The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 686 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mimisochor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the tour! Our guide was outstanding. She enjoyed her job and transmitted her enthusiasm to the group. We did nine food tastings which were much more than a tasting. We learned about the shop owners, their lives. We met them all and our guide interacted with all of them. It was a wonderful walk through a Rome neighborhood!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Ashok N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour, perhaps one of the best we did while in Rome. Francesco was a tour guide, he was charming, humorous and full of great information about places to eat in Rome. The stops we made during our tour were filled with amazing food, we actually went back to one of the shops after the tour to purchase some goodies. You can not go wrong with this tour, worth every penny!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was VERY fun. The food was awesome as well as our guide.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Ellen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I absolutely loved this tour and would do it again tomorrow if I could. My 10 year old foodie granddaughter Lucy also enjoyed it and was 100engaged at all times! As for our guide Domenico ... Well we loved him also. The whole tour was fun, informative, interesting and a very enjoyable experience. Domenico even concluded the tour with a rendition of Lucy in the sky with diamonds which was something Lucy will always remember! Thank you Domenico from Marg and Lucy from Brisbane Australia. One of the highlights of our trip!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the food walking tour and our lovely guide, Anna, provided a great commentary. This was just a small taste of the true Rome, and my husband, and two children aged 21 and 14 also had a great time tasting their way through prosciutto, fritte, pasta, and gelato to name but a few of these wonderful foods. Another highlight was seeing a Pyramid in Rome - who would have thought. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The food was amazing and you felt as if you got a real insiders tour of Roman cuisine. Loved it!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Testacio is a bit off of the tourist path. It was wonderful to explore this rising food Mecca. Our guide was absolutely fabulous

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Gin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour....well worth the money! Tour guide was quite interesting and knowledgable and we thoroughly enjoyed all the stops, especially the market! Tour landed about 4 hours Nd as others have warned....do not eat before you go!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Robin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our favorite of the 3 tours we did in Rome, Francesco was a wonderful guide -- funny, warm, energetic, and with a nearly native command of English. Walking around Trastavere was really cool, since that's a part of Rome not many tourists see, and the food along the way was delicious. Our tour group members were a lot of fun as well. I would even do this tour again.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Chris D. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Thanks Chiara for such a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this was our second time on this tour. The guide was excellent, the food delicious and the history interesting. It was a hit with our 16 year old granddaughter as well. I highly recommend this tour. One of the best in Rome!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Amber P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What can I say? This tour was made for me. As a chef, I'm sure others on the tour learned more than I did, but there was still a lot of interesting information. The guide was just fine, and all the foods we sampled were above average. You can get full, so plan accordingly. It's not so much trying things you've never had before, but having a wide variety of Italian food in Italy...like a giant Best of Rome buffet great for people only in town for a short time. We also made interesting stops at the neighborhood cemetery to view some famous graves and the Pyramid...which totally appealed to me but may have confused some others on the tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

gbielenda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we originally had the testavere food tour booked but it was cancelled due to the august holiday month. I was disappointed but was offered the testachio food tour in its place. Well i was delighted with our tour guide KAte. She was a doll and very knowledgeable about the up and coming neighborhood. I highly recommend this tour and KAte as the tour giude!! btw the food was FANTASTIC!!!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Keith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An absolute must for any 'foodie' visiting Rome. What a wonderful experience with a great guide. We should not have had breakfast before we came, as the food samples were absolutely delicious and quite substantial.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Esther R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This walking tour was more than we expected. Our guide Kate was fantastic..so nice and warm..and very knowledgable. You could tell she loved her job. You will eat great food on the tour..there was no wine..but a little taste of beer in the Testaccio Market..you will walk alot! She gave us a great map afterwards of where we went and this is off the beaten path..we would have never seen this great place had we not gone on the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Ross L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best thing I did in Rome, eat like a local. This tour was the perfect amount of, food, culture, walking and history. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Roshni D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Tour guide Lorenzo

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

fantastic experience with an amazing guide! Would recommend it to everyone who enjoys trying different foods :

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

mlmello.va

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. Our group of six including children worked for all of us. It's always fun to taste food. We loved the lesson on tasting Gelato. We think we are somewhat of an expert. At least the kids thought they were.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

kristinawilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just wonderful!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Elaine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fabulous led by the interesting, knowledgeable and funny Domenico.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arturo was a fantastic guide, upbeat, funny and energetic. We really enjoyed the accommodations of dietary restrictions vegan and allergic to nuts by the guide and stores. The stories and side visits especially to the cemetery for non-Roman celebrities were first rate. All of the food samples were really great, especially the vinegars, gelato berry flavor was the best!, and fresh mozzarella.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Euggie Buggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A simple tour but what fantastic experience.........
The local guide stole the show but made the whole experience so humorous, enjoyable and a really personal fun time.
Food, wine, cuisine and culture combination of absolute fun and enjoyment.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Mei Kwan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fantastic time with the tour group and Juliana, our engaging and knowledgeable tour guide. Eating like a local (not fancy Michelin star meal) was what we enjoyed most. Of course, Juliana and #39;s bubbly personality was an added bonus and a key reason for making a hot/sunny morning went by with no sweat!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was awesome. Loved the tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message