The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries showcases some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Anna was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable, interesting and friendly. We learned a lot and had a great time. Very many interesting and informative comments about the Vatican Museum and the Basilica. Skip the line is an absolute must for the Vatican Museum. Line was very long even on a very cold day in January with ice in the fountains.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

jody138

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Patricio was an excellent guide. She knew so much about the Vatican and was a joy to listen to. Her expertise was outstanding. Thank you Patricio! I didn't want the tour to end.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Joanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide for this tour was Giuseppe and our group was 20 people in total. Totally worth spending a bit more to pre-book and get to skip the line which was already very long, even in January! Feel very lucky to have been part of Giuseppe's group - his passion and knowledge shone through. We covered all the main highlights and had a great Vatican experience! Thank you Giuseppe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Quico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really excellent. Our guide Ursu was knowledgeable and friendly and kept us going. The skip the line was highly desirable given the long lines to enter the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour! Our guide met us exactly where we were told, and she was extremely knowledgeable about the everything the Vatican has to offer! We had a great time and spent a good 2-3 hours with our guide learning all about the different rooms and buildings, as well as seeing top sites like the Sistine Chapel and La Pieta. Not to mention the perk of getting in before the crowds! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

JonL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour. Compared to the line which wrapped around the Vatican, this was a great way to go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Skipping the Line is great! Our guide, Heidi, was wonderful and provided history and context for the fantastic artwork and architecture we
were seeing. A good guide is invaluable in navigating the vast and overwhelming Vatican Museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did this tour on the morning of the day we did the colosseum at night tour. The directions for meeting place were easy to follow even though we got lost almost daily in Rome. The Vatican museum and Basilica as expected were extremely crowded and being able to skip the line was glorious. Our tour guide was fantastic and very personable. When going through the Sistine Chapel please remember to look up! It was literally so crowded that I was worried about getting separated from my husband that I almost didn't look up. I recommend this tour and doing it on the same day as the later Colosseum at night tour gave us plenty of time to explore the city and have a great lunch near the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Karen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good trip, well organised. Guide really knowledgable and made the tour interesting. Leave plenty of time to get to meeting point as when we reached the vatican it was still a bit of a walk to get all the way round to the back which we didn't realise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sonal C. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The line to enter Vatican city was around the block. So glad we purchased Skip-the-Line tours. The museums don't have information for visitors to read so you need a tour guide to highlight key artifacts and tell you the history behind them. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and proud to share her city with us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Frederik M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

All I can say is: Don't try to visit the Vatican without booking your tickets in advance, and this skip-the-line experience is one of the better ways to do that. The queues to get into the complex as well as inside certain parts of it are just very very long and through this Skip-the-Line with tour, you will avoid all those queues. Really worth the money. Highly recommended. Oh and the tour-guide was also very friendly, accommodative, and knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

robertcadler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Livia was dynamite. Her passion for the art of the vatican was contagious. She used every opportunity to point out a nuance, fresco or building. What a great 3 hour tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

radar_25 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our tour of the Vatican. Our tour guide, Manuela, was very knowledgable and really balanced our time well. She pointed out key paintings, sculptures and features of the museum, Basilica, and Chapel without becoming too engulfed in details. The Vatican is overwhelmingly large and this tour made it seem much less daunting and also allowed us to appreciate the art and architecture. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting the Vatican for the first time and/or has limited education in art and religious history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mollie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This early access express tour of the Sistine Chapel was amazing! My husband has MS, and has mobility issues and gets fatigued easily, and I knew there was no way he would be able to make it through a 3 hour/7 km tour of the Vatican Museum. With this tour, we were LITERALLY the first group into the museum, got a quick highlights tour with our excellent guide through the museum on our way to the Sistine Chapel, and then got to enjoy the Sistine Chapel with only a handful of other people. We were able to sit on the benches along the wall, and really just were able to take our time and soak up the beauty of the place. Most of the people on our tour then backtracked through the museum to spend more time seeing the exhibits, but our guide showed us the secret door that leads directly to St Peter's Basilica. A few steps down some back hallways, and we were there! This was especially welcome as it meant my husband didn't have to walk all the way around the outside of the Vatican and stand in another line to get into the Basilica. We were able to enjoy the Basilica as well before it filled up with people. Everything was really just perfect for our circumstances. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

'Alfredo', you are a star, and we loved it! Bags of facts and interesting stories particularly the artwork and history of the Vatican and all done with passion and a sense of humour. Yes, we really did skip huge great queues for entrance to the museums and Basilica. I would definitely recommend also the 'early' tour 9am as it seems to get extra busy in the afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best way to visit the Vatican!
Interesting and complete information.
Nice walking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Evgenia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great, very informative, and saved a lot of time getting into the Vatican

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Eli C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this private tour. We had a great tour guide and he personalized it to our interests. He gave us great tips about attending a mass at the vatican that afternoon as well. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

shenghwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour - the Vatican is a must-see for Rome. Being able to skip the line is also a big perk. We visited during low season and early in the morning, and there was still a very long line of visitors who had not booked tickets in advance. Our tour guide, Stefania, was very knowledgeable and helpful. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm writing a review of the Vatican I took five years ago. It was a fantastic experience. The Sistine Chaple was impressive to say the least. I received a three hour tour with a guide who knew great details of the Vatican and had a keen knowledge of the works of art and treasures that lay within the thirty foot walls.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was full of information. It was my second tour of the Vatican in five years. The place was packed like a bunch of sardines in a can. The Sinstine Chapel was as magnificent as I rememberd it as last time. The post office at the Vatican is a must if you want to send a letter home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message