Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli (Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este)

The Italian town of Tivoli, set just east of Rome, is home to two famous historical sites: the UNESCO-listed Villa d'Este garden and palace complex, and Hadrian's Villa (Villa Adriana), the grand second-century residence of Emperor Hadrian. An ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 831 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a very nice tour to get out into the Roman countryside from in a day. These two World Heritage sites display the grandeur of a 200 A.D. Roman emperor's estate and a Renaissance era villa. The commentary by the guides was great and brought life to the Hadrian villa remains as well as understanding to the Villa d'Este mansion and grounds. Both are beautiful in very different ways. An additional highlight was the tour guide's recommendation for lunch, which we enjoyed in a tiny and cozy restaurant located a couple streets away from Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lauren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, I've been to Villa D'Este before but never made it to Hadrian's Villa. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ana-Maria S Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I loved a day out of the crowds of Rome in spite of the rain. I appreciated more Villa d'Este with its impressive gardens than the extensive tour of Hadrian's Villa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guissepe was excellent, Hadrians villa and Tivoli gardens stunning, well worth the money.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful villa and a wonderful break from hustle and bustle of Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Esmeralda S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I loved the trip to Tivoli! Giuseppe was the guide and since he is from Tivoli he was very knowledgeable. Loved him! Tivoli is lovely and I do plan to go back and see more of the town. I really recommend this tour. Meeting point was easy to find and all staff was very nice.Also, I never felt rushed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Daniel H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The Villa de Este and the gardens worth seeing. Hadrian palace was just ok. Our guide here was terrible. In fact he was offensive at times and definitely strange. He never really gave any interesting or historical facts about either location. Our best time was on our own exploring without that it would be zero.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jordan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this day trip from Rome and Villa d'Este especially is a must see. Our guide Giuseppe was incredibly friendly an being a Tivoli local he was very knowledgeable about the area and the sites. We also enjoyed having some free time to explore the town of Tivoli at our own pace.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip is definitely a must for those who love history and architecture. It really shows how grand and extravagant Romans were. Fantastic way to spend a relaxing day wondering through the ruins and to contrast that with the spectacle that is Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both sites are well worth visiting, although you will need to use your imagination for Hadrian's Villa, however it is still a spectacular site to visit. The trip was well-organised with an excellent, patient and well-informed guide. We had a lovely lunch stop in Tivoli before seeing the villa. The gardens are outstanding and for us the highlight of the whole day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kimberly Y

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Tivoli is a BEAUTIFUL area. The crowds were very low at both locations so it was no problem to wander and see the beautiful locations. The guide was able to handle multiple languages on the tour. My only regret is that we could not spend the whole day really taking in the tours. If you only have half a day....you do what you have to...and I am so glad we did.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Wayne M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

We only had one hour and twenty minutes at Hadrian's Villa. It was very rushed and key parts of the villa - such as the Maritime Theatre were missed out. The main priority seemed to be to get us to a restaurant in Tivoli where, presumably, the guide was on commission. The restaurant was terrible and very over priced. After lunch we were left hanging around in the cold for ages - time that could have been spend at the Villa. Similarly Villa d'Este was very rushed. We saw nothing of the interior and only a section of the gardens. I have wanted to see Hadrian's Villa for years - I will go back but we'll do it independently.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

steveturvey123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did this private tour as im in a wheelchair and this made our trip easy and enjoyable.
Our driver was prompt and friendly. Hadrians villa was amazing and so too was Villa d'este.
I would recommend it !

Doing what: Self-Guided Round Trip of Tivoli and Villa d'Este from Rome

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific trip to Tivoli and enjoyed the tours of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. We were glad we did a day trip as there is so much to see a half day trip would have been too short for us.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a really nice time on this tour - I thought this trip was a hidden treasure. Tour guide was great - explained what we were doing and kept everyone informed about timing so we knew what to expect schedule-wise, especially when we had time to go explore on our own, and when we needed to be back at the bus. Bus was nice and comfortable, drop-off and pick-up locations were convenient for us.

We saw the Villa de Este in the introduction to Three Coins in a Fountain movie, and was glad to find out it was a short trip from Rome. I had heard about Hadrian's Villa in my History of Architecture class years ago as an ostentatious glorification of imperial power. I'm sure it was! Even the ruins are pretty WOW.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nicole did an amazing job in showing the highlights of both locations and enriching my understanding and appreciation with background information. I can't stress it enough. Anyone can go to Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este and walk around, but it was the guide's context and knowledge that made the day the wonderful expereince it was. These places were built to be magical, transformative, and impressive and she gave us a lense through which to view them that way. Book with Rome Your Way, and ask for Nicole. You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this day tour. The fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing! Worth the price!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Simon F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this trip to Hadrian's Villa and to the Villa D'Este in Tivoli. Alfredo was an engaging and educated guide who brought both sites alive. We would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Jill F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The day trip to Tivoli was interesting although I would warn travelers that it involves a great deal of walking some of which was quite steep.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Frank G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I've done this tour before, but Stefania's knowledge and pleasant manner made Hadrian's Villa even more interesting. And timing our tour of Villa D'Este to have us at the water organ for its performance was a splendid bonus!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Vicki B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended. We had a very enjoyable day. The gardens of Villa D'Este are breathtakingly beautiful. The lunch of lasagne, porchetta and salad was ordinary but gives the opportunity to chat with other travellers. The guide, Emanuela, was nothing short of brilliant as our tour guide. She was extremely knowledgeable on the history of the Roman Emporers and the Popes. She was able to answer every question asked of her in great detail.
Vicki and Steve B

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

mark.whalan65 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent guide,very knowledgeable, recommend tour to all especially Hadrian's Villa. Loved it as did my 3 teenage daughters.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kevin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had time to answer any questions we had. At no point did we feel rushed. It was nice to have free time in Tivoli between the villa tours. Definitely worth spending a full day on this trip, a half day would have seemed very rushed. We will definitely use this company again.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tom D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day trip! Our guide, Giuseppe, was knowledgeable, informative, and had a terrific sense of humor. The Villas were exceptionally lush and beautiful. Would not have missed this trip! It made for another day of wonderful memories of Italy.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message