Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

The Italian town of Tivoli, set just east of Rome, is home to two famous historical sites: the UNESCO-listed Villa d'Este garden and palace complex, and Hadrian's Villa (Villa Adriana), the grand second-century residence of Emperor Hadrian. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 758 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour, the ruins of Emperor Hadrian and #39;s Villa Adriana were great. Almost 2000 year old arches and dome that are still standing. Villea DeEste garden and fountains were quite beautiful. Great tour guide too.

Doing what: Heritage Site: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa in Tivoli Tour from Rome

Kirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Barber was a good guide and informative about both Villas. She kept us interested in a very hot day. Villa d and #39;Este was stunning. If any Changes recommended: reduce time at Hadrian and #39;s - add to d and #39;Este. Emphasize lack of facilities at Hadrian and #39;s and recommend people bring water. Died of thirst until lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knollegeable on all the things we saw. The meal was great. We had lasagna with sides of salad and meat. We had enough free time to see some extra stuff. Hadians villa is huge but we got a very indepth look at it. Travoli was epically beautiful. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour both locations were impressive and quite different from each other Hadrians villa being ruins and the Vila d and #39;este being lush and beautiful garden. With gorgeous water features and fountains most welcome on such s hot day

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating tour of the ruins of Hadrian's Villa and beautiful gardens and home at Villa D'Este! I loved the numerous fountains there, and it certainly helped with the heat during the Italian summer. Would definitely return and highly suggest this as a day trip to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was great. Hadrian's Villa was a surprise...we didn't know much about it before taking the tour and it was all very interesting. Tivoli's gardens were beautiful, of course. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michelle G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I loved tivoli d and #39;este. I thought it was really impressive. I wish there was more time given for this place. Hadrian and #39;s villa was very well preserved but felt not as nice after the este. It was a great trip overall. Our guide was informative and friendly

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Chris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Could have used more time at villa d'este, but the guide was great

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours, especially Villa de's.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Marion G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The trip itsself was okay. Unfortunately time is too short, so there is too much left that needs to be seen e.g. paintngs in Villa dÈste

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Cris D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Hadrian's villa tour felt redundant and boring, having seen different ruins over for the passed 3 days.
The tour guide made a great choice in choosing what restaurant to have lunch at. I felt the daily special was 4 star meal.
The Villa D' Este was impressive with all the water works and the sculptures of horses.

My recommendation would be, plan your tour starting with this trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Frances M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Villa D'Este was well worth the trip. The gardens, fountains and statues are magnificent and the guide made it all very interesting. The morning part of the tour, to Hadrian's villa, was , in my opinion, not worth seeing. Only one part remains intact..a lovely pool surrounded by statues and part of a dome, but all of the rest is just stones in the ground and you have to imagine it all. It was nice to have a break from the city of Rome. The tour could be either a lunch plus the Villa D'Este, or maybe even a tour of the hillside town, but I think Hadrian's villa should be dropped from the agenda.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Hen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

NOT RECOMMENDED! The guide didn't explain everything as we expected and no one could understand him because of his heavy Italian accent. We barely had time in the villa's only 30 minutes to walk, no map or a paper with explanations of what we see. The trip was very disappointing and we were prefer to rent a car and do it our self.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

JoAnne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unfortunately, it rained the entire day - but this was still a highlight of our trip to Italy. The guide, Ariana, was amazing. Trained in archaeology, she was able to give us great information on Hadrian's Villa. She had actually done some work on the site. The tour of Villa d'Este was also wonderful, Ariana was patient when we wanted to stop and take pictures. The bus was comfortable: everything ran on time in spite of the rain. We would definitely take another tour with this company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice trip. Both sites beautiful. Lots of steps at Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Krista G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day trip out of the city of Rome to the Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este. Our guide, Felix, was outstanding- knowledgeable and funny. I will say that this tour requires a lot of walking and significant climbs up and down. We had several in our group who were not able or prepared for the level of activity and held back our group somewhat. Villa D'Este is magical- bring your cameras!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lumar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was another pleasant surprise. Not originally something we had planned, but so glad we did it. The gardens and fountains at Villa D'Este are amazing. We were in time to hear the fountain sing. It's just so awesome that in an age with no technology what they accomplished. Hadrian's Villa is still being excavated and it is also a wonderful experience. So much history and beauty. The gardens there are lovely as is the fountain.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It started as a cloudy and rainy day, but it did not matter, we had a great guide that led us through the ruins with great information! The sun finally came out when we got to Tivoli Gardens, it did not matter though because even clouds could not take the stunning views away from this beautiful property. My daughter said, if I was a fountain or a butterfly, I would want to live here. We are a family of 5 and we all enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

gestaudt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Antonio brought Hadrian's Villa to life for us. I was not prepared for how extensive the villa grounds are. Antonio was able to answer all my botany questions, and pointed out the important sites. It was amazing to see olive trees and cypress trees that were more than 1000 years old.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jodie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a fabulous day out at Tivoli. Very well organised and so worth visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa D and #39;Este. The waterfalls and gardens at Villa D and #39;Este were absolutely stunning and the guide was full of knowledge with all the history at Hadrians Villa. Really enjoyed the full day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

J S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fantastic. Alfredo was our guide and was excellent. The bus trip to Tivoli was 40mins away from Rome and the town is a lovely welcome break from the city. Lots of choice for food for the hour-long lunch break in the town. Fantastic, well worth the money. Lots of walking though!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alfredo was an excellent guide and took very attentive care. Highly recommend this tour if you're going to Tivoli

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a stimulating easy-paced trip by coach from Rome to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Our guide understood both his material and how much to tell us. There was a time and place for lunch. The tour company contacted us very late, by email, with information about the departure point. We could easily have missed this.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Dr Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour . The guide was very knowledgeable about architecture and that made it all the more interesting. The weather was a bit of a trial - but villa d'este and Hadrian's palace are a wonderful day spent outside Rome. The bus was A/C and comfortable and the driver accommodating. It was a bit of a hike to get to the bus from our meeting point in Rome - and that should be addressed. Would definitely recommend to others

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Esperanza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Es una visita muy recomendada si quieren ver jardines romanos sobre todo en Tivoli tecnología hidraulica. Uno puede apreciar como les gustaba vivir a los emperadores, es realmente una visita que recomendamos se la pasa uno muy bien.
En nuestro caso el tour fue en ingles pues hay pocos en Español, eso es un problema si no hablas bien el idioma que era el caso de mi esposo sin embargo la explicación tampoco es muy abundante en información por lo que la pueden tomar sin problemas.
A Tivoli ingresamos después de comer y nos traian un poco apurados, a mi me hubiera gustado que nos dejaran un poco más de tiempo para ver bien y disfrutar la villa sin embargo se veía que traian el tiempo contado por lo que esa visita es un poco rápida.
Si tienen problemas para caminar sobre todo para subir y bajar no es recomendable, todo son escaleras, pienso sobre todo en la gente mayor realmente las subidas y las prisas no es buena combinación.
Antes de entrar comimos por nuestra cuenta, no nos recomendaron sin embargo mi marido y yo decidimos quedarnos en el restaurante justo de frente a la entrada de Tivoli y dejenme decirles que las pizzas fueron las mejores que nos comimos de todo italia, se las recomiendo.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message