The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9433 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ernesto G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This 3 hour tour of the Vatican was terrific. Our tour guide was personable and very knowledgeable - she allowed us time to take pictures throughout the tour where picture taking was allowed. I recommend this tour, since you really do Skip the line as the lines to just get tickets to the Vatican were very long. This was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mónica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide! Specially Emanuella. The tour in the Vatican was simply perfect.
Emy made us forget the heat and the crowds with her passion for the history and art at he Vatican.
But in summer is too much to do the Vatican and the Basilicas in the same day. We were exhausted at midday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

tom.krawczyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent. Kept everyone informed and knew how to work his way through the crowds to t get to the important highlights at the Vatican. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

JP Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A better option for avoiding lines as well as the sea of people. The Vatican Museums are quite busy on a good day. Our tour guide, Alessandra, was friendly, well spoken and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. She provided us with detailed information on the process by which Michelangelo and Raphael created their masterpieces in the Sistine Chapel and the Raphael Rooms, respectively. We were intrigued to learn about the various personal touches that each of the masters added to their own work. Tour finished in St. Peter's Basilica where we were free to access other parts of the Basilica and Square. Overall, it was a great tour and a good way to navigate the key areas of the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

markschimel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very fortunate to have an amazing tour guide in Vanessa. She was very knowledgeable, charming, warm, funny and just a perfect tour guide. This is a very crowded venue, with a lot to see and discover so a tour guide is all but essential in any case. Vanessa gave us an in depth talk about the ceiling of the Sistine chapel using a scarf she has as you can not talk in the chapel. Overall, the Vatican is a must see if you are in Rome and a great tour guide makes is the only way to see it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sarah N. is an amazing tour guide. She was enthusiastic and excited about sharing the experience of the Vatican with us. We enjoyed the small group as the museums do get very crowded and we were able to navigate well. It was still very crowded though even though we had early access. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Melvyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were late arriving for this tour but City Wonders were very helpful and got us the next tour. The tour was lead by David who was very knowledgeable about the Vatican and it's history. He was always able to answer questions and gave other related information about the history, artwork in the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

felixoscarbianca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We greatly enjoyed our skip the line tour of the Vatican. Our tour was facilitated by the tour group Enjoy Rome. The meeting place was at their office near the Vatican museum entrance. Our group size was around 12 people. Our guide was great, she spoke very good English and was very informative. The skip the line aspect of the tour was very worthwhile. The line to get into the Vatican museum is incredibly long. The museum was crowded, but it wasn't overwhelming and we were able to get in with ease. The pacing of the tour was good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

No way can you just walk in to the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica on your own and hope to have the experience we had. Our tour guide, Ambra Amber knew her stuff. We particularly enjoyed the 15 minute lecture on the Sistine chapel because once you're in there, silencio is required. Worth the money particularly is not having to wait in the huge line that the masses were waiting in. This tour was worth every Euro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Gigi, was wonderful!! He was very kind and made us laugh throughout the tour. He was very informative, and we enjoyed learning more about the Vatican museums and the other parts of our tour. It was helpful to skip the line, but our favorite part of this tour was Gigi and his great information!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is wonderful, bombarded from every direction with things to see! Don't miss the Cistine chapel, absolutely beautiful

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Guide was terrific and skipping the line was definitely the right choice. We went early morning and still the crowds were huge but believe it is worse later in the day. The Vatican and St Peters are unbelievable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vinith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour!! We were worried about finding the place where the tour starts, but we got off at the Ottaviano Metro stop A Line, and asked around for the entrance to the Vatican museum. People are helpful, and we saw a bunch of people with writing pads on the steps near the entrance - they were the tour people. The guide was excellent - he happened to be one of the people the Vatican hires to restore sculptures, and he knew them inside out. He explained the paintings inside the Sistine Chapel using color printouts before we entered the Sistine Chapel, because that is one place in the Vatican where neither photography not talking is allowed. The Vatican palace itself is stunning, and the St Peter's Basilica is incredibly beautiful and it is huge. The guide was very academic and yet personal in his explanation of everything, and answered questions very patiently. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Bridget C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing! Our guide knew everything about the history art and architecture of the Vatican. She was fantastic Her name was Emmie

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

sandyyvetteau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The queue is mad when we arrived. Good thing that we have booked this tour and the guides are pretty good to guide us around the Vatican. This is a must-booked tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

JULIAN H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good experience, guide had a good knowledge of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

James

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved our skip the line tour of the vatican. Definitely worth it for speed to get in and the history that our guide presented. He was awesome ,
Thanks James

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless organization, and a tremendously well informed and enjoyable guide who enlightened without intruding on our engagement with the art and the surroundings. In a sweltering July, at a time when Rome is inundated with tourists, this was a perfect way to experience the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Natalya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The skip the line was the best part of this tour. There are sooo many people waiting for entry to the Vatican. The places we visited were fantastic of course, and the commentary was pretty good too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Edward N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is unbelievably crowded, and Saturdays are the worst apparently. But Skip the Line means skip the line, and it was all very efficient. Our tour guide Rachel was extremely knowledgeable and communicative, we thought the tour was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Lauren R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an excellent way to see the Vatican while avoiding the long lines. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can't go to Rome and not seeing the Vatican. Everything is beautiful in Vatican From Museum, to Sistine Chapel and St. Peter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jujuuvm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was really wonderful to be on as our guide provided so much useful background information and history on the Sistine Chapel and Michelangelo's work there. He also navigated us through skipping the lines, and going through all of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's, while pointing out some of the most important things to see in each place we visited. The area was very crowded, and I was awed by all of the information and seeing the Sistine Chapel and Pieta in person! You should not leave Rome without this experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message