The Trastevere neighborhood of Rome is one of the city’s oldest districts; walking through its cobbled streets during the day you’re apt to forget the busy Roman streets and crowds outside the Colosseum. In the Trastevere, you’d be forgiven for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1425 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ido t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was such such a great tour! All the food was delicious - we watched how to make a roman pizza, how to order it like a roman and then tasted it the can-not-stop-eating buffalo mozarella in a 100-yrs history shop surprisingly good kosher food all kinds of weird biscotti with weird names and after all, pasta and gelato. the tour guide gave very informative introductions of the tour, not only about the food itself, but also comparison with similar items in other regions, fun facts, neighborhood history and funny stories. Sorry I have difficulty in names but I remember the guide has a doctor degree in ancient coins, that probably made the trip with so much historical information. Anyway, love it and totally recommend to anyone who would like to travel to Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Jatinder S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Valeria was great, her exuberance and insights into roman cuisine was wonderful to hear and it was a real pleasure to have her as our tour guide. Hearing her knowledge into traditional roman dishes, ingredients and the growth of both roman and Italian cuisine was much more interesting than I had anticipated. The amount of food we received was ideal, we had the correct amount which left us able to continue tasting more and not leaving our stomachs overwhelmed. We later visited a couple of locations from the tour and we were not disappointed. Definitely would recommend travellers to take this tour. Thanks Valeria for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Giorgia was an amazing tour guide and this was probably our favourite tour in Rome. Recommend doing this tour at the start of your trip!
I had initially booked it with my boyfriend in mind, so I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Make sure you don't eat beforehand as there is so much to try. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Boyana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent way to enjoy the hidden treasures of Rome :

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fun trip. Food was delicious

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

sanjeev.chowdhury

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was out of this world. I loved it all. Great experiences. Will always do a food tour in any major city I can from this day on.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Valeria was charming and the best tour guide ever. Her local gourmet and archaeological knowledge and relationships with the various bakers, delicatessens, stall holders, ice cream parlour and restauranteurs made this tour extra special with no question of her or the proprietors too much trouble! We tasted so many delicious examples of authentic Roman food we could not eat for the rest of the day! Her advice including authentic Italian restaurant locations allowed us to fine dine inexpensively on Roman Cuisine for the rest of the week away from the tourist trips! When in Rome do as the Romans do! I recommend this tour as a must without reservation for anyone visiting Rome. PS I tried to submit this review immediately on my return, but could not submit it on your web site.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Solomon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful and intimate tour for our family. Enjoyed the insights and surprises round every corner!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

incredibly knowledgeable and personable guide. Claudio helped make the history of Trastevere come alive.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

susie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was my first tour with Viator. It was so much fun. I booked 3 tours before we left and I am soooo glad I did! First big trip for us. So Viator was a great choice for us in getting to know what was out there. Our guide Antonia was happily greeted by the shop owners. They had tasty treats for us to sample. Go on this trip very hungry because there are so many good things to sample and also at least 3 sit down tastings besides the shops we entered. The open air veggie, fruit and flower market was fun too. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca our tour guide was just amazing - this was our best tour of the entire vacation. We had never done a food walking tour before and it was absolutely terrific - so much so that 2 days later we went back to the same area to explore some more, and enjoy some of the food we tasted on our tour. It was also such a treat because it was just my husband and I and one other guy. We all got along famously. It was a great day - Recommend this tour to everyone

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

jennifer j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best way to see Rome. The half-day tour was probably enough but an easy stroll around areas of the city you would not otherwise see was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was amazing, so knowledgeable and friendly! There is so much food provided on the day and we got to see places we would never have thought of going into. Really recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Sophia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was super knowledgeable and friendly! loved hearing about the cultural history of the different regions, and of course all the food we tasted were so yummy!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You get to experience the Rome Romans live in!
Easy walking tour, and spectacular dinner at the Villa
Excellent guide

Doing what: Evening Trastevere Walking Tour and Villa Dinner

Anne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Food was delicious, tour guide was very knowledgeable and very congenial. Wish we could have gone into the Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Douglas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide, small group, excellent food samples, interesting history provided

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Hester T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best of my whole experience. It was different and with the Tour guide Miquel Martin make it so interesting and it was really a pleasure meeting him and make everybody so comfortable. He is by far a really positive person and make the experienced unforgettable. Thank you so much. Will definitely recommend this tour - with Miquel.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was such a sweet, knowledgeable lady with many tips and stories of the Rome food scene. You really get value for your money. Our stomachs were full! Special thanks to our tour guide who made this an amazing trip to Rome I will never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Glen C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic little tour. Make sure you are hungry before you start because by the conclusion, you will be most satisfied.
It was fascinating to learn of various food making techniques, history of the stores we visited and a little bit about the Jewish quarter.
If you love food - Italian food - just do this tour. Excellent value for money and good memories to take home. Very good guide too.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour provides lots of food. Don't eat ahead of time. Learned how to buy pizza and other foods at an Italian bakery.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Walter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Antonia was a wonderful guide. Clear, knowledgeable, patient. Food choices were all Roman specialties. Tour exceeded all our expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

RoseMary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful evening led by an informative and watchful tour guide. The only downside for us is that we were the first to board the bus and the last dropped off! We returned to the hotel at midnight and met our next tour at 6:45 am the next day!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message