The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries showcases some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9597 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing experience! To be able to visit the Sistine Chapel with just a handful of people was wonderful. Visiting areas of the Vatican that most people can't was very special. This tour is well worth the extra money! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Eugene Roy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Christina and Dimitri is a great tour guide..great value for the money..and they really take care of us..I personally recommend you this tour if you want to know more of the Vatican City..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

proudwojick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I have been to the Vatican previously while traveling on a cruise. We did Rome in a day it was for sure a long day! and did the tour of the Vatican already so we were already aware of what we were seeing however, it was nice to dedicate a couple of hours to go into more detail. I highly recommend purchasing skip the line access. As we were walking in passing the long line one person mentioned they were waiting since 7AM.. it was 9:30AM when we entered and did not have to wait one minute. Needless to say, this was a perfect tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Elicia was amazing. Knowledgeable and interesting! She was wonderful with both adults and smaller children, kept us all engaged. The Vatican tour was a highlight of our Rome visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Cecile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the highlight of our trip to Vatican. Our tour guide to the Vatican museum was very knowledgeable about all the significant works of Art inside the museum. We also enjoyed the big breakfast, with a lot of variety. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Marcella M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide, Irene, who shared so many more details about what we were seeing, which really supplied rich detail to the tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Vatican museums not only do you skip the line, the added commentary makes a world of difference. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tammana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour with Elena Rubino! We covered all of the sites from the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica efficiently with plenty of time to absorb the history and beauty. Worth the early morning visit - this was the highlight of our trip and Elena's knowledge was fantastic.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Rachael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a perfect intro to the Vatican. We didn't have a lot of time to explore the museum but our guide had great history and facts to share. We had a couple slow people on our tour which limited the time we had in the Sistine chapel unfortunately. I did appreciate that we could go back into the basilica after the tour was complete. We even got to see the changing of the Swiss guard.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was outstanding! Our guide, Sara, was extremely knowledgeable and showed us the most important parts of the Vatican and its museums. We didn't have to wait in any of the long lineups and the guided tour is essential as there is so much to see if doing it on your own. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Shaina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fredericka with City Wonders was our tour guide for the day. She was wonderful. You really got a sense of her passion for Rome's art and history. She was extremely enthusiastic and helpful. The day at the Vatican was intense since there was a lot of walking and immense crowds - clearly the group was very tired - but she made the experience so lively and energetic. She wanted her guests to be as excited about Rome as she is. The tour hit all the high points that one would expect to see giving us a great taste of the Vatican City. If I return to Rome, I would love to explore on my own with the new knowledge and familiarity I have now.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We realized the night before our plan to tour the Sistine chapel that we really needed a guide! So we booked the Vatican museums and small group Sistine Chapel tour and were not disappointed. Our guide spoke perfect English and accommodated our daughter with her leg brace. It was better than we could have hoped for. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

meredith.dejesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Martina was SO GOOD! We had such a great trip to the Vatican and her knowledge was invaluable. You can tell she truly appreciates and values the history of it all and she clearly has an art history background. and #34;Boston and #34; (as she named us) loved it! Highly recommend! Worth every dollar!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely amazing. Our guide was an absolute story teller and made the whole experience so memorable. She was fantastic - we just cannot remember her name sigghhh. We had 8 people, access to all the private, secret Vatican Museum rooms, and the Sistine Chapel all to ourselves at the end of the day/tour. Incredible. Spend the extra money and do the private experience - and in the latter part of the days. This makes such a difference to the experience and the temperatures.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

lorraine.zeringue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to see the Vatican! There are so many people visiting this site everyday but since we had our very own Tour Guide we saw everything we wanted and then some without being mixed in the with the over whelming crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Dorianna was very knowledgeable and her enthusiasm infectious. Dorianna's commentary is very insightful. This is an ideal way to soak up the beauty of the Vatican and avoid the long,long queues!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great organisation and guide GG very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of the Vatican. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Anthony O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really insightful and engaging guide, Stephanie, who provided detailed information on every aspect of the tour and all the rich history of of the Vatican, the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilca. Getting in early without the crowds was a significant advantage and ensured enough time to visit everything. Breakast was well orgaised with a good variety of food, drinks and fruit. Anthony and Anne, Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

geraldine.mart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of my favorites, it really was an unforgettable experience at the Vatican and our tour guide was great and very informational.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the second time I toured the Vatican and I highly recommend the early morning tour to beat the crowds!!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Francesca our tour guide was the best guide we've ever had -she was passionate and lively and engaging, which made the trip far more interesting for my teenage children. We were given enough time to understand and enjoy the Vatican City and could not imagine going through this experience without a guide. Thank you Francesca and Viator for a tour of a lifetime!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. The company was also very accommodating when we were late to the first tour. Overall recommend doing the tour with this company. The only thing I would say is a bad is that it WAY to much and way to QUICK to see everything, and you definitely do not see everything in Vatican City/Museums.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

MrsHowell522 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was such an amazing experience. We had an amazing tour guide, Francesca, who was very detailed and knew her stuff! She was very patient and took her time explaining everything we saw. Tour ing the Vatican is a must on your visit to Rome regardless of your faith.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Julia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Giulia, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly, able to keep a large group together and help us navigate both the amazing art and the crowds. She gave great, clear information about the history of the Vatican, of the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, bringing to life the great Popes who created what we see today as well as the artists who made masterpieces. I had no idea that the Sistine Chapel was Michelangelo's first painting job! Or that he didn't use blue because he had to pay for all the paint and supplies, and couldn't afford lapis lazuli. Just one of the fun facts that made our tour memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

DARRON B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour to the Vatican was outstanding, the guide Igor, was a walking encyclopaedia and was very knowledgeable he made the tour interesting from start to finish.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

cltruscott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tours with very knowledgeable and enjoyable tour guides. Highly recommend both Alessandra and Melanie who were our guides for these tours. We were made to feel very welcome by both guides and were supported to join another tour by the same company City Wonders when we arrived too late for the morning tour. With the tour guides knowledge of art and history we couldn't recommend a better way to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum and the other 3 Basilicas.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message