The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries showcases some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9526 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gaylene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide met as at the designated spot and we indeed skipped the line and got in quickly. Our tour guide was very passionate about his City and the Vatican. I would highly recommend this tour for history and art enthusiasts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

julia.maloney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent communication by Viator beforehand to ensure we knew what we had to do and where we had to meet on the day of the tour. Our Tour Guide was great and we all wore hearing devices so we didn't get lost. She got us through security and into the auditorium winter as quickly as possible and got us good seats as close to the middle aisle as possible where the Pope walks down. She gave us an interesting overview while we waited and then collected our hearing devices and left. My husband and I were overwhelmed by the experience of seeing the Pope so near to us. My photo memories are great. I would recommend this tour for first timers to the Vatican who don't want to wait in queues and who want to be assured of a seat as close as possible to the aisle. Tickets are free, but unless you have been before, you wouldn't get an experience like this tour provided. Also, our tour was in winter with fewer crowds but still there were huge crowds and the auditorium was full!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The only way to see the Vatican as far as we are concerned. Skip the crowds and have the Sistine Chapel nearly to yourself. Without a guide we would have missed many details. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a fantastic tour, really well organised and well lead. The guide was knowledgable and she answered all the questions asked. Both my husband and I really enjoyed the day and would recommend it to anyone. The art inside the Vatican is wonderful to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Silvina United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great way to visit the Vatican. No waiting in line and getting inside before the crowds is the only way to see the Vatican. You will not regret it. Our tour guide was amazing and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line tours do just that, save a large amount of time bypassing lines to purchase tickets and enter attractions. Plus, you have the benefit of a guide who will lead you to the most interesting exhibits, explain little-known facts, and prepare you for the experiences to come, such as the mob in the Sistine Chapel. Our guide did all that as we made our way through part of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and then on a tour of St. Peter's. The amount of time spent in each place was plenty to give us an overview, although someone wanting a more in-depth experience might have felt a bit rushed. Our morning tour was just right for us, we ended just before noon and spent the afternoon exploring other parts of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Benjis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I could do this tour all over again and again!!! Amazing inside the Vatican and St. Peter and #39;s Chapel breath taking and so much history and facts. Tiffany our tour guide was EXCELLENT SHEs VERY KNOWLEDGABLE and COMPASSIONATE ABOUT The history of Rome and The Vatican takes her job serious and herself lightly!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant and informative tour. Our guide Sara was excellent. Great to get an insight into the history of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very well organized. Groups are small and well managed. Skip the line is so worth it. The Vatican is filled with so much history, the guide does a great job pointing out the high lights, keeps the interest of the group. Keeps the group moving at a nice pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sheryll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour! Especially if you have kids or seniors in your group or simply don't want to waste time in line. We were the first to enter the Vatican Museum for that day. It's an express tour. The guide will walk through the museum quickly with your group pointing out important art pieces until you reach the Sistine Chapel and leave you there. It takes an hour. If you want an in depth tour, this isn't for you.
After the guide leaves, you can just walk back to the Vatican Museum at your own pace. We did this and saw the crowds that morning and we were thankful we bought this tour. Hard to appreciate art when the corridors were jam packed with people. Long long lines of tour groups trying to get into the museum with the regular times - even hours of waiting under the rain.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Joe H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth the buy. Have toured Vatican before, but this made it more meaningful.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing well worth paying extra for the small group tour and early start !The Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica Was the most amazing experience of a lifetime. Make sure you visit the Sistine Chapel and the Tombs of past Pope's underneath the main floor including the tomb of St.Peter .Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and very passionate of all the art included and was able to answer all our questions .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Shariff W Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must if you want to maximise your visit to the Vatican City. Our tour guide is Ms Agnes. She is very informative and passionate about her work. She provided us with a lot of information to prepare us for what we are about to see. This will enhanced our experience when we view the sight and artworks. She did a wonderful job and we would like to thank her for the great job. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jeffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rome is an inspiring city and the Vatican a huge highlight in that city. Our Viator Guide brought everything to life! She was so knowledgeable and exuberant about everything she told us. I am sure she conducts this tour regularly, but her excitement was contagious and we loved every minute of her narrative.. The tour value was excellent and there was plenty of time to ask questions. Everything we were guaranteed was delivered. I would recommend Viator to anyone traveling.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

