Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2449 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Galileo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Etollie is one of the best guide we met, professional and keep the pace well - as it was Christmas eve and the St Peter's will be cleared out early.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lindy was an excellent tour guide for our visit to the Vatican Museums with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel! It was wonderful to avoid the long, long lines to enter the Vatican. Everything went smoothly and we could not have been more pleased. Lindy was extremely knowledgeable and fun to tour with and listen to. She is enthusiastic and clearly loves what she does and it makes the experience much more enjoyable!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

sirmonshouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing, wonderful, fabulous, stupendous...I could go on and on. We loved everything about this tour, with one exception. The crowds were unreal. That's not the fault of anyone since this is a must-see in Roma. We saw the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. It was glorious! My suggestion is to book an early tour so you can enjoy the Square during the day and perhaps miss some of the crowds. It was very beautiful at night, so either way, you will be pleased. Our guide, Alberto, was funny, kind and engaging. He offered us a ton of information. It was all relevant and fascinating. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

angnealy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was fantastic, she was articulate and knowledgeable. I do wish there was more than 15 minutes in the Sistine Chapel - we could have stayed - however it was not explained to us that from the Sistine Chapel our headsets would be collected and we'd enter St Peter's independently. If we had known that, we would have stayed to enjoy the chapel much longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely the only way to see the Vatican. Our guide was very good--he kept a good pace, answered all questions, and discussed the highlights of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Our small group could hear our guide easily with the headphones he provided.
We have visited before during regular hours, and it was so crowded that we couldn't see anything or hear our guide.The early access and small group format made all the difference.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

s.kehe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour I will highly recommend. When we got into the Museum we were like the only people in it for about the first 45 minutes. It was like having the Museum all to our self. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was very interesting to listen to. Overall it was a wonderful experience to view the Museum and St. Peters using this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended, I advise getting an earlier tour as the tours start before the 'public' entrance begins so it may be a little quieter. This is a good excursion to do if there is bad weather - it is all inside. The Sistine Chapel is beautiful, worth the visit - although I was a bit frustrated that people did not follow the no talking or photographs rule, I feel it ruined the atmosphere a little bit. Even some tour guides continued not this one which I thought was pretty rude. St Peter's Basilica is amazing. I particularly enjoyed seeing the size markers where other well known cathedrals would be in comparison. Wear comfortable footwear - there is lots of walking and standing and extremely limited places to sit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Me and my 11 year old daughter really enjoyed this tour. The tour guide didn't come with us to St. Peter's, I guess time ran over but so we were left to go by ourselves, but the rest was good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rosacrso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour and the guide was a wealth of information. I had done the museum and St Peters on my own before but learnt so much more after taking this guided tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Incredibly beautiful art and frescoes. EXTREMELY crowded, shoulder-to-shoulder with other tourist and tour groups in the museum, the Chapel, and St. Peter's. Individual radio earbuds vastly improve the experience of hearing the tour guide, even when he is lost in the crush of the crowd. Very enjoyable if you adjust your expectations to account for the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

VanessaGisselle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! Our guide was fantastic and gave us great insight about the history and arts of The Vatican. We skipped the line and went right away to the tour. Tour finishes at St. Peters and we were able to stay on our own for hours to keep exploring and going up the dome. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Willemijn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was everything I was looking for. You don't have to stand in any line and you go to all the highlights in the Vatican Museum, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide Tiffany had a lot of knowledge and a good story teller. She made our tour super informative and fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

stevehouston1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful guide and overview of Vatican and St Peters. We stayed after tour and bought tickets to climb to top of the basilica. You meet across the street from the museum entrance on the stairs that go down to the next street. Other tours meet there too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

iwolf2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Must do Small-Group Upgrade! I can't imagine having this tour with a larger group. You need to small group size to be able to better experience everything. Our guide, Giuseppe, was exceptional. They information and knowledge that he was able to provide was priceless. You could tell that he really loves what he does and that translates into a better tour experience. Also, don't miss going to top of St. Peter's Dome. The view is worth the steps.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

teresa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was with a group of 4 women and we all enjoyed the audio guide tour of St. Peter's Basilica. Go at your own pace. Worth the money!

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide

SirJBP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was good. It was easy to find the meet-up place and it was well organized. The group size wasn't too big, although the hearing system wasn't very good, probably to many groups walking around the same places and if you distanced a little bit from the guide you had bad connection quite fast, apparently is provided by the Vatican museums so is not a problem with their own equipment. Our guide Tatiana was good and enthusiastic about the explanations, and seemed to have a good knowledge about the subject. The visit was in November, so being very low season there wasn't that much people around, but it was still worth it to skip the line as we managed to get in in the moment to both the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica. Overall was worth it and more engaging visit. As the Vatican Museums are massive, you only visit part of them with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

the4clynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Spent my 50th birthday on this tour so was looking for something a bit special and wasn't disappointed. We had a terrific guide who's name, to my regret, I didn't catch but she did say she came from Venezuela should narrow it down. She really knew her stuff and put it across well and had a good sense of humour into the bargain.
The Vatican is absolutely stunning. I personally don't normally bat an eyelid about artwork but even the most hardened sceptic can't fail to be impressed. The scale of the work and the timespans involved are breathtaking and the commentary provided by the guide really brought it all to life. The only regret was that entry to St. Peter's Basilica had to be delayed due to the Pope being in attendance and our guide had to leave us after the Cistine chapel but we had a drink in the cafe and then wandered round St. Peter's by ourselves. It is an absolutely stunning building and would have been better if we still had the guide to point things out but this is always a danger when it is a working church and didn't diminish the tour too much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Probably one of the best tours we took on this trip! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I think it will take another 3-4 days to see EVERYTHING and we still will not have seen it all. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. I wish we had more time in the Sistine Chapel, because it was simply breathtaking. St. Peter's was mind blowing to say the least.

We will definitely come again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lvrooman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My teenage daughter and I took this tour in May 2016. I think there were a total of 8 of us on this tour would recommend a small group such as this and we met up at 8:00 am on a Friday morning. May is a busy tourist season so we were one of many groups touring the Vatican museums, St Peter's and Sistine Chapel. In spite of that we were still able to really enjoy this tour. I would imagine the crowds build as the day goes on so if possible you may want to consider an early start time for your tour. Our tour guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and clearly very passionate about everything we were seeing. Each of us had headphones on so we were able to hear what he was saying. It was all so fascinating!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jean Hee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour that you should strongly consider doing if you're staying in Rome.

It was a pleasure to be guided by Giuseppe, who is also an archaeologist. This showed, because he was very knowledgeable in telling us the interesting background and highlights of the history and artworks of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica, and could answer all our questions. He had a genuine enthusiasm and fascination with the history he was explaining, despite the poor guy talking to us while navigating us around crowded places for a few hours, while carrying around several heavy looking bags. You will have a chance to get a drink at the cafe in the Vatican before visiting the Sistine Chapel.

My husband, who is not normally a big art or history enthusiast, really enjoyed the museum and the amazing beauty and scale of the art in it, truly unique. It surpassed our expectations. Although the Sistine Chapel is beautiful without an explanation, without knowing the background history and stories about Michelangelo, you would not enjoy it nearly as much.

A great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a good way to see the highlights of the Vatican. I would have liked to see more paintings, but there and #39;s only so much time (Michaela, our guide, told us there are 10 km of gallery!). The Sistine Chapel is beautiful and St Peter and #39;s is awe inspiring. Definitely a must do in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message