The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries showcases some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9398 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

by itlsef the vatican is impressive, a huge well preserved art collection I don't think ive seen a more vast art collection in such a great shape buildings are by itself mere pices of art, so highly recommed to visit the place while in Rome, getting this tour is a huge plus since they explain what is behind every hall and painting, also point at the artists that decorated each room and if you are not an art history savvy you get to understand the style of each different painter and their backgrounds. highly recommeded

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kevin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was the best guide we had of the 3 tours we took in Rome. She was funny and nice and also extremely knowledgeable about the Vatican and it's artwork. She spoke excellent English which wasn't always the case in our experiences. I can't recommend her and her company enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

somesh.maheshwari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You need a guide to do Vatican specially Sistine and our's - Vasco was an excellent one. Patient, funny and knowledgeable. He made it a fun tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

missa.ortiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic - the guide was informative and shared great historic tidbits with a local flare that were invaluable to our perspective at the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Willemijn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was everything I was looking for. You don't have to stand in any line and you go to all the highlights in the Vatican Museum, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide Tiffany had a lot of knowledge and a good story teller. She made our tour super informative and fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Ciarra was our tour guide and she was great. I love to see people who have a passion for their work, and as an art historian, she definitely did. This tour was very engaging and educational. This was our second tour of the Vatican and we learned so much more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

stevehouston1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful guide and overview of Vatican and St Peters. We stayed after tour and bought tickets to climb to top of the basilica. You meet across the street from the museum entrance on the stairs that go down to the next street. Other tours meet there too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Sarah L was fabulous. We had visited the Vatican before on a private tour - but this tour far exceeded our expectations. Sarah was so knowledgeable and friendly. We would definitely recommend this tour, and Sarah as your guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The visit to the Vatican is all I've dreamt of when I get to go to Europe. That was an amazing experience to visit the seat of Christianity.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Vatican tour is excellent! I couldn't ask more than a visit to the Vatican, the seat of Christianity.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For a family group of 6, the Skip the Line small-group tour of the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel was excellent! Our tour guide, Assunta, was a knowledgeable art historian whose passion for the art was contagious. She carried a portfolio of reproductions that enhanced our appreciation of the sights and she was approachable and inclusive. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

SirJBP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was good. It was easy to find the meet-up place and it was well organized. The group size wasn't too big, although the hearing system wasn't very good, probably to many groups walking around the same places and if you distanced a little bit from the guide you had bad connection quite fast, apparently is provided by the Vatican museums so is not a problem with their own equipment. Our guide Tatiana was good and enthusiastic about the explanations, and seemed to have a good knowledge about the subject. The visit was in November, so being very low season there wasn't that much people around, but it was still worth it to skip the line as we managed to get in in the moment to both the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica. Overall was worth it and more engaging visit. As the Vatican Museums are massive, you only visit part of them with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

the4clynes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Spent my 50th birthday on this tour so was looking for something a bit special and wasn't disappointed. We had a terrific guide who's name, to my regret, I didn't catch but she did say she came from Venezuela should narrow it down. She really knew her stuff and put it across well and had a good sense of humour into the bargain.
The Vatican is absolutely stunning. I personally don't normally bat an eyelid about artwork but even the most hardened sceptic can't fail to be impressed. The scale of the work and the timespans involved are breathtaking and the commentary provided by the guide really brought it all to life. The only regret was that entry to St. Peter's Basilica had to be delayed due to the Pope being in attendance and our guide had to leave us after the Cistine chapel but we had a drink in the cafe and then wandered round St. Peter's by ourselves. It is an absolutely stunning building and would have been better if we still had the guide to point things out but this is always a danger when it is a working church and didn't diminish the tour too much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I really enjoyed this trip, the Guide was entertaining and knowlegable and whilst we over ran on time it did not feel like it and the guide did not rush us.

The Vatican is an interestingly place but could be a maze without the assistance of a Guide.

I can not recall my Guide's name but he was in fact Portugese and had a little Roma Monkey for his pointer. I forgot to tip him, my fault as he certainly deserved one!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

ngarment United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip, our guide Maria was superb and did not stop talking. I couldn't believe the queue to get in so having the skip the line tickets is a necessity. It was easy to find our guide, make sure you get their half an hour before and as we all had headphones you did not have to worry about always being right next to the guide as you could hear everything clearly. It is quite tiring even though you don't really walk that far but I felt it gave us an excellent overview of The Vatican. Great time of year to go 1st week of November as weather was pleasant and not too hot. I also saw some huge groups going round so definitely nicer to be in a smaller group

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jerry J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

So special! We have visited the Vatican before but never with a private guide---so different:. Our guide was knowledgeable and was an expert in carving out a place for us to see and hear her explanations!! Well worth the cost of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

lakmymail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was easy to find the tour where it started. fantastic , knowledgeable tour guide . with the number of people visiting Vatican this is definitely the best option . you get to see the most relevant thing things without spending hours in a queue just to get in .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lvrooman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My teenage daughter and I took this tour in May 2016. I think there were a total of 8 of us on this tour would recommend a small group such as this and we met up at 8:00 am on a Friday morning. May is a busy tourist season so we were one of many groups touring the Vatican museums, St Peter's and Sistine Chapel. In spite of that we were still able to really enjoy this tour. I would imagine the crowds build as the day goes on so if possible you may want to consider an early start time for your tour. Our tour guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and clearly very passionate about everything we were seeing. Each of us had headphones on so we were able to hear what he was saying. It was all so fascinating!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jean Hee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour that you should strongly consider doing if you're staying in Rome.

It was a pleasure to be guided by Giuseppe, who is also an archaeologist. This showed, because he was very knowledgeable in telling us the interesting background and highlights of the history and artworks of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica, and could answer all our questions. He had a genuine enthusiasm and fascination with the history he was explaining, despite the poor guy talking to us while navigating us around crowded places for a few hours, while carrying around several heavy looking bags. You will have a chance to get a drink at the cafe in the Vatican before visiting the Sistine Chapel.

My husband, who is not normally a big art or history enthusiast, really enjoyed the museum and the amazing beauty and scale of the art in it, truly unique. It surpassed our expectations. Although the Sistine Chapel is beautiful without an explanation, without knowing the background history and stories about Michelangelo, you would not enjoy it nearly as much.

A great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a good way to see the highlights of the Vatican. I would have liked to see more paintings, but there and #39;s only so much time (Michaela, our guide, told us there are 10 km of gallery!). The Sistine Chapel is beautiful and St Peter and #39;s is awe inspiring. Definitely a must do in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Paula6252

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Vatican holds so much history, I was in awe!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Knowledgeable tour guide was the key to the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jason K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you did your research, you would know the best way into the Vatican is through a guided tour. The lines for tickets and entry are always long. A guide also gives you information that you may not know. This small group tour is the best way to go. It gets you in and through without any delays.

I really enjoyed the whole tour and saw pretty much everything there was to see. Plenty of time provided to go through the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel remember no pictures allow there. The tour concludes in St. Pauls Cathedral, so you get the guides comments and then have lots of time in there to take pictures or see the sights inside this large cathedral.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Lou Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic tour! Our tour guide, Phillip, had a wonderful sense of fun and humour, His English was perfect, too. Three hours was enough time to see what the Vatican had to offer, but was no where near enough time to actually 'see' it properly. However, what we saw, and the tales, stories and information Phillip shared with us just makes us want to go back again and spend a few days there. Thank you so much Phillip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kat C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Saw more on this tour than I have on another tour of the Vatican I took a year ago. Our guide Marketa was great just wish she would have used the usual stick with a flag on it so we could see where she was better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message