Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli (Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este)

The Italian town of Tivoli, set just east of Rome, is home to two famous historical sites: the UNESCO-listed Villa d'Este garden and palace complex, and Hadrian's Villa (Villa Adriana), the grand second-century residence of Emperor Hadrian. An ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 820 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jordan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this day trip from Rome and Villa d'Este especially is a must see. Our guide Giuseppe was incredibly friendly an being a Tivoli local he was very knowledgeable about the area and the sites. We also enjoyed having some free time to explore the town of Tivoli at our own pace.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kimberly Y

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Tivoli is a BEAUTIFUL area. The crowds were very low at both locations so it was no problem to wander and see the beautiful locations. The guide was able to handle multiple languages on the tour. My only regret is that we could not spend the whole day really taking in the tours. If you only have half a day....you do what you have to...and I am so glad we did.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

steveturvey123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did this private tour as im in a wheelchair and this made our trip easy and enjoyable.
Our driver was prompt and friendly. Hadrians villa was amazing and so too was Villa d'este.
I would recommend it !

Doing what: Self-Guided Round Trip of Tivoli and Villa d'Este from Rome

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific trip to Tivoli and enjoyed the tours of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. We were glad we did a day trip as there is so much to see a half day trip would have been too short for us.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a really nice time on this tour - I thought this trip was a hidden treasure. Tour guide was great - explained what we were doing and kept everyone informed about timing so we knew what to expect schedule-wise, especially when we had time to go explore on our own, and when we needed to be back at the bus. Bus was nice and comfortable, drop-off and pick-up locations were convenient for us.

We saw the Villa de Este in the introduction to Three Coins in a Fountain movie, and was glad to find out it was a short trip from Rome. I had heard about Hadrian's Villa in my History of Architecture class years ago as an ostentatious glorification of imperial power. I'm sure it was! Even the ruins are pretty WOW.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nicole did an amazing job in showing the highlights of both locations and enriching my understanding and appreciation with background information. I can't stress it enough. Anyone can go to Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este and walk around, but it was the guide's context and knowledge that made the day the wonderful expereince it was. These places were built to be magical, transformative, and impressive and she gave us a lense through which to view them that way. Book with Rome Your Way, and ask for Nicole. You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this day tour. The fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing! Worth the price!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Simon F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this trip to Hadrian's Villa and to the Villa D'Este in Tivoli. Alfredo was an engaging and educated guide who brought both sites alive. We would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Jill F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The day trip to Tivoli was interesting although I would warn travelers that it involves a great deal of walking some of which was quite steep.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Frank G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I've done this tour before, but Stefania's knowledge and pleasant manner made Hadrian's Villa even more interesting. And timing our tour of Villa D'Este to have us at the water organ for its performance was a splendid bonus!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Vicki B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended. We had a very enjoyable day. The gardens of Villa D'Este are breathtakingly beautiful. The lunch of lasagne, porchetta and salad was ordinary but gives the opportunity to chat with other travellers. The guide, Emanuela, was nothing short of brilliant as our tour guide. She was extremely knowledgeable on the history of the Roman Emporers and the Popes. She was able to answer every question asked of her in great detail.
Vicki and Steve B

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

mark.whalan65 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent guide,very knowledgeable, recommend tour to all especially Hadrian's Villa. Loved it as did my 3 teenage daughters.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kevin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had time to answer any questions we had. At no point did we feel rushed. It was nice to have free time in Tivoli between the villa tours. Definitely worth spending a full day on this trip, a half day would have seemed very rushed. We will definitely use this company again.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tom D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day trip! Our guide, Giuseppe, was knowledgeable, informative, and had a terrific sense of humor. The Villas were exceptionally lush and beautiful. Would not have missed this trip! It made for another day of wonderful memories of Italy.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We are so glad we followed a friend's recommendation to take this tour! Our guide Josepe was outstanding giving historical information throughout the walking tour of the remains of Hadrian's Villa and the breath taking sights of Villa D'Este. The coach was comfortable and a short drive from Rome - a nice break from the crowds of Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved this day trip from Rome . Hadrian's Villa was amazing and the Gardens at Tivoli were breath taking . Unfortunately it started to rain just as we started the tour of the gardens so we did get very wet but this did not take away from our delight at the beautiful fountains and gardens .

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really delighted with this tour. Hadrian's Villa was amazing, if for no other reason than its size, gives new meaning to Villa. The Villa d'Este was spectacular. The gardens and fountains soothing, beautifully maintained, and astonishing in its engineering. The guide, Joseph, was from Tivoli, lived there all his life, so he was intimately knowledgeable of Tivoli, Hadrian's Villa, and the Villa d'Este. Joseph's accent was strong but he was acutely conscientious about insuring that we all could understand and hear him. He spoke slowly in order to overcome the accent. He was very friendly.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christi W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We toured Hadrian's Villa in the morning under cloudy skies and by afternoon it was raining as we toured Villa d'Este and I still give this tour 5 stars! Giuseppe was able to answer our questions and give a very knowledgeable tour, particularly of Hadrian's Villa. I like that we got to see both villas, the ancient Roman one and the one from the Renaissance period. It was easy to see the influences that the first villa had on the second and then picture how the marble that was taken from Hadrian's villa for the Villa d'Este must have looked in the ancient halls. But the fountains at Villa d'Este were the most amazing part of the experience. They were honestly draw droppingly beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though it was raining, this was our favorite trip. Hadrian's villa was amazing. We eventually went to the Castle S'Angelo in Rome, which was to be his mausoleum. Unfortunately his remains are missing. Apparently part of his sarcophagus is in the Vatican being used for baptisms or something like that.

Loved Villa D'este with all the fountains. Don't miss it.

Had lunch at a local restaurant where we paid our own way. It was excellent! Being Americans we really enjoyed being able to order, eat and get our bill quickly! Usually this process is quite drawn out by our standards.

Great guide as per usual! We love Viator,

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kenneth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Two totally different Villas - one with magnificent architecture but generally requiring your imagination to see the original splendor, while the other was quite different with magnificent gardens and villa still in quite good condition. Very worthwhile tour - thoroughly enjoyed it !

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Michael z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great excursion from Rome. Villa dEstes was amazing.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

termar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both places give you the impression 'when money is no object'....That such a place as grand in scale as Hadrian's Villa was really just for the imperial family is hard to grasp. It was in effect a small city with baths, gardens and a theater. The Canopus, Hadrian's dedication to his deceased friend Antinoos, was a fitting ending. The Villa d'Este dazzled on two fronts. First, the interior ceilings in particular were colourful, allegorical and religious themes dominating. Second, the gardens and water fountains were soothing. It is a shame in their respective days both villas were seen by so few.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

drcjquinn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best days of our 3 weeks in Italy! Tivoli is beyond beautiful, the tour guide was interesting, the other guests we were a small group of about 6 or 8 was great fun. The lunch was one of the best meals!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

robyn.oneill

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Short of hiring a car to explore these wonderful locations at your leisure, this tour was the next best thing. I thoroughly enjoyed the day, including the delicious lunch in Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Anne B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The coach and guide were very good and I enjoyed seeing both sites, but I felt the restaurant we were taken to in Tivoli was more interested in making money than giving service. This was my first experience of what the service charge really means... bread on the table is not a given... that's a charge... tap water is supposedly not available so you are compelled to have water which to me was still tap, but you pay the charge for distilled water a bit of a gimmick.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message