The Trastevere neighborhood of Rome is one of the city’s oldest districts; walking through its cobbled streets during the day you’re apt to forget the busy Roman streets and crowds outside the Colosseum. In the Trastevere, you’d be forgiven for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1438 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

peggy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the first tour after coming from Paris, I was picked up promptly and taken to meet our tour guide Mario who was a delightful person. Dinner was very good and since people had cancelled we were a very small group. Mario did a wonderful job and I was very pleased with the tour. I would recommend this trip wholeheartedly.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Rodel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

James is very passionate and knowledgeable. I appreciate his wit and humor as well. I will certainly recommend him to my friends.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Jamie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide - Valeria was fantastic, my husband and I have done several food tours in Rome and she was wonderful, would highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great way to spend an evening. We learned a bit of history and had some really great food!!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Valentina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very entertaining and the guide was interactive and funny. Our first night in Rome so it was a good way of finding our way and seeing the sights at night in safe hands. Recommended.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide name SANDRA was excellent! she really enjoy what she does. Rome is beautiful at night and all the details were very nice explain. Totally recommended tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Georgia was our guide for a group of 7 and she was very knowledgeable about the area we toured and the various shops and eateries we visited. Her enthusiasm helped keep the chill out of a cold evening in Rome as did the friendliness and wit of our fellow travellers. The tour is ideal for finding out more about Roman pizza, sandwiches and ice cream. There was just the right balance between walking and stopping to sample a fair amount of food. The visit to the Jewish quarter was also insightful. The small number in our tour helped us get to know each other and none of us were shy at asking questions. Georgia got the balance right between being group leader and knowing when to let us chat among ourselves. She made it look easy and was a very accomplished host. This is a great tour if you want to see more of Rome than the main tourist sights. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

JUDY K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was wonderful tour. Francesca was the guide and she was extremely personable, informative and fun. As it turned out I was the only tourist and we spent the time walking and talking as friends would do. She explained everything in detail and answered all my questions, and of course, the food was beyond delicious. Each stop was better than the next. if you like to walk and see the sights as well as eat excellent food I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gregory Vacations United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this walking tour very much. So much food to sample and it was all delicious. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed learning so much about the produce at the market. Well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Janell N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Early AM meeting with our guild who explained the foods and the area. Great tasting in the Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere area.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

ido t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was such such a great tour! All the food was delicious - we watched how to make a roman pizza, how to order it like a roman and then tasted it the can-not-stop-eating buffalo mozarella in a 100-yrs history shop surprisingly good kosher food all kinds of weird biscotti with weird names and after all, pasta and gelato. the tour guide gave very informative introductions of the tour, not only about the food itself, but also comparison with similar items in other regions, fun facts, neighborhood history and funny stories. Sorry I have difficulty in names but I remember the guide has a doctor degree in ancient coins, that probably made the trip with so much historical information. Anyway, love it and totally recommend to anyone who would like to travel to Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Jatinder S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Valeria was great, her exuberance and insights into roman cuisine was wonderful to hear and it was a real pleasure to have her as our tour guide. Hearing her knowledge into traditional roman dishes, ingredients and the growth of both roman and Italian cuisine was much more interesting than I had anticipated. The amount of food we received was ideal, we had the correct amount which left us able to continue tasting more and not leaving our stomachs overwhelmed. We later visited a couple of locations from the tour and we were not disappointed. Definitely would recommend travellers to take this tour. Thanks Valeria for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Giorgia was an amazing tour guide and this was probably our favourite tour in Rome. Recommend doing this tour at the start of your trip!
I had initially booked it with my boyfriend in mind, so I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Make sure you don't eat beforehand as there is so much to try. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Boyana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent way to enjoy the hidden treasures of Rome :

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fun trip. Food was delicious

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

sanjeev.chowdhury

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was out of this world. I loved it all. Great experiences. Will always do a food tour in any major city I can from this day on.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Valeria was charming and the best tour guide ever. Her local gourmet and archaeological knowledge and relationships with the various bakers, delicatessens, stall holders, ice cream parlour and restauranteurs made this tour extra special with no question of her or the proprietors too much trouble! We tasted so many delicious examples of authentic Roman food we could not eat for the rest of the day! Her advice including authentic Italian restaurant locations allowed us to fine dine inexpensively on Roman Cuisine for the rest of the week away from the tourist trips! When in Rome do as the Romans do! I recommend this tour as a must without reservation for anyone visiting Rome. PS I tried to submit this review immediately on my return, but could not submit it on your web site.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Solomon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful and intimate tour for our family. Enjoyed the insights and surprises round every corner!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

incredibly knowledgeable and personable guide. Claudio helped make the history of Trastevere come alive.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

susie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was my first tour with Viator. It was so much fun. I booked 3 tours before we left and I am soooo glad I did! First big trip for us. So Viator was a great choice for us in getting to know what was out there. Our guide Antonia was happily greeted by the shop owners. They had tasty treats for us to sample. Go on this trip very hungry because there are so many good things to sample and also at least 3 sit down tastings besides the shops we entered. The open air veggie, fruit and flower market was fun too. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca our tour guide was just amazing - this was our best tour of the entire vacation. We had never done a food walking tour before and it was absolutely terrific - so much so that 2 days later we went back to the same area to explore some more, and enjoy some of the food we tasted on our tour. It was also such a treat because it was just my husband and I and one other guy. We all got along famously. It was a great day - Recommend this tour to everyone

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

jennifer j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best way to see Rome. The half-day tour was probably enough but an easy stroll around areas of the city you would not otherwise see was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was amazing, so knowledgeable and friendly! There is so much food provided on the day and we got to see places we would never have thought of going into. Really recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Sophia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was super knowledgeable and friendly! loved hearing about the cultural history of the different regions, and of course all the food we tasted were so yummy!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message