Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

The Italian town of Tivoli, set just east of Rome, is home to two famous historical sites: the UNESCO-listed Villa d'Este garden and palace complex, and Hadrian's Villa (Villa Adriana), the grand second-century residence of Emperor Hadrian. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 775 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Renee' R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We truly enjoyed this day trip from Rome. The guide was knowledgeable and the coach was very nice, clean and comfortable! It was hot touring Hadrian's Villa minimal shade and a long walking tour so wear appropriate clothing and bring water as none is available during the tour of the villas. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

quinque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We has an extraordinary day at Tivoli. Both the Guide and the driver gave the very best of their time and knowledge. We walked Hadrian's Villa listening to her account of the importance of the planning and construction of the Villa and to Hadrian's life. We has lunch at a Family Restaurant and continued to Villa d'Este. Walking with her, listening to the history and the lovely gardens and fountains. As we were leaving for Rome, we got an extra bonus, and took a ride to see the origins for the water which supplied the fountains in Villa d'Este. An extraordinary day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

gary.patterson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this trip as we live near Hadrians wall in the North East of England and i wanted to see Emperor Hadrians villa. The first part of the trip gave us the opportunity to see how he lived, the second part was in Villa DEste. The gardens here are so beautiful and the views both inside and out are breath taking. If you like your history and want to do a trip outside the city of Rome, then this is for you.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Margaret S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful foundations and great too see Hadrian Ruins

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Krishan S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful sights. The guide Barbera was a little eccentric and seemed quite nervous. She was difficult to understand at times and sometimes forgot to turn her microphone on. The pace in Hadrian's Villa was fast, no free time at all, even for the toilet! The tour office is some distance away from the coach stop.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gez1964

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We enjoyed the trip thou eould hsve preferred more to at the d este villa gardens with fountains than the hadrians ruins. Alot of steps so be warned. Thou the gardens and fountains are amazing

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Steven A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Both are definitely worth seeing Hadrian's Villa is a remarkable sight and the fountain gardens at Villa d'Este are truly beautiful. It is a lot to see in one day and we would have preferred less time at the ruins of Hadrian's in the morning to allow more time to enjoy the fountains. For the price, water and a modest lunch should be provided. Though seemingly knowledgeable, our guide's command of the English language was mediocre.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour, the ruins of Emperor Hadrian and #39;s Villa Adriana were great. Almost 2000 year old arches and dome that are still standing. Villea DeEste garden and fountains were quite beautiful. Great tour guide too.

Doing what: Heritage Site: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa in Tivoli Tour from Rome

Kirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Barber was a good guide and informative about both Villas. She kept us interested in a very hot day. Villa d and #39;Este was stunning. If any Changes recommended: reduce time at Hadrian and #39;s - add to d and #39;Este. Emphasize lack of facilities at Hadrian and #39;s and recommend people bring water. Died of thirst until lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knollegeable on all the things we saw. The meal was great. We had lasagna with sides of salad and meat. We had enough free time to see some extra stuff. Hadians villa is huge but we got a very indepth look at it. Travoli was epically beautiful. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour both locations were impressive and quite different from each other Hadrians villa being ruins and the Vila d and #39;este being lush and beautiful garden. With gorgeous water features and fountains most welcome on such s hot day

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating tour of the ruins of Hadrian's Villa and beautiful gardens and home at Villa D'Este! I loved the numerous fountains there, and it certainly helped with the heat during the Italian summer. Would definitely return and highly suggest this as a day trip to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was great. Hadrian's Villa was a surprise...we didn't know much about it before taking the tour and it was all very interesting. Tivoli's gardens were beautiful, of course. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two villas were great, and the guides were great to explain what we were seeing. This tour delivered on all its promises.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Vivian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour of Villa D'Este and Hadrian's Villa. Our family enjoyed the tour and the lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Cavan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were glad that we had booked a guided tour instead of attempting to organise our own itinerary to Tivoli. We learned so much from our enthusiastic and charming guide, Barbara, and transportation was quick and efficient. Both sites were breathtaking in different ways - spectacular ruins at the astonishing Hadrian's Villa and great beauty in the house and garden at Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

kathryn w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fantastic tour. History at one villa and magnificent fountain gardens at the other. Take care at lunch, as we felt stung by the prices somewhat. Perhaps go for a cheaper option you find for yourself.
Loved the gardens as I had seen them on the TV and it is so worth seeing for real. Good timings for the day and the meeting point is near the Colosseum which is easy to get to I walked from my hotel.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

jukeboxpete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. Both places were exceptional and the fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing. Great guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michelle G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I loved tivoli d and #39;este. I thought it was really impressive. I wish there was more time given for this place. Hadrian and #39;s villa was very well preserved but felt not as nice after the este. It was a great trip overall. Our guide was informative and friendly

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Chris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Could have used more time at villa d'este, but the guide was great

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours, especially Villa de's.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Vincent Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

These two villas are beautiful. While we knew there would be a lot of walking, there was A LOT of walking, and A LOT of stairs. I would strongly suggest doing the on villas separate occasions. They are very different from one another, one being ruins and the other mostly gardens. We had Peter as the tour guide and he was excellent.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a good trip to Hadrian's Villa, but a little disappointed with the weather. It rained so hard that it was difficult to enjoy the area.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Marion G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The trip itsself was okay. Unfortunately time is too short, so there is too much left that needs to be seen e.g. paintngs in Villa dÈste

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Cris D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Hadrian's villa tour felt redundant and boring, having seen different ruins over for the passed 3 days.
The tour guide made a great choice in choosing what restaurant to have lunch at. I felt the daily special was 4 star meal.
The Villa D' Este was impressive with all the water works and the sculptures of horses.

My recommendation would be, plan your tour starting with this trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message