When you go to Rome make sure book your tour to City Wonders they have an awesome tour guide name Vasco he is very inform and knowledgeble with all the details of history. Enlightened us every corner of drawing of Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum. He explained the Lunettes, Mary and Christ and Biago Da Cesena as Minos. The Ascending and the Damned. Our tour start early @ 7:30 am. And were so lucky to say that were the first one enter to Vatican museum it's like exclusively for us, the group consist of 4 couples. It's must see if you go to Rome and well worth the cost by going to this tour you will not go to the long line. Highly recommended and make sure to request a tour guide name Vasco. He is so friendly and every question we asked he answered. Plus after the tour you could go around and enter the St. Peter Basilica without paying any. What I learn from this tour is, if you pay the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum don't get any tour for St. Peter Basilica just because it's free and no lines at all as long that you were inside the Vatican Museum. The only mistakes I did, I paid for the tour of St. Peter not knowing. The difference only is the audio that explain how they build it. But who cares as long you could save money.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour! Guide was knowledgeable about both the Vatican Art and the way to maneuvers thru crowds. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Glinda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was Maria and she was amazing. Her knowledge was equal to her passion for the Vatican. She shared insider information on some of the art work and gave us a broad view of the galleries we viewed, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters Basilica. At the end of the tour you are still free to remain in the basilica for further exploration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

aramyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Took the early access to Sistine and it was well worth it. It was Jan, so it is the low season. The church does not allow talking it is a church after all so the tour guide spoke before entering into the Sistine. Also note, there is no photography what so ever. The group was small and we literally were staring at the work for 30 minutes with maybe only 15 people. We went back out to look at rafael's work which led us back into the Sistine. It was way more crowded later in the day. What struck me was after the refurbish of the Sistine, the art was much more vibrant than I saw in text books in college. One note was the trade off for early admission is it's a wee bit darker in the morning. The afternoon has the room more brightly lit with daylight.

Afterwards, we were on our own through the Vatican and St. Peter's, but that is what we wanted. We spent hours in both the Vatican and St. Peter's. This is the way to go regardless of high or low season.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Franklin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My brother recommended Viator for tours while we were in Europe. Unfortunately, we missed a tour in Barcelona but booked one for the Vatican with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. A group of 12 with an English-speaking guide. Fabulous tour! Our tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and her English was very understandable! There were a lot of people when we entered both the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's and she kept the group close together and provided a narrative that was both engaging and informative! We have recommended this tour to friends since we have been home and we will book tours again with this company when we travel in the future!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

