Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

The Italian town of Tivoli, set just east of Rome, is home to two famous historical sites: the UNESCO-listed Villa d'Este garden and palace complex, and Hadrian's Villa (Villa Adriana), the grand second-century residence of Emperor Hadrian. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 790 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosemary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time visiting Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Well worth the trip. Knowledgeable guide with ample time for pictures. Be prepared to walk and enjoy. The lunch break in Tivoli was perfect. Thank you.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Alfredo was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable. Hadrian's Villa was enormous and the Villa d'Este was absolutely beautiful. You must see it!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

fannyann2012

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A bit rushed in half a day,would recommend a whole day tour if you are thinking of visiting these Villa's so you have plenty of time to appreciate the beautiful garden of the Villa d'Este and the stunning size of Hadrian's Villa.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Nicky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was great, friendly, knowledgable, spoke great English, and took us through two amazing sites, explaining all the interesting facts along the way. He made the best of it when it rained on us for about half an hour This was the best day of our vacation, relaxing and beautiful! You wouldn't want to miss villa deste, it's truly the prettiest place I've ever been

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was good to go from Rome to a less touristy place. The two places we visited are wonderful and have a lot of history, particularly Hadrian's Villa. It is an impressive place and the guide, Carmella, was very knowledgeable about the history and the social life during Hadrian's time. We found it to be very enjoyable and instructive. Villa d'Este is also nice, particularly the spectacular gardens. But it is a lot of levels and involves quite a climb on the way back. Despite this, it was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

DDFlorida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a wonderful trip. Our guide was Guiseppe. He is a native of Tivoli and was very informed. He did a great job of making sure we had breaks as needed, allowing us a little time for shopping, and pointing out the important points of the 2 villas. The lunch at the restaurant was very good.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Mickela was awesome it was a highlight of our trip to see villa d'este

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Elaine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I was worried about finding the office but it turned out to be easy thanks to a local and handsome cop. The street is a little hole in the wall street close to the Colosseum. The day was warm, the guide was great and the gardens at Villa d'Este were wonderful. The steps are a challenge so be warned.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MARK S BRIDGER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

TERRIFIC TOUR ,GUIDE WAS ENTERTAINING KNOWLEDGABLE AND PLEASANT TO TALK TO .A GREAT REP FOR VIATOR .WOULD HAVE LIKED TO SPEND THE WHOLE DAY AT THE VILLA BUT VILA dEste WAS AN EXCELLENT TOUR AS WELL

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Sylviesteinbach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tour and Tivoli is a great town to have lunch. Stefania is an archeologist and her valuable knowledge served this tour very well. Large and comfortable bus and skilled driver. This is not a tour for anyone who has trouble walking or taking stairs. But it is a beautiful and interesting visit of a Roman Villa complex and a Renaissance estate. Loved it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Yuna W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great experience seeing Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. My recommendation would be to make it longer, as it felt rushed. I would definitely have liked more time at Villa d'Este exploring the fountains. A printed schedule would also have been helpful, as it was not always clear what we were doing next.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Andrew B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The visit to Hadrians Villa was a bit rushed and we struggled to keep up with the guide. So we missed a lot of what he was saying. Probably needed another half an hour there.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Stuart S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Have already submitted a review, tour should start earlier and more time should be given at Villa d'Este and less time at Hadrians Villa.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Maria M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

If you can do it on your own, by car, is definitely better, you would save time and your money. Hadrian's Villa is sad to go through. Villa D'Este is beautiful!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Renee' R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We truly enjoyed this day trip from Rome. The guide was knowledgeable and the coach was very nice, clean and comfortable! It was hot touring Hadrian's Villa minimal shade and a long walking tour so wear appropriate clothing and bring water as none is available during the tour of the villas. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

quinque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We has an extraordinary day at Tivoli. Both the Guide and the driver gave the very best of their time and knowledge. We walked Hadrian's Villa listening to her account of the importance of the planning and construction of the Villa and to Hadrian's life. We has lunch at a Family Restaurant and continued to Villa d'Este. Walking with her, listening to the history and the lovely gardens and fountains. As we were leaving for Rome, we got an extra bonus, and took a ride to see the origins for the water which supplied the fountains in Villa d'Este. An extraordinary day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

gary.patterson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this trip as we live near Hadrians wall in the North East of England and i wanted to see Emperor Hadrians villa. The first part of the trip gave us the opportunity to see how he lived, the second part was in Villa DEste. The gardens here are so beautiful and the views both inside and out are breath taking. If you like your history and want to do a trip outside the city of Rome, then this is for you.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Margaret S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful foundations and great too see Hadrian Ruins

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Krishan S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful sights. The guide Barbera was a little eccentric and seemed quite nervous. She was difficult to understand at times and sometimes forgot to turn her microphone on. The pace in Hadrian's Villa was fast, no free time at all, even for the toilet! The tour office is some distance away from the coach stop.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gez1964

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We enjoyed the trip thou eould hsve preferred more to at the d este villa gardens with fountains than the hadrians ruins. Alot of steps so be warned. Thou the gardens and fountains are amazing

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Steven A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Both are definitely worth seeing Hadrian's Villa is a remarkable sight and the fountain gardens at Villa d'Este are truly beautiful. It is a lot to see in one day and we would have preferred less time at the ruins of Hadrian's in the morning to allow more time to enjoy the fountains. For the price, water and a modest lunch should be provided. Though seemingly knowledgeable, our guide's command of the English language was mediocre.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Marion F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I was disappointed.in the lack of depth of this tour. Villa d'Este-we were taken to the site and told to go into the gardens and wander around for a certain period of time. We were on our own.
Villa Adriana was more in depth but it was very limited. Not enough time to get beyond the basics.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour, the ruins of Emperor Hadrian and #39;s Villa Adriana were great. Almost 2000 year old arches and dome that are still standing. Villea DeEste garden and fountains were quite beautiful. Great tour guide too.

Doing what: Heritage Site: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa in Tivoli Tour from Rome

Kirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Barber was a good guide and informative about both Villas. She kept us interested in a very hot day. Villa d and #39;Este was stunning. If any Changes recommended: reduce time at Hadrian and #39;s - add to d and #39;Este. Emphasize lack of facilities at Hadrian and #39;s and recommend people bring water. Died of thirst until lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knollegeable on all the things we saw. The meal was great. We had lasagna with sides of salad and meat. We had enough free time to see some extra stuff. Hadians villa is huge but we got a very indepth look at it. Travoli was epically beautiful. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message