Peter's Basilica but not too bad. Our guide Francesca was excellent! She started out the tour with some history of The Vatican and museums, etc. She spoke perfect English and was very easy to hear her and understand what she was saying. She's very friendly and very informative. I highly recommend this tour with Francesca!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ann-Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We made our way to the meeting point and located our guide Patricia. We were provided with headsets to hear her during the tour. Once inside, we had a few minutes to use the facilities before we began. It was quite crowded, but, we were able to hear her with the provided headsets. Patricia was very informative. We were there on Wednesday, so St Peters Basilica and square were closed. However, there was a massive rain storm while we were touring the Vatican museums. It had stopped by the time we got to the Sistine chapel. The tour ended at the Sistine chapel, as there is no talking permitted while inside there. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was excellent very informative and gave you a real understanding of the Vatican and how it works. Easy to find the guide, great tour and St Peters Basilica blew me away!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ernest L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was fabulous and the guide was outstanding. She made the tour very personal by the end we felt we knew her and we also felt that she really cared about the fact that we left with knowledge and a real sense of the importance of the Vatican. Because it was Wednesday, we were unable to get into St Peters. I would not go on a Wednesday again. However we left that tour on a real high.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic this 3 hour tour takes you to every part of the Sistine Chapel, and St Peters Bascillia, our guide Gigi was amazing, his humour and knowledge was fantastic, he made the tour . We walked past all the lines to get in early and had a head start on everyone. Fantastic !,

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. The skip the line feature was very beneficial you will see when you first observe the long lines outside the entrance to the Vatican Museums. The Vatican is a must see attraction in Rome. The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's basilica are beyond description.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sara N was our tour guide and she was just fabulous! Very friendly and full of amazing knowledge on the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. I would highly recommend the Small Group tour as it gives you the ability to get up close and ask questions of the tour guide. Sara was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

moody

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I signed up in advance of visiting Rome for the Skip the Queue St Peters Tour - the Tour guide was Mercedes, who was one of the best Tour guides we have come across - Professional, Knowledgeable, Enthusiastic and demonstrated a genuine care in ensuring all members of the tour had a fair access to the various areas of the Basilica and sights. She took time to take photos of each couple / member of the tour on top of the Dome - a nice touch. Mercedes appeared to have a knack of getting access to some of the areas of the Basilica other tours appeared were not able to do. We had originally paid for the tour of the Basilica but decided to take up the option to pay a further 50 for the tour of the Dome A fantastic experience. Thoroughly recommend this tour operator if Mercedes is representative of the quality of staff they use to conduct their tours. Cannot speak highly enough about her and the Tour.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Gwyneth E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, with a very good audio guide. I was very impressed with the tour guide who spotted us looking for correct queue outside St Peter's and the way they took us through security in a very efficient manner.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

Carol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I can thoroughly recommend this early-access tour which enabled us to enter the Vatican Museums before normal opening times; absolutely no queues or waiting around. Our guide Lindy showed us the significant highlights of the museums, she then gave us a great overview of St. Peter’s Basilica and then left us to explore at our leisure. In 2012 I visited these attractions independently and this tour far exceeded that experience. I found it beneficial that I was in a small group of nine and that I was always able to hear Lindy, which meant that I got the most out of the tour with no important facts being misconstrued or going unheard.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was good, on time, easy to find. Early morning helped with crowds, but they caught us by St. Peter's. Museum and Sistine were highlights. good recommendations from tour guide for addition touring after this ends.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Lucas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Agata was a good guide. Informative, easy to understand her English and captivating. This was a very good tour as it showed you and taught you the important parts of the Vatican museum and skipping the line. VERY nice. It is a huge museum and you can get lost and not understand what is going on without a guide. Then you get a pamphlet and in detail description of the Sistine Chapel. NO TALKING AND NO PICTURES INSIDE. Very great experience. After the Vatican and Sistine chapel you get to go into St. Peter's Basilica. Very interesting and SO big religiously moving if you are catholic and you ay be able to catch a mass at 12:00 when the tour finishes. If you buy anything from the gift shops, do it with the nuns, but make sure you open any rosary to see if all pieces are included. I got a rosary with no cross. Upstairs of the gift shop is much better and less crowded if you want to go up there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

David W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was David. He was extremely knowledgeable of the Vatican and the history behind everything we saw. His explanations made the professional tour totally worth it. Also, as I left the Vatican museum I walked past the line to get in... it was huge. I'm not sure if this is normal, but skipping that line was completely worth the cost of this tour that line had to be at least a 2 hour wait. The museum halls artwork, sculptures, tapestries were beautiful and the Sistine Chapel lived up to the hype. Mother Teresa was made a saint the day before our tour, so St. Peter's was closed and excluded from our tour. A bummer, but it opened before I left Vatican City. Do not miss St. Peter's, it was the most impressive part of the City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great for anyone who wants to get to see the most famous parts of the Vatican Sistine Chapel, St Peters, and some important works of art in the museums on the way, and lots of other places too. Our tour guide was Barbara, who was very friendly and knowledgeable, and was able to answer all our questions. She knew how to get the best out of our visit there, with good advice on what else to do once the tour finished. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

amy.orons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour even though St. Peter's was closed due to the Pope being in town for Mother Theresa's canonization. An extra hour was added to the Vatican so could get the entire 3 hours. Our guide was terrific - very funny and very informative. He made sure everyone could see and hear. Smaller group tours like this are much better than the larger groups and I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent , good guide, good pace very informative . Vatican Museums great as was St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend the small group tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

JJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The St Peter's Basilica was an incredible experience. The audio guide was clear and easy to understand.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Francesca, made our tour very memorable. We were disappointed that we were unable to see inside of St Peter's due to the fact that the Pope was holding an event but we spend more time in the vast Vatican Museum. The Sistine Chapel was quite breathtaking to experience. The crowds of people was overwhelming and a private tour does not mean that there are not crowds and crowds of people - only that your group is smaller than some. Francesca was enthusiastic and so knowledgable and really make our experience one to remember.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message