The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 661 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mei Kwan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fantastic time with the tour group and Juliana, our engaging and knowledgeable tour guide. Eating like a local (not fancy Michelin star meal) was what we enjoyed most. Of course, Juliana and #39;s bubbly personality was an added bonus and a key reason for making a hot/sunny morning went by with no sweat!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was awesome. Loved the tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

STEVE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great fun with guide Domenico, a fun, smart, informative, and welcoming guide. Great food and great sites to visit.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Dom was a really great guide!! We ate stacks of food. Tried lots of different things, some familiar and some new, but we learnt stuff every step of the way and i and #39;m sure this will be a real highlight. For anyone travelling with infants you can access all areas with a pram i and #39;d say.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Ngayan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful wonderful tour. It says small group, and we got small group alright - it was just us, the three of us, which worked out fantastically! Our guide, Holly if I got it right was so sweet and patient and full of knowledge of the food and the lesser known history of this lesser known neighborhood. We started out going to the wrong place to meet, but she offered to come to where we were to meet us, which was a great help since we would probably have gotten lost trying to find it.
We visited a local market that has almost everything under the sun, food and not food. We got to try some not so common touristy food items, which were excellent and very tasty a particular cheese that is in the same family as mozzarella.......gosh I wish I remembered its name!!.
The wine tasting gave us plenty to drink, and the food samples........abundantly available and all for the taking. Please DO NOT eat breakfast before you go, because you will need all the room in your stomach to take it all in. Desserts were amazing two stops just for that. You really can't go wrong with this tour.
One last note is that because we had such a small group it just happened to work out this way, Holly was able to give us extra time in a shop that allowed me to purchase some really really good cheese, olive oil and truffle salt to bring home. I really appreciate all of her patience and help with that. It was not part of the planned itineary. All in all, we highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Semi Private Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Sheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastico...our tour guide Dominico was not only hilarious but informative and I loved how he taught us how to pronounce the Italian language properly. I suggest you don and #39;t have breakfast before you go as you walk, talk, eat and drink continuously which was great. Definitely go!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Karla M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Fran M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was better than we could have expected. Our tour guide Gigi was a wealth of knowledge and shared a lot of interesting information about the various dishes and specialties served in Rome. It was nice to visit locations in the old neighborhoods to really see what the locals eat and learn about some of the local dishes. We had several stops along the way and it was a nice walk and allowed us time to digest all the great food samples. There was so much variety, we didn't leave hungry.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic!! Kate was spectacular. We ate for four hours and learned about the Testaccio area as well. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Marco M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A really fantastic tour, informative, off the beaten track, fun and an amazing tour guide. Domenico our tour guide was fantastic and great fun. He knows everybody in the neighbourhood which made the experience even better. We can highly recommend this tour. Linsey and Marco - UK

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Paula W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We always do food tours when we travel, and this is a great one. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and FUN! Don and #39;t eat breakfast and you won and #39;t need lunch! The things you learn will help you discern where and what to eat the rest of your time in Italy.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was Sarah. She was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. She answered all of our questions and took us to amazing locations to eat! Definitely one of our favorite tours in Rome! Highly recommend that you do this!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lorelei J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. The places we went to for the food tastings were unique and delicious. Our tour guides, Francesco y Lucas, were very nice young men with great personalities. The easygoing atmosphere of the group made the experience even better. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to taste authentic Roman cuisine.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Die Foodtour durch Testaccio war ein unvergessliches Erlebnis! Sehr lecker, sehr inspirierend und sehr empfehlenswert. Anna ist ein so lieber und kompetenter Mensch! Wir haben es sehr genossen. Herzlichen Dank!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Edelweiss P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! The group was small, the 9 food stops we made were delicious, the guide was personable and informative. You won't need breakfast or lunch you will be full. Testaccio is a very interesting neighborhood. We actually went back there on our own on another day. Take this tour you'll love it! Edel- from Louisiana, USA

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Valentina not only knew the history but also all the locals.
We were never rushed always offered more if wanted. We spent a glorious few hours money well spent.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely the BEST food tour in Roma! It is outside the city center, but so easy to get to the meeting point via the metro. We toured in the Testaccio neighborhood of Rome, quaint and ever so friendly. The food was divine and Holly , our guide, was so much fun! We will never forget the tiramisu , buffalo mozzarella, pizza, pasta, vinegar, truffles, suppli, meats and cheeses, wine and gelato!! You MUST book this tour! I wish I had more stars to rate it!

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Semi Private Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Bethany's enthusiasm and energy were contagious. It was fun to see a different side of Rome, a lived-in working-class neighborhood. And the food, of course, was wonderful!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

kendrajones

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We went to out of the way places we never would have found or known about on our own. There was an emphasis on authenticity and tradition to Roman food culture, which made us feel like we were living vicariously as Romans for a day. Do this tour!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was awesome! I would highly recommend it! You get to visit so many different little places and get a sample of Italy!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Jeff L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great!!!True authentic food great stops our guide was very knowledgable of Italian culture and history.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Semi Private Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Dannielle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour of all, our guide was excellent and we got to try so much different food. Lovely walk through the foodie area of Rome and also visited pyramid and cemetery while a bit different was a lovely peaceful break from the bustle of Rome busy streets.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour our guide Domenico was very knowledgeable and gave us history, culture and the language. We had 10 stops for food and it was all fabulous really enjoyed the experience and a great way to understand how the food and the city evolved

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sandi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sebastian led us on a wonderful food tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

annie.giraudou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chiara was our tour guide and she grew up in the neighbourhood we visited which made the visit all the more personal. We ate, then ate and ate some more. Everything was delicious and we even got a little history of this typical area of Rome. Loved that it was so authentic with no crowd! Will be trying some recipes and looking for some products now that I am back home. Only comment is that yes there is a lot of walking which was no problem but also a lot of just standing around which is a killer for my back.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message