Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Trevi Fountain

The largest and most famous of all of Rome's fountains, the Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi) is a Baroque masterpiece, towering 86 feet (26 meters) high, and fed by the Aqua Virgo aqueduct. An impressive sight, the structure features water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent dinner and after dark tour of Rome's sweet spots! Well worth the price for a very good group dining experience and Rome's historical highlights. The Trevi Fountain stop provided ample time to wade into the crowd, take some great pics and cast our coins into the fountain. The Collosium stop without the day time crowds was awesome and the bus tour into Vatican city, the ancient quarter and around central city's most beautiful monuments and Piazzas was a picture post card highlights experience.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

cmdpound

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

good to have people explaining what you are seeing
impossible to get a picture next to the Trevi Fountain, too crowded
Pantheon inside is amazing!!!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Lourdes Panama

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Tour departed on time and the transportation was comfortable. Only problem was that we had a tour inside the tour that does not allow us to listen the explanations provide. The tour guide did not impose discipline. Our First Stop was at La Fontana de Trevi - Followed by a stop at the Colosseum - Pallatine Hill and ended up in Tastevere where we had to walk and walk along extremely crowed areas. Careful the description of the tour does not specify walking and that's the reason why more than 6 people did not finish it. We were also dropped 1.5 block from our hotel. We started the tour with one person and ended it with another one.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

cdcombs

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This was a large group, big bus tour and was OK, with considerable amount of walking required. If you are not able to walk long distances over the Roman cobblestones, do not go on this tour. The dinner was acceptable. There was little specific direction / instruction provided once we arrived at the tour company office, and we were herded from one guide to another. I wasn't even sure I was with the right group! We asked for hotel pick-up, which did not cost extra to drop us off at the tour office. We had to walk from the tour office to the bus, from the bus to the restaurant, and throughout Testeverde. One individual barely made it from the bus to the restaurant, then took a taxi back to her hotel. Our bus included both a Spanish and English guide, and while we had the whisper radios and ear buds, it was often difficult to hear our English guide because the Spanish guide was speaking loudly near us. The whispers also broke up a good bit. I got about 75 of what our guide said. He was a good guide and seemed fairly knowledgeable. The dinner included 3 courses: a primi pasta, a main - secondoi, and a dolchi. No bruschetta as stated on the website. The guides did not stay at the restaurant, by the way. We could purchase a glass of wine. It was 9 pm before we finished dinner and headed our for the tour. Limited restroom facilities slowed us down as well. Many of the window shades on the bus were drawn part way, making it impossible for those on one side to see out of the other. We finally asked the guide to fix the one near us, which he did, but he didn't ask others to do the same. The tour consists of riding around Rome and getting out at the Arch of Constantine near the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain and a long walk through the crowded, smokey streets of Testaverde. The first two were great, but there was really no reason to walk through Testaverde. The fun there is being a part of it - eating, drinking, and listening to music - not walking through in a large group, gawking. At many Rome sites you are constantly hassled by vendors who literally get in your face. They are difficult to simply ignore, then get rude and testy when you tell them to go away. At both Trevi and Testeverde, it is crowded and you have to worry about pick-pockets. At the end of the long tour, some were sent back to their hotels in taxis. The rest of us boarded the bus with a different guide, whom we were told would take care of us and get us back to our hotels. We were dropped off 3-4 blocks away from our hotel. The guide pointed and said, your hotel is right through there. It wasn't, and we were a bit lost, until we figured out where we were on our map. Just glad I wasn't alone! For the meal and a little sightseeing, I'll rate it a 3.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Kathy F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR! As an experienced traveler, I can say this was the WORST tour I have ever experienced! It began badly when the driver who picked us up at our hotel confessed he never drove the vehicle before and had trouble opening the doors. When we arrived at the I LOVE ROME Tour office , we boarded a coach bus. Once on board, our guide admitted he didn't speak English fluently this was a tour in English. He conveniently did not give his name. We went to the restaurant, which handled the bus load well. Next was the Trevi fountain, our guide gave us 10 minutes and told us to meet him at a designated spot. Not a problem, although the guide was quite short and not wearing anything easily recognizable in a crowd of tourists dark blue hoodie and jeans. We followed him back to the bus and then he realized 6 people were missing. He left to find them , only to return 15-20 minutes later without anyone. He told us that they must have decided to continue on their own!?!? The tour continued on without them. As i stated earlier, guide was not fluent in English, therefore, quite hard to understand what we were seeing. We only stopped once, we walked in Trastevere. We were told to look into the window of a closed restaurant to see a photo of Cary Grant followed by a stop at a pastry shop to LOOK at real Italian pantry. My fellow tour mates and I found that hilarious. Then it was back on the bus and each of us was dropped at our respective hotels or as in our case, somewhere near our hotel.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Barb L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

