They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Have used this service in many other cities we have visited. Always have found this to be good value for money and an excellent way to get ones bearings if first time visitors. Only had 3 full days in Rome this time and purchased 48hour tickets. Was in Rome 2 1/2 years ago and the route has changed somewhat as the bus does not drive towards and around St Peter's anymore, probably due to high levels of traffic, which is a pity as good photo shots of St Peter's are missed. Staff very helpful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Jrlindb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I could have spent all day here! Our guide was so knowledgeable! This trip was one of our favorite Rome tours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Twojtala4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We scheduled the Hop-on Hop-Off tour for two days while we were in Rome. We used it to get our bearings of the city, and in place of a taxi. It was a great way to see the city, and go from place to place.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beyond wonderful! Thank you to our experienced, wise, guide who made our trip to the Vatican more than we could have ever expected. I am so grateful for the comment sections on Viator because they give you an idea of what to expect in terms of logistics so you never get hung-up on what might be perceived as a problem. You will have to wait a very short bit outside the Vatican wall and you will have to go through the ticketing process - it's nothing and because you are a part of this group everything is expedited. I can't begin to tell you how beautiful the Vatican is. I wanted to let you know that the museum is breathtaking! I was expecting relics in glass but this tour moves and fast which is great because you get to experience the grandeur of the place while the guide explains each room and provides fascinating details and explanations despite the fact you are in a virtual sea of people. You will never get bored on a Viator tour from our experience in Rome, Italy, and Pompeii, and we have two boys ages 17 and 20 who couldn't get enough of everything we saw. Be prepared to be surrounded by people but know that your guides voice through the headset makes that easy because you can tune the people out and take in an understanding of the things around you which will leave you speechless in their grandeur. Wisely, our guide stopped at a plexiglass covered poster outside the buildings to give a brief explanation of the Sistine Chapel which is the one place where the guide cannot give any explanations, even over the headset, as there is no talking allowed. If I had known this I might have studied-up a little bit but no complaints. When we moved into St. Peter's Basilica there was so much space and so much to learn about. The actual mummified bodies of several popes are there - including Pope John Paul the ll and St. Peter's is so massive with so many different areas in the church itself it would be impossible to explore it without a large guide book or a fabulous guide like ours. When we exited the Basilica the sheer size of the structure begins to boggle your mind and the feeling you have, being so small amid such size and beauty is somewhat life changing. If you can't afford these guided tours I would say don't worry, but prepare! Make use of all guide materials you can find throughout Rome and Italy, check in advance to find out if they offer self-guided tours with recorded commentary and earphones, and make sure to put a set of extra earbuds in your pocket just in case you get a bad set on any of your tours. I so appreciate the person who recommend that when I was reading comments on Viator and was glad I had extras in Florence when mine got scratchy during another fabulous tour. If you can, the tours make the trip in our experience and we spent so many wonderful evenings with our sons talking about the things we had seen each day and sharing ideas and thoughts along with lots of laughs over delicious pasta and pizza.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

servosindo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing time we had. The hop on hop bus is the only was to see the sights around Rome. we had the 48 hour pass with The day tours to the Coliseum and Roman Forum which was amazing, Highly recommend doing this.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I had read quite a lot of adverse reviews about Hop on Hop off tours and all I can say after our holiday in Rome is my fears were unfounded. I had pre-booked a 72hr bus pass and we found it invaluable for visiting all the historic sites. The buses ran very regularly and the staff were very helpful.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Using the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus was great as we had only one day to visit Rome. This allowed us to make the most of our time. It was at times a nice relief to enter the bus and get away from the crowds and just enjoy viewing sites from the top of the bus. The information about finding the first stop on arrival at Termini Station was not very clear, however we were able to call the contact number on our confirmation and they directed us to the correct location.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

gmrothgarnmoore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our objective was for our tour guide, Licia, to lead us through the museum to the Sistine Chapel, spend some time there, and then see as much as we could of the rest of the museum unguided, and at our own pace. Licia pointed out a lot of interesting information along the way. We arrived at the Chapel around 8AM I think. There were some other people already, and some guards, but there was plenty of room for all to admire this amazing place. At 8:30, Licia reminded us that she was leaving, but also reminded us to stay as long as we liked in the Chapel, and to remember to visit the rest of the museums.

After we spent an adequate amount of time in the Sistine Chapel, we retraced our steps to try to walk through in order. We got lost here and there, but that was OK, and eventually made our way back to the Sistine Chapel. I dont remember the exact time, but I think it was around noon - and what a difference! The Chapel was packed with people, standing shoulder to shoulder - just like on a crowded bus. Many more guards, many of whom were reminding yelling at people not to take pictures, but nobody paid attention. It was a warm day in Rome, so it was warm in the Chapel - like a sauna.

