Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9095 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can't go to Rome and not seeing the Vatican. Everything is beautiful in Vatican From Museum, to Sistine Chapel and St. Peter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jujuuvm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was really wonderful to be on as our guide provided so much useful background information and history on the Sistine Chapel and Michelangelo's work there. He also navigated us through skipping the lines, and going through all of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's, while pointing out some of the most important things to see in each place we visited. The area was very crowded, and I was awed by all of the information and seeing the Sistine Chapel and Pieta in person! You should not leave Rome without this experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an AMAZING tour. The Vatican was packed the day of our visit, but Alessandra made it seem as though we had it all to ourselves. She is incredibly well informed - A fabulous guide and anyone would be lucky to be on her tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Ivan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful. Our tour guide Oscar was fantastic and his in depth knowledge of the history of the Vatican was captivating. Despite the large crowds he kept us all together well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sonyia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you pick one tour through the Vatican, make it this one! Our tour guide, Umbra Amber was amazing!! She was witty, fun, knowledgable, and new how to hold your attention. Skipping the line into the museum was worth the money, as there was a HUGE line outside in the 95 degree heat and sun. Be warned, the tour inside is not air-conditioned except for a small portion, and you must wear knee and shoulder covering garments. Since it was so hot, I think they were a bit more lax than usual but you may be asked to cover up or not enter certain areas. All in all, a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Aina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is, of course, unmissable if you are in Rome - and this is the best way to see it - our group was quite small so it was easy to see/hear the guide at all times. She was really fantastic, and had great stories and insights to share.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ettori is a wonderful guide -- knowledgable, witty, and enthusiastic. We really enjoyed his careful selection of highlights and attention to our questions. There were so many people at the Vatican museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel that I do not think we could have managed it without his guidance. We really appreciated his expertise and careful navigation of the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

katie.royer09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda did an amazing job. She was personable and very knowledgeable about the Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica. She kept the tour interesting and guided us well. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very good tour guide and enjoyed it very much. No matter how long a tour your take you will always want to spend more time in the Vatican, 3 1/2 hours will never be enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Elaine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the best way to see the Vatican by getting in early and bypassing the queues, led by our fantastic guide Tiffany who is so knowledgeable and easy to understand. Starting with a fabulous Breakfast in the Vatican and the food was excellent. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great way to see the Vatican, which is unfortunately a little like a busy day at Disneyland. Rosalba was a wonderful, patient and effective guide. We got through it unimpeded despite the crazy foot traffic. The Vatican is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great way to see the Vatican, which is unfortunately a little like a busy day at Disneyland. Rosalba was a wonderful, patient and effective guide. We got through it unimpeded despite the crazy foot traffic. The Vatican is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jason H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Helpful service that kept us from waiting in a very long line outside of Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the Vatican and several of the surrounding churches. Having an air conditioned bus was wonderful as we visited on a very hot, summer day. The guide was knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an awesome experience on this tour, I'd highly recommend it. We did the earliest one available and were able to skip the lines as much as you could hope for. Our tour guide, Ludwig was awesome. The Vatican museum and St. Peters have so much in them that it be so overwhelming to try to figure out what the highlights are. He did a great job of showing us the most significant and interesting things. The group size was small, which was perfect since it's so packed in these places. I'd highly recommend booking this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so glad we picked this tour. Even though most Tours say Skip the line, there is still an amount of waiting you will have to do. This tour Skipped Skip the line, so our wait was only a few minutes while our tour guide went and collected the tickets.

Our guide was Lucia and she was fantastic! We all had earphones and could hear her clearly for most of the tour. unless we fell too far behind, most of the wireless systems there struggle to get through the thick vatican walls!
Lucia showed us all the highlights, told us all the important parts of the history behind them, and gave us ample time to take photos where appropriate. She'll tell you herself: she talks at the speed of a train - but she is very knowledgeable and will also take the time to answer any questions you may have along the way. She is a very intelligent and energetic guide, never letting you get bored or miss anything crucial.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With the crowds, taking a guided tour is the way to go for the Vatican. Our guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend the afternoon tour 2:30pm as the crowds and heat are not as bad later in the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Helen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sylvia was a fantastic guide in every way, only problem is that there were to many people going through the Vatican at once, they need to spread the people out more, it was very hot and crowded, couldn't wait to get out of there by the end

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Emily D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You have simply got tout do this tour if you want to see the Vatican and Saint Peter and #39;s Basilica. Thus was not my first time seeing these places, but I learned more on this tour than my previous 3 visits with other tours. This was a breath taking tour with a great guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Fadi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sylvia Group! We enjoyed our tour completely thanks to our charming and informative group leader, Sylvia! What a joy it was to pass up the looooong line heading into the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel, plus get all the inside scoop from someone so passionate and knowledgeable about every aspect of our tour. Thanks Sylvia! You made our experience unforgettable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend!! Best decision and money well spent. There were 7 of us and mom is 88 and requires a wheelchair for long walking or standing. Our Guide Filomena was wonderful, so knowledgable and very sweet. Filomena and Vatican staff were so helpful and accommodating with mom's needs. It truly was a wonderful experience. Very emotional and moving experience for us all.
Definitely very crowded but Fikomena expertly navigated us through the crowd. Not sure we would have had as good if an experience if we were with a larger tour group or attempted on our own.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emmanuella took us through the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's with great information and was very friendly and accommodating. Without this tour we would have roasted in the extreme heat and sun for 3 hours, waiting our turn to enter!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Cecill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Totally worth it. Very informative and our guide Rosella gave very interesting facts all throughout. Thanks for giving us a memorable time at the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Carlos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican Museums were Extremely crowded and hot (not the tour guide and #39;s fault), but we greatly enjoyed the tour regardless.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Brady K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Once again, we had an immensely knowledgeable guide, Fredericka. No matter what the Vatican is crowded but she always waited and made sure we got to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message