The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries showcases some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9744 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Phyllis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The secret to seeing the Vatican is selecting the small group tour in the early morning.Our guide was so very informed, a great communicator and happy disposition. I could not have asked for more!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

City Wonders was fantastic. She was knowledgeable and factual and fun also. Wish I
remembered her nameas I would give her kudos. It was pouring rain in Rome that morning
and the Vatican was packed! She was great at pulling us out of the swarm of people and talking
about what we were seeing. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Crowds were horrendous but had a wonderful guide Rosie who was passionate and very knowledgeable about the art and history of the Vatican .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jeanette C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide, Stephanie, provided us with the history of the Vatican and was able to secure great seating to view the Pope as he rode by us in his mobile.
It rained heavily the morning of our tour, but the sun came out when the Pope arrived to greet his audience. Be sure to bring umbrella and rain gear for a rainy day, and also something to wipe the wet seat off.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Constance V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was by far the most impressive tour I have ever taken. Our guide was so knowledgeable and he got us ahead of all the crowds. We saw the Vatican at a very busy time and regardless of the crowds I believe we saw all the key places and had a great vantage point. Our guide gave us enough time to see what we wanted to see. I did not feel hurried and I left feeling that I had significantly increased my knowledge of the Vatican and had a great experience and some cool pictures too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was informative, funny and friendly. Instructions for where to meet were explicit. The tour itself was the best way to see the Sistine Chapel. A number of groups were in attendance so there were a couple of hundred tourists, but when we circled back later in the day there were easily thousands of tourists crammed together. We also got through the rest of the Vatican Museums before the crowds got too thick. An early start to the day is the only way to go!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and it was very evident that he was a veteran guide. I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone that wants to get the most out of their Vatican experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jenellep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and considering the very large crowd at the Vatican on the day of our tour he was well organised and kept our group together. St Peters was closed during our tour time as there was a mass on but our tour guide gave us an overview of what to see and guided us to the entry at the end of our tour once it had opened. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

retiredone2007 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Overwhelming, vastly informative, and a must see while in Rome. Our tour guide, Anna, was exquisite in her knowledge, command of Englidh, and her ability to shed light on much of the Vatican's history. There is so much to absorb that this is just a warmup. We will come back much better informed. Thank you Anna.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Thom L Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Smooth entry, you really skip the enormous line! Our guide VIncenzo, a former professional restorer of art, was not only a very like able guy, but also extremely knowledgeable. Add to that he gave us lots of time to experience the Vatican and in the same time guarded our group very well. Which was really nice taking into account the amount of people being around. Top guide, top tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kaushil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide for the tour was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. If you're going to visit the Vatican, you'd be crazy not to book skip the line tickets. This tour goes through the main attractions and with a lot of great information about the Vatican Museums. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katerina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Sylvia was very informed and had a good knowledge of history. She was funny at times and made our whole experience in the Vatican a very enjoyable one. I came out knowing a lot more than I imagined because we got that bit of knowledge from Sylvia that is not in the hisory books making our tour memorable and inspired me to do some of my own research. Thank you Sylvia you were excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Francesca, was excellent. It was well worth it to skip the line and hear all about the Vatican musuems and St Peters from an expert. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

connieandtin2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So worth it!! We did the Saturday, July 10th 10:00am tour I don't remember the guide's name but she was awesome. Skipping the line alone is worth booking the tour but there's so much to the Vatican and having a knowledgeable verbally walk you through all of the details from the point of entry to the Sistine Chapel is pretty priceless. It really helps you appreciate what you're looking at a lot more.

Also it was very well organized and on schedule we I appreciate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mckemeyw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with Peter Giorgio . Speak very clear English. Very knowledgeable .This tour was very organized . City Wonders Meets you at bottom of stairs near Cafe Vaticano. They divide you into groups of 12 and give you headsets.just to be clear, many tour companies have skip the line tours so you won't be the only one in the Vatican.. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

ken.ziegler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour, well informed guide, interesting history of The Vatican and Sistine Chapel. Thanks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a good way to learn about the incredible treasures at the Vatican. Our tour guide Olga was great she was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out and discussed so many amazing works. This tour was through City Wonders which was very organized. I would highly recommend doing a small group. In the dense crowds at the Vatican museum it is better to have strength in numbers but it was also better to have a smaller group to keep track of.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sabena A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rainada was excellent! She has a very calm and soft voice. She's not one of those tour guides whose yelling in your ear, even though they use audio ear pieces. She speaks very passionately about the history and beauty of the vatican, St. Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and all the art, monuments, sculptures and overall details. The tour went a little over 3 hours, but its so worth it! My Fiancé and I both agree that we would have never been able to brush up on the info she did in under three hours. There's just so much! Take the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Hillary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our tour of the Vatican Museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and was personable. I definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in touring the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Laura made the Vatican museum experience unforgettable! The art collections are so rich that a tour with a guide is highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour....well planned. Tour guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant, easy to understand and very patient with older members. If doing the Vatican take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Iain W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was excellent, informative, really knew his stuff and it made the experience of visiting the Vatican City so much more enjoyable, strongly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

thuiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you are going to go to the Vatican this is a good tour to take, skip the line is perfect, no waiting in the long line-ups. The headsets really are a good way to hear what being said when your in a crowded area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matthew E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We signed up for this tour at the recommendation of a friend primarily to bypass the huge lines outside the Vatican. Great idea because those lines were huge even at 9am. It was clear that our guide, and art historian, knew what she was talking about as she recounted stories about the art that we saw. Seeing the Sistine Chapel was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and this tour was absolutely worth it.

A couple points to pay attention to - the meeting point is on the north side of the Vatican, near the museum entrance. I hadn't realized initially, so I had initially planned to show up at the front entrance until I double checked the tour information the day before. The group met across the street and down a hill from the museum entrance, which was a bit confusing, but we figured it out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lizz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was awesome. Lines were soooo long I was so happy we decided to purchase these tickets. Meeting place was great, just across from the entry. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to the visit the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message