coopers2017

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! We got lucky. Our small group tour ended up as a group of six....the five from our family and one other guy from the USA. This was mostly as we booked in low season.
Our guide, Belarusian Art major named Alena, was amazing! Even the two young boys were captivated throughout the tour. She was entertaining and informative and was able to allow for the needs of the group.
This is the third time I have taken this tour- 2005, 2012 and now 2017. Each time, I have picked up something new. It is honestly the best way to see the Vatican and ensure you don't miss any of its magic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beyond wonderful! Thank you to our experienced, wise, guide who made our trip to the Vatican more than we could have ever expected. I am so grateful for the comment sections on Viator because they give you an idea of what to expect in terms of logistics so you never get hung-up on what might be perceived as a problem. You will have to wait a very short bit outside the Vatican wall and you will have to go through the ticketing process - it's nothing and because you are a part of this group everything is expedited. I can't begin to tell you how beautiful the Vatican is. I wanted to let you know that the museum is breathtaking! I was expecting relics in glass but this tour moves and fast which is great because you get to experience the grandeur of the place while the guide explains each room and provides fascinating details and explanations despite the fact you are in a virtual sea of people. You will never get bored on a Viator tour from our experience in Rome, Italy, and Pompeii, and we have two boys ages 17 and 20 who couldn't get enough of everything we saw. Be prepared to be surrounded by people but know that your guides voice through the headset makes that easy because you can tune the people out and take in an understanding of the things around you which will leave you speechless in their grandeur. Wisely, our guide stopped at a plexiglass covered poster outside the buildings to give a brief explanation of the Sistine Chapel which is the one place where the guide cannot give any explanations, even over the headset, as there is no talking allowed. If I had known this I might have studied-up a little bit but no complaints. When we moved into St. Peter's Basilica there was so much space and so much to learn about. The actual mummified bodies of several popes are there - including Pope John Paul the ll and St. Peter's is so massive with so many different areas in the church itself it would be impossible to explore it without a large guide book or a fabulous guide like ours. When we exited the Basilica the sheer size of the structure begins to boggle your mind and the feeling you have, being so small amid such size and beauty is somewhat life changing. If you can't afford these guided tours I would say don't worry, but prepare! Make use of all guide materials you can find throughout Rome and Italy, check in advance to find out if they offer self-guided tours with recorded commentary and earphones, and make sure to put a set of extra earbuds in your pocket just in case you get a bad set on any of your tours. I so appreciate the person who recommend that when I was reading comments on Viator and was glad I had extras in Florence when mine got scratchy during another fabulous tour. If you can, the tours make the trip in our experience and we spent so many wonderful evenings with our sons talking about the things we had seen each day and sharing ideas and thoughts along with lots of laughs over delicious pasta and pizza.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic excursion! Must be done at least once in a lifetime. Guide/host was very personable, knowledgeable and informative. Our location for the mass was the front third of the piazza and next to the roadway for the Pope's vehicle to pass by. Vatican and St. Peter's visit was amazing. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Martha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I just returned from my first trip to Rome and The Vatican was an amazing experience! I could've spent hours and hours looking at all of the artwork. So much more magnificent than I expected. Without the guide, I would've had no idea what I was looking at. Our guide, Tiffany was great at providing history and details but also getting us through everything we wanted to see in an efficient manner. She also provided a list of local places to eat, which proved to be exceptional. Tiffany was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful to our group. I was so happy with the tour and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Charlie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I cannot stress enough how imperative it is to book an early morning skip-the-line tour when visiting the Vatican. I have done the Vatican three ways, 1. no pre-booked tour, just waited in line with the rest of the schlubs, 2. booked tour, but not early access, and 3. booked tour, early access. 3 is by far the smartest. The lines outside of the Vatican are ALWAYS insanely long, and the crowds inside are just as bad if you go during regular hours. Yes, this tour costs a bit more, but take it from someone who knows i.e. learned the hard way, IT IS WORTH IT. You meet early in the morning and a predesignated point across the street from the entrance. You can take a cab here, possibly even a bus. The alternative is standing in the line that snakes the block, and walking all the way around in line. That line is no joke my friends! I always visit in October or November, which is outside the summer season, and the lines are still crazy, so I can't even imagine what they are in summer. The tour guide then hands out the audio devices, and you literally walk across the street and walk right through the door, bypassing everyone in line and avoiding their evil and jealous gazes. This particular tour was excellent, we were given a tour of the gardens, highlights in the museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. We made it through most of the tour before the rest of the crowds were herded in. I hate the throngs of people, so this was really worth it for me and made it so much more enjoyable. Also, if you are traveling with older adults or young children, weigh the extra cost of the ticket against standing in that long line outside for hours, and then walking miles of museum inside. WORTH IT.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Kimteen2003 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You must book this!! The tour guide was amazing and not to mention the sights! Finding the entrance meeting point was a little difficult so go early and if you have time stop in Cafe Vaticano which is right near meeting point for lunch the staff was so friendly and food was delicious!! No pics allowed in the Sistine chapel forewarning :- but plenty of other great incredible photo ops! Make sure to find your way to the little gift shop in the Bascillica down one of the side halls.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message