Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9420 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kaushil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide for the tour was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. If you're going to visit the Vatican, you'd be crazy not to book skip the line tickets. This tour goes through the main attractions and with a lot of great information about the Vatican Museums. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katerina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Sylvia was very informed and had a good knowledge of history. She was funny at times and made our whole experience in the Vatican a very enjoyable one. I came out knowing a lot more than I imagined because we got that bit of knowledge from Sylvia that is not in the hisory books making our tour memorable and inspired me to do some of my own research. Thank you Sylvia you were excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Francesca, was excellent. It was well worth it to skip the line and hear all about the Vatican musuems and St Peters from an expert. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

connieandtin2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So worth it!! We did the Saturday, July 10th 10:00am tour I don't remember the guide's name but she was awesome. Skipping the line alone is worth booking the tour but there's so much to the Vatican and having a knowledgeable verbally walk you through all of the details from the point of entry to the Sistine Chapel is pretty priceless. It really helps you appreciate what you're looking at a lot more.

Also it was very well organized and on schedule we I appreciate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mckemeyw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with Peter Giorgio . Speak very clear English. Very knowledgeable .This tour was very organized . City Wonders Meets you at bottom of stairs near Cafe Vaticano. They divide you into groups of 12 and give you headsets.just to be clear, many tour companies have skip the line tours so you won't be the only one in the Vatican.. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

ken.ziegler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour, well informed guide, interesting history of The Vatican and Sistine Chapel. Thanks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a good way to learn about the incredible treasures at the Vatican. Our tour guide Olga was great she was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out and discussed so many amazing works. This tour was through City Wonders which was very organized. I would highly recommend doing a small group. In the dense crowds at the Vatican museum it is better to have strength in numbers but it was also better to have a smaller group to keep track of.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sabena A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rainada was excellent! She has a very calm and soft voice. She's not one of those tour guides whose yelling in your ear, even though they use audio ear pieces. She speaks very passionately about the history and beauty of the vatican, St. Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and all the art, monuments, sculptures and overall details. The tour went a little over 3 hours, but its so worth it! My Fiancé and I both agree that we would have never been able to brush up on the info she did in under three hours. There's just so much! Take the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Hillary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our tour of the Vatican Museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and was personable. I definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in touring the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Laura made the Vatican museum experience unforgettable! The art collections are so rich that a tour with a guide is highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour....well planned. Tour guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant, easy to understand and very patient with older members. If doing the Vatican take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Iain W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was excellent, informative, really knew his stuff and it made the experience of visiting the Vatican City so much more enjoyable, strongly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

thuiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you are going to go to the Vatican this is a good tour to take, skip the line is perfect, no waiting in the long line-ups. The headsets really are a good way to hear what being said when your in a crowded area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matthew E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We signed up for this tour at the recommendation of a friend primarily to bypass the huge lines outside the Vatican. Great idea because those lines were huge even at 9am. It was clear that our guide, and art historian, knew what she was talking about as she recounted stories about the art that we saw. Seeing the Sistine Chapel was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and this tour was absolutely worth it.

A couple points to pay attention to - the meeting point is on the north side of the Vatican, near the museum entrance. I hadn't realized initially, so I had initially planned to show up at the front entrance until I double checked the tour information the day before. The group met across the street and down a hill from the museum entrance, which was a bit confusing, but we figured it out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lizz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was awesome. Lines were soooo long I was so happy we decided to purchase these tickets. Meeting place was great, just across from the entry. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to the visit the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was so great skipping the line and going right into the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel before the crowds built up. It was somewhat crowded by the time we got into St. Peter's Basilica but not too bad. Our guide Francesca was excellent! She started out the tour with some history of The Vatican and museums, etc. She spoke perfect English and was very easy to hear her and understand what she was saying. She's very friendly and very informative. I highly recommend this tour with Francesca!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ann-Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We made our way to the meeting point and located our guide Patricia. We were provided with headsets to hear her during the tour. Once inside, we had a few minutes to use the facilities before we began. It was quite crowded, but, we were able to hear her with the provided headsets. Patricia was very informative. We were there on Wednesday, so St Peters Basilica and square were closed. However, there was a massive rain storm while we were touring the Vatican museums. It had stopped by the time we got to the Sistine chapel. The tour ended at the Sistine chapel, as there is no talking permitted while inside there. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Karen F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We got to skip the lines and the guide was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the Vatican tour.
The headsets worked great and the meeting place was easy to find.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Sev was fantastic. His knowledge of the Vatican and history made the tour an exceptional experience.
I would highly recommend the tour and especially Sev.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Bernard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Second trip to Vatican - again, well wroth it - most enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was excellent very informative and gave you a real understanding of the Vatican and how it works. Easy to find the guide, great tour and St Peters Basilica blew me away!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ernest L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was fabulous and the guide was outstanding. She made the tour very personal by the end we felt we knew her and we also felt that she really cared about the fact that we left with knowledge and a real sense of the importance of the Vatican. Because it was Wednesday, we were unable to get into St Peters. I would not go on a Wednesday again. However we left that tour on a real high.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Martin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tiffany was the best tour guide. I did a similar tour two years ago, and I learned a lot more this time around than I did the last time. The breakfast was delicious, who knew the Italians knew how to make pancakes. The beauty and richness of the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel were something to behold.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Judy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic. Getting into the Sistine Chapel and Vatican without standing in line was perfect. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

MARK S BRIDGER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

THE VATICAN NEVER FAILS TO DISAPPOINT TOUR GUIDE WAS VERY ENTERTAINING AND REALY HELPED IMPROVE OUR VATICAN EXPIERIENCE.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message