I am so glad that we took the Early Access Tour. What a difference it makes to have the opportunity to appreciate this place when its less crowded, and much quieter. Licia was a great guide. Knowledgeable, professional, and very patient with all of us.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

deb.stevelucas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is a blast, from merely a sightseeing perspective. It takes you past ALL the major attractions in Rome and you can't take pictures fast enough, there is so much to take in. My suggestion is this...start as early as possible in the morning and take the bus all the way around the tour from beginning to end marking on your map the things you wish to see. This will give you the opportunity to get your bearings and take the anxiety out of not knowing where you are. The whole round trip usual takes an hour and a half to 2 hours. Then start the tour again and get off and on in all the places you want to see. The next day you can get right to seeing the things you didn't get to the day before. This is a super convenient and affordable way to get the whole family around...and it is especially fun in Rome. They give you headphones so everybody can listen to the guided tour of all the attractions as you pass by them. It is very informative. I highly recommend the Hop-on Hop-off Buses.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

So much to see in one day but this has to be the best way of doing it. We should have prepared ourselves better though as it was a lot of information to take in. We would definitely go on the same tour if back in Rome.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

GRAHAM W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Skip the line and early start options are well worth the price! Our tour started at 8:00 and our guide was extremely helpful in explainiing all the locations and history. It was a full day out, and full of helpful little side notes not otherwise obvious. I will happily recommend this to anyone wanting to get the best out of their time in Rome, especially for Vatican visits. A note to avoid buying a coffee at the bar while waiting!! three times the price of other spots in Rome.

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

grant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Arriving in Rome early on the day of this tour makes for a strenuous day. However, it was everything that was promised and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Sheila A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was amazing and took in all the sites that tourists would like to see. The open top was a bonus on 2 glorious days and it was a stress free way of travelling around Rome. The buses ran on a regular timetable and you did not have to wait long for the next bus, and there was always room on the bus. The information given was also valuable and informative.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

carminam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We only had one day in Rome and this was the best way to see the city. The bus gives you the freedom to chooses where you want to hop off and enjoy more of a certain site.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

With the terrible traffic in Rome you don't miss a thing as you edge your way around the city!. Amazing tour and just hopped on and off all day. Never waiting too long for the next bus. I booked in advance so as you do not have to worry about paying on the day, they just scan your paper ticket, issue their version and you take you seat. SImple

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Stephanie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour through the Vatican on a busy Wednesday with EnjoyRome tours. My tourguide was well-spoken, friendly, and knowledgeable. Would recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Kenneth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Special. Highly recommend. My top experience during my 10 days in Rome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Dennis A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The benefit of skipping the very long lines mitigates the price for both passes. The hop on, hop off bus tour was a great way to orient oneself to the city and historic sites and the Rome travel card was nearly worn out in navigating the bus and metro lines for the three days of site-seeing. The staff was helpful in providing directions and suggestions for ensuring the best use of time. Would recommend early arrival for redeeming vouchers as the lines swell as the morning progresses.

Doing what: The Omnia Vatican and Rome Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked the tickets online from home before leaving for a few days in Rome. We took with us the email which we exchanged on the bus with no problem and given a map showing the route. The buses were regular and had a running commentary through the headsets provided. If you have been to New York they are the same concept and were extremely good.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Christopher A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic Tour. The tour lasts about 3 hours. The meeting spot was easy to find. Ensure you bring a camera and don comfortable walking shoes. Our guide, Luca Romano, was incredibly knowledgeable and personable. Additionally, Luca took time to explained the customs and culture of present day Rome which was appreciated. He was funny and made it exceptionally enjoyable. Luca answered our questions comprehensively and exceeded expectations. Excellent guide. The tour was illuminating and merited every penny. We would urge the small group tour. We had four people in our group which allowed us the leisurely survey and experience the entire tour. We skipped the line as promised and were inside swiftly and efficiently. Highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

David W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well I wish I could remember our guide's name maybe John because I thought he was a great host. The dinner was really good, including bottomless wine glasses. The views of the forum are nice we arrived just in time for me to get some amazing sunset pictures. After dinner there wasn't much forum tour, other than a look down into it and some discussion - but who cares - that's not what this tour is for. The Colosseum at night is a must. I went both during the day and the night, both are worth the trip. At night it is much more quiet and I felt like I had more space and time to absorb everything. The underground is interesting, I'm glad I didn't miss it, however you only go in a small part, it's not like you're walking around the entire underground of the structure. This is a great evening event to do in Rome, I doubt anyone regretted the taking the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

Barry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Probably the best thing we did on a trip to Rome. The early access meant that we got to be the first visitors of the day to walk through the halls of the Vatican Museum and go straight to the Sistine Chapel. We went back later in the day for a second viewing which was not part of the early access tour and the thousands of others doing the same tour meant we really couldn't enjoy it. This was the best money we spent in our entire trip to Italy which also took in Florence and Venice and we would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Vatican tour went off without a hitch even though my original time was cancelled out without me knowing it until I got to the European tourist office on the day before to tell me about it. Was able to make the earlier rescheduled time with no problem. Tour was interesting even though it was crowded since it was Saturday and I was able to see what I wanted to see while on my first visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Armando P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was the best way to see Rome in a day!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous way to see Rome especially if you only have a short time. We did the 48 hour ticket which was perfect for our two day flying visit. Got to see all the major sights with good commentary.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message