We read all the great reviews. However, we experienced lots of confusion, joining groups together, switching vehicles. Our waiter spoke no English so people were unpleasantly surprised by their food. We did not eat near Trevi Fountain as stated. At the end people were just left to find their own way home though the paperwork stated drop off included. Our first day there, we were lost. Our guide kept stating that none of this was his problem but he finally paid for our taxi to our hotel. Not at all worth the 170 we paid!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

David W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a nice tour. Really the highlights are Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. There are a number of other things you visit briefly, and I thought it was nice to have someone to explain things.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

alexgekhtin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was our first night in Rome and it helped us get acquainted with the city in addition to having a nice dinner. Mario was our tour guide and he was great. High energy, knowledgeable and nice. The Trevi Fountain was beautiful. It was a great tour. To see Rome lit up at night was fantastic! Super enjoyable tour with a very knowledgeable guide.
Mario was funny and very knowledgeable of the history. The guy has charisma. We really enjoyed this tour and recommend it. The food at the restaurant wasn't great. I would recommend skipping the dinner part. After dinner, we walked in different areas. Thanks for the great memories in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Nancy C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Guide had much knowledge of the artists and history of each area. Very crowded in Trevi Fountain area.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

jsmffx

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was delightful, and we learned the proper way of tossing a coin into the Trevi Fountain. Can't wait to get back to Italy.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Betsaida C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

the tour in the morning was really nice. with the half day tour at the colloseum the views were really goo as well as our tour guide being informative. the walk up and down was a bit tiring but it was worth the walk. good thing there was an elevator for those who have a hard time taking the steps. the afternoon trip with the pantheon and the trevi fountain was also nice. tho i felt rushed it was still informative. the gelato treat was also nice! i wish there were more time to take pictures but i guess since there were a lot of walking and other tourists to consider - the picture taking wasnt too enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Imelda S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Things were quite disorganised right from the start, problems sorting groups and guides rushing in at the last minute. Once we got going things improved and it is so worthwhile seeing Rome by night.
Without any doubt the Trevi Fountain is wonderful by night, so atmospheric even with crowds milling all around. A sight not to miss.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

JAMES B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a rainy night in Rome, we still had a ball on this tour. Dinner was fun and seeing Trevi Fountain at night in the rain was beautiful. We were picked up and delivered to our Hotel and everyone of the guides were great. I will do this tour again the next time I'm in Rome.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Belinda Ramdyal United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour. Very good dinner. Loved seeing the Trevi Fountain at night and other monuments just wished we had more time to spend at them

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Tina B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this tour which began with hotel pickup and then transfer to a larger coach bus where we met the rest of the group. First stop was the Trevi Fountain followed by dinner at a very nice restaurant located on a pretty remote street which required some walking to get there. Dinner menu and service were very good and not rushed. The remainder of the tour was a bus guided tour of Rome by night during which our guide pointed out and explained all the major sites and their history the last 30-45 minutes was a walking tour of Trastevere section of Rome well known for its restaurants, shops and celebrities! Unfortunately, for a few of us, we remained on the bus because a half hour plus of walking was not doable. A suggestion for Viator when listing this tour is to make certain that the description includes some long distance walking involved This would be helpful for anyone with a disability to make a choice prior to booking.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

franksinapi

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The food at the restaurant was very good,
The Trevi fountain was more crowed than I was counting on at night.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Philip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our first night in Rome and it helped us get acquainted with the city in addition to having a nice dinner. Marchello was our tour guide and he was great. High energy, knowledgeable and nice. The Trevi Fountain was beautiful and we got some great tips with how to talk to and deal with the locals. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

chuiku2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rome is such a beautiful city, that you need a week, month or even an year to see all the sights and appreciate them. But if you are short on time, then this tour is definitely the one for you.

You start of in front of the Spanish Steps which are currently being restored and walk along the many side streets of Rome. Each one uncovering one or the other treasures of Rome. And when you have a guide like Francesca who patiently explains to you in detail about each site and also puts in a few anecdotes from her experiences in Rome, then it's a delightful tour.

Some of the places you see are the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon near to where we have a delightful gelato stop and finally ending at Piazza Novona. I have been on many tours of Rome but this one turned out to be the best. Was with my wife and friend who had come over from India. My friend really appreciated Francesca as her accent and explanations were very easy to follow. Kudos to her.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

jwctsimpson

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was enjoyable. The Trevi Fountain at night was spectacular!

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Anthony M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful dinner followed by very nice tour of Rome at night, including stop at Trevi Fountain and also walk through city.

Great guide -- just know this tour, including the walk, goes late. So perhaps do not book for your first night in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Dave United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our morning guide Paula was very knowledgeable about the city and the tour was very guide and made even better when we got to St Peter's and saw The Pope give his blessing to the hundreds of people below. Wonderful experience. The Trevi Fountain was good as was The Panthenon. The afternoon tour was also very good and was interesting to walk around the coliseum. Recommended.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

jhirbour82

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

SO glad I did this! Very informative and I got to see parts of the city I had not made it to yet. The Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and some delicious gelato too! Very reasonably priced and very informative, Vasco was a great guide!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Josephine B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Trevi Fountain was great but the underground tour was not what I expected. It was about 500m away from the fountain. The Spanish steps were closed so we didn and #39;t see them. Our tour guide was very good though!

Doing what: Spanish Steps and Vicus Caprarius Underground small-group tour

viator.com

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

AVOID THIS TOUR. You may end up driving around lost in Rome for 2 hours in the middle of the night and end up having to walk back to your hotel. This tour is not safe.

About half of the Night Tour is pretty decent. You drive by several monuments at night and they look quite beautiful. You stop and get out at the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain. Other sites you just drive by--and you don't necessarily get a good angle to take a photo from the bus.

The last stop is a walking tour of the Trastevere area which is an eating/partying area. This part is pointless and doesn't add anything to the tour as it's the equivalent of being shown a mall. They just use this part to fill time.

Then, they switch to a different guide and he claims they will drop you off near your hotel. Our tour ended before 11pm and by 12:30am, they had dropped off less than half the passengers. The guide kept apologizing that he had never done this job before. Turns out he knew nothing about Rome and couldn't figure out how to get to any of the hotels. The bus would stop for several minutes while he tried to figure out how to use Google Maps to navigate to the next hotel. He failed even at this task.

After 1 hour of roaming around lost, the bus pulled over and they tried to get cabs for some of the passengers. We sat there for 20 minutes waiting for them to hail a cab and figure out how to invoice the cab. By this point, we couldn't afford to wait and ended up walking back to our hotel getting back after 1AM.

I contacted Viator and they offered a good-will refund, but says Whilst Gray Line - I Love Rome by Carrani Tours believes the tour was provided with a professional service and that you received the service as booked.

Viator didn't feel the operator did anything wrong. When I pointed out that it is UNSAFE for an operator to use untrained staff unfamiliar with the city, Viator simply ignored my reply. Still waiting on the refund.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Jerry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, we enjoyed the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps and the historical information provided by our guide was very good.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message