Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scot S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. The Vatican tours are super crowded, but it was worth it to learn about the history and art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her immediately upon arrival. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect and everyone was on time. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on both of the tours are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city and everything it had to offer. We loved listening to her descriptions of the artwork and basilica because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members in a very crowded and warm Vatican. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! City Wonders has a personal relationship with The vatican, so we skipped other skip the line tours. The sights are, without a doubt, superb. The Basilica and Sistine Chapel are unbelievable even when you are staring right at them. Thank you for making Rome so enjoyable!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So if the only thing this tour got you was to be able to skip the line it would be worth the money. We booked the early morning tour and when we got to the museums the lines were already around the corner and down the street. A gentlemen was announcing to people arriving that from where they were it was 4 hours to the museum doors. We met up with our tour guide 10 minutes before our tour began and got our headphones hooked up so we would be able to hear the guide. Promptly at our tour start time we stepped off and were headed for the museum entrance, past the hoards of people and through the doors, no lines for us. The majority of the tour is in the main museum, with the tour guide giving interesting facts and tidbits about the tens of thousands of pieces found here. It felt like we were running though the museum, but we hit all the main points and important pieces, and got lots of good information. The tour ends with the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters which were absolutely amazing. When the tour ends you have the ability to stroll back through the museum or stay at St. Peters and exit through the front of the Vatican. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend these tours to anybody interested in seeing the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

marietagundova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to visit Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel. We loved it! The group was small and explanations very professional and personal. We have visited areas that are not opened for public at all like private rooms of pope and best part is visit of Sistine chapel after working hours, all alone! Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

brett.harton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great, Vincenzo was our guide. Why anyone would go to the Vatican and not do a skip the line tour is beyond me. The line was already 2 hours when we arrived, but we were able to skip right by everyone. Vincenzo was very informative and we didn't feel rushed through anything. If anything, the tour seemed a little long. By the end of the 3 hours, my husband and I were ready to go off on our own. The tour was organized and easy to follow. Would definitely recommend this tour to first-time visitors!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

wendy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Franchesco was a great guide, managing to keep full content on a very busy day, in the Vatican.
Clear instructions about where to walk and meet up to keep us all together.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lleerph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Glad to book this tour. Totally skip the line going into the Vatican Museum. Tour guide Anna was superb in teaching us a brief history of the Vatican and the art work displayed in the different galleries. She was very passionate in sharing with us her knowledge. In fact, the tour went overtime and it didn't conclude until 2pm. She was also good in getting a group of 21 situated in various places so that we could have a good view of what she was trying to show us....especially it was on a Saturday in August - high season! Of course, the headset helped tremendously to hear what she said. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Terri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Vatican had been closed for two days prior to our visit and the crowds were massive, but our guide was able to slip us artfully through the thousands of people and deliver an excellent and thourough history and description of key points of interest, I highly reccomend the private tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience! Although I recommend going during the week. We went on a Saturday in July and the Vatican was VERY busy. Our tour guide was VERY knowledgeable, I think his name was David... This is a tour that includes headphones which was great since it was very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Dean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Marti was excellent throughout. The tour was on time, informative and provided insights into the art, tapestries and elegance and extravagance of the Vatican. Highly recommended. Dean

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The lines were very, very long to buy tickets the day we went to the Vatican Museum. We met our guide outside the Vatican and were promptly escorted inside and given our tickets, bypassing all the lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Raymond H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Vatican Museum is a must! Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

edyousfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. Linday was an excellent tour guide! She was very informative with her knowledge of the vatican and the history around it. She was also very personable and was able to relate well to the group. I would definitely recommend this tour and Linday to anyone in the future!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vincent W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are visiting The Vatican then you will not find a tour better than this one. Our tour guide, Lindy, was as professional, knowledgeable, personable and professional as you could ever want. This may not be the cheapest tour you can find, but I guarantee it will be the best. You will not need to queue at all and will learn all there is to know.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was very good. He explained a lot of things that you may not notice by your own. We did not have to make the loooong lines for the Vatican. The only thing is that the guide goes quickly through everything which is totally understandable because there are many things to do. If you want to spend more time you can do it at the end. I had a very good experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Leighanna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very good tour. Saved us all the waiting in lines and made sure we saw and understood the key sights within the Vatican. We would definitely recommend for anyone visiting! Francesca was a brilliant guide. Very knowledgeable, helpful and energetic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Pavan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing guide and a really insightful tour that took in all of the Vatican highlights. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Lyl U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was perfect. There wasn't that many people in our group and we had a headset. I had been to the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica before without a tour or skipping the line. If you are looking for a fast and easy way this tour is the way to go. We did not wait in line at all for the entrance to the Vatican museums. This tour was better than your own because the tour guide explained a lot more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Kenneth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We would have been lost without a guide. So much to see and do in Vatican City. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice tour of the Vatican. It was great to skip the line after seeing all those tourists in a never ending line waiting in the hot sun to get in. Our guide Luccia was very knowledgeable and pointed out all of the important information. Although it was packed with people, the Vatican is for sure a site you don't want to miss when coming to Rome. A tour is the way to go. Vatican tours looked like they were 50 or 60 people while this tour was about 25.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Peter W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Well organised. Great tour guide. Museum amazing. Very busy at museum, An early access small-group tour is the best way to see the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's. Enjoyed the tour very much. The head-phone set made it easy to take photos without missing the commentary from our guide. Well done City Wonders Ltd for a great tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you want the inside scoop on the real Michelangelo and Raphael plus hear stories about the Pope's of the Middle ages and how the Vatican came to be, then take this tour. Our guide, Tiffany, was extremely knowledgeable and presented her information in a way that made the tour through the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's more of an adventure than a hike through time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything worked as described in the information. We met the representative across the road from the Vatican Museums and within 10-15mins we were in the museum. I would use Viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend the skip the line! The line to get in is huge! The tour guide, Sonya with City Wonders, was great. Very knowledgeable and always made sure we were in the shade! It was very hot out. The tour covers the main parts of the Vatican. It is very crowded in the morning